Official OPPO BDP-105 Owner's Thread - Page 483 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1915Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14461 of 14477 Old 04-17-2020, 08:54 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,072
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4061 Post(s)
Liked: 3381
Quote:
Originally Posted by dw11 View Post
I recently acquired a 105D and would like to try connecting the 105 directly (without preamp) to a five-channel amp without needing attenuators . Understanding that from a volume control standpoint, some amps are more compatible than are others, I am seeking information regarding the suitability of the Monolith (by Monoprice/ATI). I have searched this thread without any success and am curious whether anyone has actual experience with this particular combination.
I use a 105 direct to a pair of Outlaw mono-blocks with good success. While they are not ATI-built they are similar. As long as you can keep the Oppo volume near 50% or higher it should sound great. The RCA outs on the 105 should be capable of driving most any amp. Try checking with the folks at Monoprice, as they might have relevant info.
rdgrimes is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14462 of 14477 Old 04-18-2020, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question

Thanks for the response RD. I did call Monoprice but as you might imagine, they couldn't tell me anything more than appears on the specs listed on their website. The spec I'm concerned about is the Input Impedance which is listed at "28 kilohms (nominal)". Based on what I have read on this thread, it seems less than ideal which is why I was hoping that I may hear from someone who has tried connecting directly to the Monolith amp. Bob suggests that in order to utilize the full dynamic range of the Oppo, the player's volume should be between 70-100. I have a Krell 2-channel amp that I experimented with only to discover that I had to turn the Oppo's volume exceedingly low. I would also be interested in learning about any 5-channel amp that has proven to work within the 70-100 range when connected directly to the Oppo.
dw11 is offline  
post #14463 of 14477 Old 04-18-2020, 07:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 22,072
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4061 Post(s)
Liked: 3381
Quote:
Originally Posted by dw11 View Post
Thanks for the response RD. I did call Monoprice but as you might imagine, they couldn't tell me anything more than appears on the specs listed on their website. The spec I'm concerned about is the Input Impedance which is listed at "28 kilohms (nominal)". Based on what I have read on this thread, it seems less than ideal which is why I was hoping that I may hear from someone who has tried connecting directly to the Monolith amp. Bob suggests that in order to utilize the full dynamic range of the Oppo, the player's volume should be between 70-100. I have a Krell 2-channel amp that I experimented with only to discover that I had to turn the Oppo's volume exceedingly low. I would also be interested in learning about any 5-channel amp that has proven to work within the 70-100 range when connected directly to the Oppo.
Unfortunately there's no standard for those input measurements. Stick with the RCA connects though. Being able to run the Oppo's output higher is only relevant for reference level listening so don't get too wrapped up in that. If it sounds good don't sweat the numbers.



Is there a dedicated thread for the Monoprice/ATI amps around here? Might be a good place to ask.
rdgrimes is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14464 of 14477 Old 04-19-2020, 07:37 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
Unfortunately there's no standard for those input measurements. Stick with the RCA connects though. Being able to run the Oppo's output higher is only relevant for reference level listening so don't get too wrapped up in that. If it sounds good don't sweat the numbers.



Is there a dedicated thread for the Monoprice/ATI amps around here? Might be a good place to ask.
Good idea, I'll try that.
dw11 is offline  
post #14465 of 14477 Old 04-25-2020, 06:57 PM
Newbie
 
dbxdx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I need to update the firmware on my BDP-105, but when I hook it up to a monitor via an HDMI cable, I get no connection. I've tried all three HDMI ports with no luck. Any suggestions?
dbxdx5 is offline  
post #14466 of 14477 Old 04-26-2020, 04:25 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,823
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4805 Post(s)
Liked: 4726
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbxdx5 View Post
I need to update the firmware on my BDP-105, but when I hook it up to a monitor via an HDMI cable, I get no connection. I've tried all three HDMI ports with no luck. Any suggestions?
One of the three is an input, so that one definitely won't work.

Stick with HDMI1 for the moment. What happens when you cycle through the resolution settings using the RESOLUTION button on the remote. Do you get anything?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #14467 of 14477 Old 04-26-2020, 06:30 AM
Newbie
 
dbxdx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
One of the three is an input, so that one definitely won't work.

Stick with HDMI1 for the moment. What happens when you cycle through the resolution settings using the RESOLUTION button on the remote. Do you get anything?

-Bill

Ok, connected to HMDI1 and cycling through RESOLUTION has no effect. I can see it changing the settings on the player screen. The monitor itself says there's no signal coming from the "computer" and to press any key to activate it. (It's a Dell computer monitor.) I know the monitor's HDMI connection works because I just tried it as a second display with my laptop.
dbxdx5 is offline  
post #14468 of 14477 Old 04-26-2020, 06:35 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,385
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5910 Post(s)
Liked: 8463
^ Your computer monitor may not accept the video formats used for home theater.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #14469 of 14477 Old 04-26-2020, 07:03 AM
gsr
Oppo Beta Group
 
gsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 10,566
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2118 Post(s)
Liked: 2663
What model is the Dell monitor? Does it support HDCP and if so which version? What version of HDMI does it support? What is the max resolution it supports?
gsr is offline  
post #14470 of 14477 Old 04-26-2020, 07:04 AM
Member
 
Richbrennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbxdx5 View Post
I need to update the firmware on my BDP-105, but when I hook it up to a monitor via an HDMI cable, I get no connection. I've tried all three HDMI ports with no luck. Any suggestions?
Check that you don’t have the “Pure Audio” (I think that’s what it’s called) option active - that’ll disable video out. There’s a button on the remote for it. I think it’s a toggle function.
Richbrennan is offline  
post #14471 of 14477 Old 04-26-2020, 08:05 AM
Newbie
 
dbxdx5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm not sure how, but I got it working. It may have been the HDMI cable I was using, as it seems to sort out after I tried a different one. Thanks all!
dbxdx5 is offline  
post #14472 of 14477 Old 04-26-2020, 12:37 PM
Senior Member
 
gelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillP View Post
That should work. But you may want to compare before finalizing your connections - the Oppo may actually outperform (or tie) your new DAC.
So for some reason I can’t get this to work. DAC up and running. Able to stream music and play my ripped cds through it. However when I play a cd I can’t seem to run it through the new DAC. CD plays fine ex DAC( RCA into Marantz SR7005 into the “CDR input”. The DAC connected via RCA in the “CD” input in the Marantz and I connect the DAC via CoAx into the Oppo coax out. I selected the CD input on the Marantz and I’m getting no sound. Am I missing something ? Thanks.

Edit. My bad. I was trying to play a SACD, which is not supported via Digital out on the Oppo. Redbook works fine.

Last edited by gelly; 04-26-2020 at 01:17 PM.
gelly is offline  
post #14473 of 14477 Old 05-02-2020, 09:44 AM
Newbie
 
jacofman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I’m having a weird issue with the sound on the “HDMI In” port on the front of the Oppo BDP-105. The HDMI port in the back seems to be fine. I currently have a one year old AppleTV connected to the front port. When I switch programs from one show to another, a horrendous noise, like static comes out of my speakers. Nothing I do makes it go away, except to switch to another “HDMI In” port and watch a program from a different source. After that, when I go back to the HDMI In port on the front of the Oppo, the sound is fine again. Is there some basic incompatibility with certain models of AppleTV and the Oppo BDO-105? Is there something unique about that port on the front of the Oppo that I’m not aware of? Any help would be appreciated.
jacofman is offline  
post #14474 of 14477 Old 05-17-2020, 01:38 PM
Newbie
 
Matcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ii have a oppo 105
when i set the oppo to 1080p 24 'forced' and dvd 24p conversion 'on'
the picture is still ntsc 60 or pal 50
bought this unit recently, im sure my oppo 105d was properly forcing 24p on the same tv

firmware is BDP10X-83-1226

thanks,

Panasonic TH-P50ST50A 
Oppo BDP-105D *sold*
Oppo UDP-205
Oppo BDP-105
Matcat is offline  
post #14475 of 14477 Old 05-17-2020, 01:53 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,823
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4805 Post(s)
Liked: 4726
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matcat View Post
ii have a oppo 105
when i set the oppo to 1080p 24 'forced' and dvd 24p conversion 'on'
the picture is still ntsc 60 or pal 50
bought this unit recently, im sure my oppo 105d was properly forcing 24p on the same tv

firmware is BDP10X-83-1226

thanks,
You can't get 24p from PAL (can you?)

The 60hz material is from DVD, not Blu-ray supplements? You are getting 24p from native Blu-ray material?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is offline  
post #14476 of 14477 Old 05-17-2020, 02:19 PM
Newbie
 
Matcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
You can't get 24p from PAL (can you?)

The 60hz material is from DVD, not Blu-ray supplements? You are getting 24p from native Blu-ray material?

-Bill
bluray is fine
i think the dvds are pal some ntsc
i have a hd dvd i decrypted to mkv that will not run 24p,

thanks,

Panasonic TH-P50ST50A 
Oppo BDP-105D *sold*
Oppo UDP-205
Oppo BDP-105

Last edited by Matcat; 05-17-2020 at 02:23 PM.
Matcat is offline  
post #14477 of 14477 Old 05-17-2020, 02:33 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,385
Mentioned: 69 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5910 Post(s)
Liked: 8463
^ DVD 24p Conversion is only available when playing physical discs.

PAL material is recorded for /50 playback (of its /25 content). So you won’t get /24 from that either.

DVD 24p Conversion will be bypassed if you have selected Source Direct output.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo Bdp 105 Blu Ray Player

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off