Official OPPO BDP-103 Owner's Thread - Page 858 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 10201Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #25711 of 25734 Old 06-23-2019, 04:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,074
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1238 Post(s)
Liked: 1247
Quote:
Originally Posted by PolarWeasel View Post
ARGH ... it's been so long since I last thought about this that I totally forgot about trying higher-quality HDMI cables. I buy all mine from Monoprice so I think they're OK but that's an easy thing to try.

Thanks for the reminder, Kokishin!

-PolarWeasel
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15427

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25712 of 25734 Old 06-24-2019, 04:05 AM
Wireless member
 
pepar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: On the beach in Quintana Roo
Posts: 26,949
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1487 Post(s)
Liked: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Killer prices!

"The future is already here, it's just not evenly distributed." W. Gibson

"I like the future, I'm in it." F. Theater
pepar is online now  
post #25713 of 25734 Old 06-24-2019, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,349
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 980 Post(s)
Liked: 735
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=15427

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Killer prices!
Agreed... It also highlights that people don't have to pay huge amounts of money for those dodgy non premium certified HDMI leads

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+
SeeMoreDigital is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #25714 of 25734 Old 06-24-2019, 06:28 AM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,812
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 340 Post(s)
Liked: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by pepar View Post
Killer prices!
My own preference for standard length (i.e. 8ft and under) premium certified cables are their "ultra-slim" 36AWG variety. These are also priced to kill and have the added benefit of being much easier and cleaner to manipulate for device-to-device connections, especially in their 1ft and 2ft versions if that will get you by, But even their 3ft-8ft ultra-slim cables are pure pleasure to work with compared to the standard diameter 28AWG you pointed to (which also come in much longer lengths than the ultra-slim).

I've never used longer "passive" premium certified in the 10-30ft lengths. Though much more expensive, I opt for the guarantee of fiber optic cables in these really long situations, which remarkably can be used in lengths up to 100m!! I feel much better using these in medium length 30-75ft setups, despite the cost, as they are also slimmer and therefore easier to pull through non-linear long in-wall/under-floor conduit runs with bends and turns.
DSperber is offline  
post #25715 of 25734 Old 06-25-2019, 10:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,356
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSperber View Post
I've never used longer "passive" premium certified in the 10-30ft lengths. Though much more expensive, I opt for the guarantee of fiber optic cables in these really long situations, which remarkably can be used in lengths up to 100m!! I feel much better using these in medium length 30-75ft setups, despite the cost, as they are also slimmer and therefore easier to pull through non-linear long in-wall/under-floor conduit runs with bends and turns.
I have 2 (I believe they are) 15 footers going from my to my plasma (one for my oppo 203, and one for everything else via the receiver), so at least at the 1080p/24 resolution they are fine. Mine are the thicker (premium certified) ones.
fmalczewski is online now  
post #25716 of 25734 Old 07-06-2019, 10:08 AM
Member
 
HSamwel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Oppo 103 no bitstream audio

While I’m waiting for my 4k player that is being repaired I connected my old Oppo 103.

It still has the old problem I had several years ago.
I get no audio when bitstream is selected through main hdmi. Second output is no problem.

I have correct settings with bitstream through hdmi out and have tested dual or split output.
No difference and shouldn’t be with one cable. I have also tried to factory reset with no luck.
Can It be the latest firmware that’s causing it?
If I remember correctly I got the problem directly after upgrading.

TV: Sony KD-65ZD9 BLURAY: Pioneer UDP-LX800 PREPRO: Emotiva RMC-1 11ch AMP: Emotiva XPA-11 gen3 Network streamer: Pioneer N-70AE Speakers: Front SVS Ultra Tower Center SVS Ultra Center Surround (4 speakers) Dynavoice Definition DX-5 Height (4 speakers top) SVS Prime Elevation Subwoofer (2 subwoofers) XTZ SUB 12.17 Edge
HSamwel is offline  
post #25717 of 25734 Old 07-06-2019, 01:21 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,621
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3799 Post(s)
Liked: 2994
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSamwel View Post
While I’m waiting for my 4k player that is being repaired I connected my old Oppo 103.

It still has the old problem I had several years ago.
I get no audio when bitstream is selected through main hdmi. Second output is no problem.

I have correct settings with bitstream through hdmi out and have tested dual or split output.
No difference and shouldn’t be with one cable. I have also tried to factory reset with no luck.
Can It be the latest firmware that’s causing it?
If I remember correctly I got the problem directly after upgrading.
How exactly is the player connected, and to what?
rdgrimes is offline  
post #25718 of 25734 Old 07-06-2019, 02:09 PM
Member
 
HSamwel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
How exactly is the player connected, and to what?
With one HDMI cable. Was this unclear in my post?

This problem has been exactly the same on two different processors.
Both my old Pioneer SC-LX801 and Emotiva RMC-1. Bitstream from main HDMI out worked before
Installing the last firmware (latest from jan 2017). LPCM works fine though.

Is there a way to reinstall a firmware?

TV: Sony KD-65ZD9 BLURAY: Pioneer UDP-LX800 PREPRO: Emotiva RMC-1 11ch AMP: Emotiva XPA-11 gen3 Network streamer: Pioneer N-70AE Speakers: Front SVS Ultra Tower Center SVS Ultra Center Surround (4 speakers) Dynavoice Definition DX-5 Height (4 speakers top) SVS Prime Elevation Subwoofer (2 subwoofers) XTZ SUB 12.17 Edge
HSamwel is offline  
post #25719 of 25734 Old 07-07-2019, 09:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
fmalczewski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,356
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 224 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSamwel View Post
With one HDMI cable. Was this unclear in my post?

This problem has been exactly the same on two different processors.
Both my old Pioneer SC-LX801 and Emotiva RMC-1. Bitstream from main HDMI out worked before
Installing the last firmware (latest from jan 2017). LPCM works fine though.

Is there a way to reinstall a firmware?
Long shot, but have you tried a different cable? Not saying it's the case here, but sometimes firmware updates can bring out the limitations of certain older hdmi cables.
fmalczewski is online now  
post #25720 of 25734 Old 07-07-2019, 03:14 PM
Member
 
HSamwel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmalczewski View Post
Long shot, but have you tried a different cable? Not saying it's the case here, but sometimes firmware updates can bring out the limitations of certain older hdmi cables.

No it’s not the cable. I have a really high end cable speced a little above the hdmi 2.0 specs of 18gbps.
It have worked flawlessly with Oppo 203 for quite a while. And also for my Pioneer UDP-LX800.
This with any content, 4k hdr 60p native with maxed output settings aswell.

I already had this problem on Oppo 103 with the same cable before I switched to Oppo 203 which then worked
fine in bitstream or any other mode.

Again, everything works just fine on the second hdmi port, just the main hdmi port that is not working.

TV: Sony KD-65ZD9 BLURAY: Pioneer UDP-LX800 PREPRO: Emotiva RMC-1 11ch AMP: Emotiva XPA-11 gen3 Network streamer: Pioneer N-70AE Speakers: Front SVS Ultra Tower Center SVS Ultra Center Surround (4 speakers) Dynavoice Definition DX-5 Height (4 speakers top) SVS Prime Elevation Subwoofer (2 subwoofers) XTZ SUB 12.17 Edge
HSamwel is offline  
post #25721 of 25734 Old 07-08-2019, 02:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,420
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 443 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSamwel View Post
No it’s not the cable. I have a really high end cable speced a little above the hdmi 2.0 specs of 18gbps.
It have worked flawlessly with Oppo 203 for quite a while. And also for my Pioneer UDP-LX800.
This with any content, 4k hdr 60p native with maxed output settings aswell.

I already had this problem on Oppo 103 with the same cable before I switched to Oppo 203 which then worked
fine in bitstream or any other mode.

Again, everything works just fine on the second hdmi port, just the main hdmi port that is not working.
Have you considered loading the previous firmware?

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A W/M.P. Monolith XLR's-Oppo 103-65" 4K Sammy-Emotiva: XPA-DR3, XPA-3, XPA-2 x 2-PolkAudio: RTiA9 x 4-LiSM706-FXiA6 x 4-LiSM703-Furez 10awg homemade cables
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #25722 of 25734 Old 07-09-2019, 07:23 AM
Member
 
CalJake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSamwel View Post
While I’m waiting for my 4k player that is being repaired I connected my old Oppo 103.

It still has the old problem I had several years ago.
I get no audio when bitstream is selected through main hdmi. Second output is no problem.

I have correct settings with bitstream through hdmi out and have tested dual or split output.
No difference and shouldn’t be with one cable. I have also tried to factory reset with no luck.
Can It be the latest firmware that’s causing it?
If I remember correctly I got the problem directly after upgrading.
Per the manual, "Due to the hardware limitation, DSD output is only available from the HDMI 2 OUT port. To listen to SACD using the HDMI 1 OUT port, please set SACD Output to PCM."
CalJake is offline  
post #25723 of 25734 Old 07-09-2019, 10:47 AM
Member
 
HSamwel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalJake View Post
Per the manual, "Due to the hardware limitation, DSD output is only available from the HDMI 2 OUT port. To listen to SACD using the HDMI 1 OUT port, please set SACD Output to PCM."
Ahh thanks for the info. I have missed this. I usually don’t miss anything like this.
Although this time bitstream means Dolby and DTS sound.

TV: Sony KD-65ZD9 BLURAY: Pioneer UDP-LX800 PREPRO: Emotiva RMC-1 11ch AMP: Emotiva XPA-11 gen3 Network streamer: Pioneer N-70AE Speakers: Front SVS Ultra Tower Center SVS Ultra Center Surround (4 speakers) Dynavoice Definition DX-5 Height (4 speakers top) SVS Prime Elevation Subwoofer (2 subwoofers) XTZ SUB 12.17 Edge
HSamwel is offline  
post #25724 of 25734 Old 07-09-2019, 10:49 AM
Member
 
HSamwel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff4RFC View Post
Have you considered loading the previous firmware?
Yes I have!

How do I do this? And where can I get hold of previous versions?

TV: Sony KD-65ZD9 BLURAY: Pioneer UDP-LX800 PREPRO: Emotiva RMC-1 11ch AMP: Emotiva XPA-11 gen3 Network streamer: Pioneer N-70AE Speakers: Front SVS Ultra Tower Center SVS Ultra Center Surround (4 speakers) Dynavoice Definition DX-5 Height (4 speakers top) SVS Prime Elevation Subwoofer (2 subwoofers) XTZ SUB 12.17 Edge
HSamwel is offline  
post #25725 of 25734 Old 07-09-2019, 12:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,420
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 443 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSamwel View Post
Yes I have!

How do I do this? And where can I get hold of previous versions?
I went to the oppodigital website and found this:

https://www.oppodigital.com/support/...-Firmware.aspx

If you run into difficulties, you could contact support there, they are pretty good about getting back to you but it usually takes a day or two.

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A W/M.P. Monolith XLR's-Oppo 103-65" 4K Sammy-Emotiva: XPA-DR3, XPA-3, XPA-2 x 2-PolkAudio: RTiA9 x 4-LiSM706-FXiA6 x 4-LiSM703-Furez 10awg homemade cables
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #25726 of 25734 Old 07-09-2019, 02:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,621
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3799 Post(s)
Liked: 2994
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSamwel View Post
Yes I have!

How do I do this? And where can I get hold of previous versions?
You can't flash older firmware, nor should you in this case. Email Oppo support and let them walk you through some steps. They'll probably start by having you reset the player to factory defaults then unplug it for a bit. The idea of trying a different HDMI cable is still a good one because they do go bad sometimes.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #25727 of 25734 Old 07-09-2019, 02:47 PM
Member
 
HSamwel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Sweden
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
You can't flash older firmware, nor should you in this case. Email Oppo support and let them walk you through some steps. They'll probably start by having you reset the player to factory defaults then unplug it for a bit. The idea of trying a different HDMI cable is still a good one because they do go bad sometimes.
Yeah I understand that. But still it works flawlessly on the second HDMI out so it most certainly isn’t the cable.

I will try once more to do a factory reset and pull the power cord for a while.

TV: Sony KD-65ZD9 BLURAY: Pioneer UDP-LX800 PREPRO: Emotiva RMC-1 11ch AMP: Emotiva XPA-11 gen3 Network streamer: Pioneer N-70AE Speakers: Front SVS Ultra Tower Center SVS Ultra Center Surround (4 speakers) Dynavoice Definition DX-5 Height (4 speakers top) SVS Prime Elevation Subwoofer (2 subwoofers) XTZ SUB 12.17 Edge
HSamwel is offline  
post #25728 of 25734 Old 07-10-2019, 08:51 AM
Member
 
CalJake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by HSamwel View Post
Ahh thanks for the info. I have missed this. I usually don’t miss anything like this.
Although this time bitstream means Dolby and DTS sound.
Got it. But I thought this might be somehow related to your issue.
CalJake is offline  
post #25729 of 25734 Old 07-10-2019, 11:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Geoff4RFC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Just down aways from Stanley
Posts: 4,420
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 443 Post(s)
Liked: 1637
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
You can't flash older firmware, nor should you in this case. Email Oppo support and let them walk you through some steps. They'll probably start by having you reset the player to factory defaults then unplug it for a bit. The idea of trying a different HDMI cable is still a good one because they do go bad sometimes.
I had gotten that idea from a fellow with a Marantz Pre, new firmware was screwing up his channel levels, he reverted back to the previous firmware and the problem went away.

Spinning the rear tire at 150mph while at 3/4 lean angle will put wrinkles in your seat

Set up:
Marantz AV8802A W/M.P. Monolith XLR's-Oppo 103-65" 4K Sammy-Emotiva: XPA-DR3, XPA-3, XPA-2 x 2-PolkAudio: RTiA9 x 4-LiSM706-FXiA6 x 4-LiSM703-Furez 10awg homemade cables
Geoff4RFC is offline  
post #25730 of 25734 Old 07-14-2019, 07:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
meli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ridgewood, NJ
Posts: 626
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 324 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Is it possible to change the color of the subtitles from a BluRay disc, from white to yellow?
meli is online now  
post #25731 of 25734 Old 07-14-2019, 08:05 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,427
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4578 Post(s)
Liked: 4416
Quote:
Originally Posted by meli View Post
Is it possible to change the color of the subtitles from a BluRay disc, from white to yellow?
No.

-Bill
meli likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #25732 of 25734 Old 08-07-2019, 11:24 PM
727
Newbie
 
727's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello can someone help me here. I've read the Oppo manual and gone through the remote and can't find the setting...if there even is one.

When I put a bunch of files, like say a season of a TV show, onto a thumb or portable hard drive via USB, is there a way to just play one episode at a time and not everything?

Specifically, when I'm laying in bed late at night I will sometimes fall asleep, then wake up a few hours later and the Oppo has played all the episodes. Is there a way to just play
one episode and then stop until I tell it to play the next episode?

My workaround is to put each episode in its own subfolder. Kind of a pain but it works.

Thanks!

Last edited by 727; 08-07-2019 at 11:27 PM.
727 is offline  
post #25733 of 25734 Old 08-08-2019, 06:50 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,621
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3799 Post(s)
Liked: 2994
Quote:
Originally Posted by 727 View Post
Hello can someone help me here. I've read the Oppo manual and gone through the remote and can't find the setting...if there even is one.

When I put a bunch of files, like say a season of a TV show, onto a thumb or portable hard drive via USB, is there a way to just play one episode at a time and not everything?

Specifically, when I'm laying in bed late at night I will sometimes fall asleep, then wake up a few hours later and the Oppo has played all the episodes. Is there a way to just play
one episode and then stop until I tell it to play the next episode?

My workaround is to put each episode in its own subfolder. Kind of a pain but it works.

Thanks!
What happens if you use the "Repeat" button while playing a file? It should cycle through a few options. Object being to get it to repeat the same file over.
rdgrimes is offline  
post #25734 of 25734 Old 08-08-2019, 10:22 AM
727
Newbie
 
727's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
What happens if you use the "Repeat" button while playing a file? It should cycle through a few options. Object being to get it to repeat the same file over.
Using repeat works great. Saves me the hassle of making folders.

Now when repeating the current file I can quickly figure out where I dozed off at.

Thanks!
727 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off