Cambridge Audio's Azur 752BD - Page 15 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #421 of 476 Old 09-28-2015, 06:22 AM
Senior Member
 
jprod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 96 Post(s)
Liked: 33
I am thinking about changing my denon 3800bdci to this player. If I only hook up via HDMI and change the output to lpcm , will I then be taking advantage of the wolfson dacs?
jprod is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #422 of 476 Old 10-04-2015, 08:47 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Prescott AZ.
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
The only way the 752 dacs get used is thru the analog out rcas. Hdmi, coaxial and optical out all will use the dac of the receiver being used. Coaxial, optical inputs will also use the 752 dac. Hope this helps.
Now I have a question I'm hoping someone here can answer for me .I bought two 752bds at the $799 steal of a price now going on and love them. I sold my Oppos 103 & 105. My question is how can you use the coaxial and optical inputs? What i've tred to do is stream netflix & pandora via optical output from my tv. My setup for this is Roku into the tv via HDMI optical out of the tv into the 752 optical input. The 752 analog out to my preamp Anthem MRX310. I've done this with other dacs in the past and worked great but with the 752 I get no sound. What gives? Thank you to anyone who can answer this .
uthiker is offline  
post #423 of 476 Old 10-05-2015, 04:35 PM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
FWIW, the manual says there's an option to turn the HDMI Audio off so there's no digital audio output via the HDMI. It might be that the optical output won't carry the signal if the HDMI Audio is still on...worth a try.....
Alexdad54 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #424 of 476 Old 10-06-2015, 12:11 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Prescott AZ.
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Thanks I got it to work now sounds great. I had a bad optical cable.

Last edited by uthiker; 10-10-2015 at 12:57 PM.
uthiker is offline  
post #425 of 476 Old 10-08-2015, 04:43 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Class A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NH
Posts: 3,533
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 739 Post(s)
Liked: 4764
Thumbs up

Went to my local dealer who carries Cambridge Audio and he informed me that the 752's were sold out. But he offered me the store Demo for $650. Being I had a $500 credit w/the store (they buy used records). I bought it. Hooked it up a few hours ago and was really impressed w/the music. Also the PQ & SQ are a step above my Oppo 83SE. I've had it just a few hours and it is very impressive. Music wise I have the analog outputs hooked up to an Audio Research SP-16 it has a bigger soundstage and a more dynamic presentation. For the price this was a fantastic bargain.
uthiker likes this.
Class A is online now  
post #426 of 476 Old 10-15-2015, 11:09 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
New to this form and obviously a new adopter of the CA Azur 752BD....Sorry if this question has been asked repeatedly.....Did they resolve the gapless playback issue with FLAC files on a USB drive? Is there a way to enable this feature (gapless playback) or am I missing something here. Any help with some resolutions or suggestions, gratefully appreciated
apfx1945 is offline  
post #427 of 476 Old 10-15-2015, 11:34 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix161081 View Post
Ok thanks, keep us updated if there are any developments.
This thing has me very disappointed
Quote:
Originally Posted by guzz46 View Post
You're not alone, I have all my music ripped to WAV on an external HDD, and gapless playback doesn't work for me either.
Has this been resolved? I bought the player a few days ago and am running the latest firmware (752BDCU-19-1009). I've had no luck getting gapless play off of usb devices.
gemhutch is offline  
post #428 of 476 Old 10-15-2015, 04:47 PM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by gemhutch View Post
Has this been resolved? I bought the player a few days ago and am running the latest firmware (752BDCU-19-1009). I've had no luck getting gapless play off of usb devices.
No, its still the same, it doesn't really bother me though.
guzz46 is offline  
post #429 of 476 Old 10-15-2015, 05:51 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by guzz46 View Post
No, its still the same, it doesn't really bother me though.
Thanks for the reply. Sorry about doubling down on the same question, I had many tabs open and I delayed on replying with the quote from a few pages back. By the time I posted a friend asked the same question.
gemhutch is offline  
post #430 of 476 Old 10-17-2015, 10:02 AM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm not holding my breath on this as even the new CXU doesn't support gapless playback over UPnP even though CA's streaming devices do.....shame really as, for me, it is pretty well the only flaw in an otherwise great system....
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #431 of 476 Old 10-17-2015, 07:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
postrokfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Ft. Collins, CO
Posts: 6,351
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 810 Post(s)
Liked: 5535
I was thinking of picking one of these up at the sale price. I imagine the gapless "issues" are due to CA not wanting the unit to compete with their streaming players. Seems like Marantz plays the same game.

2-channel: MA Silver 2 (5th Gen), Music Fidelity M2si, B&W ASW608, Rega RP1, Pro-Ject Phono Box, Marantz CD5004, Lenovo Ideapad, AQ DF Red
Living Room: 3 x KEF Q150, B&W ASW610, Yamaha Aventage RX-A2030
postrokfan is offline  
post #432 of 476 Old 11-11-2015, 04:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,257
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1839 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Questions on 752

Hi folks...

Thinking of buying one of these...the store has a huge restocking fee if I return it so I have some questions...

1) can I run HDMI out of of another Netflix streaming device into the 752 and upscale Netflix vid to 4K and then out to my 4K display? Do I still retain the DD and DTS audio capabilities?

2) can I stream 24 fps. My current blu Ray player only stream 60fps

3) is 4K upscaling really noticeable on even on a clean 1080p blu Ray?

4) can I upscale to 4K and turn off all the other video processing capabilities of the player?

Thanks folks...
asharma is online now  
post #433 of 476 Old 11-12-2015, 03:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,257
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1839 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by asharma View Post
Hi folks...

Thinking of buying one of these...the store has a huge restocking fee if I return it so I have some questions...

1) can I run HDMI out of of another Netflix streaming device into the 752 and upscale Netflix vid to 4K and then out to my 4K display? Do I still retain the DD and DTS audio capabilities?

2) can I stream 24 fps. My current blu Ray player only stream 60fps

3) is 4K upscaling really noticeable on even on a clean 1080p blu Ray?

4) can I upscale to 4K and turn off all the other video processing capabilities of the player?

Thanks folks...
Any help would be appreciated, thanks
asharma is online now  
post #434 of 476 Old 11-19-2015, 07:56 AM
Member
 
Alexdad54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by asharma View Post
Any help would be appreciated, thanks
FWIW, I don't have a 4k display but stream 2 devices via the front and back HDMI outputs of my 1080p projector. I have a mini PC and an Xbox One on these.

1) Page 18 of the manual (available from the CA website) describes how to change the resolution for each HDMI output so I imagine you could stream 4K from your streaming device.

2) Page 28. paragraph 8 of the manual provides details on 1080p24 output. Again, I assume it would work via a streaming device.

3) No idea, sorry as I have no 4K sources (yet).

4) Not sure but Ion the same page 28 of the manual, under paragraph 10 (HDMI options) there is no option mentioned to turn off the video scalers (two are used depending on which HDMI output you use).

I'm not an expert on all this by any means so I am open to being corrected on any of this info.
Cheers!
Alexdad54 is offline  
post #435 of 476 Old 11-19-2015, 08:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
asharma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,257
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1839 Post(s)
Liked: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexdad54 View Post
FWIW, I don't have a 4k display but stream 2 devices via the front and back HDMI outputs of my 1080p projector. I have a mini PC and an Xbox One on these.

1) Page 18 of the manual (available from the CA website) describes how to change the resolution for each HDMI output so I imagine you could stream 4K from your streaming device.

2) Page 28. paragraph 8 of the manual provides details on 1080p24 output. Again, I assume it would work via a streaming device.

3) No idea, sorry as I have no 4K sources (yet).

4) Not sure but Ion the same page 28 of the manual, under paragraph 10 (HDMI options) there is no option mentioned to turn off the video scalers (two are used depending on which HDMI output you use).

I'm not an expert on all this by any means so I am open to being corrected on any of this info.
Cheers!
Thanks, appreciate the info...
asharma is online now  
post #436 of 476 Old 12-20-2015, 10:56 AM
Member
 
KitKatHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Dothan AL. , and Zachary LA.
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have have three Oppo players, 93, 95, and 105D. I would like to try something different, would this be a good alternative? I have seen a few very high dollar players, but I think, on movies, this one and Oppo are as good as any realistic person would notice?

Little Denon system, Denon 2808ci
Polk M40, front and surround, CS2 center.Yamaha subwoofer
Sony 222 es SACD/CD player
Panasonic Blu-Ray player
Sony dual DVD and VCR player.
LG 46" HDTV.
KitKatHT is offline  
post #437 of 476 Old 12-20-2015, 11:22 AM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by KitKatHT View Post
I have have three Oppo players, 93, 95, and 105D. I would like to try something different, would this be a good alternative? I have seen a few very high dollar players, but I think, on movies, this one and Oppo are as good as any realistic person would notice?
If you are primarily interested in video production then there are cheaper alternatives with similar quality. If it is audio you are after then the 752db is a good option although it does not support asynch USB DAC connectivity. A major advantage is the HDMI input and the ability to use the QDEO upscaling for other devices but you already have this with the 105d.


Looking at you current configuration for audio I think you would be much better upgrading your speakers and then look at replacing the Denon 2808ci with something like the CA 651r or 751r to get the best value from your SACD and access to Anchor Bay video processing. If you want to upgrade the video then look at replacing your TV with an LG OLED TV.
.
TripleFun is offline  
post #438 of 476 Old 12-20-2015, 12:34 PM
Member
 
KitKatHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Dothan AL. , and Zachary LA.
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleFun View Post
If you are primarily interested in video production then there are cheaper alternatives with similar quality. If it is audio you are after then the 752db is a good option although it does not support asynch USB DAC connectivity. A major advantage is the HDMI input and the ability to use the QDEO upscaling for other devices but you already have this with the 105d.


Looking at you current configuration for audio I think you would be much better upgrading your speakers and then look at replacing the Denon 2808ci with something like the CA 651r or 751r to get the best value from your SACD and access to Anchor Bay video processing. If you want to upgrade the video then look at replacing your TV with an LG OLED TV.
.
I just like trying different things. The way I see it, most high dollar players (Lexicon BD-30 is just an old Oppo) (McIntosh, you are paying also for the name) are not so needed for HT if you use HDMI for all audio and video processing. There is a Marantz makes one with balanced stereo, maybe Denon, and they are pretty good. To me Oppo seems to have little competition other than these and CA? CA also has a non 3D player, no loos to me not having 3D. I may try this one or that Marantz

My thinking is the very high-end is more suited for music, mainly stereo.

The little Denon system is not used for this. That one has a Panasonic player and an older Sony CD/SACD player for causal listening. Seldom do I watch movies on it, but it sound fairly good, anyway.

The speakers are Martin Logan Montis, with Scripts, and there are B&W speakers,
Krell and ATI +Class, ARC too

I have the sig with the little Denon because it is so cute! Never sell the little Denon system!

I have 4 larger Denon AVRs, like the one I am watching now is the bigger 3808 with regular ho-hum brand speakers.

I have lots of funny TVs too. One thing i dislike is 3D, and I have one large 4K model now

Little Denon system, Denon 2808ci
Polk M40, front and surround, CS2 center.Yamaha subwoofer
Sony 222 es SACD/CD player
Panasonic Blu-Ray player
Sony dual DVD and VCR player.
LG 46" HDTV.
KitKatHT is offline  
post #439 of 476 Old 12-21-2015, 04:13 AM
Member
 
vlad2304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello!

As the price for Cambridge 752D went down to$799 I am thinking buying it for use as the universal player (CDs - mainly, video and audio files both from disks and HD). The player has multiple connections, so I think I can use it as an audio-video hub and have all info on TV screen. I also have a lot of uncompressed music files on my Iphone 6S. My question:
- is it possible to use one of the USB drives to connect the phone to listen to the music as well as charge it?

Thanks for your replies!
vlad2304 is offline  
post #440 of 476 Old 12-23-2015, 05:00 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Prescott AZ.
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by KitKatHT View Post
I have have three Oppo players, 93, 95, and 105D. I would like to try something different, would this be a good alternative? I have seen a few very high dollar players, but I think, on movies, this one and Oppo are as good as any realistic person would notice?
H..i I owned the oppo 103 & 105 and sold both after purchasing the 752. I never cared for the sabre dac in the 105. I love the wolfson dac sound quality and think the video is just as good as the oppo's. I now have 2 752s.
uthiker is offline  
post #441 of 476 Old 12-23-2015, 05:02 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Prescott AZ.
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad2304 View Post
Hello!

As the price for Cambridge 752D went down to$799 I am thinking buying it for use as the universal player (CDs - mainly, video and audio files both from disks and HD). The player has multiple connections, so I think I can use it as an audio-video hub and have all info on TV screen. I also have a lot of uncompressed music files on my Iphone 6S. My question:
- is it possible to use one of the USB drives to connect the phone to listen to the music as well as charge it?

Thanks for your replies!
Yes
uthiker is offline  
post #442 of 476 Old 12-23-2015, 05:20 AM
Member
 
vlad2304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you!
vlad2304 is offline  
post #443 of 476 Old 12-23-2015, 09:08 AM
Member
 
KitKatHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Dothan AL. , and Zachary LA.
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by uthiker View Post
H..i I owned the oppo 103 & 105 and sold both after purchasing the 752. I never cared for the sabre dac in the 105. I love the wolfson dac sound quality and think the video is just as good as the oppo's. I now have 2 752s.
I might get one, since it would offer a different sound, although I think the Oppo 95 and 105 sound pretty good as stereo players. maybe the RCA analogue output sound would be better?

I was also thinking about the Marantz UD7007, I would prefer some features for personal taste. I never cared for 3D and wonder if the BD650 has the same DACs?

Also, I would still run the video directly to my monitor.

Little Denon system, Denon 2808ci
Polk M40, front and surround, CS2 center.Yamaha subwoofer
Sony 222 es SACD/CD player
Panasonic Blu-Ray player
Sony dual DVD and VCR player.
LG 46" HDTV.
KitKatHT is offline  
post #444 of 476 Old 12-27-2015, 07:34 PM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Unfortunately mine died last night, I was listening to some music via my external hard drive and it just froze, so I powered it off but now it won't turn back on again, even after unplugging the power chord from the back it still won't turn on, the tray doesn't work either, the only thing that's working is the standby light.
I've only had it about two years, in fact I think it's about 1 month out of warranty, and being Christmas the local dealer isn't open again until the 11th of January.
guzz46 is offline  
post #445 of 476 Old 12-28-2015, 05:36 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Prescott AZ.
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by guzz46 View Post
Unfortunately mine died last night, I was listening to some music via my external hard drive and it just froze, so I powered it off but now it won't turn back on again, even after unplugging the power chord from the back it still won't turn on, the tray doesn't work either, the only thing that's working is the standby light.
I've only had it about two years, in fact I think it's about 1 month out of warranty, and being Christmas the local dealer isn't open again until the 11th of January.
Bummer.. I'm sorry to hear that. Please keep us informed on the outcome & Good luck
uthiker is offline  
post #446 of 476 Old 12-28-2015, 06:31 AM
Member
 
smaragd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I would check the fuses inside first ... Or even swapping cables if your cable is fused as is the case in UK


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
smaragd is offline  
post #447 of 476 Old 12-28-2015, 09:10 AM
Member
 
guzz46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by smaragd View Post
I would check the fuses inside first ... Or even swapping cables if your cable is fused as is the case in UK


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I had a look at the fuse, but it doesn't look like its user replaceable, there's a wire coming off both ends that goes under the board, just like the one on the 105bd.
guzz46 is offline  
post #448 of 476 Old 01-01-2016, 11:40 PM
Member
 
Rinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok I have a problem. This player will not recognise a SACD burned from an ISO file?? Is this right? It plays SACD-R so why not one burnt from an ISO????
Rinke is offline  
post #449 of 476 Old 01-05-2016, 02:33 AM
Member
 
Rinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rinke View Post
ok i have a problem. This player will not recognise a sacd burned from an iso file?? Is this right? It plays sacd-r so why not one burnt from an iso????
anyone??????
Rinke is offline  
post #450 of 476 Old 01-05-2016, 02:40 AM
Member
 
smaragd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 14
From the Oppo FAQ :

SACD-R support was removed in firmware 50-0323B. (This is the writeable format for home-made discs and copies. Regular SACD is still supported).

The Cambridge Firmware is based on the Oppo firmware so it's safe to say that due to licensing the SACD-R functionality was also removed for this player...

More info here:
http://watershade.net/wmcclain/BDP-103-faq.html


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
smaragd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Cambridge Audio Azur 752bd Universal Upsampling Blu Ray Dvd Cd Player , Blu Ray Players , Cambridge Audio , Cambridge Audio Azur 751bd 3d Compatible Universal Blu Ray Player Black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off