NVIDIA Output Color Format - 4K Gaming - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By NewAger

post #1 of 14 Old 01-09-2019, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 152 Post(s)
Liked: 37
NVIDIA Output Color Format - 4K Gaming

Hi All,

I use an HTPC equipped with a ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 for 4K Gaming on a TCL 6 Series 55R617 LED which supports both HDR & Dolby Vision.

I have a question about the NVIDIA Control Panel, specifically the NVIDIA Color Settings section.

I'm not an expert on these things and don't really understand too much about the different options. I wanted some advice on what most gamers use and recommend for 4K HDR/Dolby Vision gaming.

My question is regarding the "Output Color Format", "Output Color Depth" and "Output Dynamic Range", which seem to be correlated as options populate based on the choices you make.

If I select "RGB" in Output Color Format, then Output Dynamic Range can be set to "Full".
However, Output Color Depth can only be set to 8bpc. The other options disappear.

If I select any of the other 3 "YCbCr" options, then Output Color Depth allows 8bpc, 10bpc & 12bpc.
However, Output Dynamic Range can only be set to "Limited".

I'm looking for the best or the most recommended combination here for 4K HDR Gaming.

Essentially, is 4K HDR Gaming best with RGB / 8bpc / Full, or one of the YCbCr options (which one?) / 12bpc / Limited?

Thanks in advance!

7.1.4: Polk RTi12 Fronts, RTi8 Surrounds, Monitor70 Surround Backs, CSi A6 Center, Klipsch R-14M Front Height & Rear Height + Outlaw LFM-1 EX Subwoofer.
JVC NX5 True 4K HDR Projector / Denon X6300H AVR
Intel Broadwell-E 6 Core (H2O) / EVGA RTX 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra Hybrid (H2O) HTPC
LG UBK80 UHD Blu-ray / XBOX One X

Last edited by mickey79; 01-09-2019 at 08:25 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 05-23-2019, 03:56 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 15