The Official Xbox One X thread - Page 241 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3915Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7201 of 7408 Old 02-13-2020, 06:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman2 View Post
I have no clue what some of you are complaining about. My Xbox one s is a fantastic streamer.
???


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Everything on Netflix gets played in DV so that's wrong. It's doesn't support all the same apps in HDR and Atmos that Apple/Nvidia/FireTV/Roku support. The Xbox is worse than any of those 4 as a streamer in my opinion.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
aaronwt, JudgeSmails and lujan like this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7202 of 7408 Old 02-13-2020, 07:46 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 153
XboxOneX is a beta console which promised a lot and didn’t deliver and will die in beta when series X comes out . I bought it with a lot enthusiasm, now it’s just turned on to update beta to see if any of the years long bugs are fixed .

Series X as well will be all promises and another beta console , we need to wait and read user experience before putting down money.
rightintel likes this.

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, ZidooZ9s, Nvidia Shield Pro-19, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-5000s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"
thomasphoenix is offline  
post #7203 of 7408 Old 02-13-2020, 07:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasphoenix View Post
XboxOneX is a beta console which promised a lot and didn’t deliver and will die in beta when series X comes out . I bought it with a lot enthusiasm, now it’s just turned on to update beta to see if any of the years long bugs are fixed .

Series X as well will be all promises and another beta console , we need to wait and read user experience before putting down money.
It's a great gaming system. Plays blueys well.... Thanks it though.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
JudgeSmails likes this.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7204 of 7408 Old 02-13-2020, 08:38 PM
Senior Member
 
thomasphoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 456
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 256 Post(s)
Liked: 153
The Official Xbox One X thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
It's a great gaming system. Plays blueys well.... Thanks it though.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk


XboxOneS does it too . What about the complete media center touted at release ? No DV support for blu rays etc?

TV-Sony Bravia KD-65"A1, Pioneer SC-LX901 7.2.4 ATMOS/DTS-X, Polk DSW 660*2, Polk RTi A7*2, Pol Csi A6, Polk RtiA5*2, Polk Tsi300*2, Polk TSX 220B *2, Polk OWM 3*2, ZidooZ9s, Nvidia Shield Pro-19, Zappiti-4kHDROne, Oppo UDP-203, XboxOneX, PS4, Oppo BDP-83, Darbee DVP-5000s, ZidooX10, Sony Bravia HX925 55"
thomasphoenix is offline  
post #7205 of 7408 Old 02-14-2020, 12:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5206 Post(s)
Liked: 3219
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Everything on Netflix gets played in DV so that's wrong. It's doesn't support all the same apps in HDR and Atmos that Apple/Nvidia/FireTV/Roku support. The Xbox is worse than any of those 4 as a streamer in my opinion.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Not to mention playing everything in Atmos even when the source isn't in Atmos if you have Atmos setup. I would think that all these issues would have been fixed by now from a large company like Microsoft. I guess they can only do software fairly well?
BearGator56 and shoman94 like this.

lujan
696 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #7206 of 7408 Old 02-14-2020, 06:28 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,957
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9985 Post(s)
Liked: 6655
I have no problem using my XB1 boxes for games. It's just the streaming I avoid using it for. But it can do alot of things for a person that wants an all in one box and doesn't have other devices. Like playing UHD BDs, streaming etc. But since I have stand alone UHD BD players and two or more of every other streamer, I see how much better the other devices are over the XB1 or PS4 for streaming content and playing discs.

And in 2013 I had planned to continue using the new game systems as my primary streamers. But the new systems both took major steps backwards in that department. So now I just use them for what they excel at. And that is games.

Sent from my Nexus 7(32GB)

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #7207 of 7408 Old 02-18-2020, 06:45 PM
Senior Member
 
BearGator56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The Sunshine State
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Not to mention playing everything in Atmos even when the source isn't in Atmos if you have Atmos setup. I would think that all these issues would have been fixed by now from a large company like Microsoft. I guess they can only do software fairly well?
The Atmos "always on" drives me crazy. That, and MS doesn't properly notate what games or movies are Atmos.

Another odd thing is my Vizio TV used to be capable of DolbyVision but either the TV or the box updated and now it says the TV doesn't support it. But it does...

For some odd reason it also switches off the Atmos setting for PCM about once a month or so.

I will give props to the OneGuide and Hauppauge USB tuner. We canceled DirecTV with the 2020 rate increase and now use OTR and streaming instead. The guide works really well and is fast to change channels. Great picture. Not missing that $220 a month bill at all.

Sent from my LG-H931 using Tapatalk
lujan likes this.

Furman Elite 15 PFi
Yamaha RX-A3070 / Class D Audio SDS-450c / Vizio P65-C1 / Samsung BD-UP5000 / Yamaha MCX-2000 / XBox 1x
Goldenear Triton T1 / SuperCenter XXL / Invisa HTR7000 / SuperSat 30c / Blue Jeans Cables
BearGator56 is offline  
post #7208 of 7408 Old 02-18-2020, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
JeffChap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Edmond OK
Posts: 732
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Not to mention playing everything in Atmos even when the source isn't in Atmos if you have Atmos setup. I would think that all these issues would have been fixed by now from a large company like Microsoft. I guess they can only do software fairly well?
It wasn't always this way, but MS changed it for a reason. Certain AVRs, my Denon included, wouldn't switch back and forth between Atmos and non-Atmos correctly. For example, if I was watching an Atmos movie and paused it to do something in the non-Atmos dashboard, when I resumed the movie I had no audio. I was forced to change inputs on the receiver and back to get it to recognize the audio signal again.

So it's not really Microsoft's fault, and this is simply a compromise to workaround this problem.

Sent from my moto g(6) using Tapatalk
aaronwt likes this.
JeffChap is offline  
post #7209 of 7408 Old 02-26-2020, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 317
The new dashboard UI is live. I like it better than the previous layout.
Sorax likes this.
Spewdom is online now  
post #7210 of 7408 Old 02-27-2020, 07:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rightintel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,907
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 939 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
The new dashboard UI is live. I like it better than the previous layout.
What's different? I didn't really notice anything.
aaronwt likes this.

Xbox Live: General PATT0N
rightintel is offline  
post #7211 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 12:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5206 Post(s)
Liked: 3219
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
What's different? I didn't really notice anything.
Neither did I, I went in to check after that post and didn't notice anything different.
aaronwt likes this.

lujan
696 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #7212 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 04:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Spewdom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
The new dashboard UI is live. I like it better than the previous layout.
What's different? I didn't really notice anything.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rightintel View Post
What's different? I didn't really notice anything.
Neither did I, I went in to check after that post and didn't notice anything different.
It's a different layout. Everything scrolls down now instead of across. I'm not in the Insider program for betas so it just recently went public.

https://youtu.be/LREPMX0Av3s
rightintel likes this.
Spewdom is online now  
post #7213 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 09:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5206 Post(s)
Liked: 3219
Got it, thanks! Anyone here use their Xbox with a Harmony remote? If so, have you figure out how to set the Harmony to use the "More Options" command from the Xbox. I've only been able to use the Xbox controller to provide this command and haven't figured out how to teach the Harmony to learn "More Options". It seems there are quite a few Xbox screens that use this one.

lujan
696 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #7214 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 09:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Got it, thanks! Anyone here use their Xbox with a Harmony remote? If so, have you figure out how to set the Harmony to use the "More Options" command from the Xbox. I've only been able to use the Xbox controller to provide this command and haven't figured out how to teach the Harmony to learn "More Options". It seems there are quite a few Xbox screens that use this one.
What do you mean the more options command?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #7215 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5206 Post(s)
Liked: 3219
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
What do you mean the more options command?

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
It's the one indicated on the Xbox screen with 3 lines and allows you to make other changes. It's on the controller just left of the X. I can attach picture if you need.

lujan
696 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #7216 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 10:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
It's the one indicated on the Xbox screen with 3 lines and allows you to make other changes. It's on the controller just left of the X. I can attach picture if you need.
Using the Harmony remote that's just the Menu button.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #7217 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5206 Post(s)
Liked: 3219
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
Using the Harmony remote that's just the Menu button.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
Really? I'll add it to my Harmony activity if it's not already there. Thanks!

lujan
696 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #7218 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 11:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Really? I'll add it to my Harmony activity if it's not already there. Thanks!
No problem!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #7219 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 01:24 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,957
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9985 Post(s)
Liked: 6655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spewdom View Post
It's a different layout. Everything scrolls down now instead of across. I'm not in the Insider program for betas so it just recently went public.

https://youtu.be/LREPMX0Av3s
I guess that is why I didn't see anything different. My UI has looked like that for awhile.
shoman94 likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #7220 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 01:26 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,957
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9985 Post(s)
Liked: 6655
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
Got it, thanks! Anyone here use their Xbox with a Harmony remote? If so, have you figure out how to set the Harmony to use the "More Options" command from the Xbox. I've only been able to use the Xbox controller to provide this command and haven't figured out how to teach the Harmony to learn "More Options". It seems there are quite a few Xbox screens that use this one.
I know I have a soft button on the touchscreen of my Harmony remotes for that. So it must already be in the database?

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #7221 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 02:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SW USA
Posts: 9,779
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5206 Post(s)
Liked: 3219
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I know I have a soft button on the touchscreen of my Harmony remotes for that. So it must already be in the database?
I added it to the touchscreen as well as the buttons because I use that one quite a lot. I don't know why Microsoft (Xbox) calls it "More options" but it's "Menu" in the Harmony database?

lujan
696 Ultra HD
737 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #7222 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 03:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I added it to the touchscreen as well as the buttons because I use that one quite a lot. I don't know why Microsoft (Xbox) calls it "More options" but it's "Menu" in the Harmony database?
The hamburger button has always been known to bring up a menu as long as I can remember in multiple software OS's.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #7223 of 7408 Old 02-28-2020, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Holmes108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by lujan View Post
I added it to the touchscreen as well as the buttons because I use that one quite a lot. I don't know why Microsoft (Xbox) calls it "More options" but it's "Menu" in the Harmony database?
It is called the menu button on xbox, the on screen prompt is showing you the menu button icon, and simply saying that "more options" is what that button does in that particular context. Like if it has the icon of the green A button, and said "select", or the red B button and said "back".

Of course, I still call the "menu" and "view" buttons "start" and "select", lol

Sent from my SM-N975W using Tapatalk
OddyOh and shoman94 like this.

Last edited by Holmes108; 03-19-2020 at 10:07 AM.
Holmes108 is offline  
post #7224 of 7408 Old 03-19-2020, 10:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Been using the One X since release but just got an Epson 5050ub, my first foray into 4k. Getting checkmarks next to everything except 50hz support (which I have turned off on purpose as I'm in the US) and Dolby Vision, which I expect since no projector support Dolby Vision.



Should I have 10-bit or 12-bit color selected? I had been using 10-bit color and it seemed fine until I noticed some really obvious color banding in one scene in Ori and the Will of the Wisps. Any suggestions for eliminating the color banding?

Pioneer SC-LX801 | Xbox One X | Rega P3 Turntable | Anthony Gallo Reference 3.1 L/R, Reference AV C | RSL CG3 surrounds | 4x RSL C34E Atmos in-ceilings | HSU VTF-3 MK5 subwoofer | Epson 5050ub | Elite Screens 120" drop-down | Pioneer Kuro KRP-500m
Northern_Lights is offline  
post #7225 of 7408 Old 03-19-2020, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern_Lights View Post
Been using the One X since release but just got an Epson 5050ub, my first foray into 4k. Getting checkmarks next to everything except 50hz support (which I have turned off on purpose as I'm in the US) and Dolby Vision, which I expect since no projector support Dolby Vision.



Should I have 10-bit or 12-bit color selected? I had been using 10-bit color and it seemed fine until I noticed some really obvious color banding in one scene in Ori and the Will of the Wisps. Any suggestions for eliminating the color banding?
You want it set to 8 bit so you. It will change to 10bit or 12 bit automatically.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #7226 of 7408 Old 03-19-2020, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman94 View Post
You want it set to 8 bit so you. It will change to 10bit or 12 bit automatically.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

What would be the disadvantage of setting to 12 bit? How would I verify that it's switching automatically if I set it to 8 bit?

Pioneer SC-LX801 | Xbox One X | Rega P3 Turntable | Anthony Gallo Reference 3.1 L/R, Reference AV C | RSL CG3 surrounds | 4x RSL C34E Atmos in-ceilings | HSU VTF-3 MK5 subwoofer | Epson 5050ub | Elite Screens 120" drop-down | Pioneer Kuro KRP-500m
Northern_Lights is offline  
post #7227 of 7408 Old 03-19-2020, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shoman94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 8,197
Mentioned: 224 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5751 Post(s)
Liked: 3846
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern_Lights View Post
What would be the disadvantage of setting to 12 bit? How would I verify that it's switching automatically if I set it to 8 bit?
Because SDR is only 8bit and setting it to 8 bit will also send a 4:4:4 signal.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2018 Sony LCD Master Series Calibration Thread
Sony XBR-75Z9F, Vizio M50-E1, Pioneer Kuro 5020, Marantz SR6013, AppleTV-4K, XBox One & (X), NVIDIA SHIELD.v1, FireTV 4K-HDR, HDHR Connects, QNAP 431+
shoman94 is offline  
post #7228 of 7408 Old 03-19-2020, 10:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jrocker23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 1,528
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 973 Post(s)
Liked: 974
Quote:
Originally Posted by Northern_Lights View Post
What would be the disadvantage of setting to 12 bit? How would I verify that it's switching automatically if I set it to 8 bit?
The poster is correct but if you need further, this will answer your question


LG OLED C9, C8, C6 / AVR - Pioneer Elite SC-LX502 / Xbox One X, S / PS4 Pro / Nintendo Switch

Living Room: LG OLED65C9, AVR Pioneer SC-LX502, Xbox One X, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch
Bedrooms: LG OLED65C8, LG OLED55C6, LG Soundbar NB3530A, Xbox One X
LG C6PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/product/lg-OLED55C6P.AUS
LG C8PUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support-produc...5C8PUA#manuals
LG C9PUA/AUA Firmware Link https://www.lg.com/us/support/produc...LED65C9PUA.AUS
Jrocker23 is online now  
post #7229 of 7408 Old 03-23-2020, 05:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barrelbelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,525
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 437 Post(s)
Liked: 524
How much do you all think Team Xbox will discount the XB1X down too when they release the Xbox Series X? The reason I ask? The only time I really play the XB1X is really when my 8 yr old grandson is over. And we have a blast playing co-op (especially Halo). Otherwise I am usually always on my PC. I also still prefer playing XB360 games on my 360. So with the series X due out soon. I am actually considering buying a new XB1X for the Grandson this Xmas instead of upping to the Series X when it arrives. Then I can fully transfer my 360 library over to the 1X via BC & play co-op with the grandson on weekends (on-line). I really don't know if I will see much benefit on the next upgrade anyway if new games will play on both consoles. While a hot Inventory purge price on the XB1X (like $199) will have more cost/benefit based on what I want to do. What say you...upgrade or hold serve?
barrelbelly is offline  
post #7230 of 7408 Old 03-23-2020, 09:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Thebarnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 3,602
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 259 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrelbelly View Post
How much do you all think Team Xbox will discount the XB1X down too when they release the Xbox Series X? The reason I ask? The only time I really play the XB1X is really when my 8 yr old grandson is over. And we have a blast playing co-op (especially Halo). Otherwise I am usually always on my PC. I also still prefer playing XB360 games on my 360. So with the series X due out soon. I am actually considering buying a new XB1X for the Grandson this Xmas instead of upping to the Series X when it arrives. Then I can fully transfer my 360 library over to the 1X via BC & play co-op with the grandson on weekends (on-line). I really don't know if I will see much benefit on the next upgrade anyway if new games will play on both consoles. While a hot Inventory purge price on the XB1X (like $199) will have more cost/benefit based on what I want to do. What say you...upgrade or hold serve?
It was $350 at Best Buy last December.
aaronwt and barrelbelly like this.

Movies must be OAR, sports and movies must also have 5.1 audio, No EE or NO SALE!
Thebarnman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
enhanced , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off