Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 578 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10201Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #17311 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 08:04 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,214
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5787 Post(s)
Liked: 8259
No, you can leave it ON. My point was that the way most discs are programmed, when the Secondary Audio content comes in the Primary track is attenuated so you can hear the Secondary Audio -- meaning the quality on the Primary DURING that Secondary audio is not relevant.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17312 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 08:42 AM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Ah yeah, I understand what you are saying!

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
post #17313 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 10:11 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,363
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4545 Post(s)
Liked: 4377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
Ah yeah, I understand what you are saying!
We've got medals for that here somewhere...

-Bill
Dave Vaughn likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17314 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 11:01 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,580
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 2977
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
We've got medals for that here somewhere...

-Bill
But almost nobody ever gets one.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #17315 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 11:05 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,214
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5787 Post(s)
Liked: 8259
^ Not medals. Cookies.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17316 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 12:01 PM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
We've got medals for that here somewhere...

-Bill
Im afraid I dont understand your point/joke

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
post #17317 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 12:11 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,363
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4545 Post(s)
Liked: 4377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daffietje View Post
Im afraid I dont understand your point/joke
Sorry. You said you understood what Bob wrote. We were joking that takes heroic effort.

My humor always flops. Serves me right. Attention people: the Humor Lamp is now OUT. Back to business.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #17318 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 02:47 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Thanks to all those who advised about the Roku previously. Has anyone experienced a 720p limitation on resolution on Netflix? With Netflix on Oppo proper and even on the smartTV itself (also connected wirelessly), I'm able to get content in SuperHD. I just want to be sure there's not a setting I'm missing either on Roku.com or in the Oppo configuration. The only physical limitation I can think of is that I'm on a crowded 2.4 GHz channel. Since I have both my 5GHz and 2.4GHz channels named the same, I can't actually tell which one I'm connected to.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #17319 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 03:02 PM
Member
 
Daffietje's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Sorry. You said you understood what Bob wrote. We were joking that takes heroic effort.

My humor always flops. Serves me right. Attention people: the Humor Lamp is now OUT. Back to business.

-Bill
Oh, lol, my bad, should have catched that

Panasonic TX-P50GT60 / Marantz SR5004 / 4 x KEF HTS 3001 SE (front + rear) + HTC 3001 SE (centre) + REL T-9 sub / Oppo BDP-103EU (MultiRegion+MultiZone)
Daffietje is offline  
post #17320 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 03:21 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
One last nagging Netflix in Roku question. I've tried depressing every button on the remote, but none will show the current rez of the Netflix stream being fed through the device. Is this option just unavailable or hidden somewhere? The info button only reveals the resolution output at which the Roku is currently set.

Last edited by vinnie97; 06-20-2014 at 03:24 PM.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #17321 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 03:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,580
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 2977
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post
Okay, it appears that rez is just showing the resolution that the Roku is outputting. Is it possible to get it to output in full HD?
The Roku does not scale 720 to 1080. It can scale 480 or less to 1080. Kind of confusing, but if your Roku is set right it will output 720 when the content is 720, and 1080 for everything else. I find the Roku works best on the 5K band, so I use that and keep everything else on the 2.4K band. I suggest you re-name your 5K network.
vinnie97 likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #17322 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 03:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,580
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 2977
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post
One last nagging Netflix in Roku question. I've tried depressing every button on the remote, but none will show the current rez of the Netflix stream being fed through the device. Is this option just unavailable or hidden somewhere?
The Oppo info display shows what the Roku is sending. Roku does not have a display like the Oppo does which shows what Netflix is sending.
vinnie97 likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #17323 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 03:37 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
The Oppo info display shows what the Roku is sending. Roku does not have a display like the Oppo does which shows what Netflix is sending.
Yep, that's the benefit of all on-board Netflix applications, I've found (LG, Panasonic, and Samsung Smart TVs along with the Oppo BDP). This is the first time I've used an accessory to access Netflix. That's a sacrifice I'll just have to live with to get the full benefit of all display options on the TV along with the benefit of the Roku screensaver.

On the previous question, I hadn't yet found the Roku settings in order to change the resolution output, but I have since...thanks all the same! Renaming is likely the best solution since there is no other easy way to differentiate the connection frequency (and it's not shown in the network settings post connection either).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #17324 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 03:37 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,214
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5787 Post(s)
Liked: 8259
^ You have to enable 1080p output in the Roku's own settings. Otherwise the best you'll get is 720p.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17325 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 03:39 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,214
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5787 Post(s)
Liked: 8259
^ Try the Netflix test stream "Example Short 23.976". It should put up yellow text showing the details of what's coming in from Netflix as it gears up and down in streaming rate.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17326 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,580
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 2977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Try the Netflix test stream "Example Short 23.976". It should put up yellow text showing the details of what's coming in from Netflix as it gears up and down in streaming rate.
--Bob
I'm not sure that this test stream has the yellow speed indicator any longer. At least it hasn't for me.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #17327 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 05:06 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
^I'll be sure to check it out to verify on this end, but you haven't steered me wrong yet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ You have to enable 1080p output in the Roku's own settings. Otherwise the best you'll get is 720p.
--Bob
Righto, I sought help too soon...hadn't yet discovered those settings when originally posting.

Now the next problem to overcome is the stuttered motion on camera pans, egads.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #17328 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 08:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,580
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 2977
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post
Now the next problem to overcome is the stuttered motion on camera pans, egads.
That's a sign of a slow connection. Sort out your wireless network issues and it should resolve.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #17329 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 08:49 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
It seems more like a pulldown cadence mismatch to me because the resolution is sharp (and whenever I have throughput problems, resolution is the first thing that diminishes). The only potential problem would be other 2.4Ghz traffic but the Oppo is merely feet away from (and below) the router, so I don't believe this to be a bandwidth/wireless transmission problem. Of course I could be wrong (wouldn't be the first).
vinnie97 is offline  
post #17330 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 08:53 PM
 
jsmiddleton4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 4,945
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1038 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Will the hdmi input on the back take a 3D input and then via the dual outs pass video on to a 3D TV and the audio to a non 1.3 receiver?

Last edited by jsmiddleton4; 06-20-2014 at 08:55 PM.
jsmiddleton4 is offline  
post #17331 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread

^ Vinnie97, If your Oppo is that close to your router, why not just ditch the overhead of WiFi and use a wired connection?
DanF8500 is offline  
post #17332 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 08:57 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
The Roku isn't designed to work any way but wirelessly.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #17333 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 09:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
^ Ok. I've never used one of those devices before. I noticed the Roku 3 supports wired ethernet.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #17334 of 25731 Old 06-20-2014, 09:15 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Yes, I took advantage of Oppo's $50 promotion (not sure what the standalones are, $100?) due to convenience and not wanting to add another component to the rat's nest. It's a nice accessory otherwise, just wish they could have incorporated it better when it comes to the network connectivity of the parent device.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #17335 of 25731 Old 06-21-2014, 04:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 564 Post(s)
Liked: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post
The Roku isn't designed to work any way but wirelessly.
Depends on the model. I have a Roku 2 XS, and it operates wirelessly or with wired Ethernet.

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #17336 of 25731 Old 06-21-2014, 10:09 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Sigh...I thought it was self-explanatory but apparently I should've been more specific. The Roku stick as offered by Oppo only connects wirelessly, unable to piggyback on the connection maintained by the Oppo.

Watching an M-Go movie rental for the first time last night and no stuttering. Netflix stuttering has now become intermittent, so I'll most certainly confirm I'm switched to 5Ghz here shortly.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #17337 of 25731 Old 06-21-2014, 10:36 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,214
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5787 Post(s)
Liked: 8259
^ I was just about to suggest that. 5GHz (if you are within range of a suitable base station) is far less likely to have throughput problems due to interference.

By the way, the quality on the native Netflix app is superior to what you'll get from the ROKU Stick Netflix app, so you should use the native app for Netflix -- and in fact for ALL the cases where there is a native app on the player.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #17338 of 25731 Old 06-21-2014, 11:16 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
Netflix was the primary reason I got the Roku. I absolutely must have the screensaver. Panasonic didn't put much effort in making their final plasmas IR resilient. I'm happy with the PQ.

Last edited by vinnie97; 06-21-2014 at 11:18 AM.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #17339 of 25731 Old 06-21-2014, 11:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,580
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3778 Post(s)
Liked: 2977
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post
Netflix was the primary reason I got the Roku. I absolutely must have the screensaver. Panasonic didn't put much effort in making their final plasmas IR resilient. I'm happy with the PQ.
Be that as it may, what Bob was saying is that the new Netflix interface, (as implemented on the Oppo), gets FAR better connection speed performance on any given network. (compared to the older interface used in the Roku)
rdgrimes is offline  
post #17340 of 25731 Old 06-21-2014, 11:46 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1014
I see. I didn't realize that, but the prioritization and optimization makes sense. I hope that new interface will eventually arrive on the Roku (I believe it only just recently came to the Oppo). I would just use the Netflix app on the Smart TV interface (updated last year), but that frustratingly disables certain settings within the picture quality preferences (that again relate to reducing IR risk). Everything is a compromise...

EDIT: I also wonder if the slower processor is precluding it from getting the latest Netflix interface. On Roku's product page, they advertise the 3 as having a processor that is 5x as powerful.

Last edited by vinnie97; 06-21-2014 at 11:54 AM.
vinnie97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off