XBOX Panzer Dragoon Orta not 480P?? - Page 2 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 48 Old 12-30-2004, 08:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 226
I just got a new Xbox for Christmas since my old Xbox (launch) died in September. I used to play PDO in 480p all the time on my old Xbox with a Thomson drive. Now that I have a new Xbox with the Philips drive, PDO no longer works in 480p. So now I've got to find a solution to this since 480i makes me want to cry.
tokerblue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 48 Old 12-30-2004, 10:53 PM
Member
 
syntek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an old Xbox (black) and the new clear one. I used to play PDO in 480p on my Toshiba LCD, but that was before I got the new Xbox. Since buying the new xbox, I haven't played PDO on it yet. Upon reading this post, I immediately went and popped PDO in the new Xbox, and I got gibberish as well. 480i mode works fine as reported. 480P still works fine on my old Xbox. So yeah, it's not your game or TV. I guess the new Xbox just don't work with PDO, makes me wonder how many other games are incompatible in 480p. Good find though.
syntek is offline  
post #33 of 48 Old 12-31-2004, 01:49 AM
Member
 
dj898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Biggest Island in the World
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
make me glade I went to trouble to source Halo crystal green shell to put my v1.0 US M/board with Samsung DVD drive I had... :D

it has so far never failed on me and looks like I will need to hang on to it then...

cheers
dj898 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #34 of 48 Old 01-02-2005, 09:33 PM
Member
 
roy179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northeast
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was looking forward to playing this game on my new-ish xbox(green halo edition), so this is somewhat disappointing. If the theory about the Focus chip is correct, does anybody know how to tell if a given xbox has it? My Xbox has manufacture date 06/2004 on Line 5 I believe based on 40605 serial number.

Here is a version lookup table I found:
http://www.xbox-linux.org/Xbox_Versions_HOWTO
roy179 is offline  
post #35 of 48 Old 01-03-2005, 08:06 AM
Member
 
syntek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
similar reports on this issue can be found in a thread in futuremark. It appears that if you have updated your Xbox dashboard to 480P from Xlive, your Xbox will be unable to work with PDO at 480P. A future Xlive update might fix this, but I wouldn't be too hopeful.
syntek is offline  
post #36 of 48 Old 01-09-2005, 09:35 PM
Member
 
roy179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northeast
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found the thread over at futuremark and copied the last post below. Can anyone confirm this workaround with your copy of the game before I go out and buy it, TIA

"I have this same problem with Panzer Dragoon Orta on two different XBOXs and two different HDTVs. I fix it by only enabling 480p and turning off 720p and 1080i. Don't know why it works that way but it does. "
roy179 is offline  
post #37 of 48 Old 01-11-2005, 06:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally posted by roy179
"I have this same problem with Panzer Dragoon Orta on two different XBOXs and two different HDTVs. I fix it by only enabling 480p and turning off 720p and 1080i. Don't know why it works that way but it does. "
> I tried this last night with my new Xbox and it doesn't work for me.
tokerblue is offline  
post #38 of 48 Old 01-11-2005, 12:30 PM
Member
 
Rottweiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Like someone else said the problem is the new Xbox Live update. Since MS has incorporated the new XBL update in all new Xboxs they too will have the same problem with PDO. There are a few other Xbox games that have the same problem. I heard Gunvalkyrie is one of them. Supposedly the new XBL update will fix the problem.
Rottweiler is offline  
post #39 of 48 Old 01-11-2005, 08:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally posted by Rottweiler
Supposedly the new XBL update will fix the problem.
> Do you know when the next update is supposed to be?
tokerblue is offline  
post #40 of 48 Old 01-12-2005, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
Jason One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by Rottweiler
Like someone else said the problem is the new Xbox Live update. Since MS has incorporated the new XBL update in all new Xboxs they too will have the same problem with PDO. There are a few other Xbox games that have the same problem. I heard Gunvalkyrie is one of them. Supposedly the new XBL update will fix the problem.
I do not believe that is the case. My Xbox has the new Xbox Live dashboard, but it still runs Panzer Dragoon Orta perfectly in 480p. I don't have to disable 720p or 1080i, either.

I read on the HDTVArcade forum that the problem is actually caused by the newer 1.5 or 1.6 Xbox hardware revisions. (My Xbox is a 1.0.)
Jason One is offline  
post #41 of 48 Old 01-12-2005, 04:42 PM
Member
 
dj898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Biggest Island in the World
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep!
my 1.0 Xbox with dashboard update runs fine as well...
dj898 is offline  
post #42 of 48 Old 01-12-2005, 09:00 PM
Member
 
dj898's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Biggest Island in the World
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
does anyone know Halo edition green Xbox is v5.0 or earlier?

cheers
dj898 is offline  
post #43 of 48 Old 01-14-2005, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Jason One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by dj898
does anyone know Halo edition green Xbox is v5.0 or earlier?
Check out Xbox-Scene.com's Xbox Version Detection page. I used the serial number method to determine which version I have.
Jason One is offline  
post #44 of 48 Old 01-15-2005, 08:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ferrisg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suburbs of Minneapolis
Posts: 2,466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the 1.5 Xbox has problems, the 1.4 should as well since they share the Focus video encoder. The 1.6 Xbox is definitely identified in all the "480p not working" threads, so it seems that there is an issue with the Xcalibur encoder used. Versions 1.0-1.3 should all work ok since they all use the Conexant video encoder. I'm not sure if any other major changes occured to the video subsystem, but the change of video encoder is probably the most obvious guess for this problem.

I don't know why the change from Conexant to Focus to Xcalibur occured, but I suppose the safest assumption is a cost reduction. The Conexant seems to be the most trouble free, but they are one of the most established companies in the video encoder market.
ferrisg is offline  
post #45 of 48 Old 01-17-2005, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tokerblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 226
So the only realistic hope is if M$ releases a live update to fix one relatively obscure game?
tokerblue is offline  
post #46 of 48 Old 01-17-2005, 09:21 AM
Member
 
Rottweiler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by tokerblue
So the only realistic hope is if M$ releases a live update to fix one relatively obscure game?
Make that 2 obscure games and a few others that may also have problems displaying 480p. Gunvalkyrie and PDO are the most well known.
Rottweiler is offline  
post #47 of 48 Old 01-28-2005, 11:47 PM
Member
 
roy179's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Northeast
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dj898
does anyone know Halo edition green Xbox is v5.0 or earlier?

cheers
PDO works on my Halo edition green Xbox, I finally came across a $10 copy of this game and played it. It's hella fun, and quite spectacular in 480P widescreen. It's definitely a shooter type game, so to the person reading here if you're not into that genre you're not missing much. BTW here is what xbox support said when I wrote in. No fix, sounds like a known issue.

Quote:
Thank you for writing to Xbox regarding your Panzer Dragoon Orta video issue.

We apologize for any inconvenience however, you may still play the game using the 480i resolution. To change the video resolution of your console back to 480i, kindly refer to the following steps:

1. Plug the High Definition AV pack’s green color-coded video output jack into the composite video input of your TV. The output jack is marked with the letter "Y."

Note The composite input on a TV is typically color-coded with yellow.

2. Start Xbox without a disc in the tray to load the Xbox Dashboard.

Note If your Xbox console displays the Xbox Live screen when you start it, press the B button on the Xbox controller two times to return to the original Xbox Dashboard.

3. From the main menu of the Xbox Dashboard, select Settings, and then press the A button.
4. In the Settings menu, select Video, and then press the A button.
5. In the Video menu, select 480p, and then press the A button.
6. You are prompted to confirm that your TV supports 480p mode. Select No, and then press the A button. This prevents your Xbox from displaying in 480p mode in the future.

In case you have other Xbox concerns, feel free to write back. We take feedback on Xbox and our Customer Service very seriously and review customer comments daily.

Sincerely,

Xbox Customer Care Team
roy179 is offline  
post #48 of 48 Old 09-09-2005, 04:10 AM
Member
 
Nick Laslett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Jet Set Radio Future would aslo appear to have this problem.

It is a shame that two really good games like JSFR and Panzer Dragoon Orta both have this problem on newer Xboxs.
Nick Laslett is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread Xbox Area

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off