Sony S1500/ S3500 / S4500 / S5500 / S6500 Blu-ray players - Page 22 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1486Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 2244 Old 06-27-2015, 07:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1327 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcsaleme View Post
Hello,
If money were not a problem (but it is) which blu-ray player should I buy? (I already have Darbee) S66000, S7200, Oppo, ???
Thank you
5500 if you don't stream all the time. If your really big into streaming, the 6500 has a bit more power (zero difference in Blu-ray playback).

Quality is identical, see link in sig.
Dreamliner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 2244 Old 06-27-2015, 08:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
aaranddeeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lover's State
Posts: 4,078
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1873 Post(s)
Liked: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcsaleme View Post
Hello,
If money were not a problem (but it is) which blu-ray player should I buy? (I already have Darbee) S66000, S7200, Oppo, ???
Thank you
money were not a problem = oppo
else = anything that fits the budget for the purpose
aaranddeeman is offline  
post #633 of 2244 Old 06-28-2015, 11:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1327 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaranddeeman View Post
money were not a problem = oppo
else = anything that fits the budget for the purpose
I would never own an Oppo without a backup. I've seen many posts where Oppo owners are having trouble with Blu-rays because of this or that (branching seems to come up a lot) and I've had no issues with my PS3 (except for the inability to play simultaneous 3D & Dolby TrueHD).

Most Oppo owners probably already have another Blu-ray player, but I thought it was worth mentioning.
Dreamliner is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #634 of 2244 Old 06-28-2015, 01:32 PM
Member
 
chip387's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex F. View Post
Thank you, Chip, but I was asking about the Sony 5500, 3500, or 1500.

Your 6500 does have IP Content NR Pro, though. You'll find it in the main menu under Screen Settings. Scroll down near the end of the list and you will see it.

Give it a try, you might like the small but worthwhile improvement it makes to the picture while streaming. So far, I've preferred a setting of Film 2.
I stand corrected. I found it, thank you for the direction.

Great room:
Samsung 65h8000,denon x2000,Aperion verus forte LCR+bipole surr,Sony bdp s6500,Sub: PSA XS30se
Basement HT:
Epson 3700,Marantz sr7010,PSA MT110 LCR w/jbl surr/surr back,Pioneer vsx455, OSD MK670 Ceiling atmos,dual PSA xv15subs
chip387 is offline  
post #635 of 2244 Old 06-28-2015, 04:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Alex F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by chip387 View Post
I stand corrected. I found it, thank you for the direction.
You are welcome.
Alex F. is offline  
post #636 of 2244 Old 06-28-2015, 07:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
apw2607's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 353 Post(s)
Liked: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post

Most Oppo owners probably already have another Blu-ray player, but I thought it was worth mentioning.
What else is in that crystal ball ?
apw2607 is offline  
post #637 of 2244 Old 06-28-2015, 09:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,039
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1327 Post(s)
Liked: 668
Quote:
Originally Posted by apw2607 View Post
What else is in that crystal ball ?
Reasoning that most people who spend $500+ on a Blu-ray player likely stepped up from another or have a PS3/PS4/XBONE is not a stretch.
Dreamliner is online now  
post #638 of 2244 Old 06-29-2015, 02:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 563 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Well my wife last night finally let me set up my S5500 and here are my impressions of it. First I didnt think I would like it asthetic wise but I was wrong. Good solid build quality and it dont feel cheap to me like last years models did. No more pesky finger print issues and it dont seem prone to scratches. I like the look. Setup was a simple breeze and and I hard wired it to my router and it downloaded the firmware updates fast and quick unlike my old S6200 which seemed to have a hard time down loading firmware updates. I tested out a few of my reference Blu's and disc loading was very fast. Paired up with my Sony AVR and Sony 55W900A PQ was excellent as well as audio. I wasnt bothered at all by the 5500 not having a front end display while playing movies and I noticed no humming sound or any noise coming from the player while it was doing its thing. Over all I am very very satisfied with this little player and cant wait to play some full length movies this weekend. I think I am good now for awhile when it comes to Blu ray players so there wont be any upgrades on Blu ray players anytime soon. I finally have what I have been lookin for and my wife is happy about that!
JoeKustra and ToonMasterTim like this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #639 of 2244 Old 06-29-2015, 03:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Alex F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Steve:

A belated happy birthday and wishing you much enjoyment with the 5500.

If you stream Netflix or Hulu and have an opportunity, could you please check if the player has IP Noise Reduction? If the 5500 has that feature it would be in either the Options menu (likely available only while streaming) or in the main menu (under Screen Settings).

Thank you!
Alex F. is offline  
post #640 of 2244 Old 06-29-2015, 05:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 563 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex F. View Post
Steve:

A belated happy birthday and wishing you much enjoyment with the 5500.

If you stream Netflix or Hulu and have an opportunity, could you please check if the player has IP Noise Reduction? If the 5500 has that feature it would be in either the Options menu (likely available only while streaming) or in the main menu (under Screen Settings).

Thank you!

Thanks Alex for the belated birthday wish. I didnt stream any movies from Netflix or Hulu as of yet but I did check to see if my 5500 had IP Noise Reduction under screen settings and I didnt see it. Checked to see if it had it under other settings and again I didnt see it so Sony may have left it off this years models or at least the 5500. Honestly I never used it on my previous Sony Blu ray players, the 5100 and 6200 so I dont think I will miss it on my 5500. I have IP Noise Reduction on my Sony KDL 55W900A and I have it set to off as well.
steve1971 is offline  
post #641 of 2244 Old 06-29-2015, 08:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Alex F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
Thanks Alex for the belated birthday wish. I didnt stream any movies from Netflix or Hulu as of yet but I did check to see if my 5500 had IP Noise Reduction under screen settings and I didnt see it. Checked to see if it had it under other settings and again I didnt see it so Sony may have left it off this years models or at least the 5500. Honestly I never used it on my previous Sony Blu ray players, the 5100 and 6200 so I dont think I will miss it on my 5500. I have IP Noise Reduction on my Sony KDL 55W900A and I have it set to off as well.
Thank you for checking. The remaining possibility is in the Options menu while you are streaming.

If the 5500 has the feature and if it is nearly as effective as the IP NR Pro in my 6500, I will likely purchase a 5500 for use in a different room. Unfortunately, some Sony info says the 5500 has IP NR whereas other Sony info doesn't list it. It has been frustrating trying to determine if the 5500 actually has IP NR, especially for viewing Netflix.
Alex F. is offline  
post #642 of 2244 Old 06-30-2015, 05:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Famouss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Hmm Netflix still won't go any higher than 720p on the s5500 for me. The quality jumps to 720p rather quickly and remains there but it never once budges to 1080p. My Roku 3 and s5100 both jump to 1080p and remain there, this is while checking all 3 devices one after the other.

Panasonic TC-P65VT60
Sony BDP-S5100
Elite PRO-101FD
Famouss is offline  
post #643 of 2244 Old 06-30-2015, 06:27 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,198
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8846 Post(s)
Liked: 5634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex F. View Post
Thank you for checking. The remaining possibility is in the Options menu while you are streaming.

If the 5500 has the feature and if it is nearly as effective as the IP NR Pro in my 6500, I will likely purchase a 5500 for use in a different room. Unfortunately, some Sony info says the 5500 has IP NR whereas other Sony info doesn't list it. It has been frustrating trying to determine if the 5500 actually has IP NR, especially for viewing Netflix.
If it does have it then I would expect it to be like it was on the S5100. WHich is only accessible while playing content from the apps that support the IP Noise Reduction option. Like Amazon.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #644 of 2244 Old 06-30-2015, 08:52 PM
Member
 
GeneT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
My S6500 just quit playing DVD's. Half way through a DVD it started freezing. Tried cleaning the disk but the player freezes up as soon as it starts to read the disk. Tried several other DVD's and they all freeze up as soon as it starts reading them. BluRays play ok still however. Lucky I still have a Panasonic VHS/DVD hooked up so I finished the movie in that.

So now I need to figure out how to get Sony to fix it. Got it at BB about month ago.

Pioneer SC-81
Sony BDP-S6500 & Panasonic DVD/VHS combo
Vizio P70 4K
7.2 - Klipsch KG5.2, SC1 center, KSB2.1 SB, Acoustech sides
SVS 20-39PCI & JBL E250P Subwoofers
GeneT is offline  
post #645 of 2244 Old 06-30-2015, 09:06 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,198
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8846 Post(s)
Liked: 5634
If you are a member of the BestBuy Elite Reward Zone then there should be a 30 day return/exchange period.

If you are a member of the BestBuy Elite Plus Reward Zone then there should be a 45 day return/exchange period.

Otherwise their return/exchange period is only 15 days.

Or you could do what some people have done with other electronics at BestBuy, (if they didn't record the serial number) and buy a new one and then return the old player with the new receipt.

The 15 day return period was the worst thing to come out of Circuit City closing. Without that competition BestBuy reduced their standard return period from 30 days to 15 days. All the return periods were reduced by 15 days.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 06-30-2015 at 09:10 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #646 of 2244 Old 06-30-2015, 09:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Alex F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneT View Post
My S6500 just quit playing DVD's. Half way through a DVD it started freezing. Tried cleaning the disk but the player freezes up as soon as it starts to read the disk. Tried several other DVD's and they all freeze up as soon as it starts reading them. BluRays play ok still however. Lucky I still have a Panasonic VHS/DVD hooked up so I finished the movie in that.

So now I need to figure out how to get Sony to fix it. Got it at BB about month ago.
I had the same problem at least twice with my first 6500. Removing the DVD then unplugging the player for a couple of minutes convinced it to play nice with the DVD after I reloaded the disc.
Alex F. is offline  
post #647 of 2244 Old 07-01-2015, 09:46 AM
Member
 
GeneT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex F. View Post
I had the same problem at least twice with my first 6500. Removing the DVD then unplugging the player for a couple of minutes convinced it to play nice with the DVD after I reloaded the disc.
Thanks. That seems to work. So no immediate need to return the unit. Very annoying for sure. Good thing the old Panasonic still works good. Actually has better picture on DVD anyway.

Pioneer SC-81
Sony BDP-S6500 & Panasonic DVD/VHS combo
Vizio P70 4K
7.2 - Klipsch KG5.2, SC1 center, KSB2.1 SB, Acoustech sides
SVS 20-39PCI & JBL E250P Subwoofers
GeneT is offline  
post #648 of 2244 Old 07-01-2015, 01:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Alex F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by GeneT View Post
Thanks. That seems to work. So no immediate need to return the unit. Very annoying for sure. Good thing the old Panasonic still works good. Actually has better picture on DVD anyway.
You are welcome. Glad to hear it worked.
Alex F. is offline  
post #649 of 2244 Old 07-02-2015, 01:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
sonydude1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Anyone having a problem with the S6500 streaming. I've had Netflix and Youtube both exhibit a black screen for 1-2 seconds, every hour or so, give or take. The sound remains, but the video simply blacks out, skipping the 1-2 seconds in video.


I really like the video and sound quality, but this is a deal breaker for me. If you have not had this issue, do you stream a lot?
sonydude1966 is offline  
post #650 of 2244 Old 07-02-2015, 12:41 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,198
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8846 Post(s)
Liked: 5634
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonydude1966 View Post
Anyone having a problem with the S6500 streaming. I've had Netflix and Youtube both exhibit a black screen for 1-2 seconds, every hour or so, give or take. The sound remains, but the video simply blacks out, skipping the 1-2 seconds in video.


I really like the video and sound quality, but this is a deal breaker for me. If you have not had this issue, do you stream a lot?
I have not run into this issue with Netflix with either of my S6500's. I have used them a lot with Netflix. But I have not really used them with Youtube except for checking out a few videos.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #651 of 2244 Old 07-02-2015, 01:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
sonydude1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I have not run into this issue with Netflix with either of my S6500's. I have used them a lot with Netflix. But I have not really used them with Youtube except for checking out a few videos.
I wonder if it could just be mine. I've already returned one S6500 because of connection issues with the firmware update, which I had to update via memory stick, and it lost connection a couple of times with the apps.


This replacement S6500 has not had the same issues, but has this black screen flicker and also a delay in starting an app occasionally. My Roku 3 has never had issues, and my internet is 50Mbps. Not sure I want to try again or not with yet another 6500.
sonydude1966 is offline  
post #652 of 2244 Old 07-02-2015, 01:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,810
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 563 Post(s)
Liked: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonydude1966 View Post
I wonder if it could just be mine. I've already returned one S6500 because of connection issues with the firmware update, which I had to update via memory stick, and it lost connection a couple of times with the apps.


This replacement S6500 has not had the same issues, but has this black screen flicker and also a delay in starting an app occasionally. My Roku 3 has never had issues, and my internet is 50Mbps. Not sure I want to try again or not with yet another 6500.

Get the one step down 5500. Solid all around little player. I am lovin mine.
sonydude1966 likes this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #653 of 2244 Old 07-02-2015, 01:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Alex F.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonydude1966 View Post
I wonder if it could just be mine. I've already returned one S6500 because of connection issues with the firmware update, which I had to update via memory stick, and it lost connection a couple of times with the apps.


This replacement S6500 has not had the same issues, but has this black screen flicker and also a delay in starting an app occasionally. My Roku 3 has never had issues, and my internet is 50Mbps. Not sure I want to try again or not with yet another 6500.
Early this year we were having peculiar streaming issues with a Sony 390 wi-fi Blu-ray player yet all was OK with other wi-fi streaming players in the house. I thought the Sony was defective but it turned out our router was the problem. CenturyLink (our telephone company) directed me through a diagnostic check over the telephone, concluding we needed a new router. They replaced it and all has been fine since. Possibly you are in a similar situation.
Alex F. is offline  
post #654 of 2244 Old 07-02-2015, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
sonydude1966's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex F. View Post
Early this year we were having peculiar streaming issues with a Sony 390 wi-fi Blu-ray player yet all was OK with other wi-fi streaming players in the house. I thought the Sony was defective but it turned out our router was the problem. CenturyLink (our telephone company) directed me through a diagnostic check over the telephone, concluding we needed a new router. They replaced it and all has been fine since. Possibly you are in a similar situation.
I like using pingtest.net and speedtest.net to check the connections. I get A+ and 50+Mbps. Would that be correct to think that since the pingtest came out so well, that it was not my router. BTW, when I use pingtest, it does go through the same router for the streaming.
sonydude1966 is offline  
post #655 of 2244 Old 07-02-2015, 04:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,683
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1088 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonydude1966 View Post
I like using pingtest.net and speedtest.net to check the connections. I get A+ and 50+Mbps. Would that be correct to think that since the pingtest came out so well, that it was not my router. BTW, when I use pingtest, it does go through the same router for the streaming.
The router's importance can not be overstated. Slow internet with the Sony is mostly Sony. Another good free test is to use an Amazon trailer for a 1080/p24 DD5.1 movie. It takes the S6500 about 90 seconds to settle at P/24. My TiVo is there instantly and stays there. On the bright side, Sony has finally achieved P24 and has plenty of options to help you get the picture you like. As for checking the connections, do it after 8pm. My router has the Ookla test built in. It taught me to turn off its QoS. It's buggy. Never use the Opera Test. It's a joke.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #656 of 2244 Old 07-02-2015, 05:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,068
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 416
I seem to be having an issue lately with the 6500 on getting p24 with Amazon and Netflix, but not with vudu . With vudu my panny zt60 shows 1080p/24 with Netflix and Amazon just 1080p. A few weeks ago it showed on Amazon not lately. My signal strength is strong. Just cannot figure it out.
william06 is offline  
post #657 of 2244 Old 07-02-2015, 06:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,683
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1088 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
I seem to be having an issue lately with the 6500 on getting p24 with Amazon and Netflix, but not with vudu . With vudu my panny zt60 shows 1080p/24 with Netflix and Amazon just 1080p. A few weeks ago it showed on Amazon not lately. My signal strength is strong. Just cannot figure it out.
Nothing is perfect. Sometimes they have a problem. I have found that Amazon is not perfect but I don't know why. I find that a benchmark trailer, like FURY, is best. If that comes though in 1080/p24 DD5.1 it's not my fault when something else fails. Stuff happens. Having a second opinion is also nice. I use my TiVo. With Amazon it can take 90 seconds for P24 to make it. The TiVo doesn't have that delay. On older players there was a "testing" time. Perhaps that is now done while the movie starts. In the olden days a digital TV would take a few seconds to display the screen. Now they show it right away, but it's still busy doing things for a while. They hope you won't notice I guess.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #658 of 2244 Old 07-02-2015, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,068
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 783 Post(s)
Liked: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Nothing is perfect. Sometimes they have a problem. I have found that Amazon is not perfect but I don't know why. I find that a benchmark trailer, like FURY, is best. If that comes though in 1080/p24 DD5.1 it's not my fault when something else fails. Stuff happens. Having a second opinion is also nice. I use my TiVo. With Amazon it can take 90 seconds for P24 to make it. The TiVo doesn't have that delay. On older players there was a "testing" time. Perhaps that is now done while the movie starts. In the olden days a digital TV would take a few seconds to display the screen. Now they show it right away, but it's still busy doing things for a while. They hope you won't notice I guess.
Did you ever have anything show 1080 p/24 on netflix
william06 is offline  
post #659 of 2244 Old 07-03-2015, 03:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,683
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1088 Post(s)
Liked: 443
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Did you ever have anything show 1080 p/24 on netflix
Netflix require a subscription before access to any content. Amazon allows playing of trailers. I don't have a Netflix account. There are millions of others with a Netflix account, so finding someone to answer your question shouldn't be impossible.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #660 of 2244 Old 07-03-2015, 06:11 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,198
Mentioned: 61 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8846 Post(s)
Liked: 5634
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
Did you ever have anything show 1080 p/24 on netflix
I've never seen 1080P24 from Netflix.
steve1971 likes this.

53TB unRAID2--45TB unRAID3--35TB unRAID1a
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
7.1 , bdp-s3500/5500 , bdp-s6500 , hdmi to s-video , pcm , S1500 , S4500 , sony bdp-s1500 , sony_bdp-s3500/5500 , sony_bd_player , Terminator 2 Judgment Day Skynet Edition Blu Ray

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off