Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 954 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1513Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #28591 of 28715 Old 11-20-2018, 07:58 PM
Senior Member
 
mickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle Area In Soggy Washington State
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
That is very old and dates from before when ISO was added and then removed. ISO file support appeared in firmware 50-0608 and was removed in firmware 64-0119.

I would update to the latest. The first post in this thread has a complete history of firmware versions.

-Bill
Thank You Bill.
I'm excited to get this into the system and see how it compares to the 105.....
Mickboy

"We Never Really Got It On Until Detroit"
M.Jagger 1969
mickboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28592 of 28715 Old 11-20-2018, 09:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Can I ask why did you go from a 105 to a 95? Did the 105 break?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is offline  
post #28593 of 28715 Old 11-21-2018, 06:53 AM
Senior Member
 
mickboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Seattle Area In Soggy Washington State
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
Can I ask why did you go from a 105 to a 95? Did the 105 break?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

No No No, the 105's fine. Since I'm a relatively 'new' Oppo guy, whenever I've been able to score a good deal on a model, new or old, I take it. That way I've got some experience with the different models, which is fun for me.
In some ways I like some of the 105's difference better than the my 205, like the touch buttons on the front, cool design, although I know there are people who prefer the actual push/detent buttons of the 205, which is cool.
I also really Like my 103 (it's in the TV room, the other units are in the Audio rack). If I couldn't get a 203 the 103 is just fine for me as we Like the 4K upscaling, but don't really need 4K disc playing capability, BR is just fine for us.
So, if nobody else thinks I should keep the old firmware I'll hook it up tonight and do an Upgrade and reset and then start spinning some discs. The seller, who is a very straight forward guy, told me that this unit has an issue with NO Audio from the HDMI port 1.
But Port 2 is fine, so I'll see what happens when I hook it up tonight.
But it IS a beautiful Deck, just like the 105 and 205. Heavy Sucker too.
I Love Oppo!
Happy Thanksgiving and Holidays to you all!
Mickboy

"We Never Really Got It On Until Detroit"
M.Jagger 1969
mickboy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28594 of 28715 Old 12-04-2018, 10:01 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shivaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So. California
Posts: 2,370
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
I have an amp that i sometimes run directly plugged into the Oppo 93 and use the hand remote for volume control and have done so since new. Today, this feature stopped working on the Oppo. The other remote functions work fine. Just the Oppos internal volume control seems to have stopped working. Any ideas would be appreciated.
shivaji is online now  
post #28595 of 28715 Old 12-04-2018, 10:05 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,353
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4539 Post(s)
Liked: 4369
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivaji View Post
I have an amp that i sometimes run directly plugged into the Oppo 93 and use the hand remote for volume control and have done so since new. Today, this feature stopped working on the Oppo. The other remote functions work fine. Just the Oppos internal volume control seems to have stopped working. Any ideas would be appreciated.
Did Setup -> Audio Processing -> Output Volume get set to "Fixed" somehow?

-Bill
m. zillch likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #28596 of 28715 Old 12-04-2018, 10:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shivaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So. California
Posts: 2,370
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Did Setup -> Audio Processing -> Output Volume get set to "Fixed" somehow?

-Bill
No, it still says variable, I also checked the remote control code and it is still set to code 1 as is the remote.
shivaji is online now  
post #28597 of 28715 Old 12-04-2018, 10:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shivaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So. California
Posts: 2,370
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
Well, I turned the Oppo off and then back on and everything seems normal once again.

Last edited by shivaji; 12-04-2018 at 11:01 AM.
shivaji is online now  
post #28598 of 28715 Old 12-04-2018, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 60
How’s the preamp section of the oppo compared to a mid range integrated amp?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is offline  
post #28599 of 28715 Old 12-04-2018, 02:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
shivaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: So. California
Posts: 2,370
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1135 Post(s)
Liked: 1075
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
How’s the preamp section of the oppo compared to a mid range integrated amp?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I like the Oppo as a preamp, i know they put some decent Dacs under the hood and it has a 100 step volume control, so a nice range. A thing to note is that the volume feature only works on the analog outs.
shivaji is online now  
post #28600 of 28715 Old 12-04-2018, 03:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivaji View Post
I like the Oppo as a preamp, i know they put some decent Dacs under the hood and it has a 100 step volume control, so a nice range. A thing to note is that the volume feature only works on the analog outs.


Ok thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is offline  
post #28601 of 28715 Old 12-05-2018, 06:38 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
Ok thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Also there is no volume control (on the 93), even when using the Analog outs, while playing SACD content with DSD-Direct-to-Analog Conversion in effect. This limitation of the 93 is particularly important to note for folks using a direct connection to power amps (and thus no external volume control available). What you get is max Volume, just as if you had Volume set to FIXED in the player. To avoid blasting your speakers when connected this way, be sure you leave SACD Output set to PCM in the 93. DSD digital audio will then be converted to LPCM before being sent to the DACs, and the DACs will then be able to provide output Volume control as normal.

(The 95 does not have this SACD output Volume limitation.)

Allowing the 93 to convert DSD audio to LPCM as a preliminary step is just fine. For more on what's going on, see my Blog post here:

Understanding DSD to LPCM Conversion, OR SACD "Noise Shaping" for Fun & Profit!

--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #28602 of 28715 Old 12-05-2018, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Thanks bob good to know


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is offline  
post #28603 of 28715 Old 12-06-2018, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Audiodork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Siesta Key, Florida
Posts: 2,530
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Has anyone experienced getting no audio out of HDMI 1? I am the original owner and the last FW I did was the last one prior to ISO support ending. I actually had to send it into OPPO last year where they replaced the main board. The 93 is connected to a Marantz AV8801 and had worked prior for quite some time.

Radio Shack SPL Meter Owner
Audiodork is offline  
post #28604 of 28715 Old 12-06-2018, 04:50 PM
vld
Advanced Member
 
vld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: A place in time...
Posts: 658
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 87
^
email Oppo support, they will send you a firmware version that will work. But this firmware will end ISO playback.

If you look further back in this thread, I believe that there is a link to download the firmware if you run into delays with an answer from support.
vld is offline  
post #28605 of 28715 Old 12-11-2018, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JoeInNVa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Limington, Maine
Posts: 2,165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I knew I should have come here first. I spent last night cursing, kicking the dog, pulling my hair out, all because my Oppo93 could not play sound...So many configurations I tried and nada, now I know why. When in doubt visit the experts and that's this group!

Arrive
Raise Hell
Leave
JoeInNVa is offline  
post #28606 of 28715 Old 12-14-2018, 12:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I bought a oppo BDP-93 several years ago, and it has worked flawlessly with my Optoma 1080p HD26 projector, until I upgraded my projector to the Optoma UHD60 2160p projector. When I installed a Blu-ray disk to see how it looked with the UHD60 and I got a picture, but it was all pink. I bought a contract with Best Buy to cover all of my electronic devices, so I called the Geek Squad and they responded timely (1 week). They came into my theater and they, too, got all pink. (There were 2 men, but only 1 did any work.) It didn't take long and they were able to get the screen to be all right, however, NO SOUND. I never got far enough along to see if there was any sound. The/He went through every option available, but he could not get any sound. He tried an SACD without any luck. Still, the picture looked good. (We tried to check it out with a Blu-ray Lion King because we knew the sound and picture is flawless.) I am a newbee with this wing of the AVSFORUM and I am a lazy 70 year old that loves his theater. I don't want to go through about 1,300 messages to see if anyone knows what's wrong with my oppo BDP-93. Assuming that this topic has already been resolved without me having to look at every one of them, can I get some help to find out what I can do to get sound from my oppo? If anyone has had oppo do any service work, can you tell me how I would go about getting help and any idea how much they are going to hit me?
I love AVSFORUM. I have usually kept up to the Yamaha Aventage RX-A30XX topic. My theater consists of a Yamaha Aventage RX-A3070 AVR for 9.2 and a Yamaha Aventage RX-A3010 AVR as an External Amplifier to give me 7.2.4. I have a Samsung UBD-M8500 Blu-ray Player, and so far, it works great. I get my television signal from DISH ViP 211k Receiver, which also, gives me a great signal. My wife uses a Samsung Chromecast Tablet to play music on UTube to exercise by. I use a Yamaha Center Channel, Klipsch Forte II for the R/L Front channels, JBL L-110 for my R/L Surround Channels, Polk Audio shelf speakers for the R/L Rear Surround Channels and Polk Audio In-Wall for the R/L Front Presence Channels and for the R/L Rear Presence Channels. My current Sub-Woofer is a JBL Northridge E250P for the front. I have an old JVC SW available for a SW in the rear of the theater, but I've chosen not to at this time. I'm looking around to see if there is anything available that I would like.
Anyway, with all of that information, is there any idea about what I should do so I can enjoy my theater as is? I did just order a SONY X700 4K UHD Blu-ray player. It's supposed to be pretty good. I got it for less than $XXX. Oops! I don't think I'm supposed to talk about price. Anyway, please help.
jdhelaman is offline  
post #28607 of 28715 Old 12-14-2018, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
duc135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,118
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdhelaman View Post
I bought a oppo BDP-93 several years ago, and it has worked flawlessly with my Optoma 1080p HD26 projector, until I upgraded my projector to the Optoma UHD60 2160p projector. When I installed a Blu-ray disk to see how it looked with the UHD60 and I got a picture, but it was all pink. I bought a contract with Best Buy to cover all of my electronic devices, so I called the Geek Squad and they responded timely (1 week). They came into my theater and they, too, got all pink. (There were 2 men, but only 1 did any work.) It didn't take long and they were able to get the screen to be all right, however, NO SOUND. I never got far enough along to see if there was any sound. The/He went through every option available, but he could not get any sound. He tried an SACD without any luck. Still, the picture looked good. (We tried to check it out with a Blu-ray Lion King because we knew the sound and picture is flawless.) I am a newbee with this wing of the AVSFORUM and I am a lazy 70 year old that loves his theater. I don't want to go through about 1,300 messages to see if anyone knows what's wrong with my oppo BDP-93. Assuming that this topic has already been resolved without me having to look at every one of them, can I get some help to find out what I can do to get sound from my oppo? If anyone has had oppo do any service work, can you tell me how I would go about getting help and any idea how much they are going to hit me?
I love AVSFORUM. I have usually kept up to the Yamaha Aventage RX-A30XX topic. My theater consists of a Yamaha Aventage RX-A3070 AVR for 9.2 and a Yamaha Aventage RX-A3010 AVR as an External Amplifier to give me 7.2.4. I have a Samsung UBD-M8500 Blu-ray Player, and so far, it works great. I get my television signal from DISH ViP 211k Receiver, which also, gives me a great signal. My wife uses a Samsung Chromecast Tablet to play music on UTube to exercise by. I use a Yamaha Center Channel, Klipsch Forte II for the R/L Front channels, JBL L-110 for my R/L Surround Channels, Polk Audio shelf speakers for the R/L Rear Surround Channels and Polk Audio In-Wall for the R/L Front Presence Channels and for the R/L Rear Presence Channels. My current Sub-Woofer is a JBL Northridge E250P for the front. I have an old JVC SW available for a SW in the rear of the theater, but I've chosen not to at this time. I'm looking around to see if there is anything available that I would like.
Anyway, with all of that information, is there any idea about what I should do so I can enjoy my theater as is? I did just order a SONY X700 4K UHD Blu-ray player. It's supposed to be pretty good. I got it for less than $XXX. Oops! I don't think I'm supposed to talk about price. Anyway, please help.
I believe you will need to install the following firmware on your Oppo.

download.oppodigital.com/BDP0903/BDP9X_85-0106B.zip
duc135 is online now  
post #28608 of 28715 Old 12-15-2018, 11:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Update on my slow boot problem. To bypass this, I kept the Oppo continuously powered up. Eventually however we had a power failure after which the Oppo would not boot up at all. Nothing would progress beyond the red stand-by light. With guidance from Oppo support, I took the cover off the box and we determined that two filter capacitors on the power supply board had failed. If you look carefully, the tops are bulging. This would be an easy home repair if you can solder. Suitable replacement capacitors might be Nichicon UKA1C222MHD available from Mouser or Digikey. However, Oppo is sending me a replacement board for a very reasonable price (less than the cost of mailing my unit back to Oppo from Hawaiii), so I'm going that route. I'll repair the original board as a backup.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ed.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	1.34 MB
ID:	2497248  
Ed Williams is offline  
post #28609 of 28715 Old 12-17-2018, 08:17 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Williams View Post
Update on my slow boot problem. To bypass this, I kept the Oppo continuously powered up. Eventually however we had a power failure after which the Oppo would not boot up at all. Nothing would progress beyond the red stand-by light. With guidance from Oppo support, I took the cover off the box and we determined that two filter capacitors on the power supply board had failed. If you look carefully, the tops are bulging. This would be an easy home repair if you can solder. Suitable replacement capacitors might be Nichicon UKA1C222MHD available from Mouser or Digikey. However, Oppo is sending me a replacement board for a very reasonable price (less than the cost of mailing my unit back to Oppo from Hawaiii), so I'm going that route. I'll repair the original board as a backup.
Well, I did the indicated repair and both it and the new board work fine.
hernanu likes this.
Ed Williams is offline  
post #28610 of 28715 Old 12-17-2018, 08:54 PM
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11,749
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4671 Post(s)
Liked: 3470
Just tried hooking up a new WD 2TB SSD Passport to my Oppo 93 and it stays in a perpetual "reading data of drive to determine folders" [arrows pointing L and R]. This is my first outboard SSD and I'd think they consume less juice than mechanical drives but my next step will be to try and dig up a powered hub to see if that helps. Anyone have success with this situation?
m. zillch is offline  
post #28611 of 28715 Old 12-17-2018, 11:30 PM
Senior Member
 
zeuspaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: SoCal
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 216 Post(s)
Liked: 260
How is your SSD formatted? Most SSDs are exFAT. I thought the Oppo was incompatible with exFAT.


Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Just tried hooking up a new WD 2TB SSD Passport to my Oppo 93 and it stays in a perpetual "reading data of drive to determine folders" [arrows pointing L and R]. This is my first outboard SSD and I'd think they consume less juice than mechanical drives but my next step will be to try and dig up a powered hub to see if that helps. Anyone have success with this situation?
m. zillch likes this.

HT: PSA MTM-210T front, MTM-210C center, PSA MTM-210T surrounds, PSA MT-110 rears, Atmos / Canton, Ascend CBM-170SE, PSA V1800 , PSA V1801, Marantz SR7009 AVR & Emotiva A-100 stereo amp, Panasonic 65ST60 Plasma, Oppo BDP 93, Sony S1700, Music video: JBL L890, L880, LC2, SVS pc13-Ultra, Yamaha RX-V385, ASUS 31.5" IPS monitor, Sony S1700, Multichannel stereo: PSA MT-110, Bose 901, PSA S1510DF, Denon X1400H, Marantz SR6005
zeuspaul is offline  
post #28612 of 28715 Old 12-18-2018, 08:12 AM
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11,749
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4671 Post(s)
Liked: 3470
Quote:
Originally Posted by zeuspaul View Post
How is your SSD formatted? Most SSDs are exFAT. I thought the Oppo was incompatible with exFAT.
Good call. I thought about that after posting and have now checked. Indeed the SSD came from WD as exFAT so I'll reformat it. Thanks for your input too.
m. zillch is offline  
post #28613 of 28715 Old 12-18-2018, 08:56 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,572
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3773 Post(s)
Liked: 2973
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Good call. I thought about that after posting and have now checked. Indeed the SSD came from WD as exFAT so I'll reformat it. Thanks for your input too.
You may also need to "delete volume" and re-initialize it. It must have MBR partitioning, as opposed to GPT.
m. zillch likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #28614 of 28715 Old 12-18-2018, 10:59 PM
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 11,749
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4671 Post(s)
Liked: 3470
Thanks guys. It now works.
zeuspaul likes this.
m. zillch is offline  
post #28615 of 28715 Old 12-20-2018, 01:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by anoutsos View Post
Can anyone tell me if it is possible to watch a 3D Blu-ray as 2D, using the Oppo 93 and a Panasonic (3D) TV? Unfortunately, my centre speaker is blocking the 3D sensor and I don't watch movies in 3D any more. Also, if it is indeed possible, will it be detrimental to the picture quality, if the 3D movie is played back that way?
3D Bluray is essentially 2D with extensions that define the differences to get the second eye view to make a stereoscopic pair, so in theory all 3D Bluray can be played as 2D simply by ignoring the extensions. In practice, some studios prevent 2D playback of 3D (perhaps because they brighten the 3D image to compensate for the glasses) but they usually provide a separate 2D Bluray disc: those that use a single disc for 3D and 2D usually provide a way to select them in the disc main menu.

Thus, if the 3D title you want to see has a 2D disc in the case, use that. If there is only a 3D disc then you will need a way to select 2D from the disc main menu: it shouldn't have a detrimental effect on picture quality.

I'm not sure what you mean by centre speaker blocking a 3D sensor: the only 3D sensor I can think of is the transmitter on active 3D TVs used to control the active glasses. If you aren't playing 3D then it won't get used.
IanD is offline  
post #28616 of 28715 Old 12-20-2018, 01:36 AM
Member
 
anoutsos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanD View Post
3D Bluray is essentially 2D with extensions that define the differences to get the second eye view to make a stereoscopic pair, so in theory all 3D Bluray can be played as 2D simply by ignoring the extensions. In practice, some studios prevent 2D playback of 3D (perhaps because they brighten the 3D image to compensate for the glasses) but they usually provide a separate 2D Bluray disc: those that use a single disc for 3D and 2D usually provide a way to select them in the disc main menu.

Thus, if the 3D title you want to see has a 2D disc in the case, use that. If there is only a 3D disc then you will need a way to select 2D from the disc main menu: it shouldn't have a detrimental effect on picture quality.

I'm not sure what you mean by centre speaker blocking a 3D sensor: the only 3D sensor I can think of is the transmitter on active 3D TVs used to control the active glasses. If you aren't playing 3D then it won't get used.
Understood. Thanks!

Perhaps I should have made my sentence clearer:
"Unfortunately, my centre speaker is blocking the *transmitter to the active 3D glasses on the TV* and *because of that* I *can't* watch movies in 3D any more." That's why I was asking if I could watch a 3D-only disc as 2D, via some on-the-fly conversion process by the player and/or TV. There are numerous 3D blu-rays that do not give the menu option of 2D playback. If the conversion is done externally, by the player or TV, does this have a detrimental effect on the picture quality?

Thanks
anoutsos is offline  
post #28617 of 28715 Old 12-20-2018, 01:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Its been a few years since this was discussed ad nauseum. The process for reverse flashing the 93 is widely available. But the bottom line still remains: if you need ISO support do not flash the new firmware.
The bottom line is whether ISO support is still required.

The Oppo 93 will quite happily playback Bluray structure as it will ISO. The only difference between the two methods is for DVD (where the 93 will only play DVD ISO and not DVD structure) and 3D (where 3D Bluray structure is about twice the size of the disc, so it is a storage issue).

With 3D Bluray structure, it is possible to delete the largest 2D m2ts files whilst retaining ssif and all the other support files and still get 3D playback at about the original disc size. What is not known is whether this compromises 2D playback of a 3D title.

Therefore, if folder/file structure meets your needs, then ISO is not required and you can upgrade to non-ISO firmware. The question on my mind is whether the latest firmware for UHD compatibility additionally removes any previous functionality (such as structure playback) in addition to removing ISO capability. I wouldn't put it past the studios to cripple the Oppo players further if they get the opportunity to implement as a trojan horse on the back of UHD changes.
IanD is offline  
post #28618 of 28715 Old 12-20-2018, 02:07 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by anoutsos View Post
That's why I was asking if I could watch a 3D-only disc as 2D, via some on-the-fly conversion process by the player and/or TV. There are numerous 3D blu-rays that do not give the menu option of 2D playback. If the conversion is done externally, by the player or TV, does this have a detrimental effect on the picture quality?
If the 3D title does not have an option for 2D playback in the main menu, then the studio should have provided a separate 2D disc in the case.

I don't think many if any TVs or players have the ability to do an on-the-fly conversion of 3D to 2D: that's something you will have to look into specifically with your TV. The reason they don't incorporate such a feature is that they don't need to since 3D discs either playback as 2D OR the studio includes a separate 2D disc: why complicate their hardware when it isn't necessary?

There is no conversion of 3D to 2D in players: they simply play the 2D file(s) on the disc and ignore the extensions for 3D and consequently there is no impact on picture quality. Effectively every 3D disc contains a 2D version at its core, it's just that some studios block playback of the 2D version within the menu structure.

If the 3D disc doesn't have a 2D menu option and you don't have the separate 2D disc, then you can't play 3D as 2D without going to extremes that can't be discussed here.

Last edited by IanD; 12-20-2018 at 02:33 AM.
IanD is offline  
post #28619 of 28715 Old 12-20-2018, 02:18 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IanD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 2,089
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 177 Post(s)
Liked: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
You can get HD audio from M2TS files but not from MKV. This restriction is lifted in later players.
Whilst mkv is all the rage, it is not as well supported in the Oppo 93 as Bluray structure.

It is often forgotten that it is relatively easy to create a simple Bluray structure, using software such as ClownBD, that supports playback with HD audio, chapters and PGS subtitle which is more compatible than mkv and with only a modest size overhead.

The Oppo 93 was not really designed for mkv compatibility.
IanD is offline  
post #28620 of 28715 Old 12-20-2018, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jacob305's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,581
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 50
my old gt1080 optoma projector was able to play 3d in 2d. It was a great feature. I have a benq now and it doesn't have that feature.

Jacob
Jacob305 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
BDP-95 , Blu Ray Players , component video ict resolution restrictions , multiregion , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off