The Surge - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-27-2019, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 694
The Surge

Has anyone played this on the Xbox X? I picked this up on the Gamepass today and gave it a spin. The game while not bad has a video bug where it acts like it is trying to go into screen saver mode. So every 30-45 seconds the screen darkens (dark grey) then goes back to normal. I have tried both Quality and performance settings on the game and both do it. No other issues with any games, so I fairly certain it is specific to this game. Though googling for this gives me nothing as well.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-27-2019, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 10,378
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 169
haven't experienced this, which mode are you playing? Surge gives you two options, 30fps with extra processing at 4K I think, or 1080p at 60fps.......

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-27-2019, 02:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 694
I played both and it did it. Just started a movie on Netflix and it did the same thing. So it's not the game after all. Tried a gated reboot and no luck either. Look looked I had an update last night and I'm wondering if that screwed something up.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 Old 05-31-2019, 03:55 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 10,378
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 169
Cheapest "maybe it's this" try would be a new HDMI cable run, and use only one (assuming you're pushing 4K) that is just long enough to get the job done.......good luck.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-31-2019, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 748 Post(s)
Liked: 694
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post
Cheapest "maybe it's this" try would be a new HDMI cable run, and use only one (assuming you're pushing 4K) that is just long enough to get the job done.......good luck.
I don't think it's the cable or receiver. I have no issues with the PS4. Hell, I just replaced the cable a few months ago for a different issue. I'm fairly certain the next update will fix it.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off