Games optimized for RTX cards? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 05-28-2019, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Games optimized for RTX cards?

I bought the RTX 2070 late last year
I sold it again because I just couldn't get games to look as good as expected
My old GPU was clearly better
I'm far from an expert and don't really know why games look better with the older card
Maybe I just got the RTX 2070 too early?
Are all games optimized for RTX cards now?
jake51 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 05-28-2019, 08:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake51 View Post
I bought the RTX 2070 late last year
I sold it again because I just couldn't get games to look as good as expected
My old GPU was clearly better
I'm far from an expert and don't really know why games look better with the older card
Maybe I just got the RTX 2070 too early?
Are all games optimized for RTX cards now?
What was your old GPU and exactly what graphical differences have you noticed? Lack of clarity? Color space issues?

I'm currently using an RTX 2070 and things look fine. The problem I have with modern gaming in this regard is developer insistence on using the common detail-destroying filters. Some games have them baked-in and cannot be disabled.

Last edited by NewAger; 05-28-2019 at 08:27 AM.
NewAger is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 05-28-2019, 06:59 PM
Senior Member
 
JoeNc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: nc
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 59
what OS you running ?
JoeNc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 05-30-2019, 03:18 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 246 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I have the GTX 980
Windows 10 64-bit
Dunno why, it just looked kinda bad with the RTX 2070 even if I downloaded the latest drivers
My 3440x1440 monitor pushes the old GTX 980 hard
jake51 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 05-30-2019, 03:53 AM
Member
 
nbk13nw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Williamsburg, Virginia USA
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 73 Post(s)
Liked: 43
I ran a 980 until a gew months ago when i built a new system around the RTX2080. I have see improvements across the board compared to the 980.

Windows 10 64bit, ASRock Z390 Extreme4, I Intel Core i9-9900K, 32GB RAM, 2 x Samsung 970 EVO Plus, EVGA RTX2080.

Onkyo TX RZ830, Chane 3600, AudioSource AMP100VS, XBox One X, Samsung UBD-K8500, NVIDIA Shield, D-Link 16-Port Gigabit Switch, Caavo, Control Center, 2 x KEF Q900's Mains, 1 x KEF Q650C Center, 4 x KEF Q100's Surrounds, 4 x RSL C34E's ATMOS, 4 x Chane SBE-118's
nbk13nw is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 05-30-2019, 05:17 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake51 View Post
I have the GTX 980
Windows 10 64-bit
Dunno why, it just looked kinda bad with the RTX 2070 even if I downloaded the latest drivers
My 3440x1440 monitor pushes the old GTX 980 hard
You have to have some idea as to what looked worse with the 2070. Was it the in-game effects? More blur?

As I alluded to earlier, a lot of modern games are made where higher settings actually utilize post-processing effects that those such as I do not care for. I'm talking motion blur, depth of field, temporal anti-aliasing, film grain, chromatic aberration, and other stuff. It is possible that the 980 automatically engages lower settings with current games that does without those effects. Just be mindful of the graphics options.
NewAger is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 05-31-2019, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 10,378
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 169
You know it could be that "looked bad" could mean you were accustomed to 30fps (The 980 is a solid [email protected] card in most games I played) and now at 60fps (Which your 2070 can drive at 4k) the crispness of motion makes you feel like you're watching the Soap Opera Effect......it's one of the knocks that I do have against people who claim all gaming is better at 60fps....I disagree, a lot of it is but some things feel slightly unnatural at 60fps with zero motion blur.....if you've seen a movie at 48 or 60fps you know it just looks and feels wrong.....I've had that experience with games running at 60fps. No, not twitch shooters or racers...but some games, the way the animation pairs with the physics running at 60fps. Like just as a semi-example, FALLOUT 4.....running at 30fps feels natural for that engine. Running at 60fps...feels fake. World feels like a cartoon running too quickly, it doesn't feel more "real" or "Better"....but Doom is much better at 60 than 30fps.

Kinda going off on a tangent here, not sure if that's what you're referring to or not.......

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 06-02-2019, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 588
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post
You know it could be that "looked bad" could mean you were accustomed to 30fps (The 980 is a solid [email protected] card in most games I played) and now at 60fps (Which your 2070 can drive at 4k) the crispness of motion makes you feel like you're watching the Soap Opera Effect......it's one of the knocks that I do have against people who claim all gaming is better at 60fps....I disagree, a lot of it is but some things feel slightly unnatural at 60fps with zero motion blur.....if you've seen a movie at 48 or 60fps you know it just looks and feels wrong.....I've had that experience with games running at 60fps. No, not twitch shooters or racers...but some games, the way the animation pairs with the physics running at 60fps. Like just as a semi-example, FALLOUT 4.....running at 30fps feels natural for that engine. Running at 60fps...feels fake. World feels like a cartoon running too quickly, it doesn't feel more "real" or "Better"....but Doom is much better at 60 than 30fps.

Kinda going off on a tangent here, not sure if that's what you're referring to or not.......
A 1070 cannot play modern AAA games 4k at 60fps. I only play games @120fps (1080ti 1440p) because I cannot stand the motion issues and jerkiness with mouse @60fps so I cannot imagine how bad it would be at 30fps.
Chances are the issue for the OP is related to game settings.
Chances
Friendlys is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 06-02-2019, 07:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Yeah, locked 30fps can be brutal. That said, if the OP is indeed used to it via console gaming or lower-end PC hardware, there is the small possibility of that throwing him off.

I've never played Fallout 4 (loved the first two, but the series lost me at 3), so I guess I played that one at 0fps.
NewAger is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 06-02-2019, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 6
a couple things that might be the problem is, whenever you swap out a different video card, you have to uninstall your video drivers, so many problems are just from this small overlook, and then after you install your new card, then you add the driver for your card. This was a common problem when the 1080ti came out and everyone upgraded and didnt do this step. also another problem could be is your CPU is bottle necking. your cpu might not be able to keep up with the graphics card. what cpu do you have?
valleyslim is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 06-02-2019, 08:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I just upgraded to a 1080ti from 980ti huge difference!
pjk0 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 06-02-2019, 10:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,508
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4643 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by valleyslim View Post
a couple things that might be the problem is, whenever you swap out a different video card, you have to uninstall your video drivers, so many problems are just from this small overlook, and then after you install your new card, then you add the driver for your card. This was a common problem when the 1080ti came out and everyone upgraded and didnt do this step. also another problem could be is your CPU is bottle necking. your cpu might not be able to keep up with the graphics card. what cpu do you have?
Why do you have to uninstall your video card driver first? Installing a new driver should be the same thing.

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 06-03-2019, 01:51 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by markmon1 View Post
Why do you have to uninstall your video card driver first? Installing a new driver should be the same thing.
like i said when the 1080ti came out and everyone picked them up to upgrade this was a problem, im assuming the drivers are different and you dont want both on there, but anyways here it is straight from nvidias website. https://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_13955.html
valleyslim is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 06-03-2019, 04:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markmon1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,508
Mentioned: 102 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4643 Post(s)
Liked: 2945
Quote:
Originally Posted by valleyslim View Post
like i said when the 1080ti came out and everyone picked them up to upgrade this was a problem, im assuming the drivers are different and you dont want both on there, but anyways here it is straight from nvidias website. https://www.nvidia.com/object/IO_13955.html
Yea honestly, it doesn't make any sense. I assume they post these things just like if you call comcast because your internet is slow they tell you to reboot your computer.

When windows loads, every time, the PNP manager enumerates devices on the bus. When a device is founds, if it has a driver installed, it loads that driver. If not, it tries to install one etc. Having a 970 driver installed wont interfere with a 1080ti, for example, because when windows boots up and doesn't find the 970, it doesn't load the 970 driver. Further, you can actually have both a 970 and 1080ti in the system at the same time each running its own driver and it works fine (which proves just having the old one installed causes no problems).

Video: JVC RS4500 135" screen in pure black room no light, htpc nvidia 1080ti.
Audio: Anthem mrx720 running 7.1.4, McIntosh MC-303, MC-152, B&W 802d3 LR, B&W HTM1D3 center, B&W 805d3 surround, B&W 702S2 rear, B&W 706s2 x 4 shelf mounted for atmos, 2 sub arrays both infinite baffle: 4x15 fi audio running on behringer ep4000 + 4x12 fi audio running on 2nd ep4000.
markmon1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off