The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 726 Old 12-09-2012, 09:09 AM
Member
 
Arashjahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krutsch View Post

Two separate issues on this topic:
- Bitstream versus LPCM - Linear pulse-code modulation (LPCM) is a method of encoding audio information digitally; it represents an audio waveform as a sequence of amplitude values recorded at a sequence of times, which is what differentiates it from bitstream.
LPCM is simply a decoding of the bits within the audio data file; it's not the same as converting from the digital to the analog domain, which is what your DAC does. My Pioneer player (BDP-62FD) doesn't even have a DAC built into it - it outputs only digital audio. The BDP-150 does have a DAC, but it's only used with the analog outputs (the white and red RCA connectors on the back of your player). So, even if you stream a FLAC audio file from a USB stick or a DLNA server and output LPCM from the HDMI or digital out (the 150 has only coaxial S/PDIF), the receiver is doing the digital to analog conversion (which is what you likely want for the best sound quality). BTW, this where jitter can become a problem - transmitting LPCM from your BD player to the AVR w/ LPCM because of the timing dependencies noted above in bold.
But I digress... and just don't worry about it; use the connector that works best for you (which will likely be the HDMI cable) and enjoy great sound and video from your new BDP-150.
- DLNA servers and folder structures. This is a very long topic and it would be hard for me to really help, since I don't use a Buffalo link station (and I don't even know which third-party DLNA server Buffalo uses). However, the two servers I use (Serviio for video and Twonky for music) each present their own folder structures based on metadata and their own configurations. It's not just a mirror of the physical file system, although it's usually possible to browse by folder. Look in your Buffalo setup and see if there are options that change the presentation of media to your liking. Be prepared, however; using DLNA to stream media is a learning curve and it will take some time for you to get things setup they way you want it.

Understood, will be using HDMI only to the Onkyo. I did not know that the DACs would not be ignored in the player if I was using the HDMI port for FLAC, MP3 or CDs.

As for DLNA, I think I need to call their tech support, as not all the folders/files are being displayed on identical drives, that are just using different setups: A. Buffalo LinkStation, B. USB Hard drive plugged into Asus router. Again, both drives have redundant data, for backup purposes, but the Pioneer is not reading them the same way in file structure.

For now, I need IR codes to make this work with my Onkyo's universal remote. Any four digit codes you know of I should be using? The DVD and CD player codes listed in the owner's manual of the Onkyo did not work.

Thanks,
///Arash
Arashjahn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 726 Old 12-09-2012, 09:40 AM
Senior Member
 
Krutsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arashjahn View Post

For now, I need IR codes to make this work with my Onkyo's universal remote. Any four digit codes you know of I should be using? The DVD and CD player codes listed in the owner's manual of the Onkyo did not work.
Thanks,
///Arash

Yeah.. that's another tech support call to Onkyo. I have a Pioneer AVR and BD player, so it was easy to get everything to play together. if it's an older Onkyo AVR, you may need to just manually learn the functions from the BD remote to the Onkyo remote. Or, you can make life simple and use the Onkyo for switching and volume, et al., and just pick up the Pioneer remote to control movie playback.

"Play the volume as loud as you want - but don't touch my levels now. I got them set just like I like them"
Krutsch is offline  
post #63 of 726 Old 12-11-2012, 10:14 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
zoro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 10,457
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 225 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Any review on bdp 150? Any idea how it stacks against Sony bdp 790? Which one be better fit for pioneer elite plasma
Arashjahn likes this.
zoro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 726 Old 12-16-2012, 11:05 AM
Member
 
Arashjahn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I wonder if there is a way to flash the BDP-150 to actually playback DVD-Audio?
Arashjahn is offline  
post #65 of 726 Old 12-16-2012, 11:44 AM
Senior Member
 
Krutsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minnetonka, MN
Posts: 403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arashjahn View Post

I wonder if there is a way to flash the BDP-150 to actually playback DVD-Audio?

If you own the DVD-Audio disc, you may consider ripping the tracks to a collection of FLAC files and playing them back over the network or from a USB drive. Google 'DVD Audio Extractor' for more information.

I personally own a Pioneer BDP-62FD so I could play my collection of DVD-A discs (along with my SACD and Redbook), but it's an option to consider.

"Play the volume as loud as you want - but don't touch my levels now. I got them set just like I like them"
Krutsch is offline  
post #66 of 726 Old 12-26-2012, 05:23 AM
Member
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does the 150 play FLAC from USB properly? No bugs like having to rename it mp3?

Such miserable info on this player. Why is it being ignored as an alternative to the panasonic 220 and sony 590? It has 2 USB ports, and looks 100x better than most of sony's/panasonic's lineup.
Oubadah is offline  
post #67 of 726 Old 01-02-2013, 11:32 AM
Newbie
 
grunf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For 150: Flac works fine from USB, no renaming of files etc. Flac doesn't work from dlna - what is already mentioned in manuals.

I tested this one for few hours and was really negatively surprised: no subtitles over dlna or from usb except for some mkv's - I add my subtitles (utf8) to existing mkv but then it hang after 2 minutes of playing...
For mp3, flac from CD you have to use menus from TV to start playing (there is no way to start playing mp3 without TV...). I have Philips pfl6 model: if I turn off TV, player is automatically turned off.

I've send it back already.

Anyway, it looks good...
grunf is offline  
post #68 of 726 Old 01-07-2013, 04:55 AM
Member
 
Oubadah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by grunf View Post

For 150: Flac works fine from USB, no renaming of files etc. Flac doesn't work from dlna - what is already mentioned in manuals.
I tested this one for few hours and was really negatively surprised: no subtitles over dlna or from usb except for some mkv's - I add my subtitles (utf8) to existing mkv but then it hang after 2 minutes of playing...
For mp3, flac from CD you have to use menus from TV to start playing (there is no way to start playing mp3 without TV...). I have Philips pfl6 model: if I turn off TV, player is automatically turned off.
I've send it back already.
Anyway, it looks good...

What about noise levels? I decided the 150 was too much of a gamble and bought a panasonic bdt220, but these damned things are really loud and the build quality is pretty poor.

As for MKV subtitles, well the Panasonic doesn't seem to do them either (network or USB). It can't even do chapters.
Oubadah is offline  
post #69 of 726 Old 01-10-2013, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
eaglebeaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm interested in Pioneer BDP 150 player. I would like to use it also as a CD player connected to my stereo amplifier through analog outputs. Is it possible to play audio CDs even if my TV(connected through HDMI) will be turned off? Is it true that this player will automatically turn my TV on when I insert the disc? Or is it so only when you insert video disc? Could somebody confirm whether this player shows track number on its display or not?

thanks for all your answers
eaglebeaver is offline  
post #70 of 726 Old 01-11-2013, 03:52 AM
Senior Member
 
jleholeho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bratislava, SVK, EU
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Anyone can provide me with an opinion on what´s better to use for the best video results?
I have the BDP-450 and VSX-1121, both 3D capable, both with Marvell Qdeo video processing...should I engage both HDMI outs on the player or use just the main out?
or is it virtually the same result with BD directly to TV and BD to AVR to TV connection (in video terms)?
the player has just come so I haven´t had a chance to hook it up a see for myself...
thanks
jleholeho is offline  
post #71 of 726 Old 01-12-2013, 01:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Kilian.ca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ex-50Hz, now 60Hz
Posts: 1,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 37
jleho, there seems to be a problem with HDMI drop-out using separate AV out in the 62FD (62FD is the 450, there's no 63FD or LX56 anywhere: they seem to be vaporware).

Unless:
1. There are more custom video adjustments on AVR that you are going to use;
2. You can choose colorspace to output from AVR to best match your display;
3. The video HDMI output is better on AVR by eye or HDMI measurement;
4. There is AV sync issue via player to TV or
5. You prefer to use AVR for video switching

There is no real advantage going through AVR.

Since you're still sticking with Pioneer (I thought you gave up last year) I'd like to know how it compares to the 440. I almost picked up a 440 new at half price in Hong Kong earlier.

Audiosceptics accept audio trials using 25 people. A recent Oxford study with over 353,000 patient records from 639 separate clinical trials shows for every 1,000 people taking diclofenac or ibuprofen there would be 3 additional heart attacks, 4 more cases of heart failure and 1 death every year.

Kilian.ca is offline  
post #72 of 726 Old 01-20-2013, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
pirx73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone knows is it possible to make BDP-150multizone with 1.05 firmware? If then then how?
I bought it with 1.02 and it was playing all DVDs, now after upgrade to 1.05 it does not do that anymore frown.gif
I was shocked because previous model i own (Pioneer BDP-320) did not lost DVD multizoning capabilities after firmware updates.
pirx73 is offline  
post #73 of 726 Old 01-20-2013, 12:16 PM
Newbie
 
Bjorn Tore Hoem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have difficulties understanding the differences between Pioneer 3D Blu-ray players BDP-450-K and BDP LX-55. Anyone here who knows and can explain?:-)

Tx,

Bjørn Tore
Bjorn Tore Hoem is offline  
post #74 of 726 Old 02-10-2013, 11:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Nisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: the Dutch Mountains
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pirx73 View Post

Does anyone knows is it possible to make BDP-150multizone with 1.05 firmware? If then then how?
I bought it with 1.02 and it was playing all DVDs, now after upgrade to 1.05 it does not do that anymore frown.gif
I was shocked because previous model i own (Pioneer BDP-320) did not lost DVD multizoning capabilities after firmware updates.
Rattlebyte is selling an upgradeable chip for the 150. You do need to do some delicate soldering (or have someone do it for you) but it's pretty cheap (€35/$46 including shipping).
.

Youth is wasted on the wrong people.
Nisei is offline  
post #75 of 726 Old 02-10-2013, 04:31 PM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nisei View Post

Rattlebyte is selling an upgradeable chip for the 150 but you do need to do some delicate soldering and upgrading firmware is non-standard but it's pretty cheap (€35/$46)
Bluraychip.dk is also releasing a chip for the 150 very soon. It's solderless so you don't void your warranty and updates are done the regular way. However, it's probably going to cost $99 which is more than twice the price of the Rattlebyte chip.

There is custom firmware available for the 150 & 450 to make it region free DVD and multi region BluRay.. I have the 450 with the custom firmware and it works a treat, it even removes the Cinavia protection.

It's a really simple upgrade procedure too. I didn't even have to open my player up!!

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #76 of 726 Old 02-10-2013, 05:54 PM
Advanced Member
 
bokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just picked up a 150
Where did you download the region free firmware?
bokes is offline  
post #77 of 726 Old 02-11-2013, 01:04 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The Custom Firmware for Pioneer BDP-150 & 450 is Region Free for DVD and Region selectable for BluRay A B & C. As well as being free from Cinavia protection


The Multi Region Pioneer BDP-150 firmware is here (v4.03):

https://mega.co.nz/#!1E9DFa4S!ett95ClUQwJPDEZnLy89UkKsbYBmAroAVtT50yyt7BA


The Multi Region Pioneer BDP-450 firmware is here (v4.04):

https://mega.co.nz/#!FUdyAAqb!Bju5Bwhwv9QpDeC_11AsVDDJClIdNrAkQELLK5lYeKs


Both firmware versions need activating with a code unique to your bluray player.

The activation software is here:

Windows: https://mega.co.nz/#!EM0RAQBZ!Px6y9Do0g67F_8om6M5UAiHEmwJX7OBAuXa9LcKaqJ4

Linux: http://disk.yandex.com/public/?hash=K9movgqdD2FRh4w%2Bmg0FA7KCjqM6rHq1AU0XULPF3lE%3D

If using windows you will need C++ installed, available here: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555

The activation software works like a keygen.. You install the Firmware, Get the Serial Number & MAC address from your Bluray players menu and put it into the activation program, The activation program generates a code that you type into your bluray player on the remote via the menu. It's actually quite easy.

The activation software only works on v4.xx Firmware so do not try on v5.xx




The custom firmware has a whole list of features including: Cinavia Free, Play ISO and BDMV files from an external hard drive, Multi Region BluRay & DVD, Improved playback of High Profile MVK etc.. I have a Pioneer BDP-450 and a Pioneer BDP-150, I've used the custom firmware for months now and it works a treat. The Bluray region is selectable via the settings menu, You press 3 3 4 4 on the remote while in the settings menu and it brings up a separate menu for selecting the BluRay Region.


Hope this helps someone.

Thanks to Ace of Snakes and the guys over at the Russian AV Forums for the info. http://forum.ixbt.com/topic.cgi?id=60:3656

It's been discussed at length over at the Pioneer BDP-140 thread here: https://www.avsforum.com/t/1335651/pioneer-blu-ray-players-2011-bdp-140-bdp-440-bdp-lx55-bdp-53fd/1470


Mort.



P.s. If anyone missed it on the other thread the Pioneer BDP-140 Multiregion custom Firmware is here:

https://mega.co.nz/#!tR1BQaxI!WS3cJAconkRp1Wb8dYzHIyIzWvA78qjtI47VLx-W_D4

(It's also activation free)
Nisei and Quatre like this.

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #78 of 726 Old 02-11-2013, 04:09 AM
Newbie
 
Airwolf33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to go back to Original firmware after the Custom Firmware ?

Is the custom firm better with DLNA (My BDP-450 does not see my mkv files on my Synology NAS...)
Airwolf33 is offline  
post #79 of 726 Old 02-11-2013, 05:18 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I haven't tried switching back but apparently you can.

My DLNA works perfectly with my NAS drive and MKV files.

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #80 of 726 Old 02-11-2013, 05:49 AM
Newbie
 
Airwolf33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have v 4.XX or 5.XX ?
Airwolf33 is offline  
post #81 of 726 Old 02-11-2013, 08:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
bokes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 507
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Just hooked up the 150.
Looks just as good as the oppo 103 i returned (due to the sharp setting issue)

Are they any preferred custom settings or should I just leave it on Standard?
bokes is offline  
post #82 of 726 Old 02-11-2013, 09:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Nisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: the Dutch Mountains
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MortUK View Post

The Custom Firmware for Pioneer BDP-150 & 450 is Region Free for DVD and Region selectable for BluRay A B & C. As well as being free from Cinavia protection

Mort, thanks for all the information, this is awesome.
I couldn't find any information although I've been searching for it so I was going to order a chip real soon.

A couple of questions though:
What official Pioneer firmware is the 4.03 version based on?
If the activation software doesn't work on the 5.xx firmware, what is v5.xx used for?
What if a new movie requires a new firmware to solve compatibility issues? Are these custom firmwares updated shortly after the official firmware?

Youth is wasted on the wrong people.
Nisei is offline  
post #83 of 726 Old 02-11-2013, 04:08 PM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nisei View Post

Mort, thanks for all the information, this is awesome.
I couldn't find any information although I've been searching for it so I was going to order a chip real soon.

A couple of questions though:
What official Pioneer firmware is the 4.03 version based on?
If the activation software doesn't work on the 5.xx firmware, what is v5.xx used for?
What if a new movie requires a new firmware to solve compatibility issues? Are these custom firmwares updated shortly after the official firmware?

The firmware was developed by a Chinese student who was charging $100 for the activation. v4.00 of the firmware was cracked and the activation made available to everyone. The Chinese soon figured out that the activation had been cracked and changed it to v5 with new algorithms. There is very little difference between the two and the firmware is very stable.

You can still do BD-Updates & BD-Live for compatibility, just not firmware. There really should never be any issues.

It's been discussed at length over at the Pioneer BDP-140 thread here: https://www.avsforum.com/t/1335651/pioneer-blu-ray-players-2011-bdp-140-bdp-440-bdp-lx55-bdp-53fd/1470

There is a lot of info on the firmware over at the russian forums here: http://forum.ixbt.com/topic.cgi?id=60:3656 You'll need google translate if you dont speak russian though.
Nisei likes this.

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #84 of 726 Old 02-12-2013, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
Nisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: the Dutch Mountains
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks again.
Yes, I've been reading on Russian and even Spanish forums about the matter and understand how it's working now.
I always thought disc compatibility issues were solved by a complete firmware upgrade (at least it used to be like that) but if I understand correctly that's not the case anymore nowadays?
If that's the case then it's certainly worth trying the 4.03 CFW.

Youth is wasted on the wrong people.
Nisei is offline  
post #85 of 726 Old 02-12-2013, 07:10 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
That's my understanding of it.. Plus the firmware is free and from what I hear it is really easy to switch back to the stock firmware, if you don't like it and buy a hardware chip.. I've never needed to switch back and am very happy with mine.

I have had no issues with my Pioneer players and comparability I've been using them since the BDP-140 multi region firmware..

I personally think that the custom firmware is the way forward for bluray players.. It is available for the Toshiba bluray players for free and Panasonic players (although you have to pay).

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #86 of 726 Old 02-12-2013, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Nisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: the Dutch Mountains
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Damn, this sucks!
I've tried and it didn't recognize the firmware as an update so I went back to the Russian forum and there it says:

Official firmware v1.05
Improved playback of BD-R/RE
Improved performance
Can not flash the old firmware and modified
Removed the possibility to interrupt load U-Boot

So if you want to flash your 150 you've got to have v1.02 since 1.05 cannot load older firmware nor the CFW frown.gif
The same goes for the latest versions for the LX55, LX56 and BDP-450

Any way around this???

Youth is wasted on the wrong people.
Nisei is offline  
post #87 of 726 Old 02-12-2013, 10:14 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nisei View Post

Damn, this sucks!
I've tried and it didn't recognize the firmware as an update so I went back to the Russian forum and there it says:

Official firmware v1.05
Improved playback of BD-R/RE
Improved performance
Can not flash the old firmware and modified
Removed the possibility to interrupt load U-Boot

So if you want to flash your 150 you've got to have v1.02 since 1.05 cannot load older firmware nor the CFW frown.gif
The same goes for the latest versions for the LX55, LX56 and BDP-450

Any way around this???

If you have a BDP-450 with a FW 2.09, you can't install any CFW either.
Advizer is offline  
post #88 of 726 Old 02-13-2013, 12:30 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by MortUK View Post

The firmware was developed by a Chinese student who was charging $100 for the activation. v4.00 of the firmware was cracked and the activation made available to everyone. The Chinese soon figured out that the activation had been cracked and changed it to v5 with new algorithms. There is very little difference between the two and the firmware is very stable.



I tell you one thing mate. Itnots not a student. It was not a bunch of students. It's the same organisation or its affiliate in Shenzhen that produces Pioneer devices. You can't write CFW for a whole product line if you are a student and you don't have firmware source code.

CFW 5.0X costs around 150 €. Much money. What Russians did is usually called "reverse engineering". They cracked the CFW so can have it free of charge. Have it and enjoy, no problem. If you start to shout and post an exact explanation on how "Russian CFW" works, you make it possible for other people (like Chinese friends) to read it. If you don't care about future versions of CFW, coming out "freee of charge" - go ahead, don't care, keep posting. Chinese friends will be grateful to you for finding a solution to protect their future CFWs from hacking.

Greetings,
Advizer


[condescending remarks removed - mod]
hotshaggy likes this.
Advizer is offline  
post #89 of 726 Old 02-13-2013, 02:11 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Apologies, I didn't mean to offend anyone.. There is talk earlier in the forum about spending lots of money on hardware mods for these players. Just trying to help a few guys out.


The firmware from Pioneer is actually open source

here: http://www.oss-pioneer.com/homeav/blu-ray/files/BDP-140/index.html

here: http://www.oss-pioneer.com/homeav/blu-ray/files/BDP-150/index.html

and here: http://www.oss-pioneer.com/homeav/blu-ray/files/index.html


So the Chinese guys didn't actually need to write it from scratch.. Plus they all ready know that the Russans cracked their FW anyway.. That's why they changed it to v5.xx

So no harm done by my post.

Mort
Quatre likes this.

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #90 of 726 Old 02-13-2013, 08:12 AM
Senior Member
 
Nisei's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: the Dutch Mountains
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

If you start to shout and post an exact explanation on how "Russian CFW" works, you make it possible for other people (like Chinese friends) to read it. If you don't care about future versions of CFW, coming out "freee of charge" - go ahead, don't care, keep posting. Chinese friends will be grateful to you for finding a solution to protect their future CFWs from hacking.
No-one's explaining how the "Russian firmware", as you call it, works. The Russians didn't change anything to the firmware, they merely cracked the algorithm to activate it. So please stop pointing your finger at certain people here for just talking about it.
MortUK likes this.

Youth is wasted on the wrong people.
Nisei is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off