Xbox Game Pass on PC - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 1 Post By sjchmura
  • 1 Post By Arutha_conDoin
  • 1 Post By sjchmura
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 07-19-2019, 05:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Xbox Game Pass on PC

Giving this a try since I have Xbox Game Pass Ultimate. So far after installing the new GPU (RTX 2070 Super) I am 1/3 for games launching with no problems. Both Forza 4 and Metro Exodus both crash while starting up. Steamworld Dig 2 works just fine. Any others on the Gamepass with PC and having issues with any games? I know Forza 4 has had some issues and Metro Exodus as well. Time to do some troubleshooting for Metro Exodus.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 07-22-2019, 10:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,474
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2335 Post(s)
Liked: 919
Exodus has a problem if you are limiting frame rate and overclocking. Had to disable riva tuner and turn down clocks on my 1080

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-22-2019, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjchmura View Post
Exodus has a problem if you are limiting frame rate and overclocking. Had to disable riva tuner and turn down clocks on my 1080
Did you manually overclock? I haven't done anything with my card besides leave it as is out off the box.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 Old 07-22-2019, 04:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,474
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2335 Post(s)
Liked: 919
I use rica tuner to cap the FPS at 60 so my gsync always works . That breaks metro
Arutha_conDoin likes this.

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 07-23-2019, 06:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjchmura View Post
I use rica tuner to cap the FPS at 60 so my gsync always works . That breaks metro
I turned off MSI Afterburner and Riva Tuner. Metro fired right up and made it to the loading screen (never used to to that without going into safe mode). Sucks you have to disable those two programs to make it work. I'm going to see if that is what was causing Forza 4 issues as well.
sjchmura likes this.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 07-23-2019, 06:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,474
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2335 Post(s)
Liked: 919
Yeah I was so frustrated . Glad to help.

I think we should whitelist games in RivaTuner - that should help.

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 07-23-2019, 08:37 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjchmura View Post
Yeah I was so frustrated . Glad to help.

I think we should whitelist games in RivaTuner - that should help.
Is it possible to whitelist games in RivaTuner? That would be awesome? I think I read something about that, but didn't look into it to far

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 07-23-2019, 09:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,474
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2335 Post(s)
Liked: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arutha_conDoin View Post
Is it possible to whitelist games in RivaTuner? That would be awesome? I think I read something about that, but didn't look into it to far

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk


Yes, in the advanced options. Tried it with dead cells and it worked. Have to re install metro - was waiting to play with an RTX card !
Arutha_conDoin likes this.

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 07-26-2019, 07:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 706
How do you add game pass.exe when the windowsapp filter is long to trusted installer

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-08-2019, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,219
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 561 Post(s)
Liked: 589
I have not had any issues running Exodus with EVGA Precision X1 on my 2080ti (not sure if that helps).

- Jason

HT = Sony HW45ES @133" / Lumagen Radiance / Denon x5200 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" subs x2 / CV 15" sub / Sony x800 / Toshiba HD-A3
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI game PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 08-08-2019, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Will back to square one. I was having issues with win 10. So reformatted and reinstalled win10 pro again. Looking stable again and my Bluetooth driver is once again working with my Vive lighthouse! No more unplugging and plugging to use VR!

I have not installed with MSI afterburner or The EVGA X1 tool yet.

I'm going to with X1 first and see what that does. Though right now I'll try with both off and see how it goes as well. Need to download the games first.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 08-08-2019, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by sjchmura View Post
Yes, in the advanced options. Tried it with dead cells and it worked. Have to re install metro - was waiting to play with an RTX card !
If I remember right, all of PC game pass games are locked behind a trustedinstaller folder, so no access to them. Not sure if I'll be able to whitelist Metro or not. May just need to wait until steam comes out.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 08-08-2019, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 5,474
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2335 Post(s)
Liked: 919
Metro is on game pass.

Meaning set rivaTuner to only limit the games you want. So manually add each game you want - therefore metro is not effected !

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 08-08-2019, 10:52 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Arutha_conDoin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 3,809
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 763 Post(s)
Liked: 706
Game launched with no issued with all the bells and whistles turned on and set on Ultra. I had to start over, and luckily I wasn't very far so no big deal there. Played until I got out of the hospital bed and no crashes. I'll reinstall MSI afterburner tomorrow or this weekend (pending family engagements) and see how that goes.

Xbox Live: DaBeavers
PSN- Arutha_conDoin
Steam- An0mander
"Too much knowledge never makes for simple decisions."
-Ghanima Atreides
Arutha_conDoin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off