Official OPPO BDP-103D (Darbee Edition) Owner's Thread - Page 203 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1692Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6061 of 9465 Old 12-18-2014, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Smarty-pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 17,126
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 752 Post(s)
Liked: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by WarHorse View Post
Shouldn't power down the whole house too?
Not necessary. Only power off any/all devices using wired and wireless networking.
Smarty-pants is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6062 of 9465 Old 12-18-2014, 04:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DanF8500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 617 Post(s)
Liked: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by miata View Post
Does this really depend on your TVs de-interlacing and scaling capabilities compared to the 103D?

If your TV already does a good job with native resolutions, then no need to pass through the OPPO. On the other hand it you are getting a messy image, then the 103D might help.

If you like the Darbee processing then that is yet another reason to pass through the 103D.
Either way, whether you're sending the native signal thru the Oppo or bypassing it, and going direct to your tv, you'll still be hit with the annyoing 2-3 second hdmi handshake. For this, I chose not to output native video from my fios dvr. I don't know about you, but I prefer snappy/quick channel changes, and I constantly flip channels at night. If you don't switch often between 720p, 1080i, or 480i broadcasts while watching network tv, then sending native video thru your Oppo or bypassing it direct to your tv is a choice only you can decide. Pick what looks best to you. My tv does a great job at upscaling/deinterlacing, and I don't have the Darbee version Oppo player, so I chose to bypass my 105, and send 1080i video direct to my tv. The only reason I need to turn on my Oppo player is either for playing audio or popping in a shiny disk to watch a flick. I like Netflix, but use my tv's smarthub Flix app to watch movies.

Last edited by DanF8500; 12-18-2014 at 04:13 PM.
DanF8500 is offline  
post #6063 of 9465 Old 12-21-2014, 12:32 AM
Member
 
kaibrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Is cinavia enforced on either of the two HDMI inputs on the 103d? Let's say I have my ISO capable BDP-93 plugged into the front HDMI input on the 103d and load an ISO infected with cinavia. Will the 103d detect the cinavia watermark and mute the audio? Sorry if this has been answered already; I tried searching and found someone asking a similar question last year but I don't think it was ever answered.

edit: question #2 : Does the netflix app play content at the original framerate?

Last edited by kaibrok; 12-21-2014 at 02:24 AM.
kaibrok is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6064 of 9465 Old 12-21-2014, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
ArthurL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Please excuse this newbie's question, but does my 103D have to be on in order to take advantage of a the HDMI input? In other words, is there a pass through capability like on my receiver?
ArthurL is offline  
post #6065 of 9465 Old 12-21-2014, 06:36 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,549
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4646 Post(s)
Liked: 4496
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArthurL View Post
Please excuse this newbie's question, but does my 103D have to be on in order to take advantage of a the HDMI input?
Yes.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #6066 of 9465 Old 12-21-2014, 06:41 AM
Senior Member
 
ArthurL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 252
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Yes.

-Bill
Thanks Bill. It makes sense now that I think about it...the Darbee circuitry needs power in order to work. Back to bed for me.
ArthurL is offline  
post #6067 of 9465 Old 12-21-2014, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
miata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Silicon Valley, Earth
Posts: 3,034
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I finally got a 4K TV to test everything out with routing components with my old AVC with basic HDMI. I ended up eliminating three components in the process and get a much better image all around. This might be helpful for others who want new capabilities like 3D and ARC without buying a new AVR.

So, a little convoluted, but here is what I did...

1) I use split AV on the 103D. First, I connect the 103D directly to the TV via HDMI out 1. I connect the AVR via HDMI 2. But I also connect the HDMI out from the AVR into the rear HDMI in of the 103D.

2) I connect my Dish Network STB and my AppleTV to the HDMI inputs of the AVR -- as well as an old VCR with analog inputs that get output as digital by the AVR

3) Because I ran out of inputs on my AVR I needed to route another component, an HD DVD player, to the front HDMI input on the 103D.

So, I was able to eliminate the ROKU box that I was only really using for NetFlix - using the 103D now. I can use the ARC from my TV to route audio to my AVR -- so one HDMI cable to the TV. I can use Darbee processing as well as 4K upscaling for all inputs.

I was able to program activities with with my Harmony ONE remote. I still need to tweak a few things after rerouting everything.

I'm still having trouble with my Toshiba HD A30 HD-DVD player to work properly. I get audio -- but a green screen on the video. I'll have to play with that some more. I may have to try my other, XA2 player, to see if that works better.
miata is offline  
post #6068 of 9465 Old 12-22-2014, 07:52 PM
Member
 
kaibrok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 95
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaibrok View Post
Is cinavia enforced on either of the two HDMI inputs on the 103d? Let's say I have my ISO capable BDP-93 plugged into the front HDMI input on the 103d and load an ISO infected with cinavia. Will the 103d detect the cinavia watermark and mute the audio? Sorry if this has been answered already; I tried searching and found someone asking a similar question last year but I don't think it was ever answered.

edit: question #2 : Does the netflix app play content at the original framerate?
I emailed OPPO and asked them about cinavia on the HDMI inputs and this is what they said:

Quote:
Cinavia at this time is only enforced on physical discs. It is not enforced on USB, DLNA and SMB, or HDMI inputs.
kaibrok is offline  
post #6069 of 9465 Old 12-23-2014, 12:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 2,604
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1300 Post(s)
Liked: 737
I was listening to my Eagles Hotel California DVD-A disc in 5.1 with no problems and finished the discs tracks.

I wanted to hear what it sounded like in 2 channel but once I selected 2 channel it would switch but never would start playing the disc.
I tried reloading the disc and a few other things to no avail.

Am I missing something from way back?
I'm connected via HDMI to my Denon 4520 receiver.

Thanks for any help.

Edit ***

Happens with my Oppo 83 as well.

Last edited by laserjock II; 12-23-2014 at 08:22 PM.
laserjock II is online now  
post #6070 of 9465 Old 12-25-2014, 12:19 PM
Newbie
 
glabelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, just got an Oppo 103D for our home theater for Christmas ;-)

Got it all setup and working. However, when I tried to reverse on a DVD, the player hung. I found out that this was fixed in the latest October firmware release, so I attempted to upgrade.

My network is working fine, I can go to YouTube, NetFlix, etc. But when I select Network as the upgrade path, it immediately (suspiciously fast) comes back with "cannot connect to server".

Anyone?

Thanks, George in Aloha Oregon
glabelle is offline  
post #6071 of 9465 Old 12-25-2014, 12:37 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,549
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4646 Post(s)
Liked: 4496
Quote:
Originally Posted by glabelle View Post
Ok, just got an Oppo 103D for our home theater for Christmas ;-)

Got it all setup and working. However, when I tried to reverse on a DVD, the player hung. I found out that this was fixed in the latest October firmware release, so I attempted to upgrade.

My network is working fine, I can go to YouTube, NetFlix, etc. But when I select Network as the upgrade path, it immediately (suspiciously fast) comes back with "cannot connect to server".

Anyone?

Thanks, George in Aloha Oregon
There is also a "Connection Test" under Network in Setup, which goes to OPPO's servers. Is that working?

You can also download firmware to a USB stick and update that way. It will get you going until the network is straightened out.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #6072 of 9465 Old 12-25-2014, 02:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,486
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 583 Post(s)
Liked: 206
I bought my 103D a few months ago, but just turned it on for the first time today. I'm running wireless through my home network and also received the "cannot connect to server" message when I try to update my firmware.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #6073 of 9465 Old 12-25-2014, 04:50 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,836
Mentioned: 260 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12688 Post(s)
Liked: 11936
so im watching nba basketball today on my new 4k tv and i have my oppo set to upscale to 4k, and i was messing with the zoom settings and i came across USCAN and it seemed to really make the tv much cleaner and smoother, but hte motion is all messed up kinda like there is a stutter, is it supposed to do that while using uscan?? i did think it was neat that the picture didnt shrink like it does during a movie while flipping to uscan.

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #6074 of 9465 Old 12-25-2014, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,836
Mentioned: 260 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12688 Post(s)
Liked: 11936
Quote:
Originally Posted by miata View Post
I finally got a 4K TV to test everything out with routing components with my old AVC with basic HDMI. I ended up eliminating three components in the process and get a much better image all around. This might be helpful for others who want new capabilities like 3D and ARC without buying a new AVR.

So, a little convoluted, but here is what I did...

1) I use split AV on the 103D. First, I connect the 103D directly to the TV via HDMI out 1. I connect the AVR via HDMI 2. But I also connect the HDMI out from the AVR into the rear HDMI in of the 103D.

2) I connect my Dish Network STB and my AppleTV to the HDMI inputs of the AVR -- as well as an old VCR with analog inputs that get output as digital by the AVR

3) Because I ran out of inputs on my AVR I needed to route another component, an HD DVD player, to the front HDMI input on the 103D.

So, I was able to eliminate the ROKU box that I was only really using for NetFlix - using the 103D now. I can use the ARC from my TV to route audio to my AVR -- so one HDMI cable to the TV. I can use Darbee processing as well as 4K upscaling for all inputs.

I was able to program activities with with my Harmony ONE remote. I still need to tweak a few things after rerouting everything.

I'm still having trouble with my Toshiba HD A30 HD-DVD player to work properly. I get audio -- but a green screen on the video. I'll have to play with that some more. I may have to try my other, XA2 player, to see if that works better.

what tv and avr do you have? so if we bypass the avr receiver we can get a better picture? on my new samsung 4k 8550 tv i have been using the oppo 4k upscale because its much better than the sammy 4k upscale. but by bypassing the avr, isnt there some sort of loss of sound decoding by the avr? is an optical cord needed or can HDMI cords be used instead?

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #6075 of 9465 Old 12-25-2014, 05:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
ray0414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: michigan
Posts: 16,836
Mentioned: 260 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12688 Post(s)
Liked: 11936
another question, now that i have a 4k tv, do my settings change on the oppo for deep color or color space? which is best for those options?

82Q90R*75Q9FN(RIP)*55C8OLED*Galaxy Note10+*Ub820 fed into Oppo 203*XB1X*4k DenonX4200

MASTER LIST OF HDR CONTENT THREAD HERE, UPDATED OFTEN
ray0414 is offline  
post #6076 of 9465 Old 12-25-2014, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
david(dallas)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: plano, Tx
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 41
4k resolution out works on bluray, hdmi input

i have a 4k tv and 4k receiver, pass through support. when i setp 103d to 4x2k resolution, iy onlt seems to work when i play dvd.. tv shows 4k incoming. but the fios receiver plugged into back hdmi input, i canm only get it to output 1080p..

Also when I played a 3d bluray, it only outputted 1080p

any ideas??

is 4k only support on bluray??

thanks

Last edited by david(dallas); 12-25-2014 at 10:05 PM.
david(dallas) is offline  
post #6077 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 03:51 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,549
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4646 Post(s)
Liked: 4496
Quote:
Originally Posted by david(dallas) View Post
i have a 4k tv and 4k receiver, pass through support. when i setp 103d to 4x2k resolution, iy onlt seems to work when i play dvd.. tv shows 4k incoming. but the fios receiver plugged into back hdmi input, i canm only get it to output 1080p..

Also when I played a 3d bluray, it only outputted 1080p

any ideas??

is 4k only support on bluray??

thanks
The player only upscales to 4k on its HDMI1 output. It does not accept any 4k input.

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #6078 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 05:11 AM
Member
 
karan aneja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi

Thanks to the forum members, just bought the op 103D

i wanted to as oppo is known for its analog, should i connect the avr via hdmi or let the oppo do the decoding and connect it via 7.1 analog. i am using a marantz sr 6004. the avr is capable of decoding dts hd and dolby true hd.

Will they be any improvement in sound?

thanks
karan aneja is offline  
post #6079 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 06:44 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,427
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1276 Post(s)
Liked: 2095
Best bet is to use HDMI. Let the Marantz do the decoding and apply room correction. You'll lose that using analog.


S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #6080 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 06:49 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,277
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8317
Quote:
Originally Posted by david(dallas) View Post
i have a 4k tv and 4k receiver, pass through support. when i setp 103d to 4x2k resolution, iy onlt seems to work when i play dvd.. tv shows 4k incoming. but the fios receiver plugged into back hdmi input, i canm only get it to output 1080p..

Also when I played a 3d bluray, it only outputted 1080p

any ideas??

is 4k only support on bluray??

thanks
4K output is supported for other content as well.

Check your 4K Output setting and also the type of 4K signals your TV (and AVR) can accept. 1080p/24 movies (as from Blu-ray) are output as 4K/24 in whatever HDMI Color Space you have selected. However, the HDMI 1.4 hardware can output 4K/60 (as would be needed when viewing 480i/60, 720p/60 or 1080i/60 TV programs through the OPPO) only as YCbCr 4:2:0. See the Manual. Your 4K Output setting should be at the Default setting of AUTO (50/60) and your TV (and AVR since you are passing the single through the AVR) needs to be able to accept YCbCr 4:2:0 video format.

Meanwhile, 3D playback is treated like Source Direct.

If the AVR is the problem for the TV shows (no 4:2:0 support), try sending HDMI 1 direct to the TV for video and HDMI 2 to the AVR for audio. Set Split A/V in the OPPO. You might also try the FORCED (50/60) choice for 4K Output.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!

Last edited by Bob Pariseau; 12-26-2014 at 06:53 AM.
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6081 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 06:55 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,277
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8317
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
another question, now that i have a 4k tv, do my settings change on the oppo for deep color or color space? which is best for those options?
As with a 1080p TVs, the only way to know is to try the different combos and see which your TV seems to handle best.

Until you have time to experiment, I suggest you set YCbCr 4:4:4 and Deep Color OFF.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6082 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 06:58 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,277
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8317
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0414 View Post
so im watching nba basketball today on my new 4k tv and i have my oppo set to upscale to 4k, and i was messing with the zoom settings and i came across USCAN and it seemed to really make the tv much cleaner and smoother, but hte motion is all messed up kinda like there is a stutter, is it supposed to do that while using uscan?? i did think it was neat that the picture didnt shrink like it does during a movie while flipping to uscan.
This is a weird combo of settings, so its hard to know whether the issue is the OPPO or in the TV. I suggest you email OPPO Tech Support with the details on your TV model, and what you are trying to do and see if they have any suggestions for you. Tech Support frequently monitors emails even over holidays.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6083 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 07:00 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,277
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8317
Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenC56 View Post
I bought my 103D a few months ago, but just turned it on for the first time today. I'm running wireless through my home network and also received the "cannot connect to server" message when I try to update my firmware.
It's quite possible the update server is down temporarily, and just awaiting someone to get back into work to take care of that.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6084 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 07:01 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,277
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8317
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
I was listening to my Eagles Hotel California DVD-A disc in 5.1 with no problems and finished the discs tracks.

I wanted to hear what it sounded like in 2 channel but once I selected 2 channel it would switch but never would start playing the disc.
I tried reloading the disc and a few other things to no avail.

Am I missing something from way back?
I'm connected via HDMI to my Denon 4520 receiver.

Thanks for any help.

Edit ***

Happens with my Oppo 83 as well.
Are you sure that disc actually has a 2-channel track?
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6085 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 08:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
david(dallas)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: plano, Tx
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
4K output is supported for other content as well.

Check your 4K Output setting and also the type of 4K signals your TV (and AVR) can accept. 1080p/24 movies (as from Blu-ray) are output as 4K/24 in whatever HDMI Color Space you have selected. However, the HDMI 1.4 hardware can output 4K/60 (as would be needed when viewing 480i/60, 720p/60 or 1080i/60 TV programs through the OPPO) only as YCbCr 4:2:0. See the Manual. Your 4K Output setting should be at the Default setting of AUTO (50/60) and your TV (and AVR since you are passing the single through the AVR) needs to be able to accept YCbCr 4:2:0 video format.

Meanwhile, 3D playback is treated like Source Direct.

If the AVR is the problem for the TV shows (no 4:2:0 support), try sending HDMI 1 direct to the TV for video and HDMI 2 to the AVR for audio. Set Split A/V in the OPPO. You might also try the FORCED (50/60) choice for 4K Output.
--Bob
Thanks guys for the input.. Setting the 50/60 from auto to forced did that trick..
david(dallas) is offline  
post #6086 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 08:49 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,792
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1282 Post(s)
Liked: 2122
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
I was listening to my Eagles Hotel California DVD-A disc in 5.1 with no problems and finished the discs tracks.

I wanted to hear what it sounded like in 2 channel but once I selected 2 channel it would switch but never would start playing the disc.
I tried reloading the disc and a few other things to no avail.

Am I missing something from way back?
I'm connected via HDMI to my Denon 4520 receiver.

Thanks for any help.

Edit ***

Happens with my Oppo 83 as well.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Are you sure that disc actually has a 2-channel track?
--Bob
It does:

"Eagles:“Hotel California”, from Warner Music. DVD-Audio 24 bit, 96KHz 6 channel discrete 5.1 surround sound, 96/24 advanced resolution stereo, DVD Video compatible 5.1 Dolby Digital and dts surround sound. Video: producer's notes. With navigation Menu."

It would have to handle 96/24 correctly (I don't see why it wouldn't).
hernanu is offline  
post #6087 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 08:56 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,277
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5835 Post(s)
Liked: 8317
^ Email OPPO Tech Support with the details on that DVD-A disc -- including if possible the bar code number from the packaging -- and they can check it out.
--Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #6088 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
mogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Merica
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 270 Post(s)
Liked: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by karan aneja View Post
... i wanted to as oppo is known for its analog, should i connect the avr via hdmi or let the oppo do the decoding and connect it via 7.1 analog.
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
Best bet is to use HDMI. Let the Marantz do the decoding and apply room correction. You'll lose that using analog.
^+1. HDMI is what the vast majority use Karan, with room correction and ease of connection driving the decision. Analog users may prefer the 105 series because of the superior DAC's included in those Oppo models.

"Get me a scotch. I'm starving." JVC DLA RS-540U, Stewart ST 130 G3, Yamaha RX-A3080, Emotiva XPA-3, Panasonic UB820, Oppo 103D, Xfinity X1, Roku, ATV, Harmony 900.  Atmos 7.2.4 via Martin Logan Stage-X, Martin Logan Theos x2, Martin Logan FX x2, Sonance VP69 x2, Sonance VP66 x4, SVS PC12-NSD x2. Viewer's choice between Palliser recliners x7 or Great Dane beds x2.

Last edited by mogrub; 12-26-2014 at 10:05 AM. Reason: Clarity
mogrub is offline  
post #6089 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,733
Mentioned: 25 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3859 Post(s)
Liked: 3087
Quote:
Originally Posted by hernanu View Post
It does:

"Eagles:“Hotel California”, from Warner Music. DVD-Audio 24 bit, 96KHz 6 channel discrete 5.1 surround sound, 96/24 advanced resolution stereo, DVD Video compatible 5.1 Dolby Digital and dts surround sound. Video: producer's notes. With navigation Menu."

It would have to handle 96/24 correctly (I don't see why it wouldn't).
I have a copy of that DVD-A. The stereo high-res tracks are 24/192, the 5.1 is 24/96. Could be that your AVR cannot accept 24/192. I have no issues playing that disc here, both type tracks play fine.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #6090 of 9465 Old 12-26-2014, 10:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
hernanu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Boston Suburbs
Posts: 4,792
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1282 Post(s)
Liked: 2122
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
I have a copy of that DVD-A. The stereo high-res tracks are 24/192, the 5.1 is 24/96. Could be that your AVR cannot accept 24/192. I have no issues playing that disc here, both type tracks play fine.
hmm... I guess the review site was wrong on the specs. Thanks for the correction.
hernanu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Oppo , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 103d Universal 3d Blu Ray Player Darbee Edition , Oppo Brand , Oppo Digital , Oppo Digital Inc

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off