The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread - Page 6 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 726 Old 03-03-2013, 10:05 PM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
I was lucky to get the last bdp-140 at my local shops. Now I'm looking for bdp-450 because of the Qdeo processor. It's a bit tricky for this model at the moment. All the shops I went, they don't have the player in stock. They'll have to order first. I don't want that because then I wouldn't be able to check the player's fw tongue.gif
raif71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 726 Old 03-03-2013, 11:54 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
ralf71,

if you flash a BDP-450 with a CFW4.04, your Pio would be able to play BDMV/BD(3D).iso over NFS. This is the feature that is not implemented in CFW 4.02/4.03 for BDP-140-440/150.
Advizer is offline  
post #153 of 726 Old 03-04-2013, 06:14 AM
Newbie
 
docjonty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, its version 1.02, so I can use the hookie firmware.

I`m holding off at the moment, as my main reason for considering it wasnt to allow the use of copied or alternate region blurays, but to enable DVD-A playback.

It seems that whilst in theory it will do that, in practice most commercial discs that carry copy protection wont play.

I like the Netflix feature as I am a subscriber and dont want to lose it.

Connects nicely to my Onkyo A9050 hi fi amp via the coaxial and sounds great.

Attractive little unit as well , and integrates well with my hi fi.


Am I correct in assuming that installing the hacked firmware will disable netflix?
docjonty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #154 of 726 Old 03-04-2013, 10:13 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by docjonty View Post

Am I correct in assuming that installing the hacked firmware will disable netflix?
Yep. You will lose all the Internet apps.

If you need DVD-A, look for a BDP-440 or BDP-450 (the latter with FW2.05).
Advizer is offline  
post #155 of 726 Old 03-04-2013, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
docjonty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, for the moment access to Netflix is more useful to me than the ability to be able to play copied blurays.

Sound wise this is a nice little player.
It does run quite hot, so I recycled the feet from an ancient non functioning cd player - little stainless steel jobs.
Not only does it make the Pioneer look much more "hi fi" it seems to help with cooling.

I`m happy with my purchase.
Its a decent budget machine.
docjonty is offline  
post #156 of 726 Old 03-04-2013, 05:13 PM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

ralf71,

if you flash a BDP-450 with a CFW4.04, your Pio would be able to play BDMV/BD(3D).iso over NFS. This is the feature that is not implemented in CFW 4.02/4.03 for BDP-140-440/150.

Does the cfw 4.04 fix the non-alphabetical listing of files (that is present in 4.03)?
raif71 is offline  
post #157 of 726 Old 03-04-2013, 08:52 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by raif71 View Post

Does the cfw 4.04 fix the non-alphabetical listing of files (that is present in 4.03)?
Nope.
Advizer is offline  
post #158 of 726 Old 03-07-2013, 08:45 AM
Member
 
oconnells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Considering the BDP-150, but have a couple of questions.

1. Pioneer claims it supports DLNA, can anyone comment on how well / poorly it does this?
2. Do you have to use the Pioneer ethernet to wireless adapter, or has anyone had luck with a third party device? I ask because you can get an ethernet to wireless adapter for about $30, while Pioneer seems to want $100 for their branded device.
3. How are Pioneer Blue-Ray players in general?

Thanks

oconnells is offline  
post #159 of 726 Old 03-07-2013, 08:49 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by oconnells View Post

Considering the BDP-150, but have a couple of questions.

1. Pioneer claims it supports DLNA, can anyone comment on how well / poorly it does this?
2. Do you have to use the Pioneer ethernet to wireless adapter, or has anyone had luck with a third party device? I ask because you can get an ethernet to wireless adapter for about $30, while Pioneer seems to want $100 for their branded device.
3. How are Pioneer Blue-Ray players in general?

1. As it should.
2. Use a cable. There are other options but they are relatively expensive as well.
3. Grrreat!
Advizer is offline  
post #160 of 726 Old 03-07-2013, 09:41 AM
Member
 
oconnells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

2. Use a cable. There are other options but they are relatively expensive as well.

advizer, thanks for the input. Unfortunately I don't have a wired access point anywhere near were this Blueray player will be hooked up. Newegg has ethernet to wireless dongles for as little as $30 so if they will work this is a possible solution for me.

oconnells is offline  
post #161 of 726 Old 03-07-2013, 02:37 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by oconnells View Post


NetGear WNCE3001-100PES
Asus EA-N66U
etc...
Advizer is offline  
post #162 of 726 Old 03-07-2013, 08:29 PM
Newbie
 
docjonty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update

I thought I would try the activation free update and see if it allowed me to play DVD-A

Well, to my surprise it did.
My DVD-A discs are now recognised by the player.

I prefer not to lose the netflix option, but having a proper universal player on the cheap is probably more worthwhile
docjonty is offline  
post #163 of 726 Old 03-08-2013, 01:40 AM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by docjonty View Post

Update

I thought I would try the activation free update and see if it allowed me to play DVD-A

Well, to my surprise it did.
My DVD-A discs are now recognised by the player.

I prefer not to lose the netflix option, but having a proper universal player on the cheap is probably more worthwhile

Definitely biggrin.gif
raif71 is offline  
post #164 of 726 Old 03-08-2013, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Mojogypson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Is the BDP-450 the Euro version of the US BDP-62FD ?
If not - where can I purchase one in the US?
Mojogypson is offline  
post #165 of 726 Old 03-08-2013, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mojogypson View Post

Is the BDP-450 the Euro version of the US BDP-62FD ?
If not - where can I purchase one in the US?
Yes it is.
Advizer is offline  
post #166 of 726 Old 03-11-2013, 02:36 AM
Newbie
 
Komapatient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am trying to get ahold of a BDP-150 with 1.02 but this seems rather to be difficult.

After reading this thread and the difficulty of getting a 1.02 I have two questions

1. There is no russian cracked 5.x version for any of the Pio players?

2. Is there an other player out there, not Pio, which can be modified via firmware as the Pios?

Thanks
Komapatient is offline  
post #167 of 726 Old 03-11-2013, 03:05 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I posted this over on the 140 forum by mistake so thought i'd ask here to see if anyone here knew anything about it..

Does anyone know if the Pioneers can handle the new HFR 48fps ( 48 frames per second) used in The Hobbit movie.

It's just coming out on bluray and uses 48 frames per second rather than the normal 24 frames per second.

Has anyone got any insight.?

Mort.

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #168 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 01:23 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
ralf71, dvzzz,

looks like you both lack of brains. I've written the same already, I can explain this to you again.

Initially, there was a company in China (TCL) that would produce Pioneer products in China. Some smart guys with connections at Pioneeer seem to have gotten SDK and be able to "improve" firmware. Their baby ain't for free as you have to buy it for ca. 150-200 € depending on the model.

There was a smart guy in one of the CIS-countries who cracked CFWs and made them free of charge. Use it and be happy! The problems are, that 1)
Quote:
I have tried using Google Translate but given how complex the process is I may need to spend time to type it up.
It's not that easy to translate Russian. On the other hand, posting everything in English would mean that Chinese smart guys would be able to red it and to protect future versions of CFW from being hacked. 2) some people tried to made business with something which is available free of charge. 3) some of them just can't keep their mouths shut.

ralf71, dvzzz,

don't tell me you ain't smart enough to grasp it. Do what you want with you hardware and your posts. Being stupid is normal. If you mean it good, think about the road paved with´good intentions. Discussing such things in private is ok. There are always idiots like one Brazilian "tonto" who posted a pig article in his blog, at Twitter and Facebook. As I said, being idiot=meaning it good is normal. Especially if you don't need free updates and you'd like to buy them.

P.S. ralf71 You can't update a BDP-450 with FW2.09. Sell it and look for the one with FW2.05. And don't ask my how and where to get the latest version of CFW as I don't trust you.
Advizer is offline  
post #169 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 01:23 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
ralf71, dvzzz,

looks like you both lack of brains. I've written the same already, I can explain this to you again.

Initially, there was a company in China (TCL) that would produce Pioneer products in China. Some smart guys with connections at Pioneeer seem to have gotten SDK and be able to "improve" firmware. Their baby ain't for free as you have to buy it for ca. 150-200 € depending on the model.

There was a smart guy in one of the CIS-countries who cracked CFWs and made them free of charge. Use it and be happy! The problems are, that 1)
Quote:
I have tried using Google Translate but given how complex the process is I may need to spend time to type it up.
It's not that easy to translate Russian. On the other hand, posting everything in English would mean that Chinese smart guys would be able to red it and to protect future versions of CFW from being hacked. 2) some people tried to made business with something which is available free of charge. 3) some of them just can't keep their mouths shut.

ralf71, dvzzz,

don't tell me you ain't smart enough to grasp it. Do what you want with you hardware and your posts. Being stupid is normal. If you mean it good, think about the road paved with´good intentions. Discussing such things in private is ok. There are always idiots like one Brazilian "tonto" who posted a pig article in his blog, at Twitter and Facebook. As I said, being idiot=meaning it good is normal. Especially if you don't need free updates and you'd like to buy them.

P.S. ralf71 You can't update a BDP-450 with FW2.09. Sell it and look for the one with FW2.05. And don't ask my how and where to get the latest version of CFW as I don't trust you.
Advizer is offline  
post #170 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 02:47 AM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
ouch, that hurts.. Advizer. Prick me and I bleed confused.gif
raif71 is offline  
post #171 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 03:27 AM
Member
 
MortUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, UK
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
@Advizer

The problem is that most people on this forum don't know how to do the update on the more recent players or the v5.08a firmware so they have to ask.

Maybe if you were a bit more helpful rather than being abusive it would help the situation.

Mort.

MortUK
MortUK is offline  
post #172 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 06:25 AM
Member
 
blub-blub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
ahh crap, just found this thread and the info to the custom FW.
Sadly I did the 2.09 FW upgrade after unboxing...that sucks mad.gif
blub-blub is offline  
post #173 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
blub-blub,
Can you send it back?

MortUK,
What is "abusive"? Shall I explain something cause I'm "abusive"? I've already written which FW cannot be hacked. Looks like nobody uses PM and nobody won't. Why bother, right?

Feel free to call me whatever you want. The smart guy who cracked Chinese CFWs won't do anything anymore, so forget such features as DVD/SACD.iso support. Nobody will get them for free. Hope this fact makes you happy.
Advizer is offline  
post #174 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
For the past few years now, I've been following forums before buying anything that is electronic ie TV's , media players, bluray players etc. The people are generally helpful though sometimes misunderstanding can occur from time to time. Sharing is caring is what I believe. cool.gif
raif71 is offline  
post #175 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by raif71 View Post

For the past few years now, I've been following forums before buying anything that is electronic ie TV's , media players, bluray players etc. The people are generally helpful though sometimes misunderstanding can occur from time to time. Sharing is caring is what I believe. cool.gif

You can contact me over PM as soon as you get BDP-450 with FW2.05, ok?
raif71 likes this.
Advizer is offline  
post #176 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 07:45 AM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

You can contact me over PM as soon as you get BDP-450 with FW2.05, ok?

Thanks Advizer. You've been more than helpful.
raif71 is offline  
post #177 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Mojogypson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Does the 62FD allow you the set independent audio output for HDMI and Optical?

I have a wireless headphone set that only accepts PCM optical.

I want to run the HDMI Bitstream audio through the receiver and the optical PCM to the wireless headphone amp.

This would eliminate having to go into the menu settings and switching the audio output settings.
Mojogypson is offline  
post #178 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
You too dzzz smile.gif
raif71 is offline  
post #179 of 726 Old 03-12-2013, 11:48 PM
Member
 
blub-blub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Nope. Packaging is already gone. Maybe in the future There will be new custom fw :-)
blub-blub is offline  
post #180 of 726 Old 03-14-2013, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Hi. Just got my bdp-450 yesterday. So far, playing HD movies have been OK. However I did try playing my old xvid avi (SD material). All I can say is that I'm not totally impressed with the PQ. I had thought that with the Qdeo processing, the output would be at par to standard HD or is that wishful thinking? I mean I could still see blockiness and fuzziness on the picture. Just thought I'd mention this to see whether I need to tweak some settings.
raif71 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off