Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 829 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10210Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24841 of 25781 Old 10-19-2017, 05:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
filmnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Thornton, CO
Posts: 1,152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 185 Post(s)
Liked: 172
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
What is the sensitivity of the carver input? What is the impedance and output voltage of the Oppo output?
I don't know about the Carver, but the Oppo's analog outs have an impedance of 100 ohms, with 2.1V RMS peak output voltage.

filmnut
filmnut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24842 of 25781 Old 10-19-2017, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
What is the sensitivity of the carver input? What is the impedance and output voltage of the Oppo output?
Input sensitivity, per the Carver service manual, is 1.3v RMS for rated power into 8 ohms at 1 kHz, also listed as 95mV rms for 1W output into 8 ohms at 1 kHz.

Oppo doesn't have this information in its manual, and I haven't located a review with this information.

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #24843 of 25781 Old 10-19-2017, 06:03 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
I never played it that loudly; seems unlikely I was clipping the inputs. The Carver m1.0t has an input impedance of 100k ohms; does that tell you anything?
If both units are operating correctly, It should work to use the Oppo to drive the Carver amp.

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24844 of 25781 Old 10-19-2017, 06:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
If both units are operating correctly, It should work to use the Oppo to drive the Carver amp.
As far as I know, both units work correctly, and I have had no problems with either of them (the Carver was repaired and brought up to factory spec just before Carver Corp shut down, and it sounds great with either my Denon AVR or the Carver C-1 preamp). So it "worked" to use the Oppo 103 as a preamp with the Carver amp, but it didn't sound very good.

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #24845 of 25781 Old 10-19-2017, 08:09 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
As far as I know, both units work correctly, and I have had no problems with either of them (the Carver was repaired and brought up to factory spec just before Carver Corp shut down, and it sounds great with either my Denon AVR or the Carver C-1 preamp). So it "worked" to use the Oppo 103 as a preamp with the Carver amp, but it didn't sound very good.
Have you tried the Oppo analog outs with anything else?

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #24846 of 25781 Old 10-20-2017, 04:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Have you tried the Oppo analog outs with anything else?
Yes, they work fine with my AVR and its AVR predecessor.

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #24847 of 25781 Old 10-20-2017, 05:55 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
(Puzzled)

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #24848 of 25781 Old 11-04-2017, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3942 Post(s)
Liked: 3645
I need some help conjuring up some black magic. It doesn't happen very often but when it does it drives me crazy. I'm talking about Windows networking. I had to reinstall Windows 10 Pro(1709) a few days ago and now my 103D can't access any folders on the PC. I have a user account setup on the PC and gave it password because as I recall that's what I had to do originally which worked perfectly fine for years. Now, I can't seem to get it to work. The 103D can access others machines on the network, that still works fine, it's this new(refreshed) PC that it can see, but can't open a folder. I'm looking for some help, thanks!

And I'm not using Home Network, just a standard network. And I think it's the settings in that "Advanced sharing settings" section that are tripping me up.
Keenan is offline  
post #24849 of 25781 Old 11-05-2017, 04:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 355
^^

Not sure if this is your problem, but I have found those "advanced sharing settings" to have changed after a Win 10 update was installed, locking me out from sharing my digital music files. It happened last month with the Fall Creators Update.

I have no password. My setting are Turn on network discovery, Turn on printer and file sharing, Turn off password protected sharing. I also look at my Music folder after an update to make sure that the Properties show the folder as "shared."

This may be superstition, but after I change these settings, I turn off the Oppo player, reboot the PC, then restart the player.

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #24850 of 25781 Old 11-05-2017, 04:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hometheatergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2,395
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I need some help conjuring up some black magic. It doesn't happen very often but when it does it drives me crazy. I'm talking about Windows networking. I had to reinstall Windows 10 Pro(1709) a few days ago and now my 103D can't access any folders on the PC. I have a user account setup on the PC and gave it password because as I recall that's what I had to do originally which worked perfectly fine for years. Now, I can't seem to get it to work. The 103D can access others machines on the network, that still works fine, it's this new(refreshed) PC that it can see, but can't open a folder. I'm looking for some help, thanks!

And I'm not using Home Network, just a standard network. And I think it's the settings in that "Advanced sharing settings" section that are tripping me up.
Check out the settings here in this article.

Hometheatergeek

aka AL
----------
My Current System
hometheatergeek is offline  
post #24851 of 25781 Old 11-05-2017, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3942 Post(s)
Liked: 3645
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
^^

Not sure if this is your problem, but I have found those "advanced sharing settings" to have changed after a Win 10 update was installed, locking me out from sharing my digital music files. It happened last month with the Fall Creators Update.

I have no password. My setting are Turn on network discovery, Turn on printer and file sharing, Turn off password protected sharing. I also look at my Music folder after an update to make sure that the Properties show the folder as "shared."

This may be superstition, but after I change these settings, I turn off the Oppo player, reboot the PC, then restart the player.
The below images reflect the settings I currently have and they're not working. I'm wondering if setting up Homegroup networking would make this easier, or, at least easier for me I guess. All I need to do is get back to plain old SMB file sharing and I can't seem to figure it out. I hate Windows.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Netsettings1.PNG
Views:	54
Size:	26.1 KB
ID:	2310598   Click image for larger version

Name:	Netsetting2.PNG
Views:	47
Size:	17.6 KB
ID:	2310600   Click image for larger version

Name:	Netsettings3.PNG
Views:	47
Size:	34.1 KB
ID:	2310602   Click image for larger version

Name:	Netsettings4.PNG
Views:	44
Size:	18.8 KB
ID:	2310604   Click image for larger version

Name:	Netsettings5.PNG
Views:	39
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	2310606  

Keenan is offline  
post #24852 of 25781 Old 11-05-2017, 03:56 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
I could be misremembering, and I also have stuck with Win 7, but I seem to remember one cannot share folders across a network without the sharing computer having a username and password set.

Jeff

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #24853 of 25781 Old 11-05-2017, 04:01 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3942 Post(s)
Liked: 3645
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
I could be misremembering, and I also have stuck with Win 7, but I seem to remember one cannot share folders across a network without the sharing computer having a username and password set.

Jeff
That's been my experience as well, and that did work until I had to do a fresh install which turned out to be the latest release(Creators 1709). I'm sure it comes down to a combination of the network settings, permissions, and a login/password. This system currently works on a Win 7 machine, and which I'll be using as a backup until I figure out what I've done wrong on the Win 10 machine.
Keenan is offline  
post #24854 of 25781 Old 11-05-2017, 04:23 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
This system currently works on a Win 7 machine, and which I'll be using as a backup until I figure out what I've done wrong on the Win 10 machine.
That’s an easy one; you’re using Windows 10.

Jeff
Keenan likes this.

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #24855 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 03:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 581 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
I could be misremembering, and I also have stuck with Win 7, but I seem to remember one cannot share folders across a network without the sharing computer having a username and password set.

Jeff
I have two Windows 10 computers that have no password, and plain old SMB file-sharing works fine unless a Windows update makes a change in the sharing settings. SMB file sharing also worked fine with Windows 7.

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #24856 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 06:32 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
I have two Windows 10 computers that have no password, and plain old SMB file-sharing works fine unless a Windows update makes a change in the sharing settings. SMB file sharing also worked fine with Windows 7.
There was a a problem with Windows 10, which may still exist, that broke SMB sharing as used by the OPPO.

I've read that the problem does not exist if a Windows 7 system is brought up FIRST on the network, followed by whatever Windows 10 setups you want to use.

I don't use Windows myself, so I've not been able to confirm the status of all this.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #24857 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 06:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,403
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 439
The problem may be that the latest creator's update for Win10 turns SMB1 off by default. SMB1 is considered to be insecure but some network streaming devices need it. You can turn it back on in the "Turn Windows features on and off" settings.
Bob Pariseau likes this.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #24858 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 06:49 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
^ The problem I was talking about actually showed up in the version of Windows 10 prior the the Creator's Edition (and may even be fixed in that newer version), but your comment on re-enabling SMB1 sharing for folks now using Creator's Edition is a good find!
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #24859 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 07:02 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,286
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 2320
^ Another fix that has worked for a number of people, which is a variation on what Bob mentioned above, is to ensure that a Windows 7 PC is configured as the "master browser" and the Windows 10 PC is explicitly configured to NOT be the master browser. This removes the requirement to ensure that the Windows 7 system boots up first.

My understanding is that re-enabling SMB1 isn't sufficient to resolve the problem, but confirmation from someone with only Windows 10 would be welcomed.
gsr is offline  
post #24860 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 10:10 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3942 Post(s)
Liked: 3645
I'm glad someone mentioned the latest Win10 and SMB, I had read something about that awhile back but didn't connect that it might possibly be related to the problem I'm having.

Looking at these settings, do I need to check the SMB Server box?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SMB settings.PNG
Views:	56
Size:	10.4 KB
ID:	2310948  
Keenan is offline  
post #24861 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 10:21 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3942 Post(s)
Liked: 3645
I guess I need to do some research, I've never heard of this "master browser" service before. I have 2 Win7 machines and 1 Win10, I guess I better learn what it means.

(and all I want to do is just watch my movies! )
Keenan is offline  
post #24862 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 10:53 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,286
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 2320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I guess I need to do some research, I've never heard of this "master browser" service before. I have 2 Win7 machines and 1 Win10, I guess I better learn what it means.

(and all I want to do is just watch my movies! )
Here are links to a few of the many discussions about the issue:

TenForums: 1703 Master Browser SMB Broke Again

Technet: Master Browser Service Broken After Creator Update
Keenan likes this.
gsr is offline  
post #24863 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 11:18 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3942 Post(s)
Liked: 3645
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Yep, I had pulled both of those pages up while looking around, and it sounds like it's way more complicated than it should be; Welcome to Windows!

Is there any advantage/disadvantage to setting up a Homegroup network to accomplish the goal I'm after?
Keenan is offline  
post #24864 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 11:26 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,286
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 2320
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Yep, I had pulled both of those pages up while looking around, and it sounds like it's way more complicated than it should be; Welcome to Windows!

Is there any advantage/disadvantage to setting up a Homegroup network to accomplish the goal I'm after?
I don't believe setting up a Homegroup would make a difference one way or the other.
gsr is offline  
post #24865 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 12:48 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,403
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 430 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Before you knock yourself out with the whole Master Browser complications, I would wait and see what fixes this month's Windows updates bring. You never know what they will choose to fix.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #24866 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3942 Post(s)
Liked: 3645
Eureka! I got it working. I had previously created a user account in the name of "oppo" and gave it a password and through various iterations of switches on and off in the networking/sharing pages, it still didn't work. I deleted the account and created a new account, same name, same password, selected the folder I wanted to share and did the "share with oppo" selection in the context menu. Still didn't work. I finally decided to check the "SMB 1.0/CIFS Server" box and I believe that's what did the trick. I say believe because I wasn't exactly scientific in my approach to all of this, frustrations levels rising and all that, but I did try and make one change per test, restarting the PC and disconnecting and reconnecting(network) the Oppo each time to see if there's was any change. I'm pretty sure it was the SMB switch. I hadn't tried it earlier as I'm not one to be changing things I know nothing about on such a convolutedly complex system such as Windows. If I get up the courage to turn the switch back off again I think I can post back a confirmation, I'm just not ready to look over the edge of that cliff yet after finally getting it working again!

And thanks for all the input, I knew the brains that populate this thread would come up with something that even if it didn't answer the question it would certainly lead to the answer one way or the other! Cheers!
gsr and kokishin like this.
Keenan is offline  
post #24867 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 01:03 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3942 Post(s)
Liked: 3645
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
Before you knock yourself out with the whole Master Browser complications, I would wait and see what fixes this month's Windows updates bring. You never know what they will choose to fix.
Or break!
gsr likes this.
Keenan is offline  
post #24868 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 01:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Eureka! I got it working. I had previously created a user account in the name of "oppo" and gave it a password and through various iterations of switches on and off in the networking/sharing pages, it still didn't work. I deleted the account and created a new account, same name, same password, selected the folder I wanted to share and did the "share with oppo" selection in the context menu. Still didn't work. I finally decided to check the "SMB 1.0/CIFS Server" box and I believe that's what did the trick. I say believe because I wasn't exactly scientific in my approach to all of this, frustrations levels rising and all that, but I did try and make one change per test, restarting the PC and disconnecting and reconnecting(network) the Oppo each time to see if there's was any change. I'm pretty sure it was the SMB switch. I hadn't tried it earlier as I'm not one to be changing things I know nothing about on such a convolutedly complex system such as Windows. If I get up the courage to turn the switch back off again I think I can post back a confirmation, I'm just not ready to look over the edge of that cliff yet after finally getting it working again!

And thanks for all the input, I knew the brains that populate this thread would come up with something that even if it didn't answer the question it would certainly lead to the answer one way or the other! Cheers!
You beat me too it but yes check that box as mine is checked and I have no issues. Both my PCs are Windows 10 so you don't need a Windows 7 PC.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
post #24869 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 01:29 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 34,080
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3942 Post(s)
Liked: 3645
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed1 View Post
You beat me too it but yes check that box as mine is checked and I have no issues. Both my PCs are Windows 10 so you don't need a Windows 7 PC.
So checking that box was the fix for you? I know it was mentioned above but I got the sense that it wasn't the only issue and that's why I didn't try it right away. Have you tried unchecking and seeing if the login/sharing fails?
Keenan is offline  
post #24870 of 25781 Old 11-06-2017, 01:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
So checking that box was the fix for you? I know it was mentioned above but I got the sense that it wasn't the only issue and that's why I didn't try it right away. Have you tried unchecking and seeing if the login/sharing fails?
Mine was not unchecked but I already have the Creators Update on both PCs and I had no issue with the OPPO seeing my PCs. I don't know why yours was unchecked. The one thing that does get hosed with each major Win10 update is the homegroup shares. But even though the homegroup is hosed the OPPO still works with my PC shares. I also don't use any pass words to protect my PCs as I am the only one using them and I am the administrator on both. This makes life real easy.
As for unchecking to see if it fails...Well I am not that brave. Don't mess with what works. You should see the procedure you have to go through in order to get the Home group working again.
Keenan likes this.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off