Why the gap between 32 and 43 inch monitors? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 05-14-2020, 03:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Why the gap between 32 and 43 inch monitors?

The gap is huge if you want a monitor with the 16:9 aspect ratio
I have an great ultrawide 35 inch monitor but it doesn't support HDR
Why is there no 16:9 monitor in, say, 37 inches? 32 inches is too small where you're used to 35 inches ultrawide
43 inches is too big for normal desktop use (internet browsing)

Last edited by jake51; 05-14-2020 at 08:51 AM.
jake51 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 05-22-2020, 04:01 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 116
So I got the Philips 436M6 today
Coming from an ultrawide monitor there's a VERY long way to the upper corners
HDR doesn't seem to do much, very real possibility that I'm doing it wrong
I'll try stuff tonight
I have been playing Ghost Recon Breakpoint as it supports HDR
Adaptive sync (Freesync) should work with my RTX 2070 S but it doesn't (maybe I forgot to tick a box somewhere)
I'll spend a week with it and decide then whether to keep it
It's HUGE

If I do decide to keep it I'll wall mount it to get needed extra space

Last edited by jake51; 05-22-2020 at 04:04 AM.
jake51 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 05-22-2020, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake51 View Post
HDR doesn't seem to do much, very real possibility that I'm doing it wrong
For numerous games, you have to first enable HDR in the desktop environment before you can enable it in-game. As such, in Windows, go to Settings -> System -> Display and you should see an option to enable HDR under Windows HD Color. Do not use the desktop environment as an indicator as to how HDR should look, unless you are running actual HDR content.
NewAger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 Old 05-22-2020, 10:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Yeah, I tried turning it on and off as one of the first things
Now I just leave it on
Freesync seems to be working, there's no tearing
jake51 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 05-23-2020, 01:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 116
This morning the game looked very pale
When I exited the game and turned off the PC and the monitor yesterday, apparently HDR was disabled everywhere
So I had to turn it on again in the game, in Windows and on the monitor
This could get old very fast
What am I doing wrong?

This is my first monitor with HDR
jake51 is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 05-23-2020, 07:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by jake51 View Post
This morning the game looked very pale
When I exited the game and turned off the PC and the monitor yesterday, apparently HDR was disabled everywhere
So I had to turn it on again in the game, in Windows and on the monitor
This could get old very fast
What am I doing wrong?

This is my first monitor with HDR
My only experience with HDR for PC gaming is with Sony TVs. For me, the HDR settings for the OS and games stick and do not require re-enabling.

The only advice I can offer is to do some research on your monitor and see what others have said about it.
NewAger is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old Today, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
jake51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 818
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 362 Post(s)
Liked: 116
Switched back to the ultrawide after three days with the big one
I was kinda hoping the 43 inch would be much too big so that I could return it
But I like it more than expected
Besides being bigger the image is sharper and brighter - even without HDR turned on
jake51 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HTPC Gaming

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off