Official New Sony S370/S470 Owners Thread - Page 98 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 9Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2911 of 2927 Old 12-11-2016, 03:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinhvo View Post
A late comer here.
I got the BX370 from Costco last week, I think it's the same or almost identical to the S3700 in other retails.
Anyway, I hope someone can verify this for me before I return it.
Is it true that it doesn't support TrueHD audio format when playing via USB?
I have an .mkv with TrueHD format, and I cannot play it, it indicates "audio format not supported", I cannot even play other audio track.
I've searched around and it seems it should but it won't work for me.
Not sure if Sony product really not support TrueHD or just a firmware bug (I've updated to the latest firmware, R30.xx380)

Note: it plays DTS-HD MA .mkv file just fine.
Tinhvo, I can't speak to whether the BDP-BX370 is similar/identical to the S3700. But there's no way that it's similar in terms of support needs and format compatibility to the BDP-S370. That's the owner thread you've posted in and these decks (the S370 and 470) are now about four years old.

Here's the owner thread for the 3700 (not to be further confused with the 370):

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...y-players.html
tinhvo likes this.
Paul.R.S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2912 of 2927 Old 12-11-2016, 08:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul.R.S View Post
Tinhvo, I can't speak to whether the BDP-BX370 is similar/identical to the S3700. But there's no way that it's similar in terms of support needs and format compatibility to the BDP-S370. That's the owner thread you've posted in and these decks (the S370 and 470) are now about four years old.

Here's the owner thread for the 3700 (not to be further confused with the 370):

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...y-players.html
Yeap, I realized that I've posted in the wrong thread
Posted once in the S3700 thread already.
tinhvo is offline  
post #2913 of 2927 Old 12-12-2016, 09:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert Simandl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: St. Peters, MO
Posts: 3,277
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Liked: 133
The Costco version of this player was the BDP-BX37.

Bob Simandl ... somewhere near St. Louis
Robert Simandl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2914 of 2927 Old 07-26-2017, 08:48 AM
Senior Member
 
See The Light's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 85 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Exclamation S370 BX37 issue with the 1968 POTA BD !!



Quote:
Originally Posted by tinhvo View Post
A late comer here.
I got the BX370 from Costco last week, I think it's the same or almost identical to the S3700 in other retails.
It's the BDP--BX37, which is the same as the BSP-S370. The only difference is the BX37 comes with an HDMI cable and the S370 doesn't.
I bought my BX37 at Sams, so it's not exclusive to any store...

***************NOTICE****************

The S370 (or BX37) latest Firmware update (from several years ago) M03.R.804, HAS A BUG THAT DOES NOT ALLOW THE FOX BD OF THE 40TH ANNIVERSARY EDITION OF THE 1968 PLANET OF THE APES TO FULLY LOAD AND PLAY IN THE S370 (or BX37). THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE THAT SONY HAS CHOSEN TO NEVER CORRECT FOR THIS PARTICULAR DEVICE.
tinhvo likes this.

Cable Channel Choice is the only choice I want to make !!

Last edited by See The Light; 07-26-2017 at 03:47 PM.
See The Light is offline  
post #2915 of 2927 Old 07-26-2017, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 193
I pretty much give up on playing TrueHD track on this unit.
I don't think it will ever work.
Just surprise that other owners claimed it works for them.
tinhvo is offline  
post #2916 of 2927 Old 09-30-2017, 07:08 PM
Member
 
Ramb04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have acquired an S370, currently running M03.R.623. My main use for this unit will be blurays and SACDs in a two channel system. I see there is an update to 804, but I am apprehensive to do so given my past experience as a first gen PS3 owner having my SACD functionality disabled via a firmware update. Anyone with update experience to this firmware I wouldn't mind a heads up whether to update or not. Thanks.
Ramb04 is offline  
post #2917 of 2927 Old 09-30-2017, 07:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramb04 View Post
I have acquired an S370, currently running M03.R.623. My main use for this unit will be blurays and SACDs in a two channel system. I see there is an update to 804, but I am apprehensive to do so given my past experience as a first gen PS3 owner having my SACD functionality disabled via a firmware update. Anyone with update experience to this firmware I wouldn't mind a heads up whether to update or not. Thanks.
I kept my 370 updated to the last firmware. It did not break SACD compatibility in any way.
bradman is offline  
post #2918 of 2927 Old 09-30-2017, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Ramb04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post
I kept my 370 updated to the last firmware. It did not break SACD compatibility in any way.
Thanks bradman, I'll go ahead. Glad it doesn't effect anything on SACD end. I appreciate the help!
Ramb04 is offline  
post #2919 of 2927 Old 10-01-2017, 12:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramb04 View Post
I have acquired an S370, currently running M03.R.623. My main use for this unit will be blurays and SACDs in a two channel system. I see there is an update to 804, but I am apprehensive to do so given my past experience as a first gen PS3 owner having my SACD functionality disabled via a firmware update. Anyone with update experience to this firmware I wouldn't mind a heads up whether to update or not. Thanks.
Bradman has already spoken to your query but I wanted to add a comment FWIW. Although of course we're talking about the same manuf, I think the PS3 had its own sets of issues back in the day. Although the broken SACD playback functionality was an issue for that deck, I don't recall hearing/reading anything similar happening for Sony SACD-capable BD players.

Except of course for the larger issue of Sony entirely abandoning support for their own damn format in all but their top of the line BD players years ago.
Ramb04 likes this.

Last edited by Paul.R.S; 10-01-2017 at 01:04 AM.
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #2920 of 2927 Old 10-01-2017, 09:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
bradman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Sony simply dropped SACD from the PS3 after 2 years.
bradman is offline  
post #2921 of 2927 Old 10-01-2017, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by bradman View Post
Sony simply dropped SACD from the PS3 after 2 years.
I don't understand your point or how whatever it may be is responsive to or counters mine, which is about the broader absurdity of Sony having stepped largely away from supporting SACD, a format for which their royalties position motivated the "war" between SACD and DVD-A in the first place. I'm saying that's the shameful larger truth, even if the smaller point of their BDs players not having shared the problem the PS3 did (sneaky removal via firmware "upgrade" of playback capability that the deck once had).

If your point is that Sony "simply" stopped supporting the format, that's hardly charitable/palatable in my eyes either: It would be different if they did so "simply" to their newly released decks. That's not my understanding. It seems Ramb04's question was getting at this very issue: They took away something from previously released players that those decks once had (rather than simply doing so on a going forward/only in new decks basis) and he wanted to make sure that wasn't going to happen by upgrading the fw on his older machine. Sony created the rationale for that very trepidation via their past behavior.
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #2922 of 2927 Old 10-01-2017, 07:38 PM
Member
 
Ramb04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul.R.S View Post
I don't understand your point or how whatever it may be is responsive to or counters mine, which is about the broader absurdity of Sony having stepped largely away from supporting SACD, a format for which their royalties position motivated the "war" between SACD and DVD-A in the first place. I'm saying that's the shameful larger truth, even if the smaller point of their BDs players not having shared the problem the PS3 did (sneaky removal via firmware "upgrade" of playback capability that the deck once had).

If your point is that Sony "simply" stopped supporting the format, that's hardly charitable/palatable in my eyes either: It would be different if they did so "simply" to their newly released decks. That's not my understanding. It seems Ramb04's question was getting at this very issue: They took away something from previously released players that those decks once had (rather than simply doing so on a going forward/only in new decks basis) and he wanted to make sure that wasn't going to happen by upgrading the fw on his older machine. Sony created the rationale for that very trepidation via their past behavior.
Thank you. That is exactly my thought process when upgrading now. The SACD removal on the PS3 took me by surprise, as it was my only player of that type at the time. Now, years later, I have stumbled across a decent SACD capable player, but since it is a Sony product from a few years back, I wasn't sure if the disabling of that feature was something spread throughout more of the lineup via firmware updates. As this is the reason I purchased an otherwise perfectly good S370 for $14.

It's a very good player, and enjoying my SACD collection once again. Running it from the analog out 2ch to my int. amp. Not sure if coax works to send it to a DAC or not, but that can be something I try down the road.
Paul.R.S likes this.
Ramb04 is offline  
post #2923 of 2927 Old 10-01-2017, 10:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
Paul.R.S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hollywood, California
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ramb04 View Post
Running it from the analog out 2ch to my int. amp. Not sure if coax works to send it to a DAC or not, but that can be something I try down the road.
No high rez/DSD via coax. Analog stereo or HDMI are your choices.
Paul.R.S is offline  
post #2924 of 2927 Old 04-02-2019, 06:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
hsinnott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Well my S370 finally stopped working properly the other day...would play some discs perfectly, others it would not even make it to the main menu and would keep turning off the player, the 'Wait' sign would show on the display then it would turn itself off, sometimes even on again...and other odd behavior...
I was hoping it was because I had not updated the player with the latest firmware so I did that- but still no luck.
I have owned it about 7 years I think and it's rarely been used. I had it shipped from the US to Ireland to be able to play back Region 'A' US discs and had it connected to a step down transformer (220V-240V down to US 120V-140V). I did accidentally forget to plug it into the transformer once and didn't realize for a couple of minutes until I saw some smoke coming out of the back of the player lols. Amazingly it continued to work flawlessly until this week.
This is the first (and hopefully last) piece of home theater electronics which has ever broken on me- and I have owned a lot of gear over the years.
Have a replacement tiny Sony BDP-S3700 on the way from Amz US should have it tomorrow fingers crossed.
Just dropped off the S370 at a local electronics store which takes stuff for recycling- have to say I'm a huge Sony fanboy and was sad to say goodbye to it!
(One think I am looking forward to with the new player is the ease of having built in Wifi for firmware updates)

SONY Bravia KD-65XE9005BU 4K UHD tv PANASONIC TX-40CX400B 4K UHD tv SONY UBP-X800 4K HDR Ultra HD player SONY BDP-S3700 Blu-ray player (U.S.)-*new 04/04/2019 SONY BDP-S760 Blu-ray player ES certified- Elevated Standard (UK) SAMSUNG BD-C6900 3D Blu-ray player (UK) SAMSUNG HW-MS650 Sound+ Soundbar
hsinnott is offline  
post #2925 of 2927 Old 04-02-2019, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
7017WR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsinnott View Post
Well my S370 finally stopped working properly the other day...would play some discs perfectly, others it would not even make it to the main menu and would keep turning off the player, the 'Wait' sign would show on the display then it would turn itself off, sometimes even on again...and other odd behavior...
I was hoping it was because I had not updated the player with the latest firmware so I did that- but still no luck.
I have owned it about 7 years I think and it's rarely been used. I had it shipped from the US to Ireland to be able to play back Region 'A' US discs and had it connected to a step down transformer (220V-240V down to US 120V-140V). I did accidentally forget to plug it into the transformer once and didn't realize for a couple of minutes until I saw some smoke coming out of the back of the player lols. Amazingly it continued to work flawlessly until this week.
This is the first (and hopefully last) piece of home theater electronics which has ever broken on me- and I have owned a lot of gear over the years.
Have a replacement tiny Sony BDP-S3700 on the way from Amz US should have it tomorrow fingers crossed.
Just dropped off the S370 at a local electronics store which takes stuff for recycling- have to say I'm a huge Sony fanboy and was sad to say goodbye to it!
(One think I am looking forward to with the new player is the ease of having built in Wifi for firmware updates)
A step-down transformer will change the Irish line voltage to suit a USA component but a transformer will not change the frequency of the power line. North American components are not always designed to tolerate a 50Hz supply. Usually you can read the specified frequency info on the rear panel of the component or in the manual:

U.S. and Canada models: 120 V AC, 60 Hz

Further reading if you're interested: Voltage and Frequency.

Cheers!
hsinnott likes this.
7017WR is offline  
post #2926 of 2927 Old 04-02-2019, 01:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
hsinnott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7017WR View Post
A step-down transformer will change the Irish line voltage to suit a USA component but a transformer will not change the frequency of the power line. North American components are not always designed to tolerate a 50Hz supply. Usually you can read the specified frequency info on the rear panel of the component or in the manual:

U.S. and Canada models: 120 V AC, 60 Hz

Further reading if you're interested: Voltage and Frequency.

Cheers!
Interesting info thx for sharing. Well both the Sony S370 and a previous US Panasonic DMP-BD30 both worked perfectly here in Ireland. Fingers crossed my incoming new US Sony BDP-S3700 is OK.
I actually thought the 50/60Hz was only an issue in the US with the majority of US displays struggling or not able to play back 50Hz material? Not sure tho...my 'step down' transformer is rated for 300W and I'm guessing the Sony only uses about 10W so if heat is an issue I should be ok...

Just found this online...
..."UK outlets provide a frequency of 50 Hz. Transformers do not provide a conversion to US 60 Hz; you are stuck with UK 50 Hz. The only electrical products that need concern you regarding this frequency mismatch are products that contain motors (i.e. things that run fans, spin wheels, rotate things, etc. like hair dryers, record players). But...there are two kinds of motors that will be found inside electrical products, and one type is affected by the frequency, while the other is not. Synchronous motors are affected by the frequency mismatch. When such a motor made for 60 Hz receives 50 Hz, it runs at 5/6 speed. You will generally find that any product that contains a motor that runs at high speed (e.g. hair dryer), or must drive something with great force (e. g. power drill) will be a synchronous motor. DC motors are not affected by the frequency mismatch, because the motor runs on DC (for which frequency is irrelevant) and the DC current is supplied internally by the product. Thus, as long as the product gets current from a proper transformer, the motor inside will run at the correct speed. Generally, any product which requires only a small motor (e.g. Walkman cassette player, computer disc drive) uses its own low-voltage (5 or 12 volts) DC motor. Some products (rare, and perhaps even illegal by UL standards) are rated for no lower than 60 Hz, and will overheat when supplied with 50 Hz. The only way you can be sure is to find out the minimum frequency that the product may be run at (which should be 50), for which may need a trained electrician if the manual doesn’t say so. But if the item is a modern product by a company with a good reputation, you probably needen’t worry"...

SONY Bravia KD-65XE9005BU 4K UHD tv PANASONIC TX-40CX400B 4K UHD tv SONY UBP-X800 4K HDR Ultra HD player SONY BDP-S3700 Blu-ray player (U.S.)-*new 04/04/2019 SONY BDP-S760 Blu-ray player ES certified- Elevated Standard (UK) SAMSUNG BD-C6900 3D Blu-ray player (UK) SAMSUNG HW-MS650 Sound+ Soundbar

Last edited by hsinnott; 04-02-2019 at 01:36 PM.
hsinnott is offline  
post #2927 of 2927 Old 01-12-2020, 11:22 AM
Newbie
 
Gourmand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BDP-S470 image gone

Hello All. Please help me with my old BDP-S470. It worked fine before. Today I turned it to TV-set with good cable used before. I even tried connect to home theater projector with same result. Player starts, shows WELCOME and obvious SONY Blu-ray disc startup screen on TV. But after this - only black screen. And HOME on player's display. No any other image. It reacts to remote buttons, looks like it starts playback (but without sound on HDMI), ejects disc and so on. Without any image shown on screen. But some HDMI signal comes - TV-set shows active connection and does not tell "no signal" on it. I tried connect TV by CVBS line - this connection has no signal from player.

If it is the firmware problem - can I update it from USB-drive without having image on screen? I found firmware for CD-R but currently I do not have writing CD burner and empty discs.
Gourmand is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off