PS4 and Harmony remote? - Page 9 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 31Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 290 Old 01-08-2016, 03:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3,229
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 141
So will the harmony 650 control the ps4?

Sent from my SM-N910T using Tapatalk
bori is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 290 Old 01-08-2016, 07:12 AM
Senior Member
 
CURX8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Interesting. Perhaps (unlikely) there has been an update in the last few weeks. In addition to not powering on (not really a big deal), the FF/RW, play/pause...'transport' or 'media keys' do not work in Blu-ray playback. Have you tested Blu-ray playback and everything works fine?

As I mentioned earlier in this thread, I swear that it was working for me at one point because I wanted to test it before selling my old Harmony 900 and I did sell the 900...After it quit working I tried to remove and re-add everything...no such luck. The arrow keys on the system menu and in apps generally work, though.

Eventually called Logitech and they said the media keys do not work and the way the Harmony 'controls' the PS4 during Blu-ray playback is via the onscreen menu.


Source.
I could have sworn I had no issues with mine, even in BD playback, but now I'm not so sure (this was a few months ago last time I used my PS4 for BD playback). Now I'm going to have to test it myself. I'm using the Harmony Ultimate Home remote, btw, for mine.

Thank you for the information.
CURX8 is offline  
post #243 of 290 Old 01-08-2016, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Posts: 7,854
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1930 Post(s)
Liked: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by bori View Post
So will the harmony 650 control the ps4?
Absolutely not. Only the hub based remotes, the Elite and Ultimate.
TornadoTJ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #244 of 290 Old 03-06-2016, 09:42 AM
Senior Member
 
elmoizme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Bay Area CA
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How To Get Harmony Hub To Turn On The PS4

Well, sort of. My 8 year old Panasonic Monitor died last week. We decided to pick up the LG EG9600 OLED TV. While setting up the Smart TV activity, the PS4 turned on by itself. I noticed anytime the Smart TV activity was turned on, the PS4 would come on if the TV was already on the PS4 HDMI input. I added Smart TV command to the PS4 Activity just to get the PS4 to turn on. So yes, the TV itself and not the remote is turning on the PS4. Not sure any other TV's out there do this.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot3-6-2016_9-36-58-AM.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	185.4 KB
ID:	1297409  
elmoizme is offline  
post #245 of 290 Old 03-12-2016, 03:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by narmstrong79 View Post
With Device Link, Simplink (or whatever they call it), I can control most of what i need for watching BD with my TV or A/V receiver. Although my stock TV remote is not high on my list of remotes to use (LG Magic Remote), it did work with on screen controls. I Now run my PS3 and PS4 thru my receiver anyhow,which also does HDMI control. I programmed my Harmony buttons to use the receivers remote... Pause, Play, fast fwd, arrows etc... all works, I can move thru the menu.

I have the PS3 harmony adapter, and I still use that since i have it.
Hey,

I found your post and need could really do with some advice, as you seem to be the only person who has mastered this

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"With Device Link, Simplink (or whatever they call it), I can control most of what i need for watching BD with my TV or A/V receiver. Although my stock TV remote is not high on my list of remotes to use (LG Magic Remote), it did work with on screen controls. I Now run my PS3 and PS4 thru my receiver anyhow,which also does HDMI control. I programmed my Harmony buttons to use the receivers remote... Pause, Play, fast fwd, arrows etc... all works, I can move thru the menu.

I have the PS3 harmony adapter, and I still use that since i have it."

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have the same setup as you. LG tv with Magic Remote, connected to a Sony str n1040 receiver. My PS3, PS4 and cable box are all connected to receiver via HDMI.

Can you please explain what settings i need to change... how do I set this up?

When I turn on CEC from my receiver, it tells me I 'can now use the Bravia TV remote to control things connected to my receiver', but you had it set so that the receiver was controlling the PS4 , not the TV remote.

I don't have a Bravia, I have an LG, do you know if this will still work?

Please help.

Thanks
gurchinaus is offline  
post #246 of 290 Old 03-17-2016, 06:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
TViewer2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Has there been any updates on the PlayStation 4 Universal Media Remote? I know when it was first released it got pretty bad reviews and wasn't working with a lot of apps. Has the remote gotten better over time? Getting tired of using my controller for Bluray playback and looking into getting Vue, and wife would probably be more comfortable with the remote versus the controller.

TV: 75XBR940E

PSN ID: Onedropshot
TViewer2000 is offline  
post #247 of 290 Old 03-23-2016, 11:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,454
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 491
Has anyone tried the old Logitech PS3 adapter recently now that the hub remotes work with the PS4?

I have the Harmony Ultimate One, the version that didn't come with the hub, and I'm trying to find a solution that doesn't require me to spend $90 on the hub.

Now that I have subscribed to Vue I'd like to use a remote instead of a controller. Guess I could buy the PS4 remote but that kinda defeats the purpose of having a Harmony.

PSN ID: CrimsonNagus
XBL GT: Crimson Nagus
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #248 of 290 Old 03-23-2016, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Posts: 7,854
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1930 Post(s)
Liked: 621
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
Has anyone tried the old Logitech PS3 adapter recently now that the hub remotes work with the PS4?

I have the Harmony Ultimate One, the version that didn't come with the hub, and I'm trying to find a solution that doesn't require me to spend $90 on the hub.

Now that I have subscribed to Vue I'd like to use a remote instead of a controller. Guess I could buy the PS4 remote but that kinda defeats the purpose of having a Harmony.
I have two of those PS3 adapters, but my understanding is they will not work. Based on that, I haven't tried to pair it and make it work.

You can do this setup to add a hub, but Logitech will tell you it is unsupported. I've been using it for mine for a couple of years I guess. No, it isn't cheaper, but at least you get a keyboard in the deal.
http://www.amazon.com/Logitech-915-0...qid=1458759770
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #249 of 290 Old 06-25-2016, 06:58 PM
Member
 
David Jacobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: new jersey
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I have my harmony ultimate home paired my ps4 now and some things seems to be working. The problem I'm having is that the play, pause, rewind and other play back buttons don't work at all while watching a blu-Ray. Does this work for anyone else and if so how do you do it.
David Jacobs is offline  
post #250 of 290 Old 06-26-2016, 06:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
tfoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Jacobs View Post
I have my harmony ultimate home paired my ps4 now and some things seems to be working. The problem I'm having is that the play, pause, rewind and other play back buttons don't work at all while watching a blu-Ray. Does this work for anyone else and if so how do you do it.
Nope, those activities don't work.
tfoltz is offline  
post #251 of 290 Old 06-27-2016, 12:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1327 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Jacobs View Post
I have my harmony ultimate home paired my ps4 now and some things seems to be working. The problem I'm having is that the play, pause, rewind and other play back buttons don't work at all while watching a blu-Ray. Does this work for anyone else and if so how do you do it.
Harmony control over the PS4 is a total joke. I bought a PS4 to replace the PS3 for simultaneous 3D+Dolby True HD (which the PS3 does not do). At the same time I got a Harmony Ultimate.

Harmony's solution is to use the remote to pull up the 'onscreen' controls and choose the option you want. No thanks. Long story short, I bought a Sony S6500 for movies. The PS4 is for games only.

From the Harmony website (click):
Quote:
Blu-ray Disc
While on the Disc Menu, a double press on the PS button is required before PS4 will accept commands from other remotes or keyboards. Once done, Harmony can control Blu-ray playback.


Direction Keys will navigate the Blu-ray menu.

Media Keys do not work; however pressing Menu or Direction Up buttons will show an on screen display permitting movie control.
reddice likes this.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #252 of 290 Old 06-27-2016, 09:34 AM
Member
 
David Jacobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: new jersey
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
Harmony control over the PS4 is a total joke. I bought a PS4 to replace the PS3 for simultaneous 3D+Dolby True HD (which the PS3 does not do). At the same time I got a Harmony Ultimate.

Harmony's solution is to use the remote to pull up the 'onscreen' controls and choose the option you want. No thanks. Long story short, I bought a Sony S6500 for movies. The PS4 is for games only.

From the Harmony website (click):
Thanks for the info. Total crap!!
David Jacobs is offline  
post #253 of 290 Old 08-28-2016, 01:15 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharp360 View Post
Does anyone know if the harmony remote adapter for ps3 will work with the ps4?
No, the adapter doesn't work. I have Harmony Remotes, and they connect to PS4 via blue tooth but you have to turn on the PS4 every time before the remote connects which is annoying but manageable. Also keep in mind sometimes it takes a bunch of tries to get it to show up in devices or connect. The new Remote works better.
Greg Frank is offline  
post #254 of 290 Old 08-28-2016, 01:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Can't edit my post, so I will add another one.

The controls on the controller you may have to remap, as with the blu-ray playing on the PS4 and the Harmony remote don't always match up which is frustrating. So it can work but it isn't plug and play like ps3
Greg Frank is offline  
post #255 of 290 Old 09-22-2016, 09:11 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1987 Post(s)
Liked: 973
I'm still using my PS3 for bluerays and can't seem to find my adapter after I moved. Does anyone here have a Logitech Harmony PS3 Adapter they would be willing to sell me that they aren't using anymore? Thanks!

| 7.2.4 Photos (Updated Photos 1/5) | Frequency Response | Visual: LG 65” B7A OLED | Elite VMAX-2 Electric 120" | Optoma GT1080 Proj |
| AVR/Amps: Marantz SR-6011 9C | Audio Source AMP-100VS | iNuke 1000DSP; TTs: 4x AuraSound Pro |
| Center: B&W CM Center 2 S2 Ed | Fronts: 2x B&W 684 S1s | Side Surrounds: 2x B&W 685 S1 |
| Front/Rear Heights: 4x Polk T15 | In-Ceiling: 2x Micca M-8C | Subs: 2x Rythmik FV15HP |
citsur86 is offline  
post #256 of 290 Old 09-23-2016, 02:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kjr39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2,737
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by citsur86 View Post
I'm still using my PS3 for bluerays and can't seem to find my adapter after I moved. Does anyone here have a Logitech Harmony PS3 Adapter they would be willing to sell me that they aren't using anymore? Thanks!
I'll check to see if I still have mine.
kjr39 is offline  
post #257 of 290 Old 09-23-2016, 06:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
rolltide1017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 3,454
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 493 Post(s)
Liked: 491
You're talking about this, right?



I'm 99% sure I still have mine. I kept hoping that it may get an update to work with the PS4. I can look when I get home today.

PSN ID: CrimsonNagus
XBL GT: Crimson Nagus
rolltide1017 is offline  
post #258 of 290 Old 09-23-2016, 06:20 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1987 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjr39 View Post
I'll check to see if I still have mine.
Thanks!



Quote:
Originally Posted by rolltide1017 View Post
You're talking about this, right?







I'm 99% sure I still have mine. I kept hoping that it may get an update to work with the PS4. I can look when I get home today.

Yep that's it. I had one before I moved and after the move I can't seem to find it

| 7.2.4 Photos (Updated Photos 1/5) | Frequency Response | Visual: LG 65” B7A OLED | Elite VMAX-2 Electric 120" | Optoma GT1080 Proj |
| AVR/Amps: Marantz SR-6011 9C | Audio Source AMP-100VS | iNuke 1000DSP; TTs: 4x AuraSound Pro |
| Center: B&W CM Center 2 S2 Ed | Fronts: 2x B&W 684 S1s | Side Surrounds: 2x B&W 685 S1 |
| Front/Rear Heights: 4x Polk T15 | In-Ceiling: 2x Micca M-8C | Subs: 2x Rythmik FV15HP |
citsur86 is offline  
post #259 of 290 Old 09-27-2016, 10:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
TornadoTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hill Country, Texas
Posts: 7,854
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1930 Post(s)
Liked: 621
I have one that I'm not using. I got a Harmony Ultimate so I don't need it in that room anymore. Still using the one in the room where I have the Harmony One.
TornadoTJ is offline  
post #260 of 290 Old 09-27-2016, 11:57 AM
Bass and Hi-Fi Enthusiast
 
citsur86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1987 Post(s)
Liked: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by TornadoTJ View Post
I have one that I'm not using. I got a Harmony Ultimate so I don't need it in that room anymore. Still using the one in the room where I have the Harmony One.


Hey thanks - I actually already purchased from another member though.

| 7.2.4 Photos (Updated Photos 1/5) | Frequency Response | Visual: LG 65” B7A OLED | Elite VMAX-2 Electric 120" | Optoma GT1080 Proj |
| AVR/Amps: Marantz SR-6011 9C | Audio Source AMP-100VS | iNuke 1000DSP; TTs: 4x AuraSound Pro |
| Center: B&W CM Center 2 S2 Ed | Fronts: 2x B&W 684 S1s | Side Surrounds: 2x B&W 685 S1 |
| Front/Rear Heights: 4x Polk T15 | In-Ceiling: 2x Micca M-8C | Subs: 2x Rythmik FV15HP |
citsur86 is offline  
post #261 of 290 Old 12-19-2016, 05:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
TViewer2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Goodyear, AZ
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I saw this this weekend, unfortunately it was sold out but hopefully this is the remote adapter we have been waiting for, PDP PlayStation 4 IR Receiver For Logitech Harmony Remote Control Devices. https://www.amazon.com/PlayStation-R.../dp/B01K3VMBM0

TV: 75XBR940E

PSN ID: Onedropshot
TViewer2000 is offline  
post #262 of 290 Old 12-19-2016, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Evan E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Huh. I'd given up hope of there being a remote solution, but that looks like it will do the job. And only 30 bucks (if you already have a Harmony remote)! My memory is that the PS3 adapter was $60.
Evan E is offline  
post #263 of 290 Old 12-23-2016, 10:20 PM
Senior Member
 
schmiggyjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by TViewer2000 View Post
I saw this this weekend, unfortunately it was sold out but hopefully this is the remote adapter we have been waiting for, PDP PlayStation 4 IR Receiver For Logitech Harmony Remote Control Devices. https://www.amazon.com/PlayStation-R.../dp/B01K3VMBM0
Holy smokes, that would be awesome if that is legit. I hadnt checked this thread in months, and had basically given up on this endeavor of PS4/harmony control. I was cleaning up my amazon wishlist, saw that old media remote everyone complained about on here, figured Id check the thread, and boom, there it is.

Definitely keeping tabs on this
schmiggyjk is offline  
post #264 of 290 Old 12-24-2016, 01:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Murilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,063
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 58
That looks great, I would probably buy one but for two years i have basically used cec on samsung tv's. Through an avr i basically have to switch my avr to the ps4 input then select the avr input on the tv, it turns on the ps4. and then i can control it, I would take a long look at this if it has discrete off, to turn my ps4 off currently i usually have to power off my tv to cec turn it off.

I dont use harmony though I use simple control on my ipad, hopefully i could simply attach an IR emitter onto the window and simple would add the codes.
Murilo is offline  
post #265 of 290 Old 12-24-2016, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
schmiggyjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Is this going to function like some of the custom bt/ir converters for the PS3? Just going to need a powered usb connection? I am not seeing anything regarding connectivity, but I assume it works like those did.
schmiggyjk is offline  
post #266 of 290 Old 01-23-2017, 06:58 AM
Member
 
FuNkYMoNk585's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Indiana
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hopefully this works! I too had given up hope, and decided to read through the thread here when I saw some recent posts were made, here's to hoping we finally (after 3 years) get a Harmony solution.

Sony Bravia 55X850D
Denon AVR-591
Sony SSF-5000 Front L/R
Sony SSCN-3000 Center and Surround L/R
Logitech Harmony Ultimate remote
Sony PS4 Gaming Console
FuNkYMoNk585 is offline  
post #267 of 290 Old 03-26-2017, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
schmiggyjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Ridiculous, that adapter now went from a March release to July =/
schmiggyjk is offline  
post #268 of 290 Old 03-28-2017, 03:17 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
anthonymoody's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: ny, ny usa
Posts: 6,917
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 814 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmiggyjk View Post
Ridiculous, that adapter now went from a March release to July =/
Ugh. Came here looking for this and now major sad face.

Stuck up, half witted, scruffy looking, nerf herder.
Double True!
anthonymoody is offline  
post #269 of 290 Old 06-27-2017, 09:03 PM
Senior Member
 
schmiggyjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 33
So is this finally going to make it out? This is the closest we have gotten to a release date without the product page updated. So hopefully I am not jinxing it.
schmiggyjk is offline  
post #270 of 290 Old 06-30-2017, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
Nillaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 366 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by schmiggyjk View Post
So is this finally going to make it out? This is the closest we have gotten to a release date without the product page updated. So hopefully I am not jinxing it.
Nope, not coming out. I ordered this months ago and check on it periodically. As of today the date is pushed back to November 21.

What a joke.
Nillaz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
Playstation 4 Console

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off