Sony S1500/ S3500 / S4500 / S5500 / S6500 Blu-ray players - Page 63 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1486Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1861 of 2244 Old 07-03-2016, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Unfortunately, WiFi connections tend to be much more unreliable than hard-wired ethernet connections. The standard recommendation is to run a Cat 6 ethernet cable from your router or switch directly to each piece of networked A/V equipment.



There are many reasons why a WiFi connection can become unreliable, not least of which is interference from the increasing number of WiFi networks being used by your neighbors. WiFi provides several different channels, each at a different broadcast frequency. You have to carefully inspect the channel usage in your vicinity and set your Access Point to use the channel which has the least interference. Since you didn't mention doing this, I have to assume you left the AP at the default, which is what most people do. This results in the maximum possible interference since most of your neighbors will be using that same channel.


Cat 5E works perfectly fine.


Sent from my AT&T iPhone 6S Plus using Tapatalk
DRC72 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1862 of 2244 Old 07-03-2016, 01:10 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,937
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9299 Post(s)
Liked: 5984
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC72 View Post
Cat 5E works perfectly fine.


Sent from my AT&T iPhone 6S Plus using Tapatalk
And with NBaseT products coming soon, cat5e will see 2.5Gb/s and 5Gb/s speeds.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1863 of 2244 Old 07-03-2016, 03:21 PM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
And with NBaseT products coming soon, cat5e will see 2.5Gb/s and 5Gb/s speeds.


Wow! What's Cat 6 gonna spec out at?


Sent from my AT&T iPhone 6S Plus using Tapatalk
DRC72 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1864 of 2244 Old 07-03-2016, 07:18 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,937
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9299 Post(s)
Liked: 5984
Quote:
Originally Posted by DRC72 View Post
Wow! What's Cat 6 gonna spec out at?


Sent from my AT&T iPhone 6S Plus using Tapatalk
It's rated at the same speeds for Cat5e and Cat6.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1865 of 2244 Old 07-04-2016, 06:38 AM
Senior Member
 
DRC72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Greater Hartford, CT
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 56
I figured Cat 6 would get a little bit better speeds since it's a thicker gauge, and more of a twist.


Sent from my AT&T iPhone 6S Plus using Tapatalk
DRC72 is offline  
post #1866 of 2244 Old 07-04-2016, 08:24 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,937
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9299 Post(s)
Liked: 5984
Cat 6 can already do 10G. But NBAseT is about having speeds above 1Gig and below the existing 10G products. At a much cheaper price. So they have two speeds. 2.5Gb/s and 5 Gb/s. I still think it's pretty amazing that they can get up to 5Gb/s over Cat5e cable.

Although they seem to be marketing it toward Access Point use which has easily surpassed the need for 1Gb/s connections. Since prior to NBASeT you had to jump from 1G to 10G. And the 10G stuff is very expensive.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1867 of 2244 Old 07-04-2016, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVfile View Post
Return to your retailer for exchange. If not possible then...
http://www.universalstudioshomeenter...placement.html
I've decided to wait and see if I can find a better package of the Trilogy instead of the cheap packaged version that didn't have anything but the clips to hold the discs in. I'm thinking that's what damaged the disc is the packaging as it worked when I first got it which was a couple years ago when it was first released. I hate putting commercial discs into jewel cases and like keeping them ill the original packaging to help keep their value as well as just to look nice on display.

I picked up a Roku streaming stick today (the new quad core one) and am pleased to see I can power it from my sony TV (secondary TV) without needing the wall adapter. I did a test on the TV's usb port before getting the stick with a 2.5" usb powered hard drive and it powered up and spun up normal.

One other thing I wanted to just verify is, Is blu-ray mature enough now that if you have a stable player, when it strictly comes to disc playback, there isn't a reason to upgrade unless the current one dies or is becoming faulty? Most of the changes I see are related to the web features and wireless on new models compared to physical disc playback and support.

Since I had determined the playback issues were disc related, It would appear my 6500 is still working correctly and solid.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1868 of 2244 Old 07-04-2016, 09:28 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,937
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9299 Post(s)
Liked: 5984
BD has been stable for many, many years. Even my old combo BD/HD DVD player from 2007/2008 still has no problem playing BDs.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1869 of 2244 Old 07-04-2016, 09:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
BD has been stable for many, many years. Even my old combo BD/HD DVD player from 2007/2008 still has no problem playing BDs.

Great to hear, thanks! Sounds Like I can treat Blu-ray like DVD now, and only upgrade if i need a new player , or if i need a new feature set at some point.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1870 of 2244 Old 07-06-2016, 05:03 AM
Member
 
nosdavid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Can the 6500 recognize a 4tb external portable drive plugged into its usb port? Do not want to do any partitioning or streaming. Just plug and play my files. My 3tb WD Passport drive can be read perfectly by the way.

Edit: Yes it works, for anyone interested to know.

Last edited by nosdavid; 07-15-2016 at 05:19 AM.
nosdavid is offline  
post #1871 of 2244 Old 07-06-2016, 05:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Hey all,

Just wanted to give an update and say, I have resolved my "Back to the Future" problem.

I found the trilogy for sale at walmart today for $26 in a new book packaging. The discs are now in sleeves so much easier to manage then the cheap plastic clips used in the Original blu-ray relate. So far no issues.

I'll give all three movies a watch today, to make sure all the discs are good and then i might toss the old discs.

Have a great day everyone
MacinMan is offline  
post #1872 of 2244 Old 07-08-2016, 08:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern NJ & Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 2,183
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1031 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Do all these models play Dolby Atmos ok? I have 5 year old Panny and the audio is cutting in and out. If switch to PCM audio it's flawless but no true Dolby Atmos, just simulated... Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Primary set-up 5.1.4; Yamaha A2050, Paired w/Parasound P5 & ATI 522NC 2 channel amp
Revel F206 fronts & Revel M16 rears; Outlaw X12 Sub & 4 RSL C34e in-ceilings

Secondary 5.1: Denon S900W, Polk LSiM703/704C, Polk RC80i in-ceiling rears, RSL Speedwoofer 10s
yanks1 is offline  
post #1873 of 2244 Old 07-09-2016, 12:20 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2848
Quote:
Originally Posted by yanks1 View Post
Do all these models play Dolby Atmos ok? I have 5 year old Panny and the audio is cutting in and out. If switch to PCM audio it's flawless but no true Dolby Atmos, just simulated... Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes, they work fine.

In other words, they don't have the random audio dropouts often heard on older players when bitstreaming the soundtracks of movies which make heavy use of the Seamless Branching feature.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #1874 of 2244 Old 07-09-2016, 04:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Northern NJ & Myrtle Beach area, SC
Posts: 2,183
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1031 Post(s)
Liked: 819
Thx Selden; I'll look into these Sonys


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Primary set-up 5.1.4; Yamaha A2050, Paired w/Parasound P5 & ATI 522NC 2 channel amp
Revel F206 fronts & Revel M16 rears; Outlaw X12 Sub & 4 RSL C34e in-ceilings

Secondary 5.1: Denon S900W, Polk LSiM703/704C, Polk RC80i in-ceiling rears, RSL Speedwoofer 10s
yanks1 is offline  
post #1875 of 2244 Old 07-12-2016, 09:15 AM
Member
 
randys1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sony BDP-S6500 or BDP-BX650 (costco) need 4K settings please for BD playback

There is auto 1, auto 2 for 4K output. Then there is [BD-ROM 24p Output] or [DVD-ROM 24p Output]

What I want to do is play both BD and regular discs, and upscale them as this is all attached to a 2016 630 series Samsung 4K.

What settings please? I am asking at Sony as well but their community has little to no responses.

Thanks in advance.
randys1 is offline  
post #1876 of 2244 Old 07-12-2016, 12:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
LNEWoLF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 476 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by randys1 View Post
There is auto 1, auto 2 for 4K output. Then there is [BD-ROM 24p Output] or [DVD-ROM 24p Output]

What I want to do is play both BD and regular discs, and upscale them as this is all attached to a 2016 630 series Samsung 4K.

What settings please? I am asking at Sony as well but their community has little to no responses.

Thanks in advance.
Auto 2 for 4k signal output

Auto for 24p or 60 p signal output

Or turn on to just output 24p
LNEWoLF is offline  
post #1877 of 2244 Old 07-12-2016, 01:02 PM
Member
 
randys1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 55 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by LNEWoLF View Post
Auto 2 for 4k signal output

Auto for 24p or 60 p signal output

Or turn on to just output 24p
Thanks for helping

I have Samsung BDJ 6300 also, Samsung chat says I dont need to make any adjustments on it, but not sure if that is right.
randys1 is offline  
post #1878 of 2244 Old 07-12-2016, 01:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Hey all,

I resolved my audio issue with wanting to connect the blu-ray player to the sound bar today.

I went up to best buy and picked up an Insignia digital optical / coax to analog adapter. I plugged the coax cable into the lbu-ray player to the adapter, and then the rend and wite analog to the adapter to the sound bar. Then I set the digital out from the player to PCM.

seems like i have working reliable sound coming from the sony player to the sound bar. Just wanted to double check to see if i needed to do anything else.

Seems everyrthing is ok. Thanks again.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1879 of 2244 Old 07-14-2016, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Gonna be picking up the S6500 this weekend due to the fact my S5500 died. I was going to pick up the S6700 but found that it's really not worth it since both the 6500 and the 6700 are nearly identicle. Hope it holds me over for a few years because this is it for me for Blu ray player's for awhile. Cant wait to get it and try it out since I have heard alot of good things about the 6500.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1880 of 2244 Old 07-14-2016, 06:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
Gonna be picking up the S6500 this weekend due to the fact my S5500 died. I was going to pick up the S6700 but found that it's really not worth it since both the 6500 and the 6700 are nearly identicle. Hope it holds me over for a few years because this is it for me for Blu ray player's for awhile. Cant wait to get it and try it out since I have heard alot of good things about the 6500.

Mine is still working without issues after a year of ownership.
steve1971 likes this.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1881 of 2244 Old 07-14-2016, 06:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
Mine is still working without issues after a year of ownership.

I have read and heard the 6500 is a pretty good solid unit which dont surprise me because I have always had good luck with Sony dvd and Blu ray players. My 5500 just conked out and instead of finding out why I said hell with it because it gives me a reason to get the 6500 which from the beginning I always wanted. As far as my 5500 was concerned it was a good player but it was also refurbished which may be why it bit the dust I dont know. But the 6500 will be brand new in box so I shouldnt have any issues.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1882 of 2244 Old 07-14-2016, 06:37 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,937
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9299 Post(s)
Liked: 5984
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinMan View Post
Mine is still working without issues after a year of ownership.
+1. Both of my S6500s are still working great too.

But then so are my two S6200 and two S5100 boxes too.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #1883 of 2244 Old 07-14-2016, 06:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,728
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1108 Post(s)
Liked: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
But the 6500 will be brand new in box so I shouldnt have any issues.
My S6500 is working fine with zero problems. It even seems faster with Amazon since the last update.

But why not the S6700?
steve1971 likes this.
JoeKustra is offline  
post #1884 of 2244 Old 07-14-2016, 07:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
My S6500 is working fine with zero problems. It even seems faster with Amazon since the last update.

But why not the S6700?


Why not the 6700? Because the spec's between the 2 players are almost identicle and the price has come down on the 6500 so why waste the money on the 6700 when I can get the 6500 cheaper?
yanks1 likes this.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1885 of 2244 Old 07-14-2016, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
MacinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 2,969
Mentioned: 21 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1054 Post(s)
Liked: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
Why not the 6700? Because the spec's between the 2 players are almost identicle and the price has come down on the 6500 so why waste the money on the 6700 when I can get the 6500 cheaper?
According to Amazon's comparison chart, the 6700 Only has two additional features which are bluetooth and multi room streaming. Neither which seem like are really worth the extra cost for a blu-ray player.
MacinMan is offline  
post #1886 of 2244 Old 07-14-2016, 08:21 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,666
Mentioned: 60 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3071 Post(s)
Liked: 1393
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
Gonna be picking up the S6500 this weekend due to the fact my S5500 died. I was going to pick up the S6700 but found that it's really not worth it since both the 6500 and the 6700 are nearly identicle. Hope it holds me over for a few years because this is it for me for Blu ray player's for awhile. Cant wait to get it and try it out since I have heard alot of good things about the 6500.
Seems like you should be able to get a warranty replacement for something as new as the 5500. Such players should last a very long time. I have 9 year old Sonys that still work fine. I've only had one Sony die on me in the past decade, and that was probably due to a power surge.
mdavej is online now  
post #1887 of 2244 Old 07-14-2016, 02:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 328 Post(s)
Liked: 121
My BDP-S370 still works fine...
andyross63 is offline  
post #1888 of 2244 Old 07-15-2016, 07:34 PM
Member
 
12Bass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Unlike the BDP-S6500 (2.4GHz only), the BDP-S6700 supports 5GHz wireless, which could be an advantage for people with dual band routers. Personally, I would prefer to use 5GHz for streaming video. The Bluetooth feature would also be handy. If the price difference isn't too much, the BDP-S6700 is a better option, IMO.
12Bass is offline  
post #1889 of 2244 Old 07-19-2016, 08:11 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Well I got the 6500 this past weekend and played a few Blu's and streamed some movies off Netflix and Vudu and so far outstanding. Load times for movies were super fast and streaming was flawless, much better then my old 5500 thats for sure. I got the Sony one year warranty plus an added 2 year warranty so I am set on the Blu ray player side of things for the next few years. Now I am gonna turn to some audio upgrades in the next few months not that anything is wrong with what I have but I want to upgrade a few things. So on the video side of things with the addition of the BDP-S6500 I am set. Now onto audio upgrades.
steve1971 is offline  
post #1890 of 2244 Old 07-19-2016, 09:07 AM
Member
 
Johnny P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Just purchased the 6500. Great unit. It was time for an upgrade.
My question is this
I have the sony receiver 1060. What audio setting do you have the 6500 under (SETTINGS) - (Audio settings) - Dolby D Compatible Output? ON OR OFF??
Also how do i know if its actually using all 7 speakers. I have it setup 5.1 but the other 2 i used for front high. I played Tron last night which is a 7.1 movie and i couldnt hear anything coming out of the speakers

The speaker pattern is setup correctly on the receiver and i also did a test tone just to make sure there was a signal passing through. Am i doing something wrong?? And advice is greatly appreciated thanks all

Johnny
Johnny P is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
7.1 , bdp-s3500/5500 , bdp-s6500 , hdmi to s-video , pcm , S1500 , S4500 , sony bdp-s1500 , sony_bdp-s3500/5500 , sony_bd_player , Terminator 2 Judgment Day Skynet Edition Blu Ray

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off