All PS4s to support HDR via Firmware Update! - Page 9 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 75Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 298 Old 10-13-2016, 02:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,663
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2071 Post(s)
Liked: 1246
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
As b0narian says you are supposed to increase it so the logo disappears. Honestly though I left it at default, just made sure HDR was on and the game was fine to me.
Ps: I just sent you a PM a while ago thnx.
b0rnarian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 298 Old 10-13-2016, 02:43 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,063
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9393 Post(s)
Liked: 6084
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Are you using Dynamic contrast by any chance in your settings?
Which option is for the Dynamic Contrast? The Sonys have an Advanced Contrast enhancer setting. Not sure it's an option for HDR from Game mode off hand. For my streaming and UHD BD playback it's set for low. So if I have the option with the HDR setting from game mode, then it is also set to low.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #243 of 298 Old 10-14-2016, 06:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,663
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2071 Post(s)
Liked: 1246
Quote:
Originally Posted by dojoman View Post
Ah thanks. I'll check it out later today.
I think its lame how the PS4 and/or the game itself doesn't really tell you what to do or how to setup HDR properly. Took some trial and error but I did get it to work properly with HDR in Game mode while avoiding the dull picture I was getting before. The trick is to actually put RGB setting to Full instead of Automatic (which is what's recommended by the PS4). This took the bright haze out of the picture and made a solid bright/rich color image and now it looks beautiful! Still getting used to all the functions and controls of the game but seems fun so far, wish there was more to story and a purpose of things.

Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #244 of 298 Old 10-14-2016, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,663
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2071 Post(s)
Liked: 1246
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Which option is for the Dynamic Contrast? The Sonys have an Advanced Contrast enhancer setting. Not sure it's an option for HDR from Game mode off hand. For my streaming and UHD BD playback it's set for low. So if I have the option with the HDR setting from game mode, then it is also set to low.
I was just questioning if the other person was using Dynamic Contrast on their TV settings to make the image pop more. I don't use dynamic contrast (sounds similar to Advanced Contrast on Sony) on any of my content, as it clips shadow details. But figured out now that when setup correctly, you don;t need any other additional settings, game is beautiful in HDR alone.

Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #245 of 298 Old 10-14-2016, 02:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
I think its lame how the PS4 and/or the game itself doesn't really tell you what to do or how to setup HDR properly. Took some trial and error but I did get it to work properly with HDR in Game mode while avoiding the dull picture I was getting before. The trick is to actually put RGB setting to Full instead of Automatic (which is what's recommended by the PS4). This took the bright haze out of the picture and made a solid bright/rich color image and now it looks beautiful! Still getting used to all the functions and controls of the game but seems fun so far, wish there was more to story and a purpose of things.
The RGB mode output by the PS4 must match your TV's RGB level. There's two options on the TV, low or high(sometimes called normal or low). If the PS4 outputs limited and you select high it will be washed out. If the PS4 outputs full and you select low it will crush black detail. The options refer to color range. Tvs are normally 16-235 where 16 is black and 235 is peak white. anything below 16 is ignored and anything above 235 is ignored. Full would be 0-255 where there is more color information at the extreme ranges but you have to tell the TV where the proper cutoff point is or it will clip detail.
wildgator25 likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II

Last edited by cmdrdredd; 10-14-2016 at 02:57 PM.
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #246 of 298 Old 10-15-2016, 01:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
dojoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 895
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Finally I can see big difference with HDR in Deus Ex. Yeah, RGB needs to be in Full in PS4 setting. I had this in Auto and I did not see that much difference in HDR. Now the brightness is a lot more vibrant. Better contrast too.
dojoman is offline  
post #247 of 298 Old 10-15-2016, 04:20 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,063
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9393 Post(s)
Liked: 6084
Quote:
Originally Posted by dojoman View Post
Finally I can see big difference with HDR in Deus Ex. Yeah, RGB needs to be in Full in PS4 setting. I had this in Auto and I did not see that much difference in HDR. Now the brightness is a lot more vibrant. Better contrast too.
With my Sony TV I had it set on auto along with the DYmanic range of the HDMI input set on Auto too. It worked great . But then they are both Sony products so I guess that would be expected.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #248 of 298 Old 10-15-2016, 08:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
With my Sony TV I had it set on auto along with the DYmanic range of the HDMI input set on Auto too. It worked great . But then they are both Sony products so I guess that would be expected.
I also had mine on auto, but I imagine it's possible the combination between the PS4 and the TV wasn't correct and changing one or the other to something that matched up fixed the picture issues. I had this happen on my PC because I use RGB since games are RGB. I cannot set auto on my control panel so I have to select limited or full in the dynamic range settings. With it set to full, I got black crush when the Tv was on auto. I simply had to tell the PC to output limited.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #249 of 298 Old 11-03-2016, 10:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NorthJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 3,505
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 246
I wish Sony would provide more info on HDR availability on original PS4's. I downloaded the updates for Last of Us and Infamous:Second Son yesterday. I verified the video settings for my PS4 are set to Automatic for Deep Color and HDR. But on Last of Us the HDR option is greyed out

I have my Ps4 plugged into the breaker box of my Panasonic SC-HTB770 soundbar (https://www.manualslib.com/manual/44...70.html#manual). I can't find the exact HDMI spec it uses but I don't have an issue outputting a 1080p signal to my TV, and have played 3D content through this breaker box to my LG 55uh8500 4k tv. I have ultra deep color enabled on the TV input. I'm using the HDMI cable supplied with the PS4 to the breaker box, then an HDMI cable from the breaker box to the TV. I use this breaker box so I also have my 360 connected

i'll try replacing the hdmi cable from the breaker box to my tv to see if that makes a difference
NorthJersey is offline  
post #250 of 298 Old 11-03-2016, 10:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1781 Post(s)
Liked: 4046
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthJersey View Post
i'll try replacing the hdmi cable from the breaker box to my tv to see if that makes a difference
Yes -- best bet for HDR is to go HDMI directly to the TV (assuming it's HDR-ready), and make sure the 4K input (regardless of feeding a 1080p signal) has sub-sampling turned on.
DaverJ is offline  
post #251 of 298 Old 11-03-2016, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NorthJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 3,505
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
Yes -- best bet for HDR is to go HDMI directly to the TV (assuming it's HDR-ready), and make sure the 4K input (regardless of feeding a 1080p signal) has sub-sampling turned on.
unfortunately I only have 3 HDMI inputs on my TV, one used by my Samsung 8500 4k player, one by my cable box and the other for the soundbar breaker box. I guess I can swap the cable box and PS4
NorthJersey is offline  
post #252 of 298 Old 11-03-2016, 10:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1781 Post(s)
Liked: 4046
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthJersey View Post
unfortunately I only have 3 HDMI inputs on my TV, one used by my Samsung 8500 4k player, one by my cable box and the other for the soundbar breaker box. I guess I can swap the cable box and PS4
I messed with HDR in Last of US and Infamous: Second Son over the last couple days. HDR is fun to mess with to see what the difference is, and it does like nice. But, despite what many are saying, I find it to be a bit of "hype" -- at least in it's current state. Mainly because SDR on the PS4 @ 1080p already looks pretty awesome to me.

Probably the wrong forum to admit this, but my $0.02: If it's no issue having HDR on, great. But going through the trouble of plugging and unplugging things, I'm not convinced the minor difference is worth the trouble much of the time.

I have a feeling I'll be using the PS4 Pro on my TV's HDMI-1.4 input much of the time - less hassle, better input lag, possibly better framerate, and, as mentioned, the 1080P SDR image looks pretty much as good as the 4K HDR image to me. Of course my mind might change when I test out the Pro at 4K w/ HDR and find it's worth the minor inconvenience.
DaverJ is offline  
post #253 of 298 Old 11-03-2016, 02:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
The input lag on my TV between HDR and SDR is the basically the same but the picture quality is a night and day difference. It's just obvious to me that there is extra detail and a lot of the washed out look is gone. The color gamut won't change, games are not using bt.2020. Maybe that's why you say it's not much difference.

You are not getting a 4k HDR signal from the PS4 currently, it's 1080p only. Only the Pro model which launches next Thursday will scale to 4k.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthJersey View Post
I wish Sony would provide more info on HDR availability on original PS4's. I downloaded the updates for Last of Us and Infamous:Second Son yesterday. I verified the video settings for my PS4 are set to Automatic for Deep Color and HDR. But on Last of Us the HDR option is greyed out

I have my Ps4 plugged into the breaker box of my Panasonic SC-HTB770 soundbar (https://www.manualslib.com/manual/44...70.html#manual). I can't find the exact HDMI spec it uses but I don't have an issue outputting a 1080p signal to my TV, and have played 3D content through this breaker box to my LG 55uh8500 4k tv. I have ultra deep color enabled on the TV input. I'm using the HDMI cable supplied with the PS4 to the breaker box, then an HDMI cable from the breaker box to the TV. I use this breaker box so I also have my 360 connected

i'll try replacing the hdmi cable from the breaker box to my tv to see if that makes a difference
You can't go through the soundbar and retain HDR, you have to go right into the TV. It has to support HDMI 2.0a.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II

Last edited by cmdrdredd; 11-03-2016 at 02:15 PM.
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #254 of 298 Old 11-03-2016, 06:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NorthJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 3,505
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
I messed with HDR in Last of US and Infamous: Second Son over the last couple days. HDR is fun to mess with to see what the difference is, and it does like nice. But, despite what many are saying, I find it to be a bit of "hype" -- at least in it's current state. Mainly because SDR on the PS4 @ 1080p already looks pretty awesome to me.

Probably the wrong forum to admit this, but my $0.02: If it's no issue having HDR on, great. But going through the trouble of plugging and unplugging things, I'm not convinced the minor difference is worth the trouble much of the time.

I have a feeling I'll be using the PS4 Pro on my TV's HDMI-1.4 input much of the time - less hassle, better input lag, possibly better framerate, and, as mentioned, the 1080P SDR image looks pretty much as good as the 4K HDR image to me. Of course my mind might change when I test out the Pro at 4K w/ HDR and find it's worth the minor inconvenience.
an update, after changing the cables around like I said I would, but still not seeing the HDR option enabled, it turns out that I never enabled Ultra HDMI Deep Color on the input on my TV (I thought I had set that previously). Once I enabled that, I went into Last of Us and Infamous:Second Son, and both asked me if I wanted to enable HDR. I didn't play long, and hadn't played either in awhile, but the picture does look a little crisper

as a bonus while being logged in, I see that Uncharted 4 was also patched today (I saw this as a notification), I went into the game, and sure enough, it asked me if I wanted to enable HDR. Like the other games, don't notice a huge difference, just a little bit brighter and crisper
DaverJ and Artman22 like this.
NorthJersey is offline  
post #255 of 298 Old 11-03-2016, 06:49 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,063
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9393 Post(s)
Liked: 6084
Quote:
Originally Posted by NorthJersey View Post
I wish Sony would provide more info on HDR availability on original PS4's. I downloaded the updates for Last of Us and Infamous:Second Son yesterday. I verified the video settings for my PS4 are set to Automatic for Deep Color and HDR. But on Last of Us the HDR option is greyed out

I have my Ps4 plugged into the breaker box of my Panasonic SC-HTB770 soundbar (https://www.manualslib.com/manual/44...70.html#manual). I can't find the exact HDMI spec it uses but I don't have an issue outputting a 1080p signal to my TV, and have played 3D content through this breaker box to my LG 55uh8500 4k tv. I have ultra deep color enabled on the TV input. I'm using the HDMI cable supplied with the PS4 to the breaker box, then an HDMI cable from the breaker box to the TV. I use this breaker box so I also have my 360 connected

i'll try replacing the hdmi cable from the breaker box to my tv to see if that makes a difference
I'm using a 2013 PS4 and am having no problems with HDR from it.

DOes that "breaker box" support HDMI 2.0a? I know with my Sony TV, every device in the chain needs to have HDMI 2.0a for me to get HDR from the PS4.Even though it's in 2K. (My HDMi switch I use with my PS4 and XBOne S is HDMI 2.0a)My 2015 Sony speaker bar is only HDMI 2.0 so I have to go directly to my TV to get HDR content from devices.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 11-03-2016 at 06:53 PM.
aaronwt is online now  
post #256 of 298 Old 11-03-2016, 06:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NorthJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 3,505
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
You can't go through the soundbar and retain HDR, you have to go right into the TV. It has to support HDMI 2.0a.
I see where you are coming from, I tried connecting the PS4 back into the soundbar breaker box, after enabling HDR in games (and making sure PS4 video HDR option was set to auto), but no video would appear on the screen. When I moved the PS4 HDMI cable from the breaker box directly to the TV, the video re-appeared. I didn't change out any cables, just changed them around. I'm not using any 18gbps HDMI cables like I use with my Samsung 8500 4k player, just regular HDMI cables. Obviously my Panasonic soundbar's breaker box is only HDMI v1.4 (it is a 2013 model).

thanks all for helping. On my TV I have the inputs set as such:
(1) soundbar breaker box HDMI to TV, cable box and xbox360 plugged into the breaker box. the breaker box does HDMI passthrough so I don't need to keep that on to get video
(2) PS4
(3) Samsung 8500 4k player using 18gbps hdmi cable

inputs #2 and #3 on the TV have Ultra HDMI Deep Color enabled, while it's disabled on #1 since neither is capable of HDR nor 4k
cmdrdredd likes this.
NorthJersey is offline  
post #257 of 298 Old 11-03-2016, 06:55 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,063
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9393 Post(s)
Liked: 6084
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
The input lag on my TV between HDR and SDR is the basically the same but the picture quality is a night and day difference. It's just obvious to me that there is extra detail and a lot of the washed out look is gone. The color gamut won't change, games are not using bt.2020. Maybe that's why you say it's not much difference.
.................
Yes the same here in my setup. There is a night and day difference between HDR and SDR from the PS4 and XBOne S.
cmdrdredd likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is online now  
post #258 of 298 Old 11-04-2016, 12:48 PM
Advanced Member
 
Symtex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 91
HDR is awesome, regardless of the platform. I think we will see game now that will take advantage of the wider gamut color and brightness peak to build game specifically for HDR TV set. It will be glorious.
Symtex is offline  
post #259 of 298 Old 11-04-2016, 07:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Not sure if games will be made in bt.2020 color because they still have to provide for sdr and rec.709. It's easy enough to add hdr lighting to the picture but I think it would require two versions of the game to provide wcg benefits. I'm not sure how that would work.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #260 of 298 Old 11-29-2016, 12:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,663
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2071 Post(s)
Liked: 1246
Any word if the Rise of the Tomb Raider is receiving HDR Patch anytime soon? Thanks.

Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #261 of 298 Old 12-21-2016, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
garciab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Princeton, TX - USA
Posts: 1,379
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 175 Post(s)
Liked: 80
So I've seen lots of PS4 Pro HDR setups, how about we hear from some of the regular PS4 owners and their HDR setups. Is it pretty much the same situation in terms of settings and getting it to play nice with tv's?

bg
garciab is offline  
post #262 of 298 Old 12-21-2016, 07:58 AM
Senior Member
 
HarpuaFSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by garciab View Post
So I've seen lots of PS4 Pro HDR setups, how about we hear from some of the regular PS4 owners and their HDR setups. Is it pretty much the same situation in terms of settings and getting it to play nice with tv's?
I have a Pro and regular PS4 and they both work the same in regards to HDR. Just make sure you have Deep Color or whatever for your TV turned on for the HDMI port.
garciab likes this.
HarpuaFSB is offline  
post #263 of 298 Old 12-21-2016, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 3,067
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 673 Post(s)
Liked: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Not sure if games will be made in bt.2020 color because they still have to provide for sdr and rec.709. It's easy enough to add hdr lighting to the picture but I think it would require two versions of the game to provide wcg benefits. I'm not sure how that would work.
See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tone_mapping. This isn't particularly difficult to do in modern hardware with little overhead, there's plenty of literature on the subject around the web. One could argue that specifically customizing the rendering to a single target would produce superior results, and I think that's probably true to an extent, but I expect this will be a pretty common thing moving forward.
Abaddon is offline  
post #264 of 298 Old 12-21-2016, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,663
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2071 Post(s)
Liked: 1246
Can anybody tell me if Uncharted 4 has a HDR update on the regular PS4? Thanks.

Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #265 of 298 Old 12-21-2016, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
HarpuaFSB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 151 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Can anybody tell me if Uncharted 4 has a HDR update on the regular PS4? Thanks.
Yes, it does.
HarpuaFSB is offline  
post #266 of 298 Old 12-21-2016, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,663
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2071 Post(s)
Liked: 1246
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarpuaFSB View Post
Yes, it does.
Thnx! My copy arrives tomorrow!
DaverJ likes this.

Samsung 65 KS9800 + Denon X4500H (11.2) + OPPO 203 + PS4 + Roku
Disc Lot For SALE : HERE!
b0rnarian is offline  
post #267 of 298 Old 12-21-2016, 02:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1781 Post(s)
Liked: 4046
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
Can anybody tell me if Uncharted 4 has a HDR update on the regular PS4? Thanks.
My understanding is that all HDR-enabled titles will work on all PS4s -- there is no Pro-exclusive HDR.

btw, enjoy U4 - a well-made AAA title from beginning to end.
DaverJ is offline  
post #268 of 298 Old 12-21-2016, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
b0rnarian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,663
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2071 Post(s)
Liked: 1246
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaverJ View Post
My understanding is that all HDR-enabled titles will work on all PS4s -- there is no Pro-exclusive HDR.

btw, enjoy U4 - a well-made AAA title from beginning to end.
My understanding was that since the 4K resolution settings for Pro were exclusive, they could be exclusive for HDR as well. Wish Sony was more clear about these features, especially for legacy PS4. PS4 Already feels like an abandoned child lol.
b0rnarian is offline  
post #269 of 298 Old 12-21-2016, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DaverJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,750
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1781 Post(s)
Liked: 4046
Quote:
Originally Posted by b0rnarian View Post
My understanding was that since the 4K resolution settings for Pro were exclusive, they could be exclusive for HDR as well. Wish Sony was more clear about these features, especially for legacy PS4. PS4 Already feels like an abandoned child lol.
HDR is independent from resolution. And the original PS4 and Slim is running the same OS as the Pro - specifically to avoid abandoning the older models.
DaverJ is offline  
post #270 of 298 Old 12-21-2016, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Evan E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 453
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 172 Post(s)
Liked: 151
Yeah, every PS4 game will run on both the base PS4 and the Pro, and if you don't have a 4K set you're not really going to see dramatic improvements on the Pro. I wouldn't particularly recommend the Pro for someone with a 1080p TV; it's still a great buy for most people.
Evan E is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply PlayStation Area

Tags
ps4 , ps4 pro

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off