Troubleshooting an HDMI Problem with a Gaming PC - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By cathodeRay
  • 1 Post By Norse
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 10-21-2019, 08:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 10,403
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Red face Troubleshooting an HDMI Problem with a Gaming PC

I decided to experiment with sending my PC game signal to my wall-mounted Sony HDR 4k TV in another room. My TV is, I believe, a Sony XBR 850. This was only really ever intended for use console gaming and this TV hit the sweet spot in terms of price when I bought it 2 years ago...HDR, thin so it wall mounts nicely (its edge lit but still had impressed reviewers with its black levels) and most of all it did great with gaming at 4k with HDR turnef on or off, with low input lag running in game mode. Its only negative was about 500 nits on the HDR brightness.....so punchy but not the bright you'd get with a real backlit HDR set.


I digress. When I send the signal from my 1080 Ti over that lengthy 30 foot HDMI cable, I get a great 4k/60 picture. Ok so...why the post!?

If I use the 2 ports that are enhanced (aka: HDR enabled for 18gpbs) I get no signal at all. Windows sees the TV. It sees its HDR enabled and will allow me to turn the feature on in Windows.
But I get nothing on the screen, nada, zilch, not even a glitched image.



But as soon as I plug the cable into one of the regular HDMI ports that are not enhanced, I get a perfectly usable 4k/60 image....just no HDR

What are we thinking guys....HDMI cable just a bit too long to deal with 18gpbs but ok to deal with 10gb 4k/60? Think one of those fiber optic cables will provde less resistance? Thing that sucks there is....that's $80 bucks just to turn on HDR. Or...I could just move the damned box closer, I gotta say I hate being "so close"

I even forced HDR 10 on while playing Forza Horizon 4....the colors looked electric but I knew I was cheating....at least I don't think it's supposed to look quite that cartoony (this is forcing HDR on in the TV so it's doing, I guess, some sort of tone mapping on its own regardless of the signal being passed?).....

Anyhow thanks for the read.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 10-22-2019, 05:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 115
I would just "move the damned box closer" and use a shorter, good quality cable.
NewAger is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 10-22-2019, 06:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post

What are we thinking guys....HDMI cable just a bit too long to deal with 18gpbs but ok to deal with 10gb 4k/60? Think one of those fiber optic cables will provde less resistance? Thing that sucks there is....that's $80 bucks just to turn on HDR. Or...I could just move the damned box closer, I gotta say I hate being "so close"
Move the box closer just to test the if the issue is actually the cable, just make sure you have a short, genuine certified 2.0 cable. A 6' one can be had for $7. This won't make you feel better about price but it's good reference data: https://www.avsforum.com/forum/168-h...hdmi-2-0b.html
NewAger likes this.
cathodeRay is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 Old 10-22-2019, 06:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 10,403
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Yeah, I'm going to have to do that just for peace of mind. What kills me is that the standard ports work fine..I get 4/60, no dropouts. But if I try to enable HDR......AH...I just thought of something. I can disable the enhanced feature on those 2 ports, effectively turning them into bone-stock HDMI 2.0 ports. I'll bet shutting off that feature will get those 2 ports working the same as my normal ones are right now. If that is the case we'll know it's a cable/resistance/bandwidth issue............well, we'll know its more in that direction, not exactly the scientific method at play here........but it saves me from having to disconnect 30 wires from the back of my PC and schlep it over and find a decent short length cable, or procure one. Hmmm, should have thought of that before posting.

Thanks for the link on the HDMI Cable review, I'll give that one a deeper read later on.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 10-22-2019, 12:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 115
I bought the cheap GearIT cables that supposedly have full HDMI 2.1 capability. I've had no issues with sending 4K/60/HDR signals over a 10ft. cable. I'm curious as to whether the cables will really handle 4K/120/HDR with variable refresh and full RGB when the time comes.
NewAger is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 10-29-2019, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeadRusch View Post
I decided to experiment with sending my PC game signal to my wall-mounted Sony HDR 4k TV in another room. My TV is, I believe, a Sony XBR 850. This was only really ever intended for use console gaming and this TV hit the sweet spot in terms of price when I bought it 2 years ago...HDR, thin so it wall mounts nicely (its edge lit but still had impressed reviewers with its black levels) and most of all it did great with gaming at 4k with HDR turnef on or off, with low input lag running in game mode. Its only negative was about 500 nits on the HDR brightness.....so punchy but not the bright you'd get with a real backlit HDR set.


I digress. When I send the signal from my 1080 Ti over that lengthy 30 foot HDMI cable, I get a great 4k/60 picture. Ok so...why the post!?

If I use the 2 ports that are enhanced (aka: HDR enabled for 18gpbs) I get no signal at all. Windows sees the TV. It sees its HDR enabled and will allow me to turn the feature on in Windows.
But I get nothing on the screen, nada, zilch, not even a glitched image.



But as soon as I plug the cable into one of the regular HDMI ports that are not enhanced, I get a perfectly usable 4k/60 image....just no HDR

What are we thinking guys....HDMI cable just a bit too long to deal with 18gpbs but ok to deal with 10gb 4k/60? Think one of those fiber optic cables will provde less resistance? Thing that sucks there is....that's $80 bucks just to turn on HDR. Or...I could just move the damned box closer, I gotta say I hate being "so close"

I even forced HDR 10 on while playing Forza Horizon 4....the colors looked electric but I knew I was cheating....at least I don't think it's supposed to look quite that cartoony (this is forcing HDR on in the TV so it's doing, I guess, some sort of tone mapping on its own regardless of the signal being passed?).....

Anyhow thanks for the read.

I have similar weird issues with my PC and my LG C9. If I set an input on the C9 to HDR enabled, I cannot get any picture (just black screen). If I set it to standard, then the desktop will display and I can get HDR (both Windows and the C9 will then display HDR enabled) 15m of HDMI cable in my case.
TeaBrain is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 10-29-2019, 08:01 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
HeadRusch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 10,403
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 243 Post(s)
Liked: 177
Thanks for the reply.

Indeed, when I turn off the HDR Enhancement on my 2 "active, enhanced" HDMI ports I get a perfectly good 4k/60 picture, but windows doesn't see this as an HDR enabled display when I do that. I basically said "why am I agonizing over this" and gave up Windows 10 HDR = mockery in almost every post I read on the subject, I decided it wasn't worth my time.

My Sony display is edge-lit, so the HDR impact is somewhat minimal. As an example: With HDR turned on with my Xbox X, playing Ghost Recon Wildlands.....which is HDR enabled....I get a more washed-out image (as the backlight is maxed) and then I see things like headlights and spotlights look brighter, the sky becomes brighter and sunlight is brighter...but I'm basically getting white crush.
If I dial down the gamma/black/white levels, I'm left with an even less impressive HDR result. Translated: My display does HDR, but it just makes lightning-flashes and headlights stand out I watch zero movies on this display so I can't comment on anything but gaming.

I can force an HDR mode on the TV, and then games like Forza Horizon 4 take on a truly impressive level of color pop, but its artificial...I mean its not clipping, it's not ugly to look at, but it's clearly cartoonish. My solution? Set my backlight to 25 out of 50, set my gamma to a notch down, set my black levels a few notches down and then push color from 50 to 55.....good enough for me, poppy colors without the washed-out look of a 100% backlight.

If there's another way to go about this, and I'm sure there is, I haven't stumbled upon it yet but in the end I decided this was pretty much good enough for me for now.

Xbox Live / PS3 / Steam: HeadRusch1
Keeping the world safe from the evil antics of Bernie Tanaka and Mel Fujitsu since 1986

HeadRusch is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 11-08-2019, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Norse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 28
I have the same issue.....40" vizio V series. 21+ gb cert hdmi cable from a geforce 1060 6gb. I however only get 4k 30hz but rtings.com says it does 4k 60hz. I have a feeling its the hdr option in win10 thats causing the issue. If I enable full hd color on the tv I get black screen when in 4k res. If I goto 1080p as my destop enabling full hd color goes black as well but if off, vizio shows hdr10 when on desktop and tv shows hdr when playing 1080p hdr games. I for the life of me cant get 4k 60hz regardless of tv setting unless I tell the video card to use custom res 4k 60hz. Then I get my desktop, but if I enable full hd color on the tv I get the black screen again.

Can you use a display port to hdmi cable? I tried that but tv says no signal. /shrug.....also, once I turned windows hdr on in display settings in windows it never gives me and option to turn it off. I think I am going to try a clean install and have full hd color on from the start and see if that works. I'll image my boot drive just so I can go back if unsuccessful.

Samsung 55" nu8000
i7 8700/1060 6gb
Vizio V series 40" as PC monitor
xbox 1x
panamax power filtration

Last edited by Norse; 11-08-2019 at 06:15 PM.
Norse is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-09-2019, 11:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Norse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 859
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Great news!

I backed up an image of the system and then set the vizio V series 40" tv input to full uhd color, mounted the windows 10 1903 iso and did a clean install keeping nothing. Windows installed, desktop was set to 4k 30hz by default. Opened the nvidia control panel and low and behold 60hz was now in the drop down menu!!!! switched to 60hz and perfect 4k 60hz display. Went into windows display setting and turned on the hdr/wcg setting and everything is working as it should. My 1060 6gb video card looks great on this tv...1080p gaming in hdr 60fps wahoo!
NewAger likes this.

Samsung 55" nu8000
i7 8700/1060 6gb
Vizio V series 40" as PC monitor
xbox 1x
panamax power filtration
Norse is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off