The Official Xbox One X thread - Page 99 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3631Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2941 of 6692 Old 11-13-2017, 07:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,409
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2289 Post(s)
Liked: 906
Nope. It’s all broken. The movie player in windows 10 works with hdr - it must be coming at some point

Xbox win 10: hdr in games works, files broken

PC win10: hdr gaming FUBAR but movies work

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2942 of 6692 Old 11-13-2017, 07:52 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,317
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8913 Post(s)
Liked: 5696
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
Thanks, but unless I am misunderstanding the one you linked is 5 in 1 out. I need 1 in 2 out. Or is that one bidirectional?
That is not an HDMI switch. It's a splitter. Which can have issues if both devices don't have the same capabilities.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk

53TB unRAID2--49TB unRAID3--45TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2943 of 6692 Old 11-13-2017, 08:31 PM
Member
 
Freddie Harb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Quote:
Originally Posted by EaZy-E View Post
I have the same TV set as you but I can't get full HDR support. Are you connecting the console directly to your TV or through A/V Receiver?
So far all I've been able to get is partial 4K support, no 4K @60Hz and HDR10 is disabled for gaming.
i am connecting through my A/R receiver (denon). When i went to Xbox video settings, i had all the check boxes ticked.

- double check that your 940 HDMI input is set to enhanced (not standard)
- Definitely switch out the HDMI cable to isolate that it's not the cable.
- If using an AVR, ensure that its HDMI port is set to pass-through.

That's what I'd focus on. 940e is a beast of a TV, once you figure it out, you will have a monster set-up.

Freddie
Freddie Harb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2944 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 01:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Xbox One X color depth

I have been testing the Xbox One X with different settings on the xbox, playing COD WW2 and have had some strange results.
First I tested with 12 bit, RGB FULL, and YCB yes and the clip saved as HDR when I did screen grab.
I then tested 8 bit, standard on the same scene and it didn't save as HDR, but somehow looked more vibrant.
Finally I restarted COD WW2 on 8 bit, standard and it saved as HDR this time but again looked not as vibrant as the no HDR save.

I am starting to think something is wrong with HDR on not only Bluray but games as well.
vcalmlikeabombv is offline  
post #2945 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 02:05 AM
Senior Member
 
mitico303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Italy
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 88 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
HDR Black levels are fixed!

Received the 1711 update and put in my HDR calibration disc. All is back to normal.

Yay!

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Perfect! just in time for the Spiderman: Homecoming UHD Blu-Ray that I'll receive tomorrow!

TV: Sony KD-65A1 OLED
AVR: Denon X1400H - Speakers: Onkyo SKS-HT588 - 5.1.2 Dolby Atmos set
Multimedia: Xbox One X / Apple TV 4K / MySky HD - Humax ESi-160
Headset: Turtle Beach Elite 800X
mitico303 is offline  
post #2946 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 03:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
Anyone have any luck getting HEVC x265 HDR encoded files to play on the X?

I have Masciola's basic test pattern files (Brightness,Contrast, Color Bars mostly) that I would like to run thru the X.

I want to verify/test the black crushing with X.

I have tried using Plex...but as far as I can tell Plex does not work with HDR yet.

I have tried XBOX Media Player...which does not even play the files, instead it crashes.

I have almost had luck with the XBOX Movie & TV APP...some play some don't.

VLC seemed to play them but did not trigger HDR.

For now I use the files via the TVs built in media player...then just copy the TVs settings over to the XBOX's HDMI input for HDR....but that is kinda guesswork and does not really show me if the X is crushing the blacks like I think it is.
I asked earlier in the thread and people said hdr doesnt get triggered same as in my pro..shame really
wapvi is offline  
post #2947 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 03:56 AM
Senior Member
 
theone26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCoolJesus View Post
I'm on the lowest tier of the preview program which means I see updates like one or two days before mainstream release. My guess is it will be available tomorrow or Wednesday for all.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Just to be sure, should I look for the Blu Ray App update tomorrow or the System firmware update? It's a hot fix right?
theone26 is offline  
post #2948 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 04:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BigCoolJesus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,970
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2081 Post(s)
Liked: 1692
Quote:
Originally Posted by theone26 View Post
Just to be sure, should I look for the Blu Ray App update tomorrow or the System firmware update? It's a hot fix right?
It's a system update

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
BigCoolJesus is offline  
post #2949 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 04:17 AM
Senior Member
 
theone26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 240
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Cool thanks.

Display Sony 65"ZD9
theone26 is offline  
post #2950 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 04:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
That is not an HDMI switch. It's a splitter. Which can have issues if both devices don't have the same capabilities.

Sent from my Tab S 10.5 using Tapatalk
Thanks. That is what I thought. I need to find a 1->2 switch.

Amazing that it seems so hard to find a simple manual/passive 1->2 selector switch that just mimics me swapping cables. Time to go old school i guess =P

Last edited by RafaelSmith; 11-14-2017 at 05:31 AM.
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #2951 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 06:13 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,317
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8913 Post(s)
Liked: 5696
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
Thanks. That is what I thought. I need to find a 1->2 switch.

Amazing that it seems so hard to find a simple manual/passive 1->2 selector switch that just mimics me swapping cables. Time to go old school i guess =P
Maybe that will work? I went and reread the page and it can go both directions. It can be used as a switch to select between two devices or can be used with two displays and one device. Not sure if it's an 18Gbps switch though. But it seems to be a passive, manual switch. so it might do what you want since it wouldn't have an active connection between both displays at the same time.

53TB unRAID2--49TB unRAID3--45TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2952 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 07:24 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by vcalmlikeabombv View Post
I have been testing the Xbox One X with different settings on the xbox, playing COD WW2 and have had some strange results.
First I tested with 12 bit, RGB FULL, and YCB yes and the clip saved as HDR when I did screen grab.
I then tested 8 bit, standard on the same scene and it didn't save as HDR, but somehow looked more vibrant.
Finally I restarted COD WW2 on 8 bit, standard and it saved as HDR this time but again looked not as vibrant as the no HDR save.

I am starting to think something is wrong with HDR on not only Bluray but games as well.
What TV are you using? Myself and a few other TCL P-series users have been experiencing the same thing. CoD WWII looks very "washed out" in HDR. There's also some reports some LGs are doing the same. I've messed with just about every setting possible on the Xbox, in-game, and on the TV to now avail. Oddly enough, Gears 4 looks incredible in HDR. I've run into a couple of other issues. In Rise of the Tomb Raider in Native 4k, some textures turn either red or green, which is very unpleasant. In Wolfenstein 2, I get weird green and red scan lines vertically down my screen with random green tint pop-in (although changing my screen size from "Auto/Direct" to "Normal" reduces the issues, but also zooms my whole screen in). I'd figure my TV was defective, but each of these issues are pretty unique to their individual game. I've also heard other TCL owners experiencing the same exact issues. Someone earlier in this thread was mentioning the "washed out" HDR image on a TCL. For whatever reason, it seems the TCLs don't play nice with the Xbox One X right now. Would love to figure out which is causing the problem so I can contact the necessary party.
trapp2188 is offline  
post #2953 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 07:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,735
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 743 Post(s)
Liked: 688
Spoke with a Sewell rep about my 1x2 4k Switch. They stated that since my receiver was 1080P that it would downgrade my video to that when running straight to the TV. Upon hearing that I was bummed since I have no work around and they issued RMA.

They did say they were working on something where they were going just split out the audio, but they don't have that ready yet.

At this point I'm just going to start saving up for a new Denon. I've always had great success with them.

Sent from my VS995 using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is online now  
post #2954 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 07:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elisha View Post
There was a new Beta release today. The previous Beta fixed the elevated black issue. Not sure what the one from today does.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
hope it fixes my LG Atmos issues.
b_scott is offline  
post #2955 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Posts: 7,264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 417 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by RafaelSmith View Post
Thanks. That is what I thought. I need to find a 1->2 switch.

Amazing that it seems so hard to find a simple manual/passive 1->2 selector switch that just mimics me swapping cables. Time to go old school i guess =P
likely HDCP issues.
b_scott is offline  
post #2956 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 07:55 AM
Senior Member
 
usurpers26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 96
COD is most definitely not washed out on my G7 - it looks amazing.

For LGs specifically I would guess that it is a settings issue on the TV or XBX or both.

Quote:
Originally Posted by trapp2188 View Post
CoD WWII looks very "washed out" in HDR. There's also some reports some LGs are doing the same.
usurpers26 is offline  
post #2957 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 07:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RafaelSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Orlando Fl
Posts: 2,996
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 937 Post(s)
Liked: 636
Any place to get a power cable or the X that is longer?
RafaelSmith is offline  
post #2958 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
wkward83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Cod looks amazing on my lg c6 definitely not washed out.
wkward83 is offline  
post #2959 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
bucknuts07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 695
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkward83 View Post
Cod looks amazing on my lg c6 definitely not washed out.
Any chance you can post a picture ? Debating trading my 930e in for oled, but hear how dim the hdr game mode is

Xbox Live- bucknuts07

 

PSN-bucknuts07

bucknuts07 is offline  
post #2960 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 6,867
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1055 Post(s)
Liked: 1638
Quote:
Originally Posted by trapp2188 View Post
What TV are you using? Myself and a few other TCL P-series users have been experiencing the same thing. CoD WWII looks very "washed out" in HDR. Someone earlier in this thread was mentioning the "washed out" HDR image on a TCL. For whatever reason, it seems the TCLs don't play nice with the Xbox One X right now. Would love to figure out which is causing the problem so I can contact the necessary party.
OMG, you should've seen the growing pains while us Vizio owners were patiently waiting for a firmware update to allow HDR10 (originally our TVs only supported Dolby Vision) in order to play HDR on the Xbox One S. And then there were glitches all over the place while other owners (like Samsung KS8000) had perfectly fine HDR in gaming. But Vizio eventually ironed it out.
theboomr likes this.
onlysublime is offline  
post #2961 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 08:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Movie78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: NY
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 942 Post(s)
Liked: 294
Anyone with Xbox One S upgrade to Xbox One X is the upgrade worth it for a casual player?
Movie78 is online now  
post #2962 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 08:29 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
onlysublime's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Orange County
Posts: 6,867
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1055 Post(s)
Liked: 1638
Did you guys read the article that there has been a serious uptick in Kinect power adapter sales on Amazon? It seems to coincide and relate to the launch of the Xbox One X. At one point (before it went out of stock), it was selling ahead of the 1 TB PS4 Pro on Amazon's bestsellers chart. Maybe its death was premature. haha
onlysublime is offline  
post #2963 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
usurpers26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 392
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 96
I am using @P40L0 settings for gaming. HDR game mode is not dim...at all (for my eyes at least). When you look into the sky on some COD maps, the sun makes me squint.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucknuts07 View Post
Any chance you can post a picture ? Debating trading my 930e in for oled, but hear how dim the hdr game mode is
usurpers26 is offline  
post #2964 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,720
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1765 Post(s)
Liked: 4030
Quote:
Originally Posted by Movie78 View Post
Anyone with Xbox One S upgrade to Xbox One X is the upgrade worth it for a casual player?
Not unless money is no option.

The X is mainly for those that are serious about visuals in game, and want them to look best... particularly on 4K+HDR TVs.
DaverJ is offline  
post #2965 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 08:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,150
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2149 Post(s)
Liked: 2441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Movie78 View Post
Anyone with Xbox One S upgrade to Xbox One X is the upgrade worth it for a casual player?
I see you have a PS4 Pro. If you had a regular PS4 prior to owning the Pro and could appreciate the difference, you will definitely be able to with the One X as it is a larger jump in image quality. (Although currently there are a couple games that you'd have to A/B compare between the Pro and the X but that is down to developer support and not a limitation of the hardware.)

Also since you have a large TV, you will be able appreciate the resolution increase easier.

I saw a nice bump in image fidelity going to the Pro even with games running at 1800p and being upscaled but playing games like Halo 3, Halo 5, GoW 4, etc. at 4K, I have been very impressed at what the Xbox One X can pull off on my setup.
DaverJ and theboomr like this.
mutelight is online now  
post #2966 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 08:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Lozin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 160
I plan to get one of the X consoles between now and Boxing Day and was wondering how easy it is to swap the internal HDD? I’m not big on external drives so I’d like to buy a 2 or even 4tb internal drive to swap out right away before I turn it on for the first time. It was very easy swap out the PS4
Lozin is offline  
post #2967 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 08:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mutelight's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,150
Mentioned: 40 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2149 Post(s)
Liked: 2441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lozin View Post
I plan to get one of the X consoles between now and Boxing Day and was wondering how easy it is to swap the internal HDD? I’m not big on external drives so I’d like to buy a 2 or even 4tb internal drive to swap out right away before I turn it on for the first time. It was very easy swap out the PS4
The answer is that it isn't easy and will void your warranty.
theboomr likes this.
mutelight is online now  
post #2968 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 09:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Lozin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 673
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 330 Post(s)
Liked: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutelight View Post
The answer is that it isn't easy and will void your warranty.


Good to know. If that’s the case I might just run it with the stock drive and only use it for exclusives.
Lozin is offline  
post #2969 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 09:04 AM
Member
 
juxtafras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frohlich View Post
I have the Xbox one X and the same projector (Sony 385)and everything is running as expected for both 4k 60HZ HDR and for Atmos. I honestly think you diagnosed your own problem for the 4k 60 HZ HRD. Your 50 foot cable run is not passing the signal as the run is too long for that cable. Not all 18gpbs can pass signal that distance. If you read around AVS, HDMI runs over 30 feet can start to be problematic and lots of people have issues at that distance trying to run 4k 60hz HDR. My run is 40 feet and is built into the wall and is working 100%.

I am using this cable (and at least one other person on the 385 thread bought this cable recently and said it fixed his issue (no guarantees but might be worth a shot):


https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=12735
You were right! I got the monoprice cable and it all works now. Thank you very much. I never thought the cables would be the problem!
DaverJ likes this.
juxtafras is offline  
post #2970 of 6692 Old 11-14-2017, 09:05 AM
Member
 
juxtafras's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by JNayAV View Post
Short of someone else having tried those cables, I would guess no they will not.
The cable from Monoprice that was referrenced is an Active HDMI cable, all of the cables you linked appear to be standard.
Active HDMI cables have an additional chip in one end to help boost the signal over such a long distance.

Either need to look for a comparable Active HDMI cable or try the suggested one from Monoprice.
Note from what I've seen other than the one from Monoprice, Active HDMI cable prices are significantly higher.

Once do get the cable, be sure which direction you install it. My understanding is the the side with the chip needs to be at a specific end. (sorry I don't remember which way is correct)
Thank you for your help! The monoprice cable solved my problem. The results are awesome!
juxtafras is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Xbox Area

Tags
enhanced , xbox one x

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off