The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread - Page 8 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 726 Old 04-06-2013, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
silvereyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by raif71 View Post

When you say that you have "no Pio players", you meant that you don't have any 450 or that you don't have any players ?

Grill is a friend of mine in another forum. We are both looking for a player that can play sacd.iso from the hard drive. He discovered a cfw from a website that can be purchased that can do that for the bdp-450 and possibly a future one for the bdp-140, which I currently own. So far there are no other players that can do that. The price of $160 for such a fw when it comes out is a bit steep but worth it in my opinion, and once I confirm that it can read sacd.iso Grill will purchase the player and the cfw as well. I just hope I can figure out how to purchase it and active it as its all in Chinese.
silvereyes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 726 Old 04-07-2013, 12:08 PM
Member
 
grill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What Silvereyes said. It is possible that cue, DVDA.iso and DFF support will be added to the next versions of these fw's. Hopefully the firmwares can be purchased and will work outside China.
grill is offline  
post #213 of 726 Old 04-07-2013, 12:26 PM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK , so I have read as much as I could understand and a few questions come to mind.

1) The BDP-450 has no DAC , does this matter to me in any way at all if I intend to use an AV receiver for all Bluray Audio ?

2) Pioneer released the 2.09 (unhacked) firmware on 22/1/2013 , has this firmware been seen in the wild on new retail units yet ?

3) When 2.09 is refered to as unhacked , does this mean the chinese author hasnt or cant do it or , that the russian group havent made the hack 'free' to register ?

Many thanks to all contributors to the thread for the great info thus far (and hopefully for the replies)

TZ
TimboZero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #214 of 726 Old 04-07-2013, 01:05 PM
Newbie
 
huggyd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the network control protocol available online? I have a link to the BDP-140, BDP-52FD, BDP-53FD. I see that ip control is on port 8102 (IP Control uses Port 8102 from the last page of the manual located here: IP & 232 Control commands

I have a pioneer VSX-1120-K and the ip control on that AVR is very responsive and quite extensive, though I do have to pick up the remote around 4 times a year.
huggyd1 is offline  
post #215 of 726 Old 04-07-2013, 06:22 PM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by grill View Post

What Silvereyes said. It is possible that cue, DVDA.iso and DFF support will be added to the next versions of these fw's. Hopefully the firmwares can be purchased and will work outside China.

Well if I understood what you and Silvereyes said is that you don't even have the bdp-140. If so, my advice is to purchase first the 140 cause stock will dry up as this player is being replaced by bdp150 and newer players. Just my 2 cents smile.gif I have both 450 and 140. The 140 being display set tongue.gif
raif71 is offline  
post #216 of 726 Old 04-07-2013, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
silvereyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by raif71 View Post

Well if I understood what you and Silvereyes said is that you don't even have the bdp-140. If so, my advice is to purchase first the 140 cause stock will dry up as this player is being replaced by bdp150 and newer players. Just my 2 cents smile.gif I have both 450 and 140. The 140 being display set tongue.gif
That is a good advice, but the bdp-150 has the same kind of chinese fw support. Which ever one is cheaper is the way I'd go.
silvereyes is offline  
post #217 of 726 Old 04-07-2013, 08:43 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by grill View Post

What Silvereyes said. It is possible that cue, DVDA.iso and DFF support will be added to the next versions of these fw's. Hopefully the firmwares can be purchased and will work outside China.

It will. There are two OSD languages available, Chinese and English.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimboZero View Post

OK , so I have read as much as I could understand and a few questions come to mind.
1) The BDP-450 has no DAC , does this matter to me in any way at all if I intend to use an AV receiver for all Bluray Audio ?
2) Pioneer released the 2.09 (unhacked) firmware on 22/1/2013 , has this firmware been seen in the wild on new retail units yet ?
3) When 2.09 is refered to as unhacked , does this mean the chinese author hasnt or cant do it or , that the russian group havent made the hack 'free' to register ?

1) Right
2) Already in retail
3) One needs SDK to hack 2.09/1.05
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvereyes View Post

That is a good advice, but the bdp-150 has the same kind of chinese fw support. Which ever one is cheaper is the way I'd go.

Beware of 1.05. Besides, if you need DVD-Audio (DVDA.iso as well, I guess) playback, 450 would be a better choice than 140/150.
Advizer is offline  
post #218 of 726 Old 04-07-2013, 09:32 PM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When you say the 2.09 firmware is already at retail , do the boxes have MFR dates on them and when (approx) did 2.09 hit retail units please ?
TimboZero is offline  
post #219 of 726 Old 04-07-2013, 09:50 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If you find one produced in October-November (I'm not sure, maybe, in December) 2012 or earlier, it should be with FW2.05 on it.
Advizer is offline  
post #220 of 726 Old 04-07-2013, 10:15 PM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you again , would I be better off to search for a bdp-440 instead or is the 450 sufficiently superior to warrant the time to find a 2.05 version of it ?
I have no need of the dual HDMI or the analogue outs. My AV receiver (Yamaha rx-v673) does upscaling so I guess that is also redundant feature of the bdp-450 in my case ?
TimboZero is offline  
post #221 of 726 Old 04-08-2013, 01:03 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
There's no anything like FW1.05/2.09 for BDP-140/440, that's why you can hack them easily .
Advizer is offline  
post #222 of 726 Old 04-08-2013, 01:52 AM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry Advizer , that isn't what I meant.

If I want Cinavia-free Pioneer Blu-Ray is the 440 better than the 450?
TimboZero is offline  
post #223 of 726 Old 04-08-2013, 04:21 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If you're going to install CFW, Cinavia will be cut out anyway :-)
Advizer is offline  
post #224 of 726 Old 04-08-2013, 04:27 AM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry , you are missing the question.

If i get a 450 with 2.05 then all is good and I can go CFW but , as you said , this is unlikely on a new retail unit (i.e. will require a lot of work to find one on 2.05)
With a 440 I am guaranteed to be able to go CFW and both units cost the same where I live.

The question is , is it worth looking for a 450 (with 2.05) or should I just get the easier to find 440 ?

My amp has marvel qdeo upscaling , I have no need of dual hdmi output , I don't need analogue outputs. Is there anything else the 450 offers that the 440 does not ?
TimboZero is offline  
post #225 of 726 Old 04-08-2013, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
raif71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimboZero View Post

Sorry , you are missing the question.

If i get a 450 with 2.05 then all is good and I can go CFW but , as you said , this is unlikely on a new retail unit (i.e. will require a lot of work to find one on 2.05)
With a 440 I am guaranteed to be able to go CFW and both units cost the same where I live.

The question is , is it worth looking for a 450 (with 2.05) or should I just get the easier to find 440 ?

My amp has marvel qdeo upscaling , I have no need of dual hdmi output , I don't need analogue outputs. Is there anything else the 450 offers that the 440 does not ?

The 450 Qdeo is nothing to shout about. My guess is the 440 would be good enough, right Advizer ?
raif71 is offline  
post #226 of 726 Old 04-08-2013, 10:36 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimboZero View Post

The question is , is it worth looking for a 450 (with 2.05) or should I just get the easier to find 440 ?
I'd look for BDP-450, it's worth it. Besides, if both have been offered at the same price, you "get more" when buying 450. Even if it's hardly possible, look for it in the first place :-)
Quote:
Originally Posted by raif71 View Post

The 450 Qdeo is nothing to shout about. My guess is the 440 would be good enough, right Advizer ?

If one has a big LCD TV or DLP and want to watch DVDs or MKVs, a BD-player with QDEO would be definitely better than the one without this chip.
Advizer is offline  
post #227 of 726 Old 04-08-2013, 01:17 PM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies and advice , I will try to find a store that is prepared to check for MFR or firmware on a 450
TimboZero is offline  
post #228 of 726 Old 04-08-2013, 09:21 PM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Advizer, you mentioned in post #183 that the bdp450 can be downgraded once. Could it be downgraded from 2.09 (if 2.05 could be found) ?
TimboZero is offline  
post #229 of 726 Old 04-08-2013, 11:14 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimboZero View Post

Advizer, you mentioned in post #183 that the bdp450 can be downgraded once. Could it be downgraded from 2.09 (if 2.05 could be found) ?

What I meant was: if something went wrong (or one doesn't like the player or CFW functionality), one can downgrade from 4.04 to 2.09, because 2.05 is not available for download. If one has done, he/she won't be able to install any CFW anymore.
Advizer is offline  
post #230 of 726 Old 04-09-2013, 01:28 AM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah I got ya now , makes sense smile.gif

What happens to CFW users (now that the chinese students have closed the door) when an AACS key update is required ?

EDIT : Just found a DEC2012 new retail unit of the BDP450 with firmware 2.05 on it and ordered it. Cost 20% more than normal web price but I guess thats the cost of being fussy.
TimboZero is offline  
post #231 of 726 Old 04-09-2013, 03:20 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimboZero View Post

AACS key update is required ?

What is this? I have no idea.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimboZero View Post

BDP450 with firmware 2.05 on it and ordered it

My congratulations! Get ready to become owner of the ultimate media machine! cool.gif
Advizer is offline  
post #232 of 726 Old 04-09-2013, 05:31 AM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AACS is the encryption key used on original blurays to protect them from copying , it is supposedly changed on average every 18 months.

The question is whether a bluray player learns these new AACS keys from original discs or from firmware updates ?
TimboZero is offline  
post #233 of 726 Old 04-10-2013, 12:01 AM
Member
 
Dennis0201's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi everyone,
I wonder if I purchase BDP-450 from Amazon USA, can I install the unofficial firmware which is able to play BDMV/BDISO? I see that there are couple customized firmwares at Chinese market.

Thanks.
Dennis0201 is offline  
post #234 of 726 Old 04-10-2013, 01:04 AM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis0201 View Post

Hi everyone,
I wonder if I purchase BDP-450 from Amazon USA, can I install the unofficial firmware which is able to play BDMV/BDISO? I see that there are couple customized firmwares at Chinese market.

Thanks.

Reading even this page of the thread alone , you would have seen chat about 2.09 (the latest firmware on the BDP-450) being unable to be flashed with the unofficial fimware.
2.09 firmware was released on 22 Jan. '13 and would have started to show up on retail units shortly after. I just managed to find a 2.04 (the last firmware on the BDP-450 that allows unofficial firmware) and it was MFR date of Dec. '12
As Amazon has a high throughput of products I would expect their units to be very recent and hence 2.09 therefore, you should look for an older unit with 2.05 specified or one that is pre-2013.
TimboZero is offline  
post #235 of 726 Old 04-10-2013, 05:08 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis0201 View Post

Hi everyone,
I wonder if I purchase BDP-450 from Amazon USA, can I install the unofficial firmware which is able to play BDMV/BDISO?

Yep. The one you need is Pioneer BDP-62FD with FW2.05.
Advizer is offline  
post #236 of 726 Old 04-10-2013, 10:31 AM
Member
 
sezgin90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that chinese guys should discount the CFW. I have a LX55 and want that CFW so bad. however, €150 can buy me a 3D ISO media player. there are at least 15 people want to buy this firmware, but do not beacuse of its price!

€50 is worth to buy it. But €150? no, it does not.

sezgin90 is offline  
post #237 of 726 Old 04-11-2013, 09:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Does anyone know what is the US version of the Pioneer BDP-450 that was released on Europe?
Cortiz is offline  
post #238 of 726 Old 04-11-2013, 12:09 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
US-version of the BDP-450 is called BDP-62FD. There are no other models.
Advizer is offline  
post #239 of 726 Old 04-11-2013, 06:21 PM
Newbie
 
huggyd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by huggyd1 View Post

Is the network control protocol available online? I have a link to the BDP-140, BDP-52FD, BDP-53FD. I see that ip control is on port 8102 (IP Control uses Port 8102 from the last page of the manual located here: IP & 232 Control commands

I have a pioneer VSX-1120-K and the ip control on that AVR is very responsive and quite extensive, though I do have to pick up the remote around 4 times a year.

I managed to get the BDP-150 to be network controllable with relative ease. I purchased it via amazon and the firmware is 2.02. It suggested there was new firmware available.

What firmware would work best for the BDP-150? I want the network communications to stay alive even when it is in an "off" state just like my VSX-1120-K (it's a persistence option). This way, I could power it on via the network and not have to find the remote control at all. Gives me all kinds of options for voice or mobile phone control using a home automation server.
huggyd1 is offline  
post #240 of 726 Old 04-11-2013, 08:42 PM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by huggyd1 View Post

I managed to get the BDP-150 to be network controllable with relative ease. I purchased it via amazon and the firmware is 2.02. It suggested there was new firmware available.

What firmware would work best for the BDP-150? I want the network communications to stay alive even when it is in an "off" state just like my VSX-1120-K (it's a persistence option). This way, I could power it on via the network and not have to find the remote control at all. Gives me all kinds of options for voice or mobile phone control using a home automation server.

I think you may have meant it's 1.02 firmware and personally I would stay on that as with 1.02 you can (if you decide at a later date) put customised firmware on it (such as the cinavia free one).
If it is 1.02 then there is only one later firmware (1.05) which disables the ability to use customised firmwares.

As for the unit being 'kept alive' when on standby , if you look in the settings you should find one callled 'Quick Start' which allows the iphone app to do what you are asking and so I assume it works the same on network as well.

Hope this helps
TimboZero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off