Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 834 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10210Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #24991 of 25781 Old 01-29-2018, 11:31 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
Turn all cable modems, routers and switches off, then turn them on starting with the cable modem and proceeding “down the line.”

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24992 of 25781 Old 01-29-2018, 11:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Check that the Ethernet plug is fully inserted — both ends. You should feel and hear the click.

Temporarily hook up via WiFi. If WiFi works better then you may have flow overruns in your wired setup due to a mix of Gigabit and 100 Megabit hardware without flow control enabled. (WiFi imposes flow control.)
—Bob
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Turn all cable modems, routers and switches off, then turn them on starting with the cable modem and proceeding “down the line.”

Tried a new cable, solid clicks. No idea where the dongle us cuz I always used Ethernet. Tried a settings reset, not a total reset to factory, no go.

Will reboot router but all other devices working fine connected and wireless.

thx

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #24993 of 25781 Old 01-29-2018, 12:00 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Tried a new cable, solid clicks. No idea where the dongle us cuz I always used Ethernet. Tried a settings reset, not a total reset to factory, no go.

Will reboot router but all other devices working fine connected and wireless.

thx

bob
If *ANY* of the devices on your house network are using fixed IP addresses, check that you don't have a conflict. Even if they are all using addresses supplied via DHCP from the router, check that you don't have a conflict. The type of sudden failure you've experienced could easily result if more than one device is trying to use the same IP address -- either due to fixed address assignment or because the router got confused and handed the same address to two different devices.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24994 of 25781 Old 01-29-2018, 12:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
If *ANY* of the devices on your house network are using fixed IP addresses, check that you don't have a conflict. Even if they are all using addresses supplied via DHCP from the router, check that you don't have a conflict. The type of sudden failure you've experienced could easily result if more than one device is trying to use the same IP address -- either due to fixed address assignment or because the router got confused and handed the same address to two different devices.
--Bob

Router reboot fixed it! Thanks, Bob!

spongebob is offline  
post #24995 of 25781 Old 01-29-2018, 01:09 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
It might be a good idea to check IP addresses. Any that are static/assigned should be from outside of the DHCP pool.

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #24996 of 25781 Old 01-31-2018, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Anyone here use a 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable from a IR repeater to the IR IN port in the back? I rather not have to use those IR receivers in the front. And if so, which brand of IR repeater?

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System
gossamer88 is offline  
post #24997 of 25781 Old 01-31-2018, 01:27 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
I don't think it works like that.

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #24998 of 25781 Old 01-31-2018, 02:10 PM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
I don't think it works like that.
What do you mean? IR repeaters have the same jack as the oppo?s IR port. Instead of using those cable that have to hang on the front of the Oppo.

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System
gossamer88 is offline  
post #24999 of 25781 Old 01-31-2018, 02:30 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer88 View Post
Anyone here use a 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable from a IR repeater to the IR IN port in the back? I rather not have to use those IR receivers in the front. And if so, which brand of IR repeater?
OPPO has one on their web store:

http://www.oppodigital.com/proddetail.asp?prod=IRES2

--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25000 of 25781 Old 01-31-2018, 02:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,716
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3847 Post(s)
Liked: 3085
Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer88 View Post
Anyone here use a 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable from a IR repeater to the IR IN port in the back? I rather not have to use those IR receivers in the front. And if so, which brand of IR repeater?
Page 21 of the online manual. You should check with Oppo support with the specifics on the hardware you wish to use. But that's mainly what that port is there for.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #25001 of 25781 Old 01-31-2018, 02:51 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
I think the OP wants to skip emitters and receivers and hardwire the emitter PORT to the receiver PORT. At least that's the way his question reads to me. I could be wrong though ...

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater

Last edited by pepar; 01-31-2018 at 02:54 PM.
pepar is offline  
post #25002 of 25781 Old 01-31-2018, 05:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
I think the OP wants to skip emitters and receivers and hardwire the emitter PORT to the receiver PORT. At least that's the way his question reads to me. I could be wrong though ...
Yes, thanks for being more succinct.

I saw the one at Oppo's site but I need to reach my AVR as well and I don't like those that I have to put in front of the IR receiver.

Here's the one I was looking at:

https://www.amazon.com/BAFX-Products.../dp/B009ZGK6QS

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System
gossamer88 is offline  
post #25003 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 09:18 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
@gossamer88 , the rear IR connection is for an IR receiver. You still need to place an IR emitter somewhere that the rear IR receiver "sees" it. This scheme does eliminate the need to affix an emitter to blast the front IR receiver.



Jeff

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #25004 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 09:41 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,286
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 2320
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
@gossamer88 , the rear IR connection is for an IR receiver. You still need to place an IR emitter somewhere that the rear IR receiver "sees" it. This scheme does eliminate the need to affix an emitter to blast the front IR receiver.
Actually, that's not correct. The IR input connection on rear panel of the Oppo BDP-10x players is a 2 wire connection (tip is signal, sleeve is ground) that is intended to be used instead of an IR emitter and can be wired directly to a controller with 2 wire IR outputs, such as Crestron, Logitech Harmony, Niles, Xantech, etc.

Some of the older Oppo's, such as the BDP-83 used a 3 wire connection that was intended to be connected to an IR receiver, but IIRC you could wire up just the signal and ground connections, leaving the power connection disconnected, if you wanted a direct connection to a 2 wire IR output.
gsr is offline  
post #25005 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 09:47 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsr View Post
Actually, that's not correct. The IR input connection on rear panel of the Oppo BDP-10x players is a 2 wire connection (tip is signal, sleeve is ground) that is intended to be used instead of an IR emitter and can be wired directly to a controller with 2 wire IR outputs, such as Crestron, Logitech Harmony, Niles, Xantech, etc.

Some of the older Oppo's, such as the BDP-83 used a 3 wire connection that was intended to be connected to an IR receiver, but IIRC you could wire up just the signal and ground connections, leaving the power connection disconnected, if you wanted a direct connection to a 2 wire IR output.
Your info is deeper than mine. Perhaps you could review what gossamer88 was looking at to use and/or route him to something that will?

Or will the output of any IR repeater work with that input?

Jeff

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #25006 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 10:04 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
^ Pretty much all will work, so long as they are not trying to draw power from that jack. The OPPO does not need anything unusual.

—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25007 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 10:07 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Pretty much all will work, so long as they are not trying to draw power from that jack. The OPPO does not need anything unusual.

—Bob
What about feeding power TO the jack? I'd guess a repeater has output voltage to drive the emitter.

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #25008 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 10:53 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,286
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 2320
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Your info is deeper than mine. Perhaps you could review what gossamer88 was looking at to use and/or route him to something that will?

Or will the output of any IR repeater work with that input?
I have no direct experience with the specific product he was looking at, but it will probably work with a direct cable connection between one of the outputs and the input on the Oppo. I can say with a high level of confidence (100%, to be exact) that it WILL work directly connected to Crestron and Xantech IR emitter outputs. Crestron would be a LOT more expensive and much more complicated than the option he's looking at, but Xantech would only be a little more expensive and is sort of like the Xerox of IR repeater equipment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
What about feeding power TO the jack? I'd guess a repeater has output voltage to drive the emitter.
The signal connection is essentially a variable amount of pulsed power, so all that's needed is that and the ground connection.
gsr is offline  
post #25009 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 180
I reached out to Oppo. They said I would need to check with the specifications on the IR repeater. If it supports direct IR to the player with a 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable, it should work.

If I do get the one from amazon, I would only use the IR receiver and get two 3.5mm to 3.5mm cables. I'll report back results. Thanks all.
pepar likes this.

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System
gossamer88 is offline  
post #25010 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 11:04 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,286
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1934 Post(s)
Liked: 2320
Quote:
Originally Posted by gossamer88 View Post
I reached out to Oppo. They said I would need to check with the specifications on the IR repeater. If it supports direct IR to the player with a 3.5mm to 3.5mm cable, it should work.

If I do get the one from amazon, I would only use the IR receiver and get two 3.5mm to 3.5mm cables. I'll report back results. Thanks all.
Chances are pretty good that the product you linked to on Amazon will work just fine. But going with a similar product from a more well-known brand in the IR repeater world such as Xantech or Niles would make it a certainty.
gsr is offline  
post #25011 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 04:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Spoke to soon. Internet connection spotty and intermittent again. Did full factory reset, no go.

Any thing else to check or change. Worked perfect for so long. Again; Ethernet 250 mb connection. No trouble on any other device.

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #25012 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 04:26 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,977
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1501 Post(s)
Liked: 926
I have had Ethernet switch ports go dodgy and fail. Before they failed they were intermittent. FWIW.

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #25013 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
I have had Ethernet switch ports go dodgy and fail. Before they failed they were intermittent. FWIW.

Thanks, anyone have a spare dongle?

spongebob is offline  
post #25014 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 05:23 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Thanks, anyone have a spare dongle?

Talk to OPPO. Your player may need service, although I strongly suspect the problem is in your house network setup and *NOT* in the player.

I think it’s a pretty good bet your Router is misconfigured — likely in how it hands out IP addresses.

They can also get you a WiFi dongle. They aren’t expensive.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25015 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 05:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Talk to OPPO. Your player may need service, although I strongly suspect the problem is in your house network setup and *NOT* in the player.

I think it’s a pretty good bet your Router is misconfigured — likely in how it hands out IP addresses.

They can also get you a WiFi dongle. They aren’t expensive.
—Bob

Maybe, but my network is rock solid on every other device. I have a high end cable modem and high end TP link router. Any settings to change DHCP or ?


bob
spongebob is offline  
post #25016 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 05:58 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Maybe, but my network is rock solid on every other device. I have a high end cable modem and high end TP link router. Any settings to change DHCP or ?


bob
What you’ve described sounds like your Router is assigning the same IP address to more than one device.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25017 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 06:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Can I use any generic wireless usb adaptor or does it have to be OPPO?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #25018 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 07:06 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,273
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5829 Post(s)
Liked: 8303
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post
Can I use any generic wireless usb adaptor or does it have to be OPPO?

bob
If you are asking about the Wifi dongle, it has to be OPPO. The player only has the Wifi driver for the dongle provided by OPPO.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25019 of 25781 Old 02-01-2018, 09:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 3,423
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 439 Post(s)
Liked: 41
OK

thx
spongebob is offline  
post #25020 of 25781 Old 02-02-2018, 02:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
gossamer88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 298 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Talk to OPPO. Your player may need service, although I strongly suspect the problem is in your house network setup and *NOT* in the player.

I think it’s a pretty good bet your Router is misconfigured — likely in how it hands out IP addresses.

They can also get you a WiFi dongle. They aren’t expensive.
—Bob
My 103 came with the Wi-Fi dongle. In fact, I'm using the USB extender that also was in the box for a better reach.

LG OLED 65C7P • Apple TV 4K • Roku Ultra 2018 • Oppo BDP-103 Blu-ray • LG UP970 UHD BD
Denon X3400H AVR • Paradigm Cinema 110 CT Speaker System
gossamer88 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off