Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 853 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10201Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #25561 of 25731 Old 01-22-2019, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
scott_bernstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Upper West Side, Manhattan, NYC, US
Posts: 1,757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 59
I upgraded to a 4K TV not too long ago and when I try to use the 4k output feature from my BDP-103, I can "force" 2160p output to my TV from the Oppo picture menu (it doesn't default to it), but it will only output max 30fps (whereas my source from my FIOS DVR is 60fps) which leads to some jumpy frames.

Is the max frame rate for 4k upscaling from the BDP-103 30fps, or does it seem that I have a problem with the bandwidth of my HDMI cable?

Owner: Sony XBR-55A1E, Oppo BDP-103, Kenwood VR5900, Meadowlark Audio Heron-i
scott_bernstein is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25562 of 25731 Old 01-22-2019, 09:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Is it possible to buy a replacement BD drive for a 103 somewhere? I'd rather not have to send the whole player in and pay Oppo to fix it. It's 3 years old and stopped reading BDs.
AmishAnarchist is offline  
post #25563 of 25731 Old 01-23-2019, 01:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,319
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmishAnarchist View Post
Is it possible to buy a replacement BD drive for a 103 somewhere? I'd rather not have to send the whole player in and pay Oppo to fix it. It's 3 years old and stopped reading BDs.
It would help if you had mentioned your location. Anyway...

Amazon UK still offer this: https://www.amazon.co.uk/KES-460A-KE.../dp/B00DVNJNDI
Amazon USA still offer this: https://www.amazon.com/New-KES-460A-.../dp/B00AWXE87G


Cheers

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25564 of 25731 Old 01-23-2019, 05:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
It would help if you had mentioned your location. Anyway...

Amazon UK still offer this: https://www.amazon.co.uk/KES-460A-KE.../dp/B00DVNJNDI
Amazon USA still offer this: https://www.amazon.com/New-KES-460A-.../dp/B00AWXE87G


Cheers
USA. The whole drive is worth less than $50. Why the hell should I tear it apart when it should be much easier to just swap it out? and avoids having the tray wear out in another year. As someone who's built their share of PCs, I like to keep things simple.
AmishAnarchist is offline  
post #25565 of 25731 Old 01-23-2019, 07:49 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,907
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1460 Post(s)
Liked: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmishAnarchist View Post

USA. The whole drive is worth less than $50. Why the hell should I tear it apart when it should be much easier to just swap it out? and avoids having the tray wear out in another year. As someone who's built their share of PCs, I like to keep things simple.
What would you “swap” more than the part he pointed to?

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #25566 of 25731 Old 01-23-2019, 09:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
What would you “swap” more than the part he pointed to?
The optical drive itself instead of taking it apart to swap delicate parts. Like I said, the trays wear out too after a while. To me, it's easier to swap the whole thing. From the pics I can find, it's not much different from a PC BD-rom.
AmishAnarchist is offline  
post #25567 of 25731 Old 01-23-2019, 11:51 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,907
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1460 Post(s)
Liked: 891
Understood. The trick will be to find the part you prefer ... over the part that is available. Hmmm, I have never had a tray wear out ...

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is offline  
post #25568 of 25731 Old 01-23-2019, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,319
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 967 Post(s)
Liked: 717
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmishAnarchist View Post
The optical drive itself instead of taking it apart to swap delicate parts. Like I said, the trays wear out too after a while. To me, it's easier to swap the whole thing. From the pics I can find, it's not much different from a PC BD-rom.
Have you managed to find the entire drive unit?

And it's very different from a PC's ROM drive unit. Indeed you can't find a PC ROM drive that supports SACD layer playback...
pepar and Mike_WI like this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #25569 of 25731 Old 01-23-2019, 02:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Have you managed to find the entire drive unit?

And it's very different from a PC's ROM drive unit. Indeed you can't find a PC ROM drive that supports SACD layer playback...
Could care less about SACD. No, I haven't found one yet.
AmishAnarchist is offline  
post #25570 of 25731 Old 01-23-2019, 02:20 PM
Member
 
J__Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: So Cal
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
It would help if you had mentioned your location. Anyway...

Amazon UK still offer this: https://www.amazon.co.uk/KES-460A-KE.../dp/B00DVNJNDI
Amazon USA still offer this: https://www.amazon.com/New-KES-460A-.../dp/B00AWXE87G


Cheers
Sorry if this seems like a bad question, but the drive listed by Amazon is for a ps3, so this is also the drive for the 103?
J__Chris is offline  
post #25571 of 25731 Old 01-23-2019, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,548
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2993 Post(s)
Liked: 1343
@SeeMoreDigital and @AmishAnarchist , Many years ago I took apart my Insignia NS-BRDVD3 from Best Buy and saw that it had exactly the same disc drive as an Oppo BDP-83. Not sure if that's the same drive the 103 uses though. If so, you may be able to find an Insignia cheap on ebay and transplant the drive.
mdavej is offline  
post #25572 of 25731 Old 01-23-2019, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,577
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3776 Post(s)
Liked: 2976
^^^
Folks, you can't just "transplant" one drive for another. It has to run on the Oppo drive firmware. Replacing the optical unit with an identical part works fine, but that's about as far as it goes.

Oppo offers fixed rate repair that includes return shipping. Its really not a big deal to just send a player in for repair and its back in a few days.
jskang, hernanu and Mike_WI like this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #25573 of 25731 Old 01-30-2019, 02:18 AM
Newbie
 
MartinGr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Since some weeks, my OPPO 103EU is not recognizing Pure Audio Blu-rays anymore.

Not only the ones with the "PureAudio" logo (which use the color buttons for switching the audio formats), but all my HFPAs from Universal as well. All Blu-rays, which only have one static menu page from which music is played are affected by this problem. It only says "Unknown Disk".

The firmware is the newest one (BDP10XEU-83-1226 from 2017) and I didn't change anything in the settings.

I've reflashed the same firmware - with a full reset to factory settings of course - but the problem remains.
I've cleaned the persisting memory and disabled BD-Live, as suggested in the FAQ.

Then I thought, replacing the laser unit will help.
A KM480 is easy to find and not expensive, so I've tried it. At first, only the optical unit. After no success, the whole frame with motor and spindle drive for the laser as well. (To be sure, that I don't have speed problems when the motor starts to spin, for example) Now everything, that could wear out is new again.
The positive thing: its easy to do that, and it didn't make it worse.
Everything still plays flawlessly - Blu-rays with video content, SA-CDs, DVD-Audio/Video etc.... except for my complete PureAudio BD collection

Disks with intro films and animated menus - like Sgt. Pepper or White Album (Deluxe) are no problem.

What makes it even more mysterious: a ripped copy, burnt to a BD-R works.

OPPO support doesn't have an idea until now.
Anything else I could try?

Regards,
Martin
MartinGr is offline  
post #25574 of 25731 Old 01-30-2019, 07:51 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
^ Send one of your failing, commercial discs to OPPO Tech Support. (They'll send it back when finished with it of course.) If it works on their players in the lab, the only remaining option is to send your player in for service -- to be tested with that same disc.

These simple-menu "Blu-ray" discs are often not really Blu-ray, but rather something like AVCHD. There may be a problem with the decoder electronics. AVCHD also typically needs to spin faster than normal Blu-ray.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25575 of 25731 Old 01-30-2019, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
MartinGr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
^ Send one of your failing, commercial discs to OPPO Tech Support. (They'll send it back when finished with it of course.) If it works on their players in the lab, the only remaining option is to send your player in for service -- to be tested with that same disc.

These simple-menu "Blu-ray" discs are often not really Blu-ray, but rather something like AVCHD. There may be a problem with the decoder electronics. AVCHD also typically needs to spin faster than normal Blu-ray.
--Bob
Thanks for your reply, Bob.
But all these discs WILL run in another BPD103 - they did in mine too. Until December.
And most of them are from Universal and follow the Blu-ray-specifications. They use a special JAVA-Framework, that allows to use the number buttons on the remote to select tracks - and the color buttons to switch between audio formats.
To be more precise: I was involved in the authoring process of one of those discs which was released by one of the major labels. So didn't have to rip it for a check, but I could just burn the approval disc again. The burned disc works, and the pressed one does not (anymore). The only difference I see is the AACS-encryption on the final disc. But what should be different to other discs, containing video?
I own only 15 discs of this kind, so I suppose sending the player to somewhere would be too expensive. It's easier to play BD-R copies or ripped folders (even if not allowed, but I own the originals).
But anyway... I LOVE this player and I can't stand such a mysterious flaw, which no one else seems to have.


P.S.: They need to "run faster", you said. That was an idea I had, and that is why I've exchanged the whole unit, including the motor - After exchanging only the laser didn't help.
MartinGr is offline  
post #25576 of 25731 Old 02-01-2019, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
Baenwort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: ...
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
It would help if you had mentioned your location. Anyway...

Amazon UK still offer this: https://www.amazon.co.uk/KES-460A-KE.../dp/B00DVNJNDI
Amazon USA still offer this: https://www.amazon.com/New-KES-460A-.../dp/B00AWXE87G


Cheers
Do I need a 460 as linked here or a 480 as mentioned by MartinGr?

My stuff is old, but it still works well. Apparently AVS finds it to old to keep in their database but I'm still happy with it.
Baenwort is offline  
post #25577 of 25731 Old 02-01-2019, 04:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1060 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Hello to all! I am a longtime owner of the 103D. I can't seem to be able to force the player to upscale/upconvert legacy content to UHD and then send it to my native 4K/UHD JVC projector (NX7). I believe that I've tried just about every combination of settings, but the 103D always outputs at a maximum of 1080p. My preference would be to have this process in the Oppo, as the scalers in my UHD Panasonic 900 UHD player and the JVC projector don't seem top of the line. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
docrog is offline  
post #25578 of 25731 Old 02-01-2019, 04:23 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,358
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4372
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Hello to all! I am a longtime owner of the 103D. I can't seem to be able to force the player to upscale/upconvert legacy content to UHD and then send it to my native 4K/UHD JVC projector (NX7). I believe that I've tried just about every combination of settings, but the 103D always outputs at a maximum of 1080p. My preference would be to have this process in the Oppo, as the scalers in my UHD Panasonic 900 UHD player and the JVC projector don't seem top of the line. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
What are you using for Output Resolution?

What happens if you connect the player directly to the projector?

-Bill
pepar likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #25579 of 25731 Old 02-01-2019, 04:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1060 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
What are you using for Output Resolution? What happens if you connect the player directly to the projector? -Bill
Thanks for responding! The PJ is on the ceiling and the 103D is in an equipment closet too far away to connect directly. The AVR (Yamaha RX-A3050) has no problem passing the UHD video feed from the Panasonic player, Roku Ultra or ATV4K, so there's no problem with a UHD hand shake between the AVR & PJ. I tried setting the 103D to 4K output resolution, but it still sends 1080p for DVD & HD Blu Ray content.
docrog is offline  
post #25580 of 25731 Old 02-01-2019, 04:33 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,358
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4372
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Thanks for responding! The PJ is on the ceiling and the 103D is in an equipment closet too far away to connect directly. The AVR (Yamaha RX-A3050) has no problem passing the UHD video feed from the Panasonic player, Roku Ultra or ATV4K, so there's no problem with a UHD hand shake between the AVR & PJ. I tried setting the 103D to 4K output resolution, but it still sends 1080p for DVD & HD Blu Ray content.
Have you tried 4Kx2K Output = Forced ?

Just as a diagnostic, it really would be helpful to bypass the AVR and connect directly to the pj. Put the player on a ladder temporarily and use a short cable.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #25581 of 25731 Old 02-01-2019, 07:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,577
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3776 Post(s)
Liked: 2976
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Thanks for responding! The PJ is on the ceiling and the 103D is in an equipment closet too far away to connect directly. The AVR (Yamaha RX-A3050) has no problem passing the UHD video feed from the Panasonic player, Roku Ultra or ATV4K, so there's no problem with a UHD hand shake between the AVR & PJ. I tried setting the 103D to 4K output resolution, but it still sends 1080p for DVD & HD Blu Ray content.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Have you tried 4Kx2K Output = Forced ?

Just as a diagnostic, it really would be helpful to bypass the AVR and connect directly to the pj. Put the player on a ladder temporarily and use a short cable.

-Bill
On the Yamaha A2050, only the rear inputs are HDCP-2.2.
There's a setting in "Advanced Setup" called HDMI Mode, which should be set to Mode-1. Default setting is Mode-2. Mode-2 effectively makes it HDMI 1.4.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #25582 of 25731 Old 02-01-2019, 08:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1060 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Thanks to the both of you. I retried forcing UHD and it worked this time. The main menu is output at 1080p but changes to UHD when a Blu Ray is played. It also returned to 1080p for a 3D movie and spontaneously went back to UHD when I then inserted a 2D 1080p Blu-Ray. Problem solved!!!

JVC NX7, Yamaha RX-A3080 (7.2.4 speaker layouts: Dolby Atmos & DTS:X), Panasonic UB820, Oppo 103D, ATV4K, Roku Ultra, TiVo Bolt Vox, Vandersteen Model 3 Signatures & VCC-1 Signature, SVS SB-2000 (2), Clark Synthesis Tactile Bass Transducers (2), Polk PSW-12
docrog is offline  
post #25583 of 25731 Old 02-02-2019, 03:38 AM
Newbie
 
MartinGr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baenwort View Post
Do I need a 460 as linked here or a 480 as mentioned by MartinGr?
As far as I've read, different versions of the BDP103 exist. Without knowing this, I bought a KM480 - and had luck. KM480 was written on my old optical unit.
At first I ordered only the laser. But as it didn't solve my problem - and the whole frame with motors was so cheap I tried this too (9$ from China via Ebay).
MartinGr is offline  
post #25584 of 25731 Old 02-07-2019, 09:47 AM
Member
 
jimboboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I own an OPPO BDP-103 and an LG OLED. I stream Netflix and Amazon Prime Video via a Roku Streaming Stick+ (because I like the Roku interface; just my pref) that goes directly to the TV. But standard def content looks awful.

OPPO has advanced upscaling/upconverting powers, so I figure it should make standard def content look at least somewhat better. Assuming that's true, would it help to send the Roku output to OPPO and from there on to the TV, or do I need to sacrifice Roku interface and use the OPPO apps (an interface I like less)?

For extra bonus points: I have lots of standard def media files on my computer I'd like to stream to my TV. I don't own an AV receiver, an Apple TV, or a Playstation. Can I use PLEX to serve these files to my OPPO BDP-103 (and from there on to the TV)? I understand OPPO has no Plex app, but I see reports that it may/may not be able to access these via the file hierarchy depending on some mysterious X factor.
jimboboy is offline  
post #25585 of 25731 Old 02-07-2019, 02:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimboboy View Post
I own an OPPO BDP-103 and an LG OLED. I stream Netflix and Amazon Prime Video via a Roku Streaming Stick+ (because I like the Roku interface; just my pref) that goes directly to the TV. But standard def content looks awful.

OPPO has advanced upscaling/upconverting powers, so I figure it should make standard def content look at least somewhat better. Assuming that's true, would it help to send the Roku output to OPPO and from there on to the TV, or do I need to sacrifice Roku interface and use the OPPO apps (an interface I like less)?
Why don't you compare Roku-to-TV with Roku-to-Oppo-to-TV with the same piece of standard-def material and see if you notice a difference? I've never compared...

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #25586 of 25731 Old 02-07-2019, 03:54 PM
Member
 
jimboboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
Why don't you compare Roku-to-TV with Roku-to-Oppo-to-TV with the same piece of standard-def material and see if you notice a difference? I've never compared...

If necessary, I will, and will report back. I was hoping to see what wisdom I could pick up from others....
jimboboy is offline  
post #25587 of 25731 Old 02-07-2019, 05:46 PM
Member
 
jimboboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just had an extensive discussion with OPPO support (very kind of them). Note that the following information applies to the OPPO BDP-103. I don't know about the fancier OPPO decks.


Sending Roku signal (Netflix, etc) through OPPO (via HDMI In) to TV will provide the same quality of SD upscaling as using OPPO's built-in Netflix and other apps.

But while this would mean improved upscaling of lower resolution content, it would degrade 4K content. As OPPO explained it, you get "native 4K resolution" connecting Roku directly to TV, versus "upscale 4K" if it passes through OPPO (or if you use OPPO apps). I was not given a sense of how much sacrifice this would be, but it would obviously be subjective.

So options are:

1. Set up an HDMI splitter allowing me to manually choose to send Roku 4K content directly to TV and non-4K Roku content via OPPO deck....and remember to actually make that choice.

2. Use my (LG) TV's built-in apps. This would give full 4K, but not provide OPPO upscaling on SD content, nor Roku interface. Trepidation: LG's privacy issues.

3. Connect Roku directly to TV, for the same result as #2 (true 4K Roku but no OPPO rescaling) but offers Roku interface and avoids LG smart app privacy issues.

Re: alternatives to PLEX for serving media files from my Mac to the OPPO deck via wifi, it's suggested to use OPPO's MediaControl smartphone app to select files shared from the Mac through my network.  From my Mac, I can use a DLNA share like Universal Media Server (http://universalmediaserver.com/) to share these files over the network.

Last edited by jimboboy; 02-07-2019 at 06:03 PM.
jimboboy is offline  
post #25588 of 25731 Old 02-07-2019, 07:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
pbarach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Northeast Ohio
Posts: 3,314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 562 Post(s)
Liked: 329
^^

If you watch a lot of standard def stuff, I suppose you could buy a second Roku or some other streaming stick to play that material through Oppo. But I wonder how much better the Oppo would do when upscaling this material as compared to your TV; I mean it's lo-res, especially compared to 4K. How much of it do you really want to watch?

Denon x4400h, Samsung LED 1080p TV, B&W 704 mains, two M&K subwoofers, Oppo 103, Roku 2, Darbeevision, etc.
Headphone system: Focal Clear, Sennheiser HD600, AKG K702, Hifiman HE-400i, Marantz HD-DAC1, Denon DVD-3910
pbarach is offline  
post #25589 of 25731 Old 02-08-2019, 09:04 AM
Member
 
jimboboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbarach View Post
^^

If you watch a lot of standard def stuff, I suppose you could buy a second Roku or some other streaming stick to play that material through Oppo. But I wonder how much better the Oppo would do when upscaling this material as compared to your TV; I mean it's lo-res, especially compared to 4K. How much of it do you really want to watch?
I think the HDMI splitter solution would be cheaper and easier (requiring one action, as opposed to switching to Roku #2 and then needing to browse to the content).

If you're asking me how interested I am in media created prior to the advent of 4K, my answer is "very much". In fact, that's why I own an Oppo; I watch legacy video and want to maximize its quality. And, in my experience, Oppo's fancy algorithms do make a big difference.
jimboboy is offline  
post #25590 of 25731 Old 02-08-2019, 04:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 970
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 575 Post(s)
Liked: 218
I love the 103. Mine has been rock solid. Other than the useless apps on it that you have to log in every time. I just use my PS4 or Xbox to for streaming. I pretty much only do Netflix & Amazon so it's never been an issue. My 103 is simply for Bluray videos, SACD high res music, & DVD Audio high res music. For standard CDs, I use the 103 as a transport and pair it with a Musical Fidelity TriVista 21 tube dac. I had been enjoying those above formats for years before buying my Oppo. I had a nice player before the Oppo, but the video quality was slightly improved. It was the audio I feel was greatly improved. I didn't think it would make a difference as a transport to an outboard dac, but it certainly did. Hopefully it lasts me until I die.


Couple questions. I know they got out of the game, but do they still support these players? I bought mine maybe 5-6 years ago. Have never, other then when I 1st bought it, checked for a firmware update. Anything I should look for? And I have the manual stored away at the moment, but can someone tell me which of the two hdmi outputs is the better one to use? Can't remember which one has the processing. I run a plasma and a projector. I want the projector on the good output. Then use my Darby on the tv.

60" Panasonic Plasma ~ BenQ HT1075 / 92" Screen~Onkyo TX-NR3008(Pre/Pro)
Earthquake Cinenova Grande Amplifier ~ Oppo BDP-103 ~ Xbox One & PS4
Musical Fidelity Tri-Vista Tube DAC ~ Monster Cable Signature Series HTPS7000
Energy Veritas V2.3i (mains)~Veritas V2.4i (Front Wides)~Veritas V2.2i (center)
Energy Veritas V2.1 & CAT Tiburons(Surr)~Subs: 2 FTW-21's~Fp10000q clone/2x4dsp
Iron Maiden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off