The Official Xbox One thread... - Page 711 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2012Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21301 of 22281 Old 06-14-2016, 07:02 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,630
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9091 Post(s)
Liked: 5840
Quote:
Originally Posted by michaeltscott View Post
Supposedly you can take it over to a friend's house and do that to play games that you have installed on it that he doesn't own.

As much as I detest the look of it, I'm pre-ordering a 500GB S for the 4K features. I hope that someone asks them about the sound situation; can it output bitstreamed formats or does it decode everything and output LPCM? I don't currently have the height speakers, but my AVR is Atmos capable.
Have they announced a release date for the 500GB or 1TB versions? I only see the 2TB version listed for August 31st.

From what I read it sounds like the drives are just the same type of 5400rpm drives. So I would have no desire to have a slow 2TB drive in the system. Which means I would need to wait for the 500GB version to come out. But I also want to make sure I have a One S before Forza Horizon 3 is released.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21302 of 22281 Old 06-14-2016, 07:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 6,867
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1055 Post(s)
Liked: 1638
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post
hopefully i can just connect my external HDD and not have it format the drive and all my games. haha
You can easily move the external HDD between systems. I do that between my Xbox's. especially when I don't want to have to redownload stuff. download it to the external and then bring the external to the other system and copy it over.
onlysublime is offline  
post #21303 of 22281 Old 06-14-2016, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
jholzbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 50
I really like the idea of the Scorpio. Seems like a steam machine but executed much better.

What are the chances it would be able to play previously pc only games since it will basically be a Windows 10 machine?

Another thing I'm wondering is if they will be able to optimize custom resolutions. In example, you have a 4K tv but a game will only hit 30 fps at 4K. Maybe you could have an option to run it optimized at 1440p and 60 fps.
jholzbauer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #21304 of 22281 Old 06-14-2016, 08:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,806
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholzbauer View Post
I really like the idea of the Scorpio. Seems like a steam machine but executed much better.

What are the chances it would be able to play previously pc only games since it will basically be a Windows 10 machine?

Another thing I'm wondering is if they will be able to optimize custom resolutions. In example, you have a 4K tv but a game will only hit 30 fps at 4K. Maybe you could have an option to run it optimized at 1440p and 60 fps.
My personal thoughts is that the Scorpio is basically a win 10 machine in a "Xbox body". I would love for it to be able to allow us to use steam with it, but that stl will require steam to support it, but I'm not so sure that will happen.

I don't see see why we couldn't use window 10 games on it either if purchased from the Windows store, but other store fronts are a guess until an app is made or partnership is struck up.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides

Last edited by Arutha_conDoin; 06-14-2016 at 08:51 PM.
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #21305 of 22281 Old 06-14-2016, 08:34 PM
Yrd
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 4,068
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
...but other store friends are a guys until an app is made our partnership is struck up.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Say what
onlysublime likes this.
Yrd is offline  
post #21306 of 22281 Old 06-14-2016, 08:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,806
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
Say what
Wow. Stupid auto correct. I need to proof read better on my phone!

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #21307 of 22281 Old 06-14-2016, 09:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Have they announced a release date for the 500GB or 1TB versions? I only see the 2TB version listed for August 31st.

From what I read it sounds like the drives are just the same type of 5400rpm drives. So I would have no desire to have a slow 2TB drive in the system. Which means I would need to wait for the 500GB version to come out. But I also want to make sure I have a One S before Forza Horizon 3 is released.
I haven't heard any estimated date for the other two (although Amazon is listing them as December 30th, which is almost certainly a placeholder date). Like you, I don't need or want the additional storage and I'm not paying the $100 premium for it; my 4TB external is plenty of space for the moment. I'm not in any rush for the replacement, so I don't care so much.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #21308 of 22281 Old 06-14-2016, 11:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 6,867
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1055 Post(s)
Liked: 1638
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
I would love for it to be able to allow us to use steam with it, but that stl will require steam to support it, but I'm not so sure that will happen.
over Gabe Newell's dead body. his hate for Microsoft is well documented. If he could purge Windows altogether, he would
onlysublime is offline  
post #21309 of 22281 Old 06-14-2016, 11:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,806
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 704
Quote:
Originally Posted by onlysublime View Post
over Gabe Newell's dead body. his hate for Microsoft is well documented. If he could purge Windows altogether, he would
I know that's the bad part.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #21310 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 05:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,616
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 329 Post(s)
Liked: 1021
Phil does a big interview with Eurogamer about the Xbox S and Project Scorpio

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/20...-big-interview
spid is offline  
post #21311 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,723
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1767 Post(s)
Liked: 4031
Quote:
Originally Posted by spid View Post
Phil does a big interview with Eurogamer about the Xbox S and Project Scorpio

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/20...-big-interview
Interesting his take is Scorpio is a 4K console, matching the framerates of the current Xbox One and S at 1080p.

My understanding is he claims that, VR aside, there will be no benefit of playing upcoming games on a Scorpio at 1080p?
DaverJ is online now  
post #21312 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 07:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
s1njin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 162
It'd be nice if they drew up a matrix/grid w/ all the Xbox One models and what they do and what we can expect. I'm gathering if one has no interest in VR and 4k TVs, that Scorpio would not net me anything more that a XBoneS will give me. A XBoneS will not net me anything over a regular Xbone unless I have a 4k TV or a TV w/ UHD (I do not).

Yet there is at least one game (Gears 4) that claims the XBoneS will run the game better. Even though MS says it shouldn't. Which is clear as mud.
centking likes this.
s1njin is offline  
post #21313 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 08:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Interesting his take is Scorpio is a 4K console, matching the framerates of the current Xbox One and S at 1080p.

My understanding is he claims that, VR aside, there will be no benefit of playing upcoming games on a Scorpio at 1080p?
Well if games are coded in such a way that they cannot take advantage of higher horsepower CPU/GPU then yeah. Would not be surprised if MS forces designers to design that way....which just seems wrong to me and just punishing people buying a Scorpio.

I really think they should adopt PC methods of game design...........a minimum req (FAT Xb1, XB1 s) which would still let you run any game but at 'performance' hit then allow more features, graphics options etc to be enabled by the player if they are on a Scorpio. They seem to be acting like the only thing that matters is resolution.

I mean if I pop game X into a XB1 S (1080p) that has texture popping and frame drops.........then I go and pop it in a Scorpio (1080p) and there are still the same texture pops and frame drops then something is messed up IMO. Something is being artificially handicapped on purpose.
jholzbauer likes this.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #21314 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,723
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1767 Post(s)
Liked: 4031
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
Well if games are coded in such a way that they cannot take advantage of higher horsepower CPU/GPU then yeah. Would not be surprised if MS forces designers to design that way....which just seems wrong to me and just punishing people buying a Scorpio.

I really think they should adopt PC methods of game design...........a minimum req (FAT Xb1, XB1 s) which would still let you run any game but at 'performance' hit then allow more features, graphics options etc to be enabled by the player if they are on a Scorpio. They seem to be acting like the only thing that matters is resolution.

I mean if I pop game X into a XB1 S (1080p) that has texture popping and frame drops.........then I go and pop it in a Scorpio (1080p) and there are still the same texture pops and frame drops then something is messed up IMO. Something is being artificially handicapped on purpose.
Yeah, personally I think he was in Marketing Mode to make the current and Slim models look better for now.

If Scorpio's power allows for 1080/60 where 60fps can't be reached on current gen, I can't imagine MS forcing devs to hold back those horses. Especially with Sony breathing down their necks.
DaverJ is online now  
post #21315 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 09:58 AM
Senior Member
 
jholzbauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 76 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
I really think they should adopt PC methods of game design...........a minimum req (FAT Xb1, XB1 s) which would still let you run any game but at 'performance' hit then allow more features, graphics options etc to be enabled by the player if they are on a Scorpio. They seem to be acting like the only thing that matters is resolution.
^ This. His statement about a Scorpio bringing no additional value on a 1080p is a head-scratcher. Surely, that can't be right. The Scorpio still brings a lot value if the regular X1 runs at 1080p/60 on medium settings but Scorpio runs 1080p/60 on ultra.
jholzbauer is offline  
post #21316 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,723
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1767 Post(s)
Liked: 4031
Quote:
Originally Posted by jholzbauer View Post
^ This. His statement about a Scorpio bringing no additional value on a 1080p is a head-scratcher. Surely, that can't be right. The Scorpio still brings a lot value if the regular X1 runs at 1080p/60 on medium settings but Scorpio runs 1080p/60 on ultra.
My thinking is MS is playing safe marketing at the moment. They don't want to cut into sales of current XB1 and the Slim with a promise of a better performing console next year -- even at 1080p -- so for now they are pushing 4K for the Scorpio, and nothing else.

We'll see how this really plays out.
DaverJ is online now  
post #21317 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 6,867
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1055 Post(s)
Liked: 1638
I think it's merely marketing speak to say that Scorpio wouldn't benefit 1080p. It should definitely stabilize any framerate drops. And the console probably has a better scaler as well.
Arutha_conDoin and rightintel like this.
onlysublime is offline  
post #21318 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 10:44 AM
Yrd
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 4,068
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 521
They most likely have two modes for a game. You either run in xbone mode or Scorpio mode. If your display is 1080, you get xbone mode. Unless they make a hard rule about it, certain devs might give you the uption to increase you performance.

Or they could make the Scorpio only output in 4k. Thus making no issue about it. If you don't have a 4k, you have no reason to buy scorpio.
Yrd is offline  
post #21319 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 11:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
They most likely have two modes for a game. You either run in xbone mode or Scorpio mode. If your display is 1080, you get xbone mode. Unless they make a hard rule about it, certain devs might give you the uption to increase you performance.

Or they could make the Scorpio only output in 4k. Thus making no issue about it. If you don't have a 4k, you have no reason to buy scorpio.
Should be just like PCs. Game runs on low end PCs.......but can turn up the visuals and offer better frame rate, etc on a higher end PC.

Don't get what the point would be for MS or anyone to go thru the effort of 'force' crippling games or designers.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #21320 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 12:41 PM
Yrd
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Yrd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 4,068
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 766 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Just buy a pc if you want to f with settings. This is a console where history of the machines has never given you options to fiddle with. You console only people adamantly point out your disdain for pc shenanigans. Why is it now changing?


And my previous post is just a theory on what could be behind the idea of their 1080/4k restrictions. Maybe they will ultimately give people options. Start a twitter movement. That crap apparently works.
Arutha_conDoin likes this.

Last edited by Yrd; 06-15-2016 at 12:45 PM.
Yrd is offline  
post #21321 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 6,867
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1055 Post(s)
Liked: 1638
That would idiotic to have the Scorpio locked to 2 modes. Developers are not stupid. They've been scaling a common code base across different platforms as well as a multitude of pc configurations. The benefit of Scorpio versus a pc is you know what graphics driver will be there. You know it will be an amd chipset (on the pc AMD vs NVidia is a big headache). You will know the ram configuration. There are a lot more knowns than with a PC.
onlysublime is offline  
post #21322 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,997
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 637
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yrd View Post
Just buy a pc if you want to f with settings. This is a console where history of the machines has never given you options to fiddle with. You console only people adamantly point out your disdain for pc shenanigans. Why is it now changing?


And my previous post is just a theory on what could be behind the idea of their 1080/4k restrictions. Maybe they will ultimately give people options. Start a twitter movement. That crap apparently works.
I am not talking about config files, etc... They are going to have 2-3 "1080p configs" (Fat,Slim, Scorpio.)...would not be hard or unrealistic the same game to be designed for built-in settings for each of those configs. Playable on either.

We are not talking about having to deal with 100s of GPU, CPU and MB config permutations.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #21323 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 01:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
The only time they may like Scorpio do "more" than the S will be on single player games for those without 4K TVs. Allowing 60fps in a campaign mode is different vs allowing 60fps against 30fps in a multiplayer game.
metalsaber is offline  
post #21324 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: NYC, New York
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Why would Microsoft demo the Xbox One S, then announce the more powerful XB1 Project Scorpio when it's over a year away? Total marketing failure.
keystoner is offline  
post #21325 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,637
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1708
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post
Lol the majority of people are not looking at the difference of systems based on power consumption or if Netflix can load up in 3 seconds when price is the first thing they look at. I get what your saying on those benefits but let's not act like those things are what comes to mind walking into Walmart about a few cents saved on a electric bill.

True, I mean I can't speak for anyone else but Netflix taking 20+ seconds to launch is an eternity when you're 2 years old and you don't understand wtf is taking so long to start playing chuggington.

More than anything else though I just have a hard time understanding how a $300 console can take ten times as long to launch Netflix than a $30 tablet. Like it's obviously a software issue and it doesn't really inspire confidence that it won't get even slower over the next few years. Once they crossbuy stuff becomes commonplace it might make a lot more sense for me to buy, but not if basic living room stuff is so ridiculously slow that even my wife complains about it. Like I don't think I own a single device that comes close to taking that long to launch a media app. Even a 5 year old iPhone 3GS is under 10 seconds.
jhoff80 and moepoker like this.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #21326 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 01:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by bd2003 View Post
True, I mean I can't speak for anyone else but Netflix taking 20+ seconds to launch is an eternity when you're 2 years old and you don't understand wtf is taking so long to start playing chuggington.

More than anything else though I just have a hard time understanding how a $300 console can take ten times as long to launch Netflix than a $30 tablet. Like it's obviously a software issue and it doesn't really inspire confidence that it won't get even slower over the next few years. Once they crossbuy stuff becomes commonplace it might make a lot more sense for me to buy, but not if basic living room stuff is so ridiculously slow that even my wife complains about it. Like I don't think I own a single device that comes close to taking that long to launch a media app. Even a 5 year old iPhone 3GS is under 10 seconds.
No different than Cortana taking forever to do what you want but you ask Siri something and get an answer immediately. It's NOT a hardware issue, it boils down to piss poor programming.
jhoff80 and stevew24963 like this.
metalsaber is offline  
post #21327 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
bd2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 11,637
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 915 Post(s)
Liked: 1708
Quote:
Originally Posted by onlysublime View Post
That would idiotic to have the Scorpio locked to 2 modes. Developers are not stupid. They've been scaling a common code base across different platforms as well as a multitude of pc configurations. The benefit of Scorpio versus a pc is you know what graphics driver will be there. You know it will be an amd chipset (on the pc AMD vs NVidia is a big headache). You will know the ram configuration. There are a lot more knowns than with a PC.

The easiest way to solve that problem is to do what forza 6 does....automatically scale everything. That way the dev doesn't even have to know or care what the underlying configuration or even graphics driver is. Fix the frame rate at 30/60/120, read the resolution from the console itself and then automatically scale settings up until the frame rate drops, then back off a bit. It's perpetually future proof.
jholzbauer likes this.

Steam/PSN/Xbox Live: Darius510
bd2003 is offline  
post #21328 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
michaeltscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 20,517
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2844 Post(s)
Liked: 1518
I have three devices where Netflix stays loaded in memory and launches instantaneously after the first launch after boot (Roku 3, TiVo Bolt and this 2014 Vizio P-Series). Pity the Xbox architecture doesn't allow for that.

Mike Scott (XBL: MikeHellion, PSN: MarcHellion)

"Think of the cable company as a group of terrorist (sic)." -- hookbill
michaeltscott is offline  
post #21329 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 01:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mboojigga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Little Rock AFB, Arkansas
Posts: 9,222
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 696 Post(s)
Liked: 927
Y'all need to ask Netflix why it takes 20 seconds on a Xbox and while your at it HBO Go, Showtime Anytime, USA and practically every other video app on the 360 and One as to why. dealing with a 2 year old in 2016 and waiting 20 seconds for Netflix to allow me to choose a movie is a hellava lot better than dealing with a 2 year old and waiting for a browser to load up minutes after on 56k. Or rewinding that VCR back to the beginning of Barney for the 6th time. We can go all day about this lol. What I don't get is if the Roku does the job faster why does it matter what anything else does?

The 5.0 is here

Last edited by mboojigga; 06-15-2016 at 02:02 PM.
mboojigga is offline  
post #21330 of 22281 Old 06-15-2016, 02:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jhoff80's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4,835
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 402 Post(s)
Liked: 370
Quote:
Originally Posted by mboojigga View Post
What I don't get is if the Roku does the job faster why does it matter what anything else does?
I think most of all because the ideal for many (though maybe not all of the AV enthusiasts around here) really is just one device, so we would like it to be better. I mean, one device means no switching between inputs, no need for a Harmony or other smart remote solutions (just volume punchthrough and power), etc. In other words, with only one source, you do cut out a lot of complexity that the general public doesn't care about

It was marketed abysmally, and the implementation was sub-par, but one thing Microsoft had right in their initial announcement is that being input 1 is the goal for any box in the living room. Unfortunately, the Xbox just doesn't fit that as well as it used to. Performance is only getting worse, the streaming content selection has been stagnant, and that sort of usage is just no longer part of Microsoft's vision. I doubt they spend much time at all making that better. Which means that other devices are going to keep being other people's 'input 1.' But it (I should note I'm only talking here about the current model and software changes and inefficiences) is incrementally better as a gaming-only device, which is the market that Microsoft is desperately trying to win back.

XBL/Steam: JHoff80

Last edited by jhoff80; 06-15-2016 at 02:14 PM.
jhoff80 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Monoprice , Xbox One Console Day One Edition

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off