The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread - Page 9 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #241 of 726 Old 04-12-2013, 03:47 AM
Newbie
 
huggyd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimboZero View Post

I think you may have meant it's 1.02 firmware and personally I would stay on that as with 1.02 you can (if you decide at a later date) put customised firmware on it (such as the cinavia free one).
If it is 1.02 then there is only one later firmware (1.05) which disables the ability to use customised firmwares.

As for the unit being 'kept alive' when on standby , if you look in the settings you should find one callled 'Quick Start' which allows the iphone app to do what you are asking and so I assume it works the same on network as well.

Hope this helps
Yes, you are correct, 1.02 FW. Thanks for the quick start info. Set that, and now my home automation system has control, even to turn it on without the IR remote.

Just to see whether it is worth it (for me) to update to the custom FW, what types of DVD/BD will suddenly play after the FW update but will not right now with the stock 1.02? Maybe what I have is already sufficient for my needs.
huggyd1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #242 of 726 Old 04-12-2013, 08:30 AM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The custom firmware is (in my opinion) only for those wanting to remove Cinavia protection.
A list of movies protected by Cinavia can be found here http://forum.slysoft.com/showthread.php?t=41885

From my limited (1 day) experience of the custom firmware, it disables web based apps (such as Netflix) and gives you Cinavia free playback and ability to change region.
TimboZero is offline  
post #243 of 726 Old 04-12-2013, 08:40 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimboZero View Post

From my limited (1 day) experience of the custom firmware, it disables web based apps (such as Netflix) and gives you Cinavia free playback and ability to change region.
+ BD3D.iso/BDMV with disc menu cool.gif
Advizer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #244 of 726 Old 04-12-2013, 09:42 AM
Newbie
 
huggyd1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Advizer View Post

+ BD3D.iso/BDMV with disc menu cool.gif
Hmm, so if I rip my BD3D disks and make iso's, I can play them back via usb drive or network and gain cinavia free, which I have no idea what that means, and get region free playback, another thing I probably do not care about.

If custom firmware let me skin the user interface...

What about DLNA? Any better or worse?
huggyd1 is offline  
post #245 of 726 Old 04-12-2013, 02:40 PM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by huggyd1 View Post

Hmm, so if I rip my BD3D disks and make iso's, I can play them back via usb drive or network and gain cinavia free, ... and get region free playback.
Right you are, Cap! rolleyes.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by huggyd1 View Post

What about DLNA? Any better or worse?
FYI, DLNA is able to stream neither BD.ISO nor BDMV.
Advizer is offline  
post #246 of 726 Old 04-14-2013, 01:13 AM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I cannot for the life of me get my BDP-450 to see any files on my Windows 7 PC frown.gif
TimboZero is offline  
post #247 of 726 Old 04-14-2013, 01:51 AM
Member
 
Advizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
You have to install HaneWIN NFS Server and share folders/disk drives with video/audio.
Advizer is offline  
post #248 of 726 Old 04-14-2013, 10:14 AM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Advizer , couldn't find a single working (was kinda hoping and free but nevermind smile.gif) server that worked , will try HaneWIN out.
TimboZero is offline  
post #249 of 726 Old 04-15-2013, 11:25 PM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it just me or is the Pioneer BDP-450 ('chinese' firmware 4.04) mindnumbingly slow at browsing media server shares ?
Comparing it to my WDTV Live it takes a couple of seconds to 'load' the next page whereas the WDTV is nearly instant.
For reference I am using TVersity to share my PC files and both the 450 and WDTV are on the same part of the network in the living room. (in fact due to a lack of connections , i use the same cable and swap it between them at the moment)
TimboZero is offline  
post #250 of 726 Old 04-16-2013, 01:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Cortiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Has anyone been able to compared the 150 vs the Sony S790? Just curious to know how these two stack up as far as PQ/AQ and loading speed.
Cortiz is offline  
post #251 of 726 Old 04-16-2013, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
borland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Pio stands good even against OPPO on screens above 60" we are talking about full HD via hdmi of course!
borland is offline  
post #252 of 726 Old 04-16-2013, 04:02 PM
Senior Member
 
borland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Pio stands good even against OPPO on screens above 60" we are talking about full HD via hdmi of course!
borland is offline  
post #253 of 726 Old 04-17-2013, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
mentm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone one know if all of the pioneer bdp 150 are shipped with firmware 1.02 or if they have started shipping with 1.05 I am thinking of buying one and using the custom firmware.

Many Thanks
mentm is offline  
post #254 of 726 Old 04-17-2013, 07:35 PM
Newbie
 
karanpd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like I chanced on a BDP-62FD with CFW 4.04 already installed. I have Netflix running on my Samsung TV sending audio to a Pioneer SC-1522-K via an TOSlink cable. I was thinking of switching over to stock firmware to get back Netflix on the BlueRay player but it looks like I might be acting a bit crazy doing that and probably will loose functionality if I do that, correct?

Also, I have a LoTR Box Set I bought from Amazon UK (I am based on the US), how do I get it to play on this player? I tried changing the region to UK and that does not work.
karanpd is offline  
post #255 of 726 Old 04-18-2013, 03:50 PM
Newbie
 
karanpd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by karanpd View Post

Also, I have a LoTR Box Set I bought from Amazon UK (I am based on the US), how do I get it to play on this player? I tried changing the region to UK and that does not work.

Finally figured out how to change the region. Amazing, I have had this set for a couple of years and it's the first time watching this.
karanpd is offline  
post #256 of 726 Old 04-19-2013, 01:27 PM
Member
 
el borak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one question regarding using replacement firmware on the BDP-62FD.

I understand that you need to be on firmware 2.05 to install, and have seen references to people going back to stock firmware after trying the CFW. But how? I've only seen binary images for 2.09, not for 2.05?
el borak is offline  
post #257 of 726 Old 04-20-2013, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
starmachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I was thinking of buying the 150, I was wondering if it was really multi region for blu-ray & dvd's straight out of the box? That was only reason I wanted to buy it really. Also, will it play MKV files?
starmachine is offline  
post #258 of 726 Old 04-20-2013, 08:12 AM
Member
 
el borak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by starmachine View Post

Hi, I was thinking of buying the 150, I was wondering if it was really multi region for blu-ray & dvd's straight out of the box?
No (assuming you're buying a retail unit; not one a reseller has already hacked).
el borak is offline  
post #259 of 726 Old 04-22-2013, 03:10 AM
Newbie
 
mdessouki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hey guys
i recently got the bdp 450 and experiencing a problem accessing NFS with cfw 4.04
is it too slow accessing shared nfs folder ?
seems the player hang up when the share is big
anyone experienced that problem or is it a setting i missed in my NAS or my player?
mdessouki is offline  
post #260 of 726 Old 04-22-2013, 09:08 AM
Newbie
 
docjonty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My BDP150 has started bheaving oddly.

It is randomly stopping, ejecting the disc, freezing and refusing to play .

Seems worse with some blurays than others and hasnt happened with dvd`s or cd`s

Any ideas?
Is this an issue with the chinese software ?

These arent copied discs - my Steven Wilson all that you deserve bluray is almost unplayable.


ps. is there anywhere I can download the 1.02 firmware in case I want to try going back to o/e


ps, tried to update to the 1.05 as really pissing me off and want to watch my blurays, and the machine refuses to recognise the 1.05 software saying it is already upto date!

How do you undo the chinese software?
docjonty is offline  
post #261 of 726 Old 04-23-2013, 02:01 PM
Senior Member
 
borland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 318
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
reset to factory. re-flash CFW with activation. factory reset. activate.
borland is offline  
post #262 of 726 Old 04-29-2013, 10:14 PM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the BDP-450 play .mkv (bluray compliant h264 video with 5.1 Dolby AC3 audio) wrappered files from BDR ?
If not is there a container that it will play that requires no extra header info or reencoding ? (i.e. wont make the files bigger like .ms and .m2ts file do)

Thanks

Timbo
TimboZero is offline  
post #263 of 726 Old 04-29-2013, 11:46 PM
Member
 
adrg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I finally decided and install CFW 404 and just have a couple of questions:
1. How I can access SMB/CIFS shares from the NAS (ZYXEL NSA 325)? It seems I cannot see the subtitles with DLNA (NSA has Twonky 7.0 as DLNA server).
2. HDMI audio seems to be locked into PCM mode (cannot adjust in the menu). Is this a limitation or is just something I missed in settings?

Thanks,
adrg is offline  
post #264 of 726 Old 04-29-2013, 11:48 PM
Member
 
mike kaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: asia
Posts: 128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would like to get a BDP150 but I've got one question. In case I screw up the installation of CFM can anyone post the instruction on how to revert back to the default Pioneer firmware?
mike kaw is offline  
post #265 of 726 Old 05-01-2013, 05:08 AM
Newbie
 
markdk100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have a question if anyone can help?
Have a BDP450 and have been running the custom firmware for a few months. A few days ago started to have problems were the player won't read home made discs but will play retail
discs with no problem.
I wanted to go back to official firmware but not having much success in doing so.
Can anyone help in explaining what to do to get back to official firmware.
Any help would be really appreciated
markdk100 is offline  
post #266 of 726 Old 05-01-2013, 06:18 AM
Newbie
 
alda88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bot BDP-450 to get value for money in terms of BD-disc playing ability. Network, streaming, format support etc.: totally uninteresting.
But, wud be nice with region free playback. Is this at all possible with the 2.09 firmware, in that case - how?
alda88 is offline  
post #267 of 726 Old 05-01-2013, 08:54 AM
Newbie
 
markdk100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
from reading posts on this thread it's not possible to go to custom firmware if your player has the Pioneer v2.09 official firmware on it
markdk100 is offline  
post #268 of 726 Old 05-01-2013, 10:33 AM
Member
 
el borak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by markdk100 View Post

it's not possible to go to custom firmware if your player has the Pioneer v2.09 official firmware on it
Partially true; it's possible if you are willing to do some hardware work.
el borak is offline  
post #269 of 726 Old 05-01-2013, 12:55 PM
Member
 
TimboZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a hardware chip that can be installed that also gives region free ability. I do not know however if it is also limited to 2.05 and before firmwares.
Maybe someone who does know can confirm.
TimboZero is offline  
post #270 of 726 Old 05-01-2013, 02:05 PM
Member
 
el borak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TimboZero View Post

There is a hardware chip that can be installed that also gives region free ability. I do not know however if it is also limited to 2.05 and before firmwares.
It is not. The chip gives you a way to do a backdoor flash of the firmware, so you can install any version (provided you can find it for download).
el borak is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , Pioneer

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off