Xbox One Kinect Extender - Page 27 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 80Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #781 of 899 Old 07-27-2015, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 6,867
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1055 Post(s)
Liked: 1638
Well, the Kinect would be more accurate for a PC scenario where the user is 1-2 feet away whereas the Kinect for Xbox is tuned for the person being 4-8 feet away.

They could do it like the 360 Kinect where if you get a certain distance away from it, it switches between the normal Kinect mode (for longer distances) and the up close mode for fingers and facial recognition (remember the demos where you open your mouth and raise your eyebrows and it affected your character in Avatar Kinect?).

One of the aspects of Windows Hello is infrared and 3D recognition. This prevents use of pictures and videos to fool a typical RGB camera. So far, only Kinect and Intel RealSense 3D Camera (F200) support that.
onlysublime is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #782 of 899 Old 07-29-2015, 11:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Kressilac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Slight bit of confusion...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MUPPPP View Post
I can confirm that the Corning 3.Optical 15m (50 ft) cable works flawlessly.

Kinect ---> Kinect 2.0 for windows adapter -----> Cable included with the windows adapter -----> Corning 3.Optical 15m USB 3.0 A-A cable ----> Xbox one =




Cost dang near as much as a new xbox system after all the trial an error I have done, but it works finally.
So I am struggling here. The Kinect sensor and adapter turns the termination end into either a type A or B Male end. Are those that have extended the Kinect just plugging the device into the USB 3 ports on the back of the Xbox One and no longer using the dedicated port? The ends don't match up so is there something I am missing? Some have used A-A cables while others have used A-B cables. Just trying to make sure that this works.
Kressilac is offline  
post #783 of 899 Old 07-29-2015, 12:13 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxposure View Post
Does anyone know where I can pick up one of the adapters? It looks like they stopped making them and are selling for $100s of dollars now on ebay.
They are now back in stock on Amazon for $50. I just bought one yesterday and am so thankful i held off on buying one on eBay a month ago for $200+

Now i just need to connect it and see if it works. If it does, then i'll get my audio/video guy who ran all the cabling at my new home to come in and run the wires in the walls for me. I already have a universal remote for all my other stuff. The main reason i want it is so my kid and i can play games on it when he gets a bit older.
Jason Barto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #784 of 899 Old 07-30-2015, 03:50 PM
Member
 
zelig2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just thought I'd confirm that the Kinect Adapter works well with the Tripp Lite cable. http://smile.amazon.com/dp/B00IOXVWL6
Just now need to spend time running the cables through the wall.
zelig2 is offline  
post #785 of 899 Old 07-30-2015, 09:20 PM
Member
 
MUPPPP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kressilac View Post
So I am struggling here. The Kinect sensor and adapter turns the termination end into either a type A or B Male end. Are those that have extended the Kinect just plugging the device into the USB 3 ports on the back of the Xbox One and no longer using the dedicated port? The ends don't match up so is there something I am missing? Some have used A-A cables while others have used A-B cables. Just trying to make sure that this works.
The Kinect Windows adapter includes an A-B wire than may or may not be used.

If you buy a USB 3.0 extension cable that is A-B, then you don't use the A-B wire that came with the Windows Adapter. You plug your Kinect into your Windows adapter, then plug your new longer A-B USB 3.0 cable into the Windows adapter, then run it to your USB in port on your Xbox.

If you buy a USB 3.0 extension cable that is A-A (like the Corning 3.Optical one I used), then you DO use the A-B wire that comes with the Windows adapter. You plug the Kinect into the windows adapter, then into the A-B wire that came with the Windows adapter, then plug the A-A wire into this A-B wire, and your A-A wire plugs into the USB in port on your Xbox.

None of the extenders use the dedicated proprietary kinect IN port on the Xbox.

Last edited by MUPPPP; 07-30-2015 at 09:24 PM.
MUPPPP is offline  
post #786 of 899 Old 08-05-2015, 09:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Kressilac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Pictures of the process

Figured I'd post a few pictures of the cable process. Be prepared for quite a bit of bulk behind your TV and a couple of additional plugs. The cable I purchased was powered on its own and was about $20 cheaper than the Corning cable. Monoprice.com didn't sell a 50' USB 3.0 extension cable so you'll have to look elsewhere as far as I can see.


It is as mentioned before. Pretty straight forward and works like a charm. Extension kits are available on the Microsoft store's web site.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20150805_001.jpg
Views:	957
Size:	273.3 KB
ID:	872162   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20150805_002.jpg
Views:	697
Size:	44.5 KB
ID:	872170   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20150805_003.jpg
Views:	639
Size:	34.6 KB
ID:	872178   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20150805_004.jpg
Views:	629
Size:	160.2 KB
ID:	872186   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20150805_005.jpg
Views:	664
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	872194  

Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20150805_006.jpg
Views:	548
Size:	90.7 KB
ID:	872202   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20150805_007.jpg
Views:	597
Size:	75.6 KB
ID:	872210   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20150805_008.jpg
Views:	633
Size:	230.0 KB
ID:	872218   Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20150805_009.jpg
Views:	548
Size:	90.0 KB
ID:	872226  
Kressilac is offline  
post #787 of 899 Old 08-09-2015, 07:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,992
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1865 Post(s)
Liked: 625
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kressilac View Post
Figured I'd post a few pictures of the cable process. Be prepared for quite a bit of bulk behind your TV and a couple of additional plugs. The cable I purchased was powered on its own and was about $20 cheaper than the Corning cable. Monoprice.com didn't sell a 50' USB 3.0 extension cable so you'll have to look elsewhere as far as I can see.


It is as mentioned before. Pretty straight forward and works like a charm. Extension kits are available on the Microsoft store's web site.
what was total cost? can you post links to everything you bought?
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #788 of 899 Old 08-24-2015, 10:35 AM
Member
 
mdenning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kressilac View Post
Figured I'd post a few pictures of the cable process. Be prepared for quite a bit of bulk behind your TV and a couple of additional plugs. The cable I purchased was powered on its own and was about $20 cheaper than the Corning cable. Monoprice.com didn't sell a 50' USB 3.0 extension cable so you'll have to look elsewhere as far as I can see.


It is as mentioned before. Pretty straight forward and works like a charm. Extension kits are available on the Microsoft store's web site.
Does the IR function still work when extended like this? I would hate to lose that, but also really need to have a longer reach.
mdenning is offline  
post #789 of 899 Old 08-24-2015, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
 
Kressilac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I did not test the IR. Camera and voice controls work properly. Cable is buried in a wall at the moment so testing will have to wait a month or so until my basement is completed. If I remember, I'll report back then. Maybe someone else can confirm the IR functionality in the meantime.
Kressilac is offline  
post #790 of 899 Old 08-24-2015, 11:35 AM
Member
 
mdenning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kressilac View Post
I did not test the IR. Camera and voice controls work properly. Cable is buried in a wall at the moment so testing will have to wait a month or so until my basement is completed. If I remember, I'll report back then. Maybe someone else can confirm the IR functionality in the meantime.

Awesome, thanks for the info!
mdenning is offline  
post #791 of 899 Old 08-24-2015, 04:29 PM
Newbie
 
ericmatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I couldn't get the Sabrent USB3 extension to work. It was working at first, but then Kinect would disconnect intermittently. I tried with the optional power adapter that came with the cable, but that caused Xbox to not power on properly (made sound, but wouldn't start up).

I saw the post about the Lindy 15m cable, so I ordered that one. Works like a champ! Should be just enough cable to get through the conduit in my wall.

Last edited by ericmatz; 08-26-2015 at 04:03 PM. Reason: update
ericmatz is offline  
post #792 of 899 Old 08-27-2015, 10:20 PM
Newbie
 
ericmatz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Spoke too soon

Quote:
Originally Posted by ericmatz View Post
I saw the post about the Lindy 15m cable, so I ordered that one. Works like a champ! Should be just enough cable to get through the conduit in my wall.
Spoke too soon. After powering back on a bit later, Kinect was showing as disconnected (though still white light on the K4W brick). I tried disconnecting/reconnecting - heck, even tried plugging the Kinect back in directly - nada. I could only get it working again after a full power cycle (unplug everything). Anyone experience this? I'm going to do some more testing before I fish that USB cable through the conduit. Next step is trying with 'Instant On' mode disabled (since it seems to be related to powering off/on).
ericmatz is offline  
post #793 of 899 Old 09-02-2015, 07:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello,

I've been holding off on purchasing the kinect since I have a projector setup and I had my home theater custom wired over a year ago and there was no solution. I've read through a few pages of this thread and searched but couldn't find anything about this product on Amazon - FireNex uLINK. It seems like a relatively new product and is pretty expensive. Has anyone used this?
taingbeast is offline  
post #794 of 899 Old 09-03-2015, 09:46 PM
Member
 
MUPPPP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by taingbeast View Post
Hello,

I've been holding off on purchasing the kinect since I have a projector setup and I had my home theater custom wired over a year ago and there was no solution. I've read through a few pages of this thread and searched but couldn't find anything about this product on Amazon - FireNex uLINK. It seems like a relatively new product and is pretty expensive. Has anyone used this?
Both of the reviews for that product on Amazon are 5 star and they specifically say they used it for the Kinect 2.0. And one of the images of the product claims "Kinect ready" (for what its worth). I have kept up with this thread for a long time and I've never seen that product discussed. I think it would be worth a shot.

I purchased this one in the 50 foot version and it works great on my kinect:

http://www.amazon.com/Corning-Self-P...ng+3.0+optical
MUPPPP is offline  
post #795 of 899 Old 09-10-2015, 09:54 AM
Newbie
 
JChapa13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally a Solution

I have a projector and have been waiting for this ever since I got the Day One Xbox One. I would just like to confirm that the Kinect Adapter for Windows ($50) combined with a Tripp Lite USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Active Repeater Cable (AB M/M) 25-ft works ($35). You just plug the Kinect into the powered Kinect Adapter for Windows, connect the repeater cable to that and then that cable to any regular USB port on the console. Very simple and it works great. I've just started using some Kinect games and it is really fun. There are some free demos you can download at the link below and some games are disk only.

Search "Kinect" at the xbox website for dames and free demos

Search for "Kinect Adapter for Windows" microsoftstore website ($49.99)

Search for "Tripp Lite USB 3.0 SuperSpeed Active Repeater Cable (AB M/M) 25-ft" at Amazon ($34.73)
JChapa13 is offline  
post #796 of 899 Old 09-21-2015, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
soulreaver12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Xbox one kinect

Does anybody know if the Xbox Kinect draws power when the Xbox is off (power saver mode) when connected with the windows adapter? Electricity in NYC is like caviar.

Thanks,
soulreaver12 is offline  
post #797 of 899 Old 09-21-2015, 12:27 PM
Member
 
bcabes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by soulreaver12 View Post
Does anybody know if the Xbox Kinect draws power when the Xbox is off (power saver mode) when connected with the windows adapter? Electricity in NYC is like caviar.

Thanks,
It has to draw some amount for the "Xbox On" command to work. I have no source but I seem to recall someone saying 15 Watts.
bcabes is offline  
post #798 of 899 Old 09-21-2015, 12:30 PM
Member
 
bcabes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 100
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcabes View Post
It has to draw some amount for the "Xbox On" command to work. I have no source but I seem to recall someone saying 15 Watts.
Source found for those interested: http://arstechnica.com/gaming/2015/0...uck-up-energy/

12.9 Watts normally that can bump up to 22-23 every so often with kinect.
bcabes is offline  
post #799 of 899 Old 09-21-2015, 01:26 PM
Newbie
 
soulreaver12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow that's a LOT. Thank you for the info.
soulreaver12 is offline  
post #800 of 899 Old 10-25-2015, 08:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
turls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Central IL
Posts: 4,985
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 512 Post(s)
Liked: 228
Best Buy has Kinect new for $100 now.

Matt
turls is offline  
post #801 of 899 Old 10-25-2015, 09:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 9,140
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 461 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by turls View Post
Best Buy has Kinect new for $100 now.
Hi turls, it also includes the full game download of dance central spotlight.
JChin is offline  
post #802 of 899 Old 10-28-2015, 08:15 PM
Senior Member
 
dago52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Mandeville, La.
Posts: 324
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I decided to relocated my Xbox One under the TV and use the ARC feature. Glad I can finally use my kinect. The beauty is that I didn't have to run another cable down the wall.
dago52 is offline  
post #803 of 899 Old 10-29-2015, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JRock3x8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 3,992
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1865 Post(s)
Liked: 625
I've had no problem finding them for $50 used. People who have them don't want them.
JRock3x8 is offline  
post #804 of 899 Old 11-12-2015, 07:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I had a new home theater installed a couple weeks ago and went with the Tripp Lite cable + Kinect for Windows Adapter solution with an IR blaster thrown in for component control in my A/V closet.

Everything seemed to work fine at first, though the Kinect would periodically fail to power on. I was able to work around this problem by simply unplugging and re-plugging the USB cord in the back of the Xbox. As of today, however, this workaround is no longer working and I cannot get the Kinect to power on. Today also happens to be the day the new Windows 10 based OS update went live, so I'm wondering if that update has something to do with it.

Has anyone else run into this problem since the update?
rjcombo is offline  
post #805 of 899 Old 11-13-2015, 11:47 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjcombo View Post
I had a new home theater installed a couple weeks ago and went with the Tripp Lite cable + Kinect for Windows Adapter solution with an IR blaster thrown in for component control in my A/V closet.

Everything seemed to work fine at first, though the Kinect would periodically fail to power on. I was able to work around this problem by simply unplugging and re-plugging the USB cord in the back of the Xbox. As of today, however, this workaround is no longer working and I cannot get the Kinect to power on. Today also happens to be the day the new Windows 10 based OS update went live, so I'm wondering if that update has something to do with it.

Has anyone else run into this problem since the update?
Scratch that. It turns out the Kinect itself needed to be reset per instructions on the Xbox support site. My setup is working again, although now the problem is I can't seem to get the One Guide device controls to manipulate my new Sony TV.
rjcombo is offline  
post #806 of 899 Old 11-13-2015, 11:55 PM
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,163
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 349 Post(s)
Liked: 259
What model?

Any 2015 Sony - The 4k's in particular, suck big time at picking up IR. Almost an afterthought it seems. I have to basically point the Kinect right at the TV. I have the 65X850C and HATE IT! Can't wait to dump it for affordable OLED!
tampabuc is offline  
post #807 of 899 Old 01-09-2016, 08:52 PM
Member
 
Roon169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I finally got my xbox in my media closet and my Kinect above my tv/ projector set up by itself. I used to have the Xbox up by the tv much cleaner look. I used the Kinect Windows adapter and Sabrent usb extender. And it works great.
Roon169 is offline  
post #808 of 899 Old 01-09-2016, 11:06 PM
Senior Member
 
y2k02c5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roon169 View Post
I finally got my xbox in my media closet and my Kinect above my tv/ projector set up by itself. I used to have the Xbox up by the tv much cleaner look. I used the Kinect Windows adapter and Sabrent usb extender. And it works great.

Any chance you can post a pic of your setup? Thanks.
y2k02c5 is offline  
post #809 of 899 Old 01-10-2016, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Roon169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by y2k02c5 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roon169 View Post
I finally got my xbox in my media closet and my Kinect above my tv/ projector set up by itself. I used to have the Xbox up by the tv much cleaner look. I used the Kinect Windows adapter and Sabrent usb extender. And it works great.

Any chance you can post a pic of your setup? Thanks.
This is my original set up

It's pretty much the same but now the Kinect is the only thing above the tv. Also I just got a projector and now have a 106" screen hanging from the ceiling. And that hangs just above the Kinect for now. I primarily use the projector and my wife likes the tv. So when I want to play a Kinect game which is rare I have to use the tv. (I use a hdmi a/b switch to swap displays.) all of the Kinect voice commands work with the screen down and that is all I was really worried about. Also I haven't lost ir Controll via the Kinect. I know other people have. I used these and it was all plug and play.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1452434706700.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	110.0 KB
ID:	1175418   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1452435181630.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	83.3 KB
ID:	1175458   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1452435198490.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	119.5 KB
ID:	1175466  

Last edited by Roon169; 01-10-2016 at 07:13 AM. Reason: More info
Roon169 is offline  
post #810 of 899 Old 01-11-2016, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Roon169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
A little update. I seem to have lost it Controll after all. At least for the Xbox on command. I can say Xbox on and the Xbox comes on but the reciver and tv do not. But from there I do have volume Controll. Anyone else have this issue?
Roon169 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
Xbox One Console Standard Edition

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off