Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 857 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10201Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #25681 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 03:55 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,358
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post
I have the strangest thing that has happened while trying to view DVD's.

I only get a 1/16 of the screen which is on the left. Blu-rays play normal but DVD's give me just a smidgeon.

I'm running dual HDMI since I have a 4K display and the 103 upscales to 4K but I've never had an issue before.

Anyone have any ideas??

Thank you.
Is this new behavior? A different display?

What output resolution are you using? Does it make a difference if you cycle through the different resolutions?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25682 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 10:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,404
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 1626
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Is this new behavior? A different display?

What output resolution are you using? Does it make a difference if you cycle through the different resolutions?

-Bill
New 4K Samsung but no issues with DVD's. I had a Pio Elite 500 in the system for a week and then swapped back to the 103.

When I cycle through resolutions, I get different results from left edge only display, or top edge only, or total black screen, and one was just a shimmer of color on left and bottom edge.

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A W/M.P. Monolith XLR's-Oppo 103-65" 4K Sammy-Emotiva: XPA-DR3, XPA-3, XPA-2 x 2-PolkAudio: RTiA9 x 4-LiSM706-FXiA6 x 4-LiSM703-Furez 10awg homemade cables
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #25683 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 11:59 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,358
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post
New 4K Samsung but no issues with DVD's. I had a Pio Elite 500 in the system for a week and then swapped back to the 103.

When I cycle through resolutions, I get different results from left edge only display, or top edge only, or total black screen, and one was just a shimmer of color on left and bottom edge.
Just to confirm: Blu-rays are ok, but DVDs are bad?

I can imagine something like that happening with Source Direct or 480i output, but not with 1080p or 4k output resolution, so this is mysterious. The TV shouldn't even know that the image is coming from a DVD in that case.

You are using dual HDMI, so the OPPO is connected directly to the display for video, right?

Just to ease my mind, check that you are using HDMI1 on the player for video output. Just to simplify diagnostics, unplug HDMI2 for now.

Are you running current firmware on the OPPO? Have you tried Reset Factory Defaults? (You can save you settings to a usb stick and restore them after).

-Bill
Madmax67 likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25684 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,404
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 1626
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Just to confirm: Blu-rays are ok, but DVDs are bad?

I can imagine something like that happening with Source Direct or 480i output, but not with 1080p or 4k output resolution, so this is mysterious. The TV shouldn't even know that the image is coming from a DVD in that case.

You are using dual HDMI, so the OPPO is connected directly to the display for video, right?

Just to ease my mind, check that you are using HDMI1 on the player for video output. Just to simplify diagnostics, unplug HDMI2 for now.

Are you running current firmware on the OPPO? Have you tried Reset Factory Defaults? (You can save you settings to a usb stick and restore them after).

-Bill
Thank you, yes I confirmed the HDMI connection but I will unplug #2 to audio. I considered the resetting factory defaults, I'll try that as well.

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A W/M.P. Monolith XLR's-Oppo 103-65" 4K Sammy-Emotiva: XPA-DR3, XPA-3, XPA-2 x 2-PolkAudio: RTiA9 x 4-LiSM706-FXiA6 x 4-LiSM703-Furez 10awg homemade cables
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #25685 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 12:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,404
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Liked: 1626
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Just to confirm: Blu-rays are ok, but DVDs are bad?

I can imagine something like that happening with Source Direct or 480i output, but not with 1080p or 4k output resolution, so this is mysterious. The TV shouldn't even know that the image is coming from a DVD in that case.

You are using dual HDMI, so the OPPO is connected directly to the display for video, right?

Just to ease my mind, check that you are using HDMI1 on the player for video output. Just to simplify diagnostics, unplug HDMI2 for now.

Are you running current firmware on the OPPO? Have you tried Reset Factory Defaults? (You can save you settings to a usb stick and restore them after).

-Bill
Holy connection Batman Bill, I unplugged #2 , inserted the DVD and presto, full screen. While playing I plugged HDMI 2 back in and brought power to the Pre and now there is audio and video full screen. Turned off the 103, turned it back on and still a full screen!!!

Thank you sir for ever so easy trouble shooting maneuver!!!

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A W/M.P. Monolith XLR's-Oppo 103-65" 4K Sammy-Emotiva: XPA-DR3, XPA-3, XPA-2 x 2-PolkAudio: RTiA9 x 4-LiSM706-FXiA6 x 4-LiSM703-Furez 10awg homemade cables
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #25686 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 01:06 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,358
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4372
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post
Holy connection Batman Bill, I unplugged #2 , inserted the DVD and presto, full screen. While playing I plugged HDMI 2 back in and brought power to the Pre and now there is audio and video full screen. Turned off the 103, turned it back on and still a full screen!!!

Thank you sir for ever so easy trouble shooting maneuver!!!
Good that it works, but that was still a weird failure. A day in the life of HDMI, I suspect. You hear a lot of strange things...

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #25687 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 03:19 PM
Senior Member
 
jefftr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 26
OK I recently upgraded my AV receiver to Onkyo TX-RZ820 and now have a JVC X790 on the way (woot woot)!!

I am currently using my Oppo 103D for Blu Rays and wondering if this will be sufficient (for 4k/UHD) or do I need to look at something like the Panny UB820?

Thanks for the advice in advance.

Jeff
jefftr is offline  
post #25688 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 03:34 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,358
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4372
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefftr View Post
OK I recently upgraded my AV receiver to Onkyo TX-RZ820 and now have a JVC X790 on the way (woot woot)!!

I am currently using my Oppo 103D for Blu Rays and wondering if this will be sufficient (for 4k/UHD) or do I need to look at something like the Panny UB820?

Thanks for the advice in advance.

Jeff
Not sure what you are asking. The OPPO will continue to work for Blu-rays but it is not a UHD player.

You can select 4k output to upscale the Blu-rays or leave it at 1080p and let the TV upscale. It is a matter of personal preference.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #25689 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 03:36 PM
Senior Member
 
jefftr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Not sure what you are asking. The OPPO will continue to work for Blu-rays but it is not a UHD player.

You can select 4k output to upscale the Blu-rays or leave it at 1080p and let the TV upscale. It is a matter of personal preference.

-Bill
That's pretty much it.

Do I need a new player for 4k content or can continue to use the Oppo?
jefftr is offline  
post #25690 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 03:40 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,358
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4372
Quote:
Originally Posted by jefftr View Post
That's pretty much it.

Do I need a new player for 4k content or can continue to use the Oppo?
You'll need a new player for UHD discs and other 4k content.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #25691 of 25731 Old 06-12-2019, 03:56 PM
Senior Member
 
jefftr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Eureka, CA
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
You'll need a new player for UHD discs and other 4k content.

-Bill
Got it - thanks!

Jeff
jefftr is offline  
post #25692 of 25731 Old 06-14-2019, 02:47 PM
Member
 
OldPannyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I have decide to upgrade all my A/V equipment from TV to AVR and I'm just wondering if anyone knows if there is any demand for my Oppo DBP-103 or is it just another outdated electronic piece?
OldPannyMan is offline  
post #25693 of 25731 Old 06-14-2019, 02:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Draden1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 900
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldPannyMan View Post
I have decide to upgrade all my A/V equipment from TV to AVR and I'm just wondering if anyone knows if there is any demand for my Oppo DBP-103 or is it just another outdated electronic piece?
Depends on price
Draden1 is offline  
post #25694 of 25731 Old 06-14-2019, 03:39 PM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,221
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1876 Post(s)
Liked: 2276
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldPannyMan View Post
I have decide to upgrade all my A/V equipment from TV to AVR and I'm just wondering if anyone knows if there is any demand for my Oppo DBP-103 or is it just another outdated electronic piece?
Check completed auctions on ebay to get an idea of what it's worth... Keep in mind that the BDP-10x players can be used to rip SACD's, which is a very desirable feature for people with SACD collections.
gsr is online now  
post #25695 of 25731 Old 06-14-2019, 08:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldPannyMan View Post
I have decide to upgrade all my A/V equipment from TV to AVR and I'm just wondering if anyone knows if there is any demand for my Oppo DBP-103 or is it just another outdated electronic piece?
I just bought one for an obscene price. The versatility of the OPPO made it worth it to me.
artur9 is offline  
post #25696 of 25731 Old 06-14-2019, 11:42 PM
Member
 
OldPannyMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I also realized that there are several firmware updates that need to be done to it also as I had everything in storage for over a year while I was out of the country.
Madmax67 likes this.
OldPannyMan is offline  
post #25697 of 25731 Old 06-14-2019, 11:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 4,651
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2047 Post(s)
Liked: 2365
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldPannyMan View Post
I also realized that there are several firmware updates that need to be done to it also as I had everything in storage for over a year while I was out of the country.
There's aftermarket WiFi dongles that will work with the 103. I bought one for my used 103 as my seller didn't have the factory one as well. Worse case a new buyer can upgrade it to the current firmware directly via USB.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #25698 of 25731 Old 06-15-2019, 05:12 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,032
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1241 Post(s)
Liked: 2051
This is not the classifieds. Owner's threads are not for determining sales price of personal items. it is the responsibility of the seller to research here and other sites. Please stick to technical discussions.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #25699 of 25731 Old 06-15-2019, 08:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Liked: 377
I've been googling but haven't found a definitive answer.

Does the 103 do NFS or just SMB and DLNA?
artur9 is offline  
post #25700 of 25731 Old 06-16-2019, 03:50 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,358
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4372
Quote:
Originally Posted by artur9 View Post
I've been googling but haven't found a definitive answer.

Does the 103 do NFS or just SMB and DLNA?
It was never officially supported but the player can access NFS shares.

I recall that discovery of the shares was not 100% reliable. You'd have to try the "search" selection on the Network browser several times. Sometimes the shares would appear after you'd been using the machine for a while.

Once discovered access was pretty reliable.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #25701 of 25731 Old 06-17-2019, 01:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
k3nnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 1,176
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 642 Post(s)
Liked: 60
What is the advantage of having NFS shares over SMB?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
k3nnis is offline  
post #25702 of 25731 Old 06-17-2019, 05:04 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,358
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 4372
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
What is the advantage of having NFS shares over SMB?
It's just another option; good to have a choice of tools.

The security setup for NFS seems simpler to me; maybe it is insecure? SMB is often a struggle just to get access and its security model has "evolved" over time, which is not what you want to hear if you already have it set up the way you want.

On the other hand: I've used symbolic links to present virtual collections of my files. Linking across discs works easily with SMB but I could never manage it with NFS.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #25703 of 25731 Old 06-17-2019, 06:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
Take your sequence above, reverse it and use that as your "turn on" sequence using the Harmony for your activity.
Did that. Problem still persists.


Quote:
Change the delays until the handshake green screen hangup goes away. You can either start with short delays and expand them or longer delays and shorten them.
Please explain. I've attached a screenshot of my Harmony startup sequence for my Watch TV activity.

Quote:
As for cables, the 103 expects 1.4 I believe, so you should be Ok, if not, replace the cables.
If it were the cables, there should always be an issue, no? The fact that this is intermittent suggests a timing issue with the fix lying in the adjustment of delays you speak above.

Thanks much! This is maddeningly frustrating.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	watch_tv_activity.png
Views:	21
Size:	31.8 KB
ID:	2581038  
liverpool_for_life is online now  
post #25704 of 25731 Old 06-18-2019, 08:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by liverpool_for_life View Post
Did that. Problem still persists.

Please explain. I've attached a screenshot of my Harmony startup sequence for my Watch TV activity.

If it were the cables, there should always be an issue, no? The fact that this is intermittent suggests a timing issue with the fix lying in the adjustment of delays you speak above.

Thanks much! This is maddeningly frustrating.
Anyone that can help with this HDMI handshake issue? Thanks in advance!
liverpool_for_life is online now  
post #25705 of 25731 Old 06-18-2019, 09:54 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
^ Using the regular, separate remotes, see if you can execute the sequence of commands reliably. If so, that will give you a handle on the timing that works.

Delays in Harmony can be non-intuitive, as the Harmony may send commands to OTHER devices in the sequence while holding off sending a command to a given device. Repeat Counts on how many times a command gets sent also affect this.

A common problem is with Activities that turn on a TV. The TV may need substantial time to boot up before it is ready to respond to HDMI handshake requests. The Power On Delay will keep the Harmony from sending next commands to the TV, but while that is ticking down it will continue commands that power up other devices. If the thing feeding the TV boots up fast enough, it may start an HDMI request before the TV has had its first cup of coffee. A PAUSE command in the sequence can be used to get around this.

There’s a Remotes forum here where the Harmony experts hang out. You might get more help there.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 06-18-2019 at 09:59 AM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #25706 of 25731 Old 06-18-2019, 09:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
artur9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: near philly
Posts: 2,333
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 991 Post(s)
Liked: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3nnis View Post
What is the advantage of having NFS shares over SMB?
IIRC, NFS is more efficient in its use of network bandwidth.
artur9 is offline  
post #25707 of 25731 Old 06-18-2019, 12:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,575
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3775 Post(s)
Liked: 2975
Quote:
Originally Posted by liverpool_for_life View Post
Anyone that can help with this HDMI handshake issue? Thanks in advance!
Rule #1 with any and all handshake issues is to swap HDMI cables - always. You'd be surprised how many random problems are fixed that way.

That said, Harmony has a "power on setting" that controls how long to wait before sending additional commands after powering on. Your current (default) settings can be displayed and adjusted in the MyHarmony PC software, [Devices - select device - change device settings - device delay settings] The power-on delay is the one you want. If you increase that it will take that much longer for the activity to start but it could eliminate those random handshake issues.
I'd change one device at a time. Cable/sat boxes are notorious for handshake issues, but you have a pretty complex HDMI chain set up there so who knows.
liverpool_for_life likes this.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #25708 of 25731 Old 06-23-2019, 04:32 PM
Member
 
PolarWeasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
No joy using HDMI1 for video and HDMI2 for audio including DSD bitstreaming

Quote:
Originally Posted by PolarWeasel View Post
I hadn't known about DSD decoding in the AV-7701 preventing bass management; that might be a reason for me to stick with LPCM.

I'm pretty sure I have Audyssey turned off because I never got a set of adjustments that I thought sounded better than the source material. I'll have to double-check that now that I know it downsamples high-res files, though.

Thanks for the info!

-PolarWeasel
The situation: I want to watch video through HDMI1 so I can make use of the video processing on that output, and I'd also like to be able to stream DSD to my Marantz AV-7701 on HDMI2. My first attempt had the two HDMI outputs on my BDP-103 going to two separate HDMI inputs on my AV-7701. In that configuration, however, I've been experiencing video dropouts, which I've been told can be caused by having both HDMI outputs connected to the same destination device.

I tried using an HDMI switch (a Monoprice HDX-401E) so that only one of the two HDMI outputs on the BDP-103 would be connected at any time. I intended to watch video material with the switch configured to pass HDMI1 to the AV-7701, and audio (including bitstreamed DSD) with the switch configured to pass HDMI2 to the AV-7701. The problem I then encountered is that with my BDP-103 configured for "Dual Display" on the HDMI outputs, when I switched to the HDMI2 input on the switch, I would get no video. This is problematic because I need to be able to browse my NAS for the DSD files I want to play. Based on my understanding of the manual, if I select "Split A/V" instead, I will never get a video signal on HDMI2. I read through the manual and did quite a few Google searches, and I'm at a loss as to why I'm not getting video (or getting a black screen, which is the equivalent) on HDMI2. Everything I read indicated that I should get *some* video on HDMI2. I have 3D turned off on the BDP-103, so that's not complicating things.

I suspect that the problem has something to do with the lack of an HDMI handshake on the HDMI output that's being blocked by the HDMI switch, but that's a guess.

I think my final option would be to configure my BDP-103 for "Split A/V" on the HDMI ports, connect HDMI1 directly to my video display, and connect HDMI2 to my AV-7701 for audio processing. This isn't ideal, because it breaks my "all sources going into the AV-7701 with one video output to the display" paradigm, but I could do it. It's just frustrating that I can't understand why I don't get video on HDMI2.

Any thoughts folks?

-PolarWeasel
PolarWeasel is offline  
post #25709 of 25731 Old 06-23-2019, 04:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,059
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1230 Post(s)
Liked: 1228
Quote:
Originally Posted by PolarWeasel View Post
The situation: I want to watch video through HDMI1 so I can make use of the video processing on that output, and I'd also like to be able to stream DSD to my Marantz AV-7701 on HDMI2. My first attempt had the two HDMI outputs on my BDP-103 going to two separate HDMI inputs on my AV-7701. In that configuration, however, I've been experiencing video dropouts, which I've been told can be caused by having both HDMI outputs connected to the same destination device.

I tried using an HDMI switch (a Monoprice HDX-401E) so that only one of the two HDMI outputs on the BDP-103 would be connected at any time. I intended to watch video material with the switch configured to pass HDMI1 to the AV-7701, and audio (including bitstreamed DSD) with the switch configured to pass HDMI2 to the AV-7701. The problem I then encountered is that with my BDP-103 configured for "Dual Display" on the HDMI outputs, when I switched to the HDMI2 input on the switch, I would get no video. This is problematic because I need to be able to browse my NAS for the DSD files I want to play. Based on my understanding of the manual, if I select "Split A/V" instead, I will never get a video signal on HDMI2. I read through the manual and did quite a few Google searches, and I'm at a loss as to why I'm not getting video (or getting a black screen, which is the equivalent) on HDMI2. Everything I read indicated that I should get *some* video on HDMI2. I have 3D turned off on the BDP-103, so that's not complicating things.

I suspect that the problem has something to do with the lack of an HDMI handshake on the HDMI output that's being blocked by the HDMI switch, but that's a guess.

I think my final option would be to configure my BDP-103 for "Split A/V" on the HDMI ports, connect HDMI1 directly to my video display, and connect HDMI2 to my AV-7701 for audio processing. This isn't ideal, because it breaks my "all sources going into the AV-7701 with one video output to the display" paradigm, but I could do it. It's just frustrating that I can't understand why I don't get video on HDMI2.

Any thoughts folks?

-PolarWeasel
Deja vu?

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post57933858

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #25710 of 25731 Old 06-23-2019, 04:50 PM
Member
 
PolarWeasel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
ARGH ... it's been so long since I last thought about this that I totally forgot about trying higher-quality HDMI cables. I buy all mine from Monoprice so I think they're OK but that's an easy thing to try.

Thanks for the reminder, Kokishin!

-PolarWeasel
PolarWeasel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off