The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 726 Old 05-01-2013, 11:40 PM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the confirmation. Do you know if that chip will allow you to flash it directly with the chinese firmware even if the stock firmware is 2.09 or, would you have to flash the chip with 2.05 first (which is impossible or near impossible to find as a download) first and then install chinese firmware over it ?
TimboZero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 726 Old 05-02-2013, 11:04 AM
Newbie
 
markdk100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm still trying to sort out the issue I'm having playing home made discs.........I can only get the 450 to play retail discs. Everything has been fine for the past few months using the custom firmware so I not sure what the issue is........Anyways I'm trying to re install the CFW
but can't see the units serial number when I go into the system information option from the menu.....all I get is the firmware version. Can anyone help please?
markdk100 is offline  
post #273 of 726 Old 05-02-2013, 11:25 AM
Member
 
el borak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the unit used to play burned discs but now doesn't, it's almost certainly a laser issue, not the firmware.
el borak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #274 of 726 Old 05-02-2013, 11:53 AM
Newbie
 
markdk100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its only this past week that its started to display unknown disc when you try to play one..........if it is a laser issue then the problem I have is trying to get official firmware back onto the unit if it needs to go for a warranty repair
markdk100 is offline  
post #275 of 726 Old 05-02-2013, 02:12 PM
Member
 
el borak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe I've read (don't recall where) that it's straightforward to install 2.09 stock firmware on top of CFW. Of course, once you do that you can't go back to CFW without a hardware mod.

On the other hand, even if you were to find 2.05 and get it installed, there's no guarantee what it won't have been "upgraded" to 2.09 when you get it back from a warranty repair.
el borak is offline  
post #276 of 726 Old 05-03-2013, 11:35 AM
Member
 
adrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Is there anyone that can let me know if they are able to have the original bitstream over HDMI after flashing to CFW 404?
Also, is there any posibility to access the shares through SMB/CIFS protocol? When trying to access the NFS the Pio is freezing.

Thank you,
adrg is offline  
post #277 of 726 Old 05-04-2013, 06:34 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdk100 View Post

I'm still trying to sort out the issue I'm having playing home made discs.........I can only get the 450 to play retail discs. Everything has been fine for the past few months using the custom firmware so I not sure what the issue is........Anyways I'm trying to re install the CFW
but can't see the units serial number when I go into the system information option from the menu.....all I get is the firmware version. Can anyone help please?

Hi Mark,

I had the exact same issue with one of my 450's. It was dirt on the lens..

You can get a DVD lens cleaner although if you're feeling daring it is quite easy to clean them by opening up your player. The lens is accessible by opening the cover then taking off the small plastic retainer on the BluRay drive itself. (2 screws). You will see the 2 lenses and they can be cleaned with a soft cloth and a mild cleaning solution.

Mort.

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #278 of 726 Old 05-08-2013, 01:29 PM
Newbie
 
Andersonix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by docjonty View Post

My BDP150 has started bheaving oddly.

It is randomly stopping, ejecting the disc, freezing and refusing to play .

Seems worse with some blurays than others and hasnt happened with dvd`s or cd`s

Any ideas?
Is this an issue with the chinese software ?

These arent copied discs - my Steven Wilson all that you deserve bluray is almost unplayable.


ps. is there anywhere I can download the 1.02 firmware in case I want to try going back to o/e


ps, tried to update to the 1.05 as really pissing me off and want to watch my blurays, and the machine refuses to recognise the 1.05 software saying it is already upto date!

How do you undo the chinese software?
DocJonty: Any update on your problem with the BDP-150? Other experiences and opinions on the 150? I think I want one...
Andersonix is offline  
post #279 of 726 Old 05-10-2013, 04:16 AM
Newbie
 
Ed Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all. First post here but I wanted to say thanks for spreading the news about the custom firmware for BDP 150/450! I was looking to buy a Toshiba BDX3200 to use the firmware update available for that, but I would have had to go for a second hand deck or spend stupid amounts on ebay. After seeing the info about the Pioneer BDP-150 I did a bit of searching and found one manufactured in July 2012. It's being delivered today so fingers crossed everything works!

Anyway, to help anyone who is also looking, as of 4.30pm yesterday Richer Sounds in Glasgow had one remaining Pioneer BDP-150 in stock and it was manufactured in August 2012 (I bought the other one they had). Currently priced at £69.95 and delivery via DPD is £6.99. Also you can buy their excellent 5 year Supercare warranty for 10% of the unit price (would probably have to roll back the CFM if you wanted it fixed for anything). Very helpful staff (think I spoke to Steven over the phone) who had a look at the stock and manufacture date for me. Direct shop phone number is 0333 90000 38.

Happy hunting!
Ed Blackburn is offline  
post #280 of 726 Old 05-10-2013, 07:25 AM
Newbie
 
scorilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if there is hope/rumours of installing in future cfw on Pioneer 450 with 2.09 firmware?2.05 firmware is very hard to find these days!
scorilo is offline  
post #281 of 726 Old 05-10-2013, 12:53 PM
Newbie
 
docjonty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry for the delay


I tried to go back to stock firmware and it wouldnt do it.

So, I ended up relfashing with another version of the 4.03 hacked firmware and the problems stopped.

No more freezing, odd ejecting and refusing certain discs.

I presume I had a dodgy copy of the chinese firmware, or it did not install properly,


It is interesting to note that the install is a one way street, unless anyone has a source for the o/e firmware.
docjonty is offline  
post #282 of 726 Old 05-17-2013, 06:23 AM
Member
 
Reynaldo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Brasil
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hello someone has v 1.02 FW from BDP150 so that I can download.
Thank you
Reynaldo is offline  
post #283 of 726 Old 05-17-2013, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 12,626
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 828

I tried the BDP-150 with MKV files. Each time I would hit Chapter Skip it would lock up. Also, semi-locked up a couple of other times...normal or not? Updated to the latest firmware before using.


125" Projection | 5.2.4 Audio | Shield TV | LibreELEC/ODROID-C2 Kodi Media Client | Ubuntu/ODROID-XU4 NAS/Server | 65" LG OLED TV | TiVo | Shield TV |
| Water cooled Threadripper & Radeon VII, NVMe PC - 43" 4K IPS Panel |
Charles R is offline  
post #284 of 726 Old 05-22-2013, 08:13 PM
Newbie
 
blurayiso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much for this info! I recently bought a BDP-150, but unfortunately it is already loaded with v1.05... Is there any updated custom firmware to install over this version, like the one you describe above? My player does not accept v4.03. Thank you so much!!
blurayiso is offline  
post #285 of 726 Old 05-23-2013, 05:56 PM
Senior Member
 
cissado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: clifton NJ USA
Posts: 333
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 28
My head is spinning from all this info. Way too much for me, as I don't understand it. That's OK, but I'd love to find the answers to these questions:

I just purchased (from the great Fry's sale posted on this site) Pioneer BD.. 150 dvd player that came with 01.02 firmware. I'm letting all the processing be done with an ONKYo 818 AVR.

#1- Can it play DVD-audio? I stuck a DVD-A disc in there and it seemed to play in it. Not sure what I'm doing at this point. I could be wrong. ***EDIT*** It seems it played the discs but not at the DVD-A quality that a dvd-A player can reach.** I thought it would just be blank if it did not play them.

#2- I just need the player to play BluRay dvd's, SACD's, and if it's possible, DVD-Audio dvd's. I don't care about netflix or region free or anything else like that.

#3- Can I play Home-made, ripped, BluRay DVD's with this player?

I will not set up the network if I don't have to. Should I leave it as is?

thank you.
cissado is offline  
post #286 of 726 Old 05-25-2013, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
borland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
BDP-150 does not support official DVD-A - it just does NOT have decryption keys. You need BDP-450 for this. Non-official and "home made" DVD-A work fine but you need custom firmware.
BD, 3D BD, normal DVDs, SACD - not problems out of the box. Home made ripped BD - no problems. However MKV profile 5.0X is not supported - only 4.0X so make sure if you rip to MKV use profile lower than 5.
Network is supported only by DLNA but works OK.
To make it home made DVD-A, BD-ISO and 3BD ISO compatible - you need custom firmware. Depending on you current FW it can simple 5 min job or tedious work which involves short-circuiting NAND flesh legs to interrupt the U-boot sequence.....
borland is offline  
post #287 of 726 Old 05-27-2013, 04:28 PM
Member
 
grill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FYI
My first experiences on sacd.iso playback of Pioneer BDP-150 with the latest cfw version Apr 30 2013. The very first good news is that this cfw can be installed over the latest official fw v1.05 cool.gif: The bad news is that this cfw is not free eek.gif

How to play sacd.iso:

1) Insert a mch SACD disc into the player
2) Stop its playback if it started
3) Using the remote control select the SACD area (2 ch or mch) to be played
4) Select the sacd.iso file in USB/Video folder
5) Start the playback with Enter. Be patient, the player needs some seconds to start the playback.
6) Audio can pass through HDMI as DSD or PCM (24/88.2) signal.

Some wantingness:

sacd.iso don't play from my NAS (Zyxel NSA210). The file appears in the Video folder but the player doesn't recognize it as a supported media format. I should add that I'm not a media server guru so this issue might be me.
Home-made sacd.iso don't play. I tried to insert a home-authored SACD-R disc into the player before the sacd.iso playback but this trick didn't help.

EDIT

Here are new info about the above-mentioned wantingness. I got tips from friends of mine and I'm reporting how they worked:

Having been re-created a home-made sacd.iso in Imgburn from the burnt SACD-R disc the new iso played fine. It seems this process gets around the iso blocksize difference between retail and home-authored SACD discs and thus this blocksize difference caused the playback problem.

Having been setup NFS on my Zyxel NAS my Pio recognizes the NFS folder inside ‘Network1′ and plays sacd.iso fine from it biggrin.gif
grill is offline  
post #288 of 726 Old 05-30-2013, 03:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bosng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
thanks for all the info. i just got the 150 at Fry's for 90 bucks and CFW installed/activated! fantastic deal for an all region bd/dvd player
bosng is offline  
post #289 of 726 Old 05-30-2013, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
silvereyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
That frys deal is hard to beat. Does the bdp150 support Netflix subtitles and how about Netflix in 5.1?
silvereyes is offline  
post #290 of 726 Old 05-30-2013, 02:03 PM
Newbie
 
HeresJohnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know about that but AFAIK if you flash a CFW, you lose all web content.
HeresJohnny is offline  
post #291 of 726 Old 05-30-2013, 03:24 PM
Newbie
 
koenb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up one of the BDP150's on sale at Fry's and loaded it with the custom firmware (thanks Mort!!)
I have this connected through a Denon AVR-1913 to a Samsung UN55ES6580 hdtv.

It seems to work fine with all US content (DVD, Blu-Ray).
However, if I play a region 2 PAL dvd, the Denon plays the audio fine, but the Samsung shows no image and instead displays "mode not supported, please choose a different input resolution".
I get the same error if I directly connect the player to the tv.

I had read that the Pioneer had build-in conversion circuitry to output NTSC even from a PAL dvd. Is that incorrect?
Would it work through the analog video connection? Or are there some settings I need to play with?

Any help is highly appreciated!
koenb is offline  
post #292 of 726 Old 05-30-2013, 06:18 PM
Newbie
 
koenb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Also, is there a newer version of the CFW available than 4.03? If so, where do we find that?
Or would that be the paid version only?
koenb is offline  
post #293 of 726 Old 05-31-2013, 02:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bosng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
as far as web content is the interface really good? i have been using Appletv for a while now and it is fabulous so i can't see this dvd/blu ray player doing any better. i know it's another unit in the chain but it is really small and reliable. fwiw
bosng is offline  
post #294 of 726 Old 05-31-2013, 02:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bosng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,226
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by koenb View Post

I picked up one of the BDP150's on sale at Fry's and loaded it with the custom firmware (thanks Mort!!)
I have this connected through a Denon AVR-1913 to a Samsung UN55ES6580 hdtv.

It seems to work fine with all US content (DVD, Blu-Ray).
However, if I play a region 2 PAL dvd, the Denon plays the audio fine, but the Samsung shows no image and instead displays "mode not supported, please choose a different input resolution".
I get the same error if I directly connect the player to the tv.

I had read that the Pioneer had build-in conversion circuitry to output NTSC even from a PAL dvd. Is that incorrect?
Would it work through the analog video connection? Or are there some settings I need to play with?

Any help is highly appreciated!

would be a shame if it only played pal on pal tv's can anyone confirm of it works?

well the region for blu ray does cover all region and i did read that this unit does convert dvd pal to ntsc. doesn't that cover it all? i'll check later after i dig out my pal discs
bosng is offline  
post #295 of 726 Old 05-31-2013, 08:24 AM
Member
 
grill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by grill View Post

FYI
My first experiences on sacd.iso playback of Pioneer BDP-150 with the latest cfw version Apr 30 2013. The very first good news is that this cfw can be installed over the latest official fw v1.05 cool.gif: The bad news is that this cfw is not free eek.gif

How to play sacd.iso:

1) Insert a mch SACD disc into the player
2) Stop its playback if it started
3) Using the remote control select the SACD area (2 ch or mch) to be played
4) Select the sacd.iso file in USB/Video folder
5) Start the playback with Enter. Be patient, the player needs some seconds to start the playback.
6) Audio can pass through HDMI as DSD or PCM (24/88.2) signal.

Some wantingness:

sacd.iso don't play from my NAS (Zyxel NSA210). The file appears in the Video folder but the player doesn't recognize it as a supported media format. I should add that I'm not a media server guru so this issue might be me.
Home-made sacd.iso don't play. I tried to insert a home-authored SACD-R disc into the player before the sacd.iso playback but this trick didn't help.

EDIT

Here are new info about the above-mentioned wantingness. I got tips from friends of mine and I'm reporting how they worked:

Having been re-created a home-made sacd.iso in Imgburn from the burnt SACD-R disc the new iso played fine. It seems this process gets around the iso blocksize difference between retail and home-authored SACD discs and thus this blocksize difference caused the playback problem.

Having been setup NFS on my Zyxel NAS my Pio recognizes the NFS folder inside ‘Network1′ and plays sacd.iso fine from it biggrin.gif
Based on my further tests the sacd.iso playback unfortunately suffers from the so-called 4GB size limit issue: the playback stops (the player may freeze) at and beyond the 4GB point [usually at the last mch track(s) of a >4 GB iso). This issue was well-known in foobar with SACD decoder plugin before. Maxim, the author of this plugin fixed this problem quite a long time ago. I'll report this issue to the cfw developer team.
grill is offline  
post #296 of 726 Old 06-01-2013, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
eyekode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bosng View Post

as far as web content is the interface really good? i have been using Appletv for a while now and it is fabulous so i can't see this dvd/blu ray player doing any better. i know it's another unit in the chain but it is really small and reliable. fwiw

AppleTv has a better interface for Netflix. Neither do amazon prime. I think the latest roku looks the best for streaming support.
Salem
eyekode is offline  
post #297 of 726 Old 06-02-2013, 02:31 PM
Newbie
 
napoca's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I've read almost all pages on this thread so please excuse me if I am going to ask the same questions again.

I was looking for a player that can play both SACD and DVD-A out of the box and I ordered an Pioneer BDP-62f, which from what I've read seams to be a fine device.

1. From information found in this forum I understood that this is North American version of BDP-450, am I correct?
2. If this is the case, can any work around for making BDP-450 to play SACD-R and DVDA-R be applied to BDP-62f? If yes, can somebody help me find the way to do that?
3. If not, is there any known solution to make BDP-62f to play those media support?

I am not much interested in region free, Netflix and other features like these (although it won't hurt to have them smile.gif) but in the player capability to handle home made SACD and DVD-A (burnt on a DVD-R). I don't have the player yet, should be here in two to three weeks, but I was already considering of canceling the order after I read the specs in the manual. From my original enthusiasm I am now in confusion. I started looking for a Oppo BDP-103 but from other thread I understood that it will loose the capability to play SACD-R and DVDA-R after the latest firmware update, but this is another story.

Thank you.
napoca is offline  
post #298 of 726 Old 06-02-2013, 03:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bguzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 906
I just played a DVD-A burned to a DVD-R last night but I haven't tried a SACD.

HT TCL 55P605, Mitsubishi HC6500, Pioneer UDP LX500, Panasonic LX1000, Firestick 4K, ATV4K, Onkyo TX-NR787, DefTech, Klipsch, Martin Logan, SVS @ 5.2.4 Atmos
Stereo Sansui SR-4050, Dual 1219, Pioneer UDP LX500, Emotiva PT-100, Be One Audio MA100, Polk Monitor 10, SVS SB1000
bguzman is offline  
post #299 of 726 Old 06-02-2013, 04:33 PM
Newbie
 
HeresJohnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by napoca View Post

player capability to handle home made SACD and DVD-A (burnt on a DVD-R). I don't have the player yet, should be here in two to three weeks, but I was already considering of canceling the order after I read the specs in the manual. From my original enthusiasm I am now in confusion. I started looking for a Oppo BDP-103 but from other thread I understood that it will loose the capability to play SACD-R and DVDA-R after the latest firmware update, but this is another story.

Both the Pioneer and the Oppo can and will continue to be able to play SACD-R and DVD-AR. You might be confusing this with ISO support.
HeresJohnny is offline  
post #300 of 726 Old 06-02-2013, 05:00 PM
Member
 
grill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeresJohnny View Post

Both the Pioneer and the Oppo can and will continue to be able to play SACD-R and DVD-AR. You might be confusing this with ISO support.
Afaik from 50-0323 beta firmware Oppo 10x no longer support SACD-R playback.
grill is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off