Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 830 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10201Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24871 of 25734 Old 11-06-2017, 02:08 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,939
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed1 View Post
Mine was not unchecked but I already have the Creators Update on both PCs and I had no issue with the OPPO seeing my PCs. I don't know why yours was unchecked. The one thing that does get hosed with each major Win10 update is the homegroup shares. But even though the homegroup is hosed the OPPO still works with my PC shares. I also don't use any pass words to protect my PCs as I am the only one using them and I am the administrator on both. This makes life real easy.
As for unchecking to see if it fails...Well I am not that brave. Don't mess with what works. You should see the procedure you have to go through in order to get the Home group working again.
Well, I may find out eventually as I'm going to wipe and re-install the OS very soon as I don't like how it sets up a user account based on a portion of the email address of the MS account used when you first install the OS. I should have loaded the OS by bypassing that step and now it's haunting me. I'm just not ready to go through all of that just yet though.

----

Okay, I just tested it by turning off the switch and that is most definitely the culprit, turning it off resulted in losing access to the folders, turning it back on again restored the ability to access the folders.

So, if anyone comes across this problem in the future, here is as least one answer that should fix the problem.

I'm running Win10 Pro, Ver. 1709, OS Build 16299.19
gsr likes this.

Last edited by Keenan; 11-06-2017 at 02:18 PM.
Keenan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24872 of 25734 Old 11-06-2017, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Well, I may find out eventually as I'm going to wipe and re-install the OS very soon as I don't like how it sets up a user account based on a portion of the email address of the MS account used when you first install the OS. I should have loaded the OS by bypassing that step and now it's haunting me. I'm just not ready to go through all of that just yet though.

----

Okay, I just tested it by turning off the switch and that is most definitely the culprit, turning it off resulted in losing access to the folders, turning it back on again restored the ability to access the folders.

So, if anyone comes across this problem in the future, here is as least one answer that should fix the problem.

I'm running Win10 Pro, Ver. 1709, OS Build 16299.19
Good to know. I did a clean install of Windows 10 from a disc in January and the shares worked without issue. I actually downloaded the image from Microsoft and burned a disc to do the clean install. I am planning on doing this again as it seems that these updates breaks something. This time my computer hangs on a cold start and requires me to hold the power button down to shut the machine off and after power up it will boot into Windows. This is one issue I had last year that made me do the clean install.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
post #24873 of 25734 Old 11-06-2017, 02:34 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,939
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3535
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed1 View Post
Good to know. I did a clean install of Windows 10 from a disc in January and the shares worked without issue. I actually downloaded the image from Microsoft and burned a disc to do the clean install. I am planning on doing this again as it seems that these updates breaks something. This time my computer hangs on a cold start and requires me to hold the power button down to shut the machine off and after power up it will boot into Windows. This is one issue I had last year that made me do the clean install.
I did the same with this install, DL'ed the ISO and loaded from it. And it's curious that you mention that cold start issue, I've had two times now where a restart seems to put the PC into a sleep mode instead of restarting and I have to power button it off and then back on again to boot into Windows.
Keenan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24874 of 25734 Old 11-06-2017, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 994
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 147 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I did the same with this install, DL'ed the ISO and loaded from it. And it's curious that you mention that cold start issue, I've had two times now where a restart seems to put the PC into a sleep mode instead of restarting and I have to power button it off and then back on again to boot into Windows.
Yep that sounds like the problem here but mine does it all the time I try to power off the PC and restart it. Microsoft has gotten really sloppy with these upgrades as I never had these type if issues before the Windows 10 concept especially with these last 3 major updates.
Until today I never seen your issue and I would have never thought of checking those screens out. It would have been just another reason to do a clean install. I also think the methods we have been using over the last decade, like using the OPPO to stream from a home library, is being abandoned.
I have TiVo's and the new Hydra UI has eliminated the transfers from PCs to TiVo's and some of the long time users are miffed. Some of us has NAS that you can offload your TiVo recordings for storage. I you want to still go that route then you have to keep your units on the old UI, which TiVo said they are no longer going to update.
Keenan likes this.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
post #24875 of 25734 Old 11-06-2017, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 439
I just did the normal update from the Windows 10 pro 1703 to the 1709 version and the only problem I had was that I had to re-install the drivers for my two wireless printers. I also had to turn the SMB1 on but I knew that would be necessary. Everything has worked fine. Maybe, I have been lucky, but I have had very few things broken by Windows updates over the last decade or so. Windows XP would lock up my computer once a week and had to be freshly installed once a year or it would get exceedingly slow. I was ready to give up on Windows until Win7 came out. Since Window 7, through 8 (that was a fresh install because it was a new computer), 8.1 and now 10, my problems have been few and far between and I have always chosen to go the update route rather than a fresh install.
Keenan likes this.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #24876 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 06:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,073
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
I'm glad someone mentioned the latest Win10 and SMB, I had read something about that awhile back but didn't connect that it might possibly be related to the problem I'm having.

Looking at these settings, do I need to check the SMB Server box?
Regarding the image you posted, where do I find these settings in Win 10 Pro?

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is offline  
post #24877 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 09:44 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,939
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3535
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Regarding the image you posted, where do I find these settings in Win 10 Pro?
It's on the Programs and Features page in Control Panel. Click on Turn Windows features on or off. Expand the SMB section and it's the last one, "Server" that did the trick for me, make sure that's checked.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ProgramsFeatures.PNG
Views:	102
Size:	11.5 KB
ID:	2311512   Click image for larger version

Name:	programsFeatures2.PNG
Views:	119
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	2311514   Click image for larger version

Name:	ProgramsFeatures3.PNG
Views:	120
Size:	36.1 KB
ID:	2311516   Click image for larger version

Name:	programsfeatures4.PNG
Views:	92
Size:	5.0 KB
ID:	2311518  
kokishin likes this.

Last edited by Keenan; 11-07-2017 at 09:49 AM.
Keenan is online now  
post #24878 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 09:57 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,073
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
It's on the Programs and Features page in Control Panel. Click on Turn Windows features on or off. Expand the SMB section and it's the last one, "Server" that did the trick for me, make sure that's checked.
Found it. Thanks.

My SMB 1.0/CIFS checkbox does not offer a drop down and SMB Direct is not checked. However, My Oppo 103 works with my Win 10 Pro machine so I have no inclination nor guts to change anything.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Windows_Features.jpg
Views:	840
Size:	181.4 KB
ID:	2311526  

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is offline  
post #24879 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 10:25 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,939
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3535
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Found it. Thanks.

My SMB 1.0/CIFS checkbox does not offer a drop down and SMB Direct is not checked. However, My Oppo 103 works with my Win 10 Pro machine so I have no inclination nor guts to change anything.
What version of Win Pro 10? This SMB 1.0 thing is something that changes with the Creators release(I have 1709-16299.19), I believe anyhow. The SMB change was mentioned in this thread some time ago, folks were discussing what might happen with the change. This thread or one of the other Oppo threads, I don't recall for sure.
Keenan is online now  
post #24880 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 10:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,073
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
What version of Win Pro 10? This SMB 1.0 thing is something that changes with the Creators release(I have 1709-16299.19), I believe anyhow. The SMB change was mentioned in this thread some time ago, folks were discussing what might happen with the change. This thread or one of the other Oppo threads, I don't recall for sure.
Win 10 Pro 1703-15063.674. It was originally a Win 7 Pro machine which was upgraded via the Win 10 freebie upgrade program. Windows Update is current.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is offline  
post #24881 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,939
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3535
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Win 10 Pro 1703-15063.674. It was originally a Win 7 Pro machine which was upgraded via the Win 10 freebie upgrade program. Windows Update is current.
I ended up on 1709 because I was having problems with the SiliconDust DVR app and was advised that their development efforts were concentrated on the latest release. I couldn't get my current install to update(it was behind in fact) without an error so I wiped it and did a fresh install with the latest OS.
Keenan is online now  
post #24882 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Win 10 Pro 1703-15063.674. It was originally a Win 7 Pro machine which was upgraded via the Win 10 freebie upgrade program. Windows Update is current.
You won't see the issue until you upgrade to 1709. 1709 turns off SMB1 by default because it is supposed to be unsecure. Unfortunately, many streaming devices need SMB1 to work properly with files on a Windows computer. At least, 1709 does allow you to turn it back on.
Keenan likes this.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #24883 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 01:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,073
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzGuyy View Post
You won't see the issue until you upgrade to 1709. 1709 turns off SMB1 by default because it is supposed to be unsecure. Unfortunately, many streaming devices need SMB1 to work properly with files on a Windows computer. At least, 1709 does allow you to turn it back on.
Thanks to both you and @Keenan for the heads up on 1709.

Separately, I read that some folks don't password protect their Windows SMB accounts. I password protect all accounts. I created a password protected user account for my Oppo that only allows access to the folders that have my rips.
gsr likes this.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is offline  
post #24884 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 01:22 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,939
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3535
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Thanks to both you and @Keenan for the heads up on 1709.

Separately, I read that some folks don't password protect their Windows SMB accounts. I password protect all accounts. I created a password protected user account for my Oppo that only allows access to the folders that have my rips.
That's what I have, to be honest, I don't know how to do it any other way. I'm sure it's a setting somewhere that allows for password-less connections.
Keenan is online now  
post #24885 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 01:29 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,945
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1485 Post(s)
Liked: 898
Is there a thread for this Windows 10 chatter? Just sayin'.

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #24886 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,939
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3535
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Is there a thread for this Windows 10 chatter? Just sayin'.
Sorry, I've tried to keep my posts brief.

And it does relate to the 103/D in the sense that it concerns the media server access function of the device. It's not like this thread has been a hotbed of activity anyway since the 200 series units have been out.
Keenan is online now  
post #24887 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 01:38 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,945
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1485 Post(s)
Liked: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
Sorry, I've tried to keep my posts brief.

And it does relate to the 103/D in the sense that it concerns the media server access function of the device. It's not like this thread has been a hotbed of activity anyway since the 200 series units have been out.
Well it's especially annoying for those of us who have stayed with 7 in resistance to Windows 10 Spyware Edition.
Keenan likes this.

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #24888 of 25734 Old 11-07-2017, 09:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,073
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Is there a thread for this Windows 10 chatter? Just sayin'.
This "chatter" as you put it, is on point for implementing SMB between the Oppo 103 and Win 10. Other than Oppo, I'm not aware of other disc players that even implement SMB support. Most of the competition only implement DLNA. Therefore, this "chatter" would not be appropriate in the Win 10 thread. Anyway, this Oppo 103/SMB discussion is probably concluded for now until MS screws around with SMB support in some future release.
Ralarcon and Keenan like this.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is offline  
post #24889 of 25734 Old 11-08-2017, 04:29 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,945
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1485 Post(s)
Liked: 898
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
....Anyway, this Oppo 103/SMB discussion is probably concluded for now until MS screws around with SMB support in some future release.
Yes, exactly.

Jeff

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #24890 of 25734 Old 11-12-2017, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
TheDudeAbides's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 31
No video on bluray-dvd

Anyone have this problem? My 103 has been working great, but just started to not play video on blu-ray or DVD (it does play audio).... plays Netflix and the home screen fine on video...

I tried to fiddle with video settings, tried both outputs and reset to factory.... still not working.

Thoughts?

"The Dude abides. I don't know about you but I take comfort in that. It's good knowin' he's out there. The Dude. Takin' 'er easy for all us sinners. Shoosh. I sure hope he makes the finals."
TheDudeAbides is offline  
post #24891 of 25734 Old 11-12-2017, 07:14 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,226
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5795 Post(s)
Liked: 8267
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDudeAbides View Post
Anyone have this problem? My 103 has been working great, but just started to not play video on blu-ray or DVD (it does play audio).... plays Netflix and the home screen fine on video...

I tried to fiddle with video settings, tried both outputs and reset to factory.... still not working.

Thoughts?
Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support. They can help you sort this out. Your player may need service, but there are things you can try first such as a Reset Factory Defaults and a re-install of the firmware.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #24892 of 25734 Old 11-13-2017, 07:46 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Lloyd-TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bellaire & Sugar Land, Texas
Posts: 298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDudeAbides View Post
Anyone have this problem? My 103 has been working great, but just started to not play video on blu-ray or DVD (it does play audio).... plays Netflix and the home screen fine on video...

I tried to fiddle with video settings, tried both outputs and reset to factory.... still not working.

Thoughts?
My 103 does this from time-to-time, and so far performing a "hard reboot" (unplugging from the wall for a couple of minutes) has always fixed mine.
Hope this helps!

Best regards,
Lloyd C.

Lloyd-TX is offline  
post #24893 of 25734 Old 11-13-2017, 08:46 AM
Member
 
jskang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
This is a bit off topic, but since I had seen mentions of SMBv1 in here as related to accessing network shares from the Oppo (and other devices), I thought it might be helpful to point out that beginning with CLEAN installs of the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update version, MS has removed SMBv1 from the network protocol stack. Systems updated to the Fall Creators Update will still have it, though.

This is all according to https://www.techrepublic.com/article...eators-update/

Apologies if this has already been brought up and discussed.
jskang is offline  
post #24894 of 25734 Old 11-13-2017, 08:48 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,226
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5795 Post(s)
Liked: 8267
Quote:
Originally Posted by jskang View Post
This is a bit off topic, but since I had seen mentions of SMBv1 in here as related to accessing network shares from the Oppo (and other devices), I thought it might be helpful to point out that beginning with CLEAN installs of the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update version, MS has removed SMBv1 from the network protocol stack. Systems updated to the Fall Creators Update will still have it, though.

This is all according to https://www.techrepublic.com/article...eators-update/

Apologies if this has already been brought up and discussed.
There's been a report in the 203 thread that you can reenable SMB 1 in Windows 10 after the update in the install Windows features settings.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #24895 of 25734 Old 11-13-2017, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmacari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Cranston, RI
Posts: 739
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 285 Post(s)
Liked: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lloyd-TX View Post
My 103 does this from time-to-time, and so far performing a "hard reboot" (unplugging from the wall for a couple of minutes) has always fixed mine.
Hope this helps!
I do the same...usually for network related problems (hard-wired, DLNA server)

Anthem MRX-720,Outlaw 7500 5ch amp, B&K ST 202 amp
Oppo BDP-103, Sony XBR-65X930D, Rotel RP-855, Phillips BDP-7501
Paradigm Studio 100 Fronts, Martin Logan Motion LX16 rears,Martin Logan Motion 2's
Paradigm Studio cc-590 Center, Martin Logan Dynamo subwoofer, DefTech Supercube 4000
Roku Ultra, DIRECTV 4K Genie HR-54 DVR, C61K-700, OPPO Sonica DAC, Amazon Fire TV
jmacari is offline  
post #24896 of 25734 Old 11-13-2017, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Keenan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 33,939
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3831 Post(s)
Liked: 3535
Quote:
Originally Posted by jskang View Post
This is a bit off topic, but since I had seen mentions of SMBv1 in here as related to accessing network shares from the Oppo (and other devices), I thought it might be helpful to point out that beginning with CLEAN installs of the Windows 10 Fall Creators Update version, MS has removed SMBv1 from the network protocol stack. Systems updated to the Fall Creators Update will still have it, though.

This is all according to https://www.techrepublic.com/article...eators-update/

Apologies if this has already been brought up and discussed.
It's still there, you just have to re-enable it. See this post from a few days ago. I have a clean install of 1709 and re-enabling fixes the problem.
Keenan is online now  
post #24897 of 25734 Old 11-14-2017, 08:23 AM
Member
 
jskang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keenan View Post
It's still there, you just have to re-enable it. See this post from a few days ago. I have a clean install of 1709 and re-enabling fixes the problem.
Interesting that it's still there (just disabled) with a clean install. I wonder why they would say it's removed when it's not. Oh, well. Thanks for the pointer to that prior post. I'd read it but hadn't realized that you were talking about the Fall Creators Update version in that post. I'm still waiting to get it on my work system but I'm on the deferred business channel.
jskang is offline  
post #24898 of 25734 Old 11-20-2017, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
barhoram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,692
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 268 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Can the 103 handle any 4K resolutions on either of the HDMI Inputs? or are those restricted to 1080p?

I don't really like talking about my flair
barhoram is offline  
post #24899 of 25734 Old 11-20-2017, 08:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JazzGuyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Oro Valley AZ
Posts: 3,401
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 429 Post(s)
Liked: 439
It only upscales to 4K but cannot accept any 4K input or discs.

JazzGuyy is offline  
post #24900 of 25734 Old 11-20-2017, 09:00 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,226
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5795 Post(s)
Liked: 8267
Quote:
Originally Posted by barhoram View Post
Can the 103 handle any 4K resolutions on either of the HDMI Inputs? or are those restricted to 1080p?
The OPPO 10x players can not play or pass through ANY content which is already 4K. They can Up-Scale lower resolution content to 4K output, but can not play anything that is already 4K. This includes the HDMI Inputs.
--Bob
fgsouza likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off