Official OPPO BDP-93 Owner's Thread - Page 959 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1517Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #28741 of 28761 Old 10-27-2019, 12:02 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5392 Post(s)
Liked: 3891
I have a new issue. At first I though I had a bad drive so I swapped it for another but it now seems to happen to any thumb drive or HDD I attach to the BDP-93. After successfully reading the drive contents in just seconds and playing some videos if I either power down or view some photos when I return again to "Movies" the drive locks up with a perpetual blue arrows icon shown ("data being transferred") and I'm locked from any other keystroke. I tried doing a "default to factory settings" in the 93's setup but the problem remains. The drives when returned to my main computer are reported as being corrupted/RAW and have to be re allocated/formatted to work again. Any ideas?

P.S. I'm wondering if these drives which I have to alter to NTFS insead of their default of exFAT is the issue but one of the drives, a 2TB WD My Passport, has been working flawlessly on my 93 for years without issue. [All these drives once repaired on my PC report "no problems found" when I apply various scans to detect errors, BTW.]

Last edited by m. zillch; 10-27-2019 at 12:07 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28742 of 28761 Old 10-27-2019, 12:37 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,793
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3889 Post(s)
Liked: 3140
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
I have a new issue. At first I though I had a bad drive so I swapped it for another but it now seems to happen to any thumb drive or HDD I attach to the BDP-93. After successfully reading the drive contents in just seconds and playing some videos if I either power down or view some photos when I return again to "Movies" the drive locks up with a perpetual blue arrows icon shown ("data being transferred") and I'm locked from any other keystroke. I tried doing a "default to factory settings" in the 93's setup but the problem remains. The drives when returned to my main computer are reported as being corrupted/RAW and have to be re allocated/formatted to work again. Any ideas?

P.S. I'm wondering if these drives which I have to alter to NTFS insead of their default of exFAT is the issue but one of the drives, a 2TB WD My Passport, has been working flawlessly on my 93 for years without issue. [All these drives once repaired on my PC report "no problems found" when I apply various scans to detect errors, BTW.]
The 93 does not support exFAT, only NTFS and FAT32.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #28743 of 28761 Old 10-27-2019, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5392 Post(s)
Liked: 3891
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The 93 does not support exFAT, only NTFS and FAT32.
Yes, I know which is why I change them when formatting them to NTFS before loading them for use in the 93.

When they "break" they are NTFS.

Last edited by m. zillch; 10-27-2019 at 01:43 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #28744 of 28761 Old 10-28-2019, 02:44 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Yes, I know which is why I change them when formatting them to NTFS before loading them for use in the 93.

When they "break" they are NTFS.
Are the HDD's partitions set up as MBR or GPT? What size?

If the 2Tb WD does not cause a problem, look to make the other HDD's the same - even if just to try and work out what is happening.

i.e. MBR - 1 partition of 2Tb

See Here - might be useful if any of the above applies in your situation.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
post #28745 of 28761 Old 10-28-2019, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5392 Post(s)
Liked: 3891
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1 View Post
Are the HDD's partitions set up as MBR or GPT? What size?

If the 2Tb WD does not cause a problem, look to make the other HDD's the same - even if just to try and work out what is happening.

i.e. MBR - 1 partition of 2Tb

See Here - might be useful if any of the above applies in your situation.
The drives are not partitioned; they are being used whole, in NTFS format. [It never asks about MBR or GPT so I'm not sure about that one, although IIRC it's MBR, if it even matters when not partitioned.]

The drives are all 2GB or less. I have successfully used one of them, a 2GB WD My Passport HDD, for years without issue but now it fails the same way:

Initially everything is fine and I can successfully watch both videos and photos but then suddenly it locks for undetermined reasons and it seems to lock, for sure, if I power down the 93. The drive then brought back to my main PC is unreadable and has to be re-allocated and formatted to work again.

I have upgraded to the latest Oppo 93 firmware, 1009 IIRC, which I was reluctant to do because I hear it no longer plays ISO, not that I need that actually, and the problem remains.

I added a powered hub, even though the WD seemed fine before without needing the extra electrical power, and it still fails the same way.

I will check out the link. Thanks.
m. zillch is offline  
post #28746 of 28761 Old 11-08-2019, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 128
RE: Netflix, I received an E-Mail from Tivo saying that they will no longer provide Netflix also.

--Carl
calentz is offline  
post #28747 of 28761 Old 11-11-2019, 05:05 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Philnick View Post
Here it is:
http://download.oppodigital.com/BDP0...X_85-0106B.zip
Instructions on how to do this are on the Oppo website under Support.
I just want to write and thank you for this post and link. I have been dealing with an issue for several days in which I was not getting sound from the BDP-93 via HDMI to a new Sony A9G or Yamaha RX-A880, and the only color space that was working on the Oppo was RGB. It was driving me nuts...to the point that I gave up and purchased a new Panasonic player.

Well, I gave it another try by searching this thread, and found the link to the 10/2017 firmware update. This update solved the problem!

So, thank you again. AVS Forum is an invaluable resource.
tvad1 is offline  
post #28748 of 28761 Old 11-11-2019, 05:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Philnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 1,674
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 471 Post(s)
Liked: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by tvad1 View Post
I just want to write and thank you for this post and link. I have been dealing with an issue for several days in which I was not getting sound from the BDP-93 via HDMI to a new Sony A9G or Yamaha RX-A880, and the only color space that was working on the Oppo was RGB. It was driving me nuts...to the point that I gave up and purchased a new Panasonic player.

Well, I gave it another try by searching this thread, and found the link to the 10/2017 firmware update. This update solved the problem!

So, thank you again. AVS Forum is an invaluable resource.
You're very welcome. I've gotten lots of help here myself.

Philnick is offline  
post #28749 of 28761 Old 11-13-2019, 01:24 PM
Member
 
InfinityBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I just thought I'd post this. I am quite old and have lost interest in my audio. I have an OPPO 93 player, which would work fine with a firmware update and as is, will play disks, but not operate right for streaming. I need to know what number to call for getting OPPO to send me a Firmware update disk. Anyone have that phone number?

Last edited by teachsac; 11-13-2019 at 03:55 PM. Reason: Sales
InfinityBob is offline  
post #28750 of 28761 Old 11-13-2019, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,793
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3889 Post(s)
Liked: 3140
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfinityBob View Post
I just thought I'd post this. I am quite old and have lost interest in my audio. I have an OPPO 93 player, which would work fine with a firmware update and as is, will play disks, but not operate right for streaming. I need to know what number to call for getting OPPO to send me a Firmware update disk. Anyone have that phone number?
Support:
https://www.oppodigital.com/ContactUs.aspx?CatID=1

Last edited by teachsac; 11-13-2019 at 03:55 PM. Reason: Sales
rdgrimes is online now  
post #28751 of 28761 Old 11-13-2019, 09:25 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My OPPO 93EU suffers continuos dropouts in audio and video signal

Hi all,

I would be grateful if you could please help me.

Since few weeks I can´t use my OPPO 93EU because every few minutes (from 1 to 5 minutes) it losses video and audio signal for 1 or 2 seconds and then everything is fine until the next fairule.

The OPPO has been in the same place for 5 yeras and haven´t made any change or new conection to it. This happens with all kind of sources: blurays, audio CDs, USB, etc....

Never updated firmware and never conected it to internet. Firm version is BDP9xEU-57-0917

I´m desperate because I have no idea what is wrong and I´m worried because it was an expensive investment.

Many thanks in advance
piyayo is offline  
post #28752 of 28761 Old 11-13-2019, 09:35 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5392 Post(s)
Liked: 3891
Quote:
Originally Posted by piyayo View Post
I´m desperate because I have no idea what is wrong and I´m worried because it was an expensive investment.
Sounds like a borderline signal strength. I bet if you disconnect the HDMI cable coming out of it, on both ends, and then reconnect them the problem will be gone. The connections may have oxidized over the years or become loose. This scrapes the connections clean and makes sure the connection is well seated. Let us know how it goes.
m. zillch is offline  
post #28753 of 28761 Old 11-13-2019, 09:50 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Sounds like a borderline signal strength. I bet if you disconnect the HDMI cable coming out of it, on both ends, and then reconnect them the problem will be gone. The connections may have oxidized over the years or become loose. This scrapes the connections clean and makes sure the connection is well seated. Let us know how it goes.
Sometimes I unplug the HDMI cable to connect other source for my projector. So I guess that is not the problem.

Anyway I just did it to make sure but still suffers the same. Right now a 1 second image and sound loss.

Any other idea??? please

Many thanks for your help!
piyayo is offline  
post #28754 of 28761 Old 11-13-2019, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Sounds like a borderline signal strength. I bet if you disconnect the HDMI cable coming out of it, on both ends, and then reconnect them the problem will be gone. The connections may have oxidized over the years or become loose. This scrapes the connections clean and makes sure the connection is well seated. Let us know how it goes.
Forgot to mention that happens the same with CDs and no HDMI conected. I have frequent audio losses

Strange!!!
piyayo is offline  
post #28755 of 28761 Old 11-13-2019, 10:08 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5392 Post(s)
Liked: 3891
Quote:
Originally Posted by piyayo View Post
Sometimes I unplug the HDMI cable to connect other source for my projector. So I guess that is not the problem.

Anyway I just did it to make sure but still suffers the same. Right now a 1 second image and sound loss.

Any other idea??? please

Many thanks for your help!
You disconnected and then reconnected the HDMI port on the projector end too?
m. zillch is offline  
post #28756 of 28761 Old 11-14-2019, 05:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
You disconnected and then reconnected the HDMI port on the projector end too?
yes, few times
piyayo is offline  
post #28757 of 28761 Old 11-14-2019, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,793
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3889 Post(s)
Liked: 3140
Quote:
Originally Posted by piyayo View Post
yes, few times
You have a bad cable somewhere in the chain. Time to start replacing till you find the culprit.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #28758 of 28761 Old 11-14-2019, 10:36 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,287
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5838 Post(s)
Liked: 8329
Quote:
Originally Posted by piyayo View Post
Forgot to mention that happens the same with CDs and no HDMI conected. I have frequent audio losses

Strange!!!
So when playing a CD with no HDMI connected do you mean you are just not using the HDMI signal path, or that the HDMI cable is actually unplugged? If the cable is plugged in and marginal you can still get HDMI handshakes even though you are not using the HDMI for audio. (All outputs of the OPPO are live simultaneously.) Due to Copy Protection protocols, a handshake will briefly Mute the player, which would cause a brief loss of audio even on Analog or Optical/Coax for your CD playback.

Also with HDMI cables still plugged in, if you have one of the newer Sony TVs, and have it turned OFF while doing your CD playback, the Sonys are known to trigger bogus HDMI handshakes while they are Off (actually in Standby). To test this try leaving the TV turned On while you play a CD. You can use Pure button on the OPPO to black out the TV, or the Picture Off option on the Sony remote.
--Bob
shimonmor likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #28759 of 28761 Old 11-14-2019, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12,968
Mentioned: 49 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5392 Post(s)
Liked: 3891
It's really rare for HDMI cables to suddenly go bad but I had one which worked flawlessly for many years and then without warning nor touching it nor making breaking any connections it suddenly became intermittent. I replaced it and all was well.

Look closely and you'll see it has a bad pin:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bad HDMI with missing pin 640 480.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	213.0 KB
ID:	2641236  
m. zillch is offline  
post #28760 of 28761 Old 11-15-2019, 08:39 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
You have a bad cable somewhere in the chain. Time to start replacing till you find the culprit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
It's really rare for HDMI cables to suddenly go bad but I had one which worked flawlessly for many years and then without warning nor touching it nor making breaking any connections it suddenly became intermittent. I replaced it and all was well.

Look closely and you'll see it has a bad pin:
Just got brand new 4k HDMI cable and still have cuts/losses

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
So when playing a CD with no HDMI connected do you mean you are just not using the HDMI signal path, or that the HDMI cable is actually unplugged? If the cable is plugged in and marginal you can still get HDMI handshakes even though you are not using the HDMI for audio. (All outputs of the OPPO are live simultaneously.) Due to Copy Protection protocols, a handshake will briefly Mute the player, which would cause a brief loss of audio even on Analog or Optical/Coax for your CD playback.

Also with HDMI cables still plugged in, if you have one of the newer Sony TVs, and have it turned OFF while doing your CD playback, the Sonys are known to trigger bogus HDMI handshakes while they are Off (actually in Standby). To test this try leaving the TV turned On while you play a CD. You can use Pure button on the OPPO to black out the TV, or the Picture Off option on the Sony remote.
--Bob
Playing a CD audio the losses occur often. More often than I could turn on/off TV. Both HDMI cables are connected to the OPPO all the time


Today I got my brand new EPSON TW9300 and I´ve been changing all possible video/audio configuration in the OPPO and testing every change untill I get a cut in the signal. I got cuts for every change I made aftes around 10 minutes. So I´m really lost about this.
The Epson TW9300 was conected with the new 4k HDMI cable and suffers the same cuts in audio and video. In those cuts the screen turns pink/magenta, I´ve noticed that is the same color that is shown when I change intentionally some of the video configurations in the OPPO (bitrate, 1080i, 1080p, etc...), so I supect that the cuts are related to video configurations.

But in the other hand if there were a signal or configuration problem, the pink/magenta screen on the projector would be continuous not every 10 minutes. Don´t you think?

I´ve really tryed everything today for more than 5 hours with no results!!!! desperate by now!!!!

Just an important information that I don´t know how to interprete: yesterday I plugged the OPPO with the (old) HDMI cable to my Sony TV instead of the (old) proyector and I could watch 007 Casino Royale with NO CUTS AT ALL!!!!! 2 hours with no problem. So I guees the problem might come from a bad "understanding" between OPPO 93 and my projectors because I´ve suffered same cuts with two cables and two proyectors.

Many thanks for your kidn help folks!!!! Should we declare an X File??? Mulder or Scully could help?
piyayo is offline  
post #28761 of 28761 Old Yesterday, 02:24 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by piyayo View Post
Just got brand new 4k HDMI cable and still have cuts/losses
Chasing this stuff down is difficult at times. The magenta change is usually when moving from RGB to YCbCr or vice versa. I assume you have both devices set to Auto - and somehow this is getting constantly negotiated for some reason.

Try fixing it down to YCbCr in the Oppo (and projectors if the option is available) and checking if this reduces the problem.

I have not read further back - apologies if you have tried - just make sure all HDMI Control is OFF on every device in your system (even if only for diagnostics). This is CEC or has various manufacturer names, but is often a source of trouble.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.
wl1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
BDP-95 , Blu Ray Players , component video ict resolution restrictions , multiregion , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off