PlayStation 4 - Page 656 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1455Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19651 of 21096 Old 04-25-2015, 05:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,123
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
12 bucks and 15 minutes of time and I have a trigger and two thumbsticks replaced for my controllers

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19652 of 21096 Old 04-25-2015, 06:13 PM
Member
 
Hearzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Did anyone else have an issue with the newest firmware update? It will not download for me.

PSN (PS3/4) - Campy04
Hearzy is offline  
post #19653 of 21096 Old 04-25-2015, 08:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Epyon415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 657 Post(s)
Liked: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hearzy View Post
Did anyone else have an issue with the newest firmware update? It will not download for me.
no, installed while in rest mode. Getting error code? Have tried downloading it to a USB and manually updating?

PSN/XBL/Steam/Etc: Epyon415
Twitter: @roguengames
YouTube Gameplay Video
Epyon415 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19654 of 21096 Old 04-26-2015, 05:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,461
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 491
PlayStation 4

Mine installed fine but ever since the update my PS4 will not wake from rest mode correctly and the light just blinks blue. Have to hold the power button down for 10 seconds to force it off, then it scolds me for not turning it off properly. This happens about every 3rd or 4th time waking from rest mode since the last update.

PSN ID: CrimsonNagus
XBL GT: Crimson Nagus
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #19655 of 21096 Old 04-26-2015, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Big Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brandon, FL
Posts: 2,500
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 628
I get the triple beep thing going on every third or fourth time going into rest mode. It's annoying that Sony still has issues with their firmware updates. Makes me wonder if it has something to do with those who installed a larger hard drive.
Big Brad is offline  
post #19656 of 21096 Old 04-26-2015, 05:09 PM
Member
 
Hearzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epyon415 View Post
no, installed while in rest mode. Getting error code? Have tried downloading it to a USB and manually updating?

Haven't tried the usb method - next time. Since summer is back I am not on into the gaming as much with the crap I am doing around the house. Ticked me off though when I wanted to play this weekend and I had that error. Tried restarting a couple times to no avail

PSN (PS3/4) - Campy04
Hearzy is offline  
post #19657 of 21096 Old 04-27-2015, 10:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
12 bucks and 15 minutes of time and I have a trigger and two thumbsticks replaced for my controllers
Maybe I missed it, but which thumbsticks did you buy? The left stick on both of my controllers are balding, could probably use replacements.
Hatcher is offline  
post #19658 of 21096 Old 04-27-2015, 11:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,252
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatcher View Post
Maybe I missed it, but which thumbsticks did you buy? The left stick on both of my controllers are balding, could probably use replacements.
Madmodz on Amazon. Think its part of Madcatz or whatever. Works great so far!
lordxar5 is offline  
post #19659 of 21096 Old 04-27-2015, 11:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Epyon415's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,034
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 657 Post(s)
Liked: 415
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
Mine installed fine but ever since the update my PS4 will not wake from rest mode correctly and the light just blinks blue. Have to hold the power button down for 10 seconds to force it off, then it scolds me for not turning it off properly. This happens about every 3rd or 4th time waking from rest mode since the last update.
Had the same issue after the patch that added something to rest mode (maybe suspend/resume). IIRC i had to go into safe mode, run initialization or something. Check the interwebs, there is a fix.

PSN/XBL/Steam/Etc: Epyon415
Twitter: @roguengames
YouTube Gameplay Video
Epyon415 is offline  
post #19660 of 21096 Old 04-27-2015, 06:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
samendolaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatcher View Post
Maybe I missed it, but which thumbsticks did you buy? The left stick on both of my controllers are balding, could probably use replacements.

You can get replacement sticks like the ones you have, you can get all metal replacements or you can just gt caps which go over the balding ones.
samendolaro is offline  
post #19661 of 21096 Old 04-27-2015, 07:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,252
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by samendolaro View Post
You can get replacement sticks like the ones you have, you can get all metal replacements or you can just gt caps which go over the balding ones.
Personally I just replaced what was there. Caps just mask things and I wasn't keen on the metal ones the xbone had. But yea there's a lot of choice out there. While your controller is under the knife you could also get new buttons and faceplates too.
lordxar5 is offline  
post #19662 of 21096 Old 04-28-2015, 09:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
Madmodz on Amazon. Think its part of Madcatz or whatever. Works great so far!
Will not ship to Canada... damn. I guess I'll get one of random brands off of Amazon.ca. Thanks though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by samendolaro View Post
You can get replacement sticks like the ones you have, you can get all metal replacements or you can just gt caps which go over the balding ones.
Quote:
Originally Posted by lordxar5 View Post
Personally I just replaced what was there. Caps just mask things and I wasn't keen on the metal ones the xbone had. But yea there's a lot of choice out there. While your controller is under the knife you could also get new buttons and faceplates too.
I think the metal ones would not be as grippy... there is a lot more options for this than I thought there would be. I will likely just end up with replacements though.
Hatcher is offline  
post #19663 of 21096 Old 04-28-2015, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lordxar5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6,252
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 929
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatcher View Post
Will not ship to Canada... damn. I guess I'll get one of random brands off of Amazon.ca. Thanks though.





I think the metal ones would not be as grippy... there is a lot more options for this than I thought there would be. I will likely just end up with replacements though.
Metal sticks are grooved so its not bad grip. I just push really hard and plastic has more give than metal Plus the xbone sticks are very narrow compared to the larger PS4 sticks and sat higher which I didn't like either.
lordxar5 is offline  
post #19664 of 21096 Old 04-29-2015, 01:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 365
I activated HBO Go, first time user, on my PS4 this passed weekend for Game Of Thrones. Ironically, I usually rail against using the PS4 for media functionality, but without thinking and because the PS4 was already on (I was playing Bloodborne) I just fired it up and off I went. I noticed that during the GoT episode I don't believe I was getting surround. I certainly get surround out of my PS4, but my AVR flags it as PCM, so there's no way of knowing how many channels I truly have from there.

I also have an AppleTV and an XBO, Im curious if anyone has experience with HBO Go and knows where it is better between these platforms. I would prefer the 5.1 mix, but with the PS4 stream I also noticed some "web streaming" stuttering effects. I don't stream much, but when I do it is netflix, but they've ironed out much of that feel. (They also can indicate the audio stream).

I know I could just try the other devices I have, but honestly, it's a pain the butt to add/activate the device and once I start watching the episode, my wife isn't going to permit to stop and try another device mid stream. Would rather just skip that nonsense and jump straight to what my best option is.

I don't have a cable box, as I'm using a family members' account.

"The Scuba Tank" thread here
PSN/XBL/Steam : ScubaSteve2365 - PC = i7-8700k, RTX 2080Ti, DDR4-3200 Ram
My VR Podcast on Youtube - VR Roundtable - Pimax, Playstation VR, Rift-S, and Quest
Theater = Epson 5040UB, Denon x4400, Klipsh RF 7.2.4, 4-FiCar 18" IB, HTMarket Pembrokes, Aura BassShaker
scubasteve2365 is online now  
post #19665 of 21096 Old 04-30-2015, 04:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gamermwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: OK, USA
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
I activated HBO Go, first time user, on my PS4 this passed weekend for Game Of Thrones. Ironically, I usually rail against using the PS4 for media functionality, but without thinking and because the PS4 was already on (I was playing Bloodborne) I just fired it up and off I went. I noticed that during the GoT episode I don't believe I was getting surround. I certainly get surround out of my PS4, but my AVR flags it as PCM, so there's no way of knowing how many channels I truly have from there.

I also have an AppleTV and an XBO, Im curious if anyone has experience with HBO Go and knows where it is better between these platforms. I would prefer the 5.1 mix, but with the PS4 stream I also noticed some "web streaming" stuttering effects. I don't stream much, but when I do it is netflix, but they've ironed out much of that feel. (They also can indicate the audio stream).

I know I could just try the other devices I have, but honestly, it's a pain the butt to add/activate the device and once I start watching the episode, my wife isn't going to permit to stop and try another device mid stream. Would rather just skip that nonsense and jump straight to what my best option is.

I don't have a cable box, as I'm using a family members' account.
I have also been looking for an answer to this. And I don't believe HBO Go streams 5.1 on the PS3/PS4. There are no sound options to confirm, but I did some testing switching from a recording I did of GoT on Directv and a stream of the same episode using HBO Go

The sound was much more dynamic from the Directv recording, and showed just how jumbled/muted the sound from what I believe is just a standard stereo audio mix you get from HBO Go is

As for picture quality it did seem slightly better through HBO Go but that wasn't much of a surprise vs the compressed satellite signal

What is the meaning of life?
www.iamsecond.com/films
gamermwm is offline  
post #19666 of 21096 Old 05-01-2015, 03:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
d_m1010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Exposure Canada
Posts: 1,995
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 184
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hatcher View Post
Maybe I missed it, but which thumbsticks did you buy? The left stick on both of my controllers are balding, could probably use replacements.
I modded mine with some metal ones so they will never wear out.

Psn: memnoch1010
Xbox live: meadoch
d_m1010 is offline  
post #19667 of 21096 Old 05-07-2015, 06:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,123
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
I activated HBO Go, first time user, on my PS4 this passed weekend for Game Of Thrones. Ironically, I usually rail against using the PS4 for media functionality, but without thinking and because the PS4 was already on (I was playing Bloodborne) I just fired it up and off I went. I noticed that during the GoT episode I don't believe I was getting surround. I certainly get surround out of my PS4, but my AVR flags it as PCM, so there's no way of knowing how many channels I truly have from there.

I also have an AppleTV and an XBO, Im curious if anyone has experience with HBO Go and knows where it is better between these platforms. I would prefer the 5.1 mix, but with the PS4 stream I also noticed some "web streaming" stuttering effects. I don't stream much, but when I do it is netflix, but they've ironed out much of that feel. (They also can indicate the audio stream).

I know I could just try the other devices I have, but honestly, it's a pain the butt to add/activate the device and once I start watching the episode, my wife isn't going to permit to stop and try another device mid stream. Would rather just skip that nonsense and jump straight to what my best option is.

I don't have a cable box, as I'm using a family members' account.

According to my AVR, My ps4 is outputting a 7.1 sound for HBOGO for both GoT and Edge of Tomorrow. I attempted to test from AppleTV but HBO kept saying I had exceeded my simultaneous viewings even though I closed the app on PS4. That being said, ATV showed 2.1 the entire time, until I go it to show 5.1 from an iTunes movie I own.

Why do you think you were getting less than 5.1?

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is offline  
post #19668 of 21096 Old 05-07-2015, 07:06 PM
Senior Member
 
Johnny Mnemonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 86 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Could it vary per show?

Warning: I make a lot of mistakes but occasionally I learn from them!
Johnny Mnemonic is offline  
post #19669 of 21096 Old 05-07-2015, 10:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,123
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Mnemonic View Post
Could it vary per show?

I'm sure it could. Would need more testing.
But the show in question was Game of Thrones.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is offline  
post #19670 of 21096 Old 05-08-2015, 04:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
According to my AVR, My ps4 is outputting a 7.1 sound for HBOGO for both GoT and Edge of Tomorrow. I attempted to test from AppleTV but HBO kept saying I had exceeded my simultaneous viewings even though I closed the app on PS4. That being said, ATV showed 2.1 the entire time, until I go it to show 5.1 from an iTunes movie I own.

Why do you think you were getting less than 5.1?
Your AVR is always going to show 7.1 unless you bitstream due to The PS4 establishing a persistent PCM. Basically that does not reflect the content but also will prevent the AVR from recognizing the channels present and automatically switching to say Dolby PLII.

The GOT episode, in HBO GO on PS4 did not go into DD 5.1, as sound was only heard from the mains, even during the more dynamic sequences.

Sunday's episode however, played back on HBO GO from my AppleTV was certainly surround. It also has the benefit of being bit streamed.

I might need to look into setting my PS4 to bitstream instead. I wonder if the only thing lost is the native lossless/PCM audio mixes in game (Naughty Dog usually does this).
scubasteve2365 is online now  
post #19671 of 21096 Old 05-08-2015, 05:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,123
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 610
@scubasteve2365 ah ok. That is interesting. Out of curiosity I'm going to set to bitstream and see what apps are different.

Edge of Tomorrow did seem like damp sound when I watched it last night.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is offline  
post #19672 of 21096 Old 05-09-2015, 09:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,123
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
Your AVR is always going to show 7.1 unless you bitstream due to The PS4 establishing a persistent PCM. Basically that does not reflect the content but also will prevent the AVR from recognizing the channels present and automatically switching to say Dolby PLII.



The GOT episode, in HBO GO on PS4 did not go into DD 5.1, as sound was only heard from the mains, even during the more dynamic sequences.



Sunday's episode however, played back on HBO GO from my AppleTV was certainly surround. It also has the benefit of being bit streamed.



I might need to look into setting my PS4 to bitstream instead. I wonder if the only thing lost is the native lossless/PCM audio mixes in game (Naughty Dog usually does this).

Sure you aren't still using optical from when you started Rocksmith? I just switched to bitstream for DD and DTS and got 5.1 perfectly fine on my AVR from HBO GoT episodes.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is offline  
post #19673 of 21096 Old 05-10-2015, 04:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post
Sure you aren't still using optical from when you started Rocksmith? I just switched to bitstream for DD and DTS and got 5.1 perfectly fine on my AVR from HBO GoT episodes.
I didn't try bitstream and I'm no longer over optical from Rocksmith. Bitstream would take the guesswork out of it, but I wonder what would have to be given up (maybe nothing). I'm not the type of person that is going to constantly change settings. I want to be able to set and leave it alone.

In any event I'm using the AppleTV for my HBO-GO now. Ya' know, remote and all.

"The Scuba Tank" thread here
PSN/XBL/Steam : ScubaSteve2365 - PC = i7-8700k, RTX 2080Ti, DDR4-3200 Ram
My VR Podcast on Youtube - VR Roundtable - Pimax, Playstation VR, Rift-S, and Quest
Theater = Epson 5040UB, Denon x4400, Klipsh RF 7.2.4, 4-FiCar 18" IB, HTMarket Pembrokes, Aura BassShaker
scubasteve2365 is online now  
post #19674 of 21096 Old 05-10-2015, 05:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,123
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
Bitstream would take the guesswork out of it, but I wonder what would have to be given up (maybe nothing). I'm not the type of person that is going to constantly change settings. I want to be able to set and leave it alone.

In any event I'm using the AppleTV for my HBO-GO now. Ya' know, remote and all.


I just confirmed that you don't need Bitstream since HBOGO is definitely natively outputting 5.1, which means on Linear PCM the PS4 is delivering that plus the RL & RR channel. There is no need to change settings constantly; leave it on PCM.
That being said, ATV having an app for iOS makes it the better option in my opinion.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is offline  
post #19675 of 21096 Old 05-10-2015, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Vidgamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Florida
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Playstation Plus

Seems like a lot of PS4 games with this month's Playstation Plus. So far, I've only played Guacamelee, which is pretty fun, but getting annoying with the crazy combos you have to do to get past some obstacles.

Would like to play Hohokum next, I think.
Vidgamer is offline  
post #19676 of 21096 Old 05-11-2015, 12:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gamermwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: OK, USA
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 176
So if all is as it seems, the PS4 is outputting 5.1 from HBO Go app as you can see in the picture. I set the audio output to Bitstream Dolby before I pulled up my headphone receiver's menu and snapped this pic which shows the incoming signal

However, when I switch back to my speaker setup and stand near my rear surrounds nothing is coming out. This is with the Denon receiver set to Pure Direct so that the incoming audio signal is not being changed whatsoever

Linear PCM setting outputs 7.1 channels at all times no matter how many of those are being used. It seems as though the Bitstream options do the same except it's always outputting 5.1 no matter if the HBO app is only putting out a stereo signal

So just to make sure it's just the PS4 app I switch back to Dish and watch GoT through it. As soon as the opening music hits, boom surrounds are engaged throughout the theme song (same settings as above / HDMI / Pure Direct thru the Denon)

I tried all audio settings available, and most importantly did not base my facts off of just how many channels it shows are there, but on the audio coming out of the speakers as well, and my finding is that HBO Go on the PS4 app does not at this time output in surround and only comes through as a stereo signal
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150511_022407_1431329388272.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	99.0 KB
ID:	710850  
Cravit8 likes this.

Last edited by gamermwm; 05-11-2015 at 01:16 AM.
gamermwm is offline  
post #19677 of 21096 Old 05-11-2015, 05:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,123
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by gamermwm View Post
So if all is as it seems, the PS4 is outputting 5.1 from HBO Go app as you can see in the picture. I set the audio output to Bitstream Dolby before I pulled up my headphone receiver's menu and snapped this pic which shows the incoming signal

However, when I switch back to my speaker setup and stand near my rear surrounds nothing is coming out. This is with the Denon receiver set to Pure Direct so that the incoming audio signal is not being changed whatsoever

Linear PCM setting outputs 7.1 channels at all times no matter how many of those are being used. It seems as though the Bitstream options do the same except it's always outputting 5.1 no matter if the HBO app is only putting out a stereo signal

So just to make sure it's just the PS4 app I switch back to Dish and watch GoT through it. As soon as the opening music hits, boom surrounds are engaged throughout the theme song (same settings as above / HDMI / Pure Direct thru the Denon)

I tried all audio settings available, and most importantly did not base my facts off of just how many channels it shows are there, but on the audio coming out of the speakers as well, and my finding is that HBO Go on the PS4 app does not at this time output in surround and only comes through as a stereo signal

Thank you. I was just assuming, as my left and right surrounds and my rear surrounds are 10 feet high and I can't put my ear next to them.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is offline  
post #19678 of 21096 Old 05-11-2015, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
gamermwm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: OK, USA
Posts: 1,051
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 176
No problem. I found several things confirming it when I searched. Here's one link

https://m.reddit.com/r/hometheater/c...urround_sound/

Apparently when they said it was the exact same as PS3 app they also meant it doesn't get surround sound either
gamermwm is offline  
post #19679 of 21096 Old 05-11-2015, 01:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scubasteve2365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,454
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 304 Post(s)
Liked: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cravit8 View Post

I just confirmed that you don't need Bitstream since HBOGO is definitely natively outputting 5.1, which means on Linear PCM the PS4 is delivering that plus the RL & RR channel. There is no need to change settings constantly; leave it on PCM.
That being said, ATV having an app for iOS makes it the better option in my opinion.
I don't interpret it as that, switching to bitstream and the HBO-GO app recognizing that does not mean that the app itself will send DD5.1 out as PCM. There are all sorts of flags and IO between the app the PS4 that all have to be coordinated. I'm not saying it won't, I'm just saying that confirmation that the app will send 5.1 out as bitstream isn't confirmation that it will as PCM. In fact, in my exact use case it didn't.

Setting the audio aside, the streaming quality seems much better on AppleTV anyway. Less stutters and such. Not an exact science method being applied, but if you have a choice of devices I'd defer to something other than the PS4. Add in the likeliness that your other device has a remote compatibility and it's pretty much a no-brainer.

"The Scuba Tank" thread here
PSN/XBL/Steam : ScubaSteve2365 - PC = i7-8700k, RTX 2080Ti, DDR4-3200 Ram
My VR Podcast on Youtube - VR Roundtable - Pimax, Playstation VR, Rift-S, and Quest
Theater = Epson 5040UB, Denon x4400, Klipsh RF 7.2.4, 4-FiCar 18" IB, HTMarket Pembrokes, Aura BassShaker
scubasteve2365 is online now  
post #19680 of 21096 Old 05-12-2015, 12:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cravit8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,123
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1158 Post(s)
Liked: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by scubasteve2365 View Post
I don't interpret it as that, switching to bitstream and the HBO-GO app recognizing that does not mean that the app itself will send DD5.1 out as PCM. There are all sorts of flags and IO between the app the PS4 that all have to be coordinated. I'm not saying it won't, I'm just saying that confirmation that the app will send 5.1 out as bitstream isn't confirmation that it will as PCM. In fact, in my exact use case it didn't.

Setting the audio aside, the streaming quality seems much better on AppleTV anyway. Less stutters and such. Not an exact science method being applied, but if you have a choice of devices I'd defer to something other than the PS4. Add in the likeliness that your other device has a remote compatibility and it's pretty much a no-brainer.
@gamermwm highlighted my mistakes and I think we are all on the same page now.

PSN: Cravit8
XBL: oOo_Crav_oOo
Cravit8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 3 160gb System , Playstation 4 Camera , Playstation 4 Console , Playstation 4 Dualshock 4 Wireless Controller , Playstation 4 Games , Sony

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off