Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 839 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10201Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #25141 of 25734 Old 04-07-2018, 05:52 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,949
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1488 Post(s)
Liked: 901
Sony, Samsung, LG, etc, etc, etc, don’t have that problem.

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25142 of 25734 Old 04-08-2018, 02:24 AM
Member
 
coffeecup45's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Does anyone know how to force flash firmware to a bricked 103. It does not display video anymore and the drive has no response. This happened a few years ago in the summer I was updating the firmware and there was a severe thunderstorm and power went out for like 10 seconds and came on but it was to late the player is now bricked. Had it sitting in a closet and would like to know if there is anyway to get it working again. I wonder if I can still send it to Oppo, but if there is a quick do it yourself fix I'd like to try that. I replaced it with the 203 and 205 so it became less of a priority to fix it but now I'd like to see if I can get it running again.
coffeecup45 is offline  
post #25143 of 25734 Old 04-08-2018, 04:52 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,228
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5795 Post(s)
Liked: 8267
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeecup45 View Post
Does anyone know how to force flash firmware to a bricked 103. It does not display video anymore and the drive has no response. This happened a few years ago in the summer I was updating the firmware and there was a severe thunderstorm and power went out for like 10 seconds and came on but it was to late the player is now bricked. Had it sitting in a closet and would like to know if there is anyway to get it working again. I wonder if I can still send it to Oppo, but if there is a quick do it yourself fix I'd like to try that. I replaced it with the 203 and 205 so it became less of a priority to fix it but now I'd like to see if I can get it running again.
Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support and they’ll be able to help you. Odds are the player will need service. Reasonably priced flat rate service is still available.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25144 of 25734 Old 04-08-2018, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 567 Post(s)
Liked: 338
People have cited certain Sony players (UBP-X800, UBP-X1000ES) as replacements for the 103 and 203 players with numerous comparable features: The Sony and Oppo players will play DVD-A, DVD, SACD, CD, and CD-R/DVD-R data discs containing music or video files.

I'm happy with my 103 but am wondering about what to replace it with if it breaks and repair isn't available (despite Oppo's promises)

I don't care about the absence of analog outputs on the Sony players, but none of the Sony owners have answered questions I've posted on their forum about whether the Sony models can stream hi-resolution FLAC, WAV, and DSD-64 files over a home network. The Sony manual lists these filetypes, but each has a footnote saying they may not play over a home network.

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #25145 of 25734 Old 04-08-2018, 11:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,626
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3802 Post(s)
Liked: 2997
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
I'm happy with my 103 but am wondering about what to replace it with if it breaks and repair isn't available (despite Oppo's promises)
.
I think you can rely on a supply of used 103/103D players for at least another 5-7 years if not more. Those also contain parts and can be used for that purpose too. Oppo has also indicated that in the end they will farm out the repair/support to a 3rd party provider.

I use my 103D for ripping SACD among other things, and have been considering getting a used one just to have it on hand.
Keenan likes this.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #25146 of 25734 Old 04-08-2018, 12:03 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,351
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 742
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
...but none of the Sony owners have answered questions I've posted on their forum about whether the Sony models can stream hi-resolution FLAC, WAV, and DSD-64 files over a home network.
Strange... There can't be many audiophiles out there in Sony player land

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #25147 of 25734 Old 04-08-2018, 12:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6,827
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2612 Post(s)
Liked: 1250
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
People have cited certain Sony players (UBP-X800, UBP-X1000ES) as replacements for the 103 and 203 players with numerous comparable features: The Sony and Oppo players will play DVD-A, DVD, SACD, CD, and CD-R/DVD-R data discs containing music or video files.

I'm happy with my 103 but am wondering about what to replace it with if it breaks and repair isn't available (despite Oppo's promises)

I don't care about the absence of analog outputs on the Sony players, but none of the Sony owners have answered questions I've posted on their forum about whether the Sony models can stream hi-resolution FLAC, WAV, and DSD-64 files over a home network. The Sony manual lists these filetypes, but each has a footnote saying they may not play over a home network.
Have you checked out the Auralic Aries Mini? It is a pretty capable home network audio streamer that isnt budget busting.
Ruined is online now  
post #25148 of 25734 Old 04-08-2018, 12:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,351
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruined View Post
Have you checked out the Auralic Aries Mini? It is a pretty capable home network audio streamer that isnt budget busting.
But no shiny disc support

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #25149 of 25734 Old 04-08-2018, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Waboman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The Leaky Tiki
Posts: 16,644
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6934 Post(s)
Liked: 15544
I don't think any player can truly replace an Oppo. Oppo was the reason the mainstreams had to up their game to what they are now. With no Oppo to push the envelope, the mainstreams will go back to plastic mediocrity.
pepar and Mike_WI like this.

__________________________________________________
Take life with a grain of salt... a slice of lime, and a shot of tequila
Waboman is online now  
post #25150 of 25734 Old 04-08-2018, 12:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,351
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 983 Post(s)
Liked: 742
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
I don't think any player can truly replace an Oppo. Oppo was the reason the mainstreams had to up their game to what they are now. With no Oppo to push the envelope, the mainstreams will go back to plastic mediocrity.
Agreed... I don't think we'll see a truly universal disc spinner with networking capabilities that offers multi-channel analogue outputs, from any device manufacturer ever again

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #25151 of 25734 Old 04-08-2018, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6,827
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2612 Post(s)
Liked: 1250
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
But no shiny disc support
Yeh but for digital network and internet streaming it supports a lot of stuff even the Oppo doesn't. This is a case where having separate devices instead of an all in one might get you more flexibility.
Ruined is online now  
post #25152 of 25734 Old 04-09-2018, 04:45 AM
Member
 
coffeecup45's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Get in touch with OPPO Tech Support and they’ll be able to help you. Odds are the player will need service. Reasonably priced flat rate service is still available.
—Bob
Was hoping for a quick do it yourself fix but I guess I'll have to contact Oppo sometime this month and send this player in for service.
coffeecup45 is offline  
post #25153 of 25734 Old 04-09-2018, 05:24 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,228
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5795 Post(s)
Liked: 8267
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeecup45 View Post
Was hoping for a quick do it yourself fix but I guess I'll have to contact Oppo sometime this month and send this player in for service.
If there’s a do it yourself fix, they will walk you through that. But the options are limited if the firmware install was interrupted during the Installing phase. In the shop they can open it up and reset the firmware with special tools.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 04-09-2018 at 02:42 PM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25154 of 25734 Old 04-09-2018, 05:47 AM
Member
 
coffeecup45's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
If there’s a do it yourself fix, they will walk you through that. But the options are limited if the firmware install was interruoted during the Installing phase. In the shop they can open it up and reset the firmware with special tools.
—Bob
Thanks for chiming in on this issue, it's appreciated. I don't have special tools and I would like it fixed since Oppo Digital is not making players anymore it's worth it. Lesson to learn here is never upgrade firmware on any BD player during a severe thunderstorm in case of power outage At the moment I have a beautiful brick on my hands with the Oppo logo.
coffeecup45 is offline  
post #25155 of 25734 Old 04-09-2018, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ralarcon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 332 Post(s)
Liked: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waboman View Post
I don't think any player can truly replace an Oppo. Oppo was the reason the mainstreams had to up their game to what they are now. With no Oppo to push the envelope, the mainstreams will go back to plastic mediocrity.
Frankly guys, the sky is not "falling".

Cheers
Ralarcon is offline  
post #25156 of 25734 Old 04-09-2018, 12:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,356
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeecup45 View Post
Thanks for chiming in on this issue, it's appreciated. I don't have special tools and I would like it fixed since Oppo Digital is not making players anymore it's worth it. Lesson to learn here is never upgrade firmware on any BD player during a severe thunderstorm in case of power outage At the moment I have a beautiful brick on my hands with the Oppo logo.
A UPS would have come in handy. I never do anything (like firmware updates or disk backups/restores) unless there is a UPS in place. Though I probably would still have waited for the thunderstorm to pass, but even then around here you really never know just when the power is going to go away...

Plus all my important internet things are done via hard-wired ethernet connection whenever that's an option.
fmalczewski is online now  
post #25157 of 25734 Old 04-09-2018, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,626
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3802 Post(s)
Liked: 2997
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeecup45 View Post
Was hoping for a quick do it yourself fix but I guess I'll have to contact Oppo sometime this month and send this player in for service.
It can be recovered, as long as it didn't receive a current spike. But it won't matter cause the service is flat rate no matter what it needs.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #25158 of 25734 Old 04-10-2018, 11:07 AM
Senior Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 99
DSD & Dual Display set up

Hey there -

Thanks in advance and as always for the help.

Always evolving the system, I ran into a new hiccup that I hope you can help with.

Added DSD/DSF files into the mix, and I understand that the Oppo can only play them through HDMI 2. Ok, added HDMI connection to the receiver. All was good when playing DSF files over the network, through the Oppo, to my Marantz 7010, using the Oppo app as a control point.

However, today I went to play a movie and had no sound. Also had no audio on files on my NAS. Only was able to get audio from Pandora played on the Marantz. Hadn't changed any of my settings. When I switched to the Aux input I had plugged HDMI 2 into, I didn't have any video source. No menu from the Oppo. Just the blank Marantz logo page.

Went back to the Oppo and switched to Dual Display HDMI and got my audio back from HDMI 1. However, in the manual P 53, it says using Dual Display "the surround
sound audio signal may be down-mixed to stereo and the original audio quality may be lost." So this would defeat the purpose of playing DSD/High Rez files through HDMI 2.

Do we know under what circumstances the audio is downmixed? Is it only when playing simultaneously on both outputs? I have both outputs going to the same receiver. I do my video switching through the Marantz.

Whats the best/right way to set this up?

Thanks!

Movies: Epson 5050 / Marantz 7010 / OPPO-103
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
Speakers: MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), Motion 50XT (center), Motion 2 (surrounds)
Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is online now  
post #25159 of 25734 Old 04-10-2018, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,626
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3802 Post(s)
Liked: 2997
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
Added DSD/DSF files into the mix, and I understand that the Oppo can only play them through HDMI 2.
Actually, the thing is it can only send bitstreamed DSD via HDMI-2. Set the player to decode SACD to PCM and you can send the audio through either of the outputs. There's no inherent advantage to bitstreaming DSD, since the AVR must decode it to PCM anyway.

If you force a "dual display" output you are also forcing the lowest common audio support, which for a display is usually 2-ch PCM.

Quote:
I have both outputs going to the same receiver.
This may also be an issue and should generally be avoided.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #25160 of 25734 Old 04-10-2018, 01:34 PM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,949
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1488 Post(s)
Liked: 901
Are all DSD decoders the same?

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is online now  
post #25161 of 25734 Old 04-10-2018, 01:54 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,228
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5795 Post(s)
Liked: 8267
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Are all DSD decoders the same?
DSD doesn't get "decoded" into something simpler. It gets handled in one of two ways:

1) "Converted" from DSD digital audio to LPCM digital audio, and then passed through a "normal" DAC for conversion of the LPCM Digital audio to Analog, or

2) Sent directly to a special DAC that has the added smarts to do DSD-Direct-to-Analog conversion.

Either way, a DAC is involved in the stage of conversion to Analog, which is what your speakers need. DACs come in all sorts of quality levels. So in that sense, different hardware handles DSD at different quality levels.

------------------------

That says the hardware with the DAC is the critical piece.

Another thing to consider is people have been gussying up DSD beyond what's used on SACD discs. Higher sample rates. Not all digital hardware can handle those higher rates. So some files may not be playable on a given hardware design.
--Bob
fgsouza likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 04-10-2018 at 01:58 PM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25162 of 25734 Old 04-10-2018, 02:15 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,626
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3802 Post(s)
Liked: 2997
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Are all DSD decoders the same?
No, and you need specifics on the decoder in question to know.
Some AVRs, for example, are known to decode DSD to a 44.1 sample rate for processing.
The Oppo decoders decode to 88.2 sample rate for DSD64, the newer players can decode DSD128 to 176.4.

So the question is a pretty loaded one and unanswerable unless you know what the decoder is doing. The Oppos do it right.
For example, some AVRs can drop the ball on processing high res LPCM that's input and go ahead and down-sample it again anyhow.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #25163 of 25734 Old 04-10-2018, 02:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ruined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 6,827
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2612 Post(s)
Liked: 1250
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
DSD doesn't get "decoded" into something simpler. It gets handled in one of two ways:

1) "Converted" from DSD digital audio to LPCM digital audio, and then passed through a "normal" DAC for conversion of the LPCM Digital audio to Analog, or

2) Sent directly to a special DAC that has the added smarts to do DSD-Direct-to-Analog conversion.

Either way, a DAC is involved in the stage of conversion to Analog, which is what your speakers need. DACs come in all sorts of quality levels. So in that sense, different hardware handles DSD at different quality levels.

------------------------

That says the hardware with the DAC is the critical piece.

Another thing to consider is people have been gussying up DSD beyond what's used on SACD discs. Higher sample rates. Not all digital hardware can handle those higher rates. So some files may not be playable on a given hardware design.
--Bob
Also worth mentioning the DAC chip itself is far from the whole story. I've heard DACs with technically worse specs sound better than DACs with technically better specs, because the worse DAC was implemented better in the design.

I think it's because the DAC chip is the easiest thing to grasp and compare , people focus in it. But the DAC chip alone is a far ways away from telling the whole story.
fgsouza likes this.
Ruined is online now  
post #25164 of 25734 Old 04-11-2018, 08:18 AM
Member
 
jhw59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Washington DC area
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I tried to search but didn't get any hits so Can I add a DAC to my 103? I assume it would be via USB. I ask as the overall improvement I see in my 203 via the newer DAC makes me thing this might be worth installing. TIA!
jhw59 is offline  
post #25165 of 25734 Old 04-11-2018, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
ckronengold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Boston Strong / Jersey Strong
Posts: 450
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Actually, the thing is it can only send bitstreamed DSD via HDMI-2. Set the player to decode SACD to PCM and you can send the audio through either of the outputs. There's no inherent advantage to bitstreaming DSD, since the AVR must decode it to PCM anyway.
Ah, good suggestion. And I can still bitstream from my blurays and other non-SACD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
This may also be an issue and should generally be avoided.
Why is that? Wouldn't selecting the input on the receiver manage any conflict?

Movies: Epson 5050 / Marantz 7010 / OPPO-103
Streaming: nVidia Shield / Roku Ultra / Chromecast Ultra
Speakers: MartinLogan Motion 40 (LR), Motion 50XT (center), Motion 2 (surrounds)
Server: Ubuntu 18.04, i7-8700 CPU
HTPC: Win10 Pro 64-bit, i5 750 Radeon HD 5850
ckronengold is online now  
post #25166 of 25734 Old 04-11-2018, 08:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,626
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3802 Post(s)
Liked: 2997
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckronengold View Post
Ah, good suggestion. And I can still bitstream from my blurays and other non-SACD?
The relevant setting in the Oppo will only impact SACD and DSD file playback. Don't confuse this with the global HDMI audio setting of the same name.

Quote:
Why is that? Wouldn't selecting the input on the receiver manage any conflict?
Multiple reasons. Many devices keep HDMI ports "hot" even when switched to a different input. The player could see that as a dual connection and automatically switch to that mode. Bottom line is that it might or might not work.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #25167 of 25734 Old 04-11-2018, 08:39 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,228
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5795 Post(s)
Liked: 8267
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhw59 View Post
I tried to search but didn't get any hits so Can I add a DAC to my 103? I assume it would be via USB. I ask as the overall improvement I see in my 203 via the newer DAC makes me thing this might be worth installing. TIA!
Not via USB. The USB sockets on your 103 are not audio outputs. You could connect via the Optical or Coax digital audio outputs.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25168 of 25734 Old 04-11-2018, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,690
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1218 Post(s)
Liked: 2039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
DSD doesn't get "decoded" into something simpler. It gets handled in one of two ways:

1) "Converted" from DSD digital audio to LPCM digital audio, and then passed through a "normal" DAC for conversion of the LPCM Digital audio to Analog, or


--Bob
But.. I thought LPCM was already analog... ???

[Sorry Bob, could not resist]

Disclaimer - this was a lame attempt at humor, not in any way an attempt to define LPCM as analog.
gsr likes this.
hernanu is offline  
post #25169 of 25734 Old 04-11-2018, 09:55 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,228
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5795 Post(s)
Liked: 8267
^ “It has something it wants to tell you.” — the Analog Lady, “Twin Peaks”

—Bob
Keenan, jskang and hernanu like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25170 of 25734 Old 04-13-2018, 07:37 AM
Member
 
jhw59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Washington DC area
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Not via USB. The USB sockets on your 103 are not audio outputs. You could connect via the Optical or Coax digital audio outputs.
—Bob
Thanks Bob. Does this make sense or will the cost approach the cost of buying another 203?
jhw59 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off