Sony S1500/ S3500 / S4500 / S5500 / S6500 Blu-ray players - Page 73 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1486Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2161 of 2244 Old 05-02-2017, 11:17 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2845
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcconner View Post
Hi,

I picked up a Sony blu-ray player (model BDP-S6500) with the intent of hooking it to an older Yamaha receiver I have (a RX-V4600). I'm starting to think that wasn't the best move; looking at page 95 of the RX-V4600 owners manual, I see that any HDMI in has to go to HDMI out. The receiver's video out is an older Sharp analog projector and it has no HDMI connection on the back of it.

If I'm reading that correctly, are there converter boxes to allow a blu-ray disk to look like an RGB or s-video input signal? If not, are there even any blu-ray players these days that support older receivers?

Thanks much!

--Ben
HDMI adapters which can output composite or component video (plus stereo audio) are readily available. The "analog sunset" provision of the HDMI license prevents Blu-ray players from providing analog video outputs any more. A Web search for
HDMI video converter
will provide a list of many suppliers, including places like Walmart and Best Buy.

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2162 of 2244 Old 05-04-2017, 06:52 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
HDMI adapters which can output composite or component video (plus stereo audio) are readily available. The "analog sunset" provision of the HDMI license prevents Blu-ray players from providing analog video outputs any more. A Web search for
HDMI video converter
will provide a list of many suppliers, including places like Walmart and Best Buy.
Thanks, Seldon. Wasn't sure if those were what I needed or not. Will search for that.

Much appreciated!

--Ben
bcconner is offline  
post #2163 of 2244 Old 06-10-2017, 04:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Number_6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 35
My wireless streaming performance has declined on my Sony BDP-S5500. When I use the built-in Opera web browser to run the Netflix-affiliated speed test at fast.com, I'm only getting results of 3.5 - 4 mbps. Is this low speed on fast.com "normal" considering the other information below? When I run the built-in speed test on the Vudu app, it "maxes out" the speed bar, which suggests I'm getting at least 7-8 mbps from them, but the top of the bar isn't labeled. I'm just wondering why fast.com results in particular are lousy.

My ISP is AT&T (50 mpbs service level) and on my hardwired PC I get full speed (50 mbps or more) on most speed tests with servers near me, and 25-30 mbps on Fast.com. Wifi signal is strong and the blu-ray is the only wireless device connected to the 2.4 channel on the router. I've tried changing the wireless channel with no significant effect. I can't manually change the DNS to 8.8.8.8 as often suggested because AT&T doesn't give you that option on their gateway and Sony doesn't let you specify DNS in the wireless config for the blu ray.

Help?
Number_6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2164 of 2244 Old 06-11-2017, 05:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 119
The CPU on the S5500 is not very powerful. The Opera browser is virtually useless the few times I tried it out. It can take 1-2 minutes just to load a basic web page.

Have you been having other issues? Do other services have buffering problems?

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #2165 of 2244 Old 06-11-2017, 07:39 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,707
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 450
I'm using an S6500. Loading fast.com was almost instantaneous. The test result was 10 (3x). The Ookla test would not run. My connection is 50Mbps/5Mbps and I usually get 49.9Mbps 24/7 on the normal Ookla test. It might be an issue with fast.com not telling you which server is being used.

I have used streaming from Amazon as a backup without problems other than the normal delay in getting up to speed. My primary streaming device is a TiVo.

My S6500, TiVo, AVR, and computer all are wired to an 802.11ac bridge. The internal wireless for those devices is crap.

Last edited by JoeKustra; 06-11-2017 at 07:42 AM.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #2166 of 2244 Old 07-08-2017, 05:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
andyross63's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Aurora, IL
Posts: 3,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 322 Post(s)
Liked: 119
How many people use the streaming services on their 5500 or similar? I have noticed that if I use one service, particularly YouTube, then try to use something else (usually Netflix), it often stutters and stops. I have to reboot the player to get it to play properly.

Need help with your Motorola DVR? Check the Wikibook: How to use a Motorola DVR
andyross63 is offline  
post #2167 of 2244 Old 07-08-2017, 09:37 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 14,548
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2993 Post(s)
Liked: 1342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selden Ball View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bcconner View Post
Hi,

I picked up a Sony blu-ray player (model BDP-S6500) with the intent of hooking it to an older Yamaha receiver I have (a RX-V4600). I'm starting to think that wasn't the best move; looking at page 95 of the RX-V4600 owners manual, I see that any HDMI in has to go to HDMI out. The receiver's video out is an older Sharp analog projector and it has no HDMI connection on the back of it.

If I'm reading that correctly, are there converter boxes to allow a blu-ray disk to look like an RGB or s-video input signal? If not, are there even any blu-ray players these days that support older receivers?

Thanks much!

--Ben
HDMI adapters which can output composite or component video (plus stereo audio) are readily available. The "analog sunset" provision of the HDMI license prevents Blu-ray players from providing analog video outputs any more. A Web search for
HDMI video converter
will provide a list of many suppliers, including places like Walmart and Best Buy.
Don't do that, you'll ruin the picture. Connect HDMI directly to your TV, then connect audio separately either from player or tv to Yamaha. I don't know what audio outs your player has, but surely it has optical or coax at least. Same goes for your tv.
mdavej is online now  
post #2168 of 2244 Old 07-08-2017, 10:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,707
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Don't do that, you'll ruin the picture. Connect HDMI directly to your TV, then connect audio separately either from player or tv to Yamaha. I don't know what audio outs your player has, but surely it has optical or coax at least. Same goes for your tv.
Coax only. Sony dropped optical years ago. I can't explain why the still use only optical on their TV sets. Tradition?

But reading the post, it seems the display device is a projector without HDMI inputs.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #2169 of 2244 Old 07-20-2017, 12:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Steff3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Fairfield, CA
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 20
picking up either s5500, s6500, or s6700 region free. I don't need 4k and wont for at least a couple years, just need 1080P While I stream mostly thru my Tivo (for convenience mainly) I still do not want something that is sluggish. With that said, what is the consensus on these three? I know the latter are dual core but what else diff from the 6500 & 6700 since they are both dual?
Thanks!
Steff3 is offline  
post #2170 of 2244 Old 07-26-2017, 08:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
steve1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Paul, Minnesota.
Posts: 2,814
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 565 Post(s)
Liked: 512
Now that I have a 4K tv (Samsung) I have been able to finally test my 6500's 4K Upscaling ability. I have to say it perform's very very well upscaling Blu's to 4K and they look better then they ever did on my old Sony 1080p tv. They look so good that I wont be converting them over to the 4K versions. But my 6500 as good as it is and has been is on borrowed time. Come the holidays it will be replaced with a true 4K Blu ray player and it's replacement will either be from Samsung, Panasonic or maybe Oppo. Right now I'm leaning heavily towards Samsung due to my wife and I's budget. Some may ask why not Sony? Well I'm slowly moving away from Sony and going in another direction. Changing things up.
steve1971 is offline  
post #2171 of 2244 Old 07-26-2017, 10:20 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,404
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8959 Post(s)
Liked: 5735
Quote:
Originally Posted by steve1971 View Post
Now that I have a 4K tv (Samsung) I have been able to finally test my 6500's 4K Upscaling ability. I have to say it perform's very very well upscaling Blu's to 4K and they look better then they ever did on my old Sony 1080p tv. They look so good that I wont be converting them over to the 4K versions. But my 6500 as good as it is and has been is on borrowed time. Come the holidays it will be replaced with a true 4K Blu ray player and it's replacement will either be from Samsung, Panasonic or maybe Oppo. Right now I'm leaning heavily towards Samsung due to my wife and I's budget. Some may ask why not Sony? Well I'm slowly moving away from Sony and going in another direction. Changing things up.
The Samsung UHD BD players still use a fan and are noisy because of it. The Sonys don't use a fan and are quiet. I owned the first Sammy UHD BD player since February 2016 and loved. But in March 2017 I got the Sony X800 and saw what I had been missing.

I still have two Sony S6500 players which work great. And have one connected to my main setup, which is only 2K. And then my other S6500 I will use on rare occasions to take to my GFs house when we watch a BD over there.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2172 of 2244 Old 08-01-2017, 01:01 PM
Member
 
Greg B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have had a BDP-S6500 for about a year now and have almost given up on it for wireless streaming. It simply cannot obtain or maintain a network connection for more than a few minutes, with lots of freezing and lag when it does get a connection. My internet speed is 60 Mbps and I get that or close to it on my other wireless devices. The signal strength on the Sony shows on its Status page as between 70% and 89%, with it staying in the 80s most of the time, which I would think should be more than OK. Unfortunately a wired connection in this location would mean hiring an electrician to run cables which I really do not want to do as I have no confidence it would fix anything.

The software update released in February seemed to really help with these problems for a few weeks, but now it is back to where it was prior. I am at a loss and am ready to toss the thing. Sony support has been no help and I have done power resets so often that I worry that the power jack will wear out. If anyone has resolved this I would be most appreciative for any suggestions.
Greg B. is offline  
post #2173 of 2244 Old 08-01-2017, 03:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,707
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg B. View Post
I have had a BDP-S6500 for about a year now and have almost given up on it for wireless streaming. It simply cannot obtain or maintain a network connection for more than a few minutes, with lots of freezing and lag when it does get a connection. My internet speed is 60 Mbps and I get that or close to it on my other wireless devices. The signal strength on the Sony shows on its Status page as between 70% and 89%, with it staying in the 80s most of the time, which I would think should be more than OK. Unfortunately a wired connection in this location would mean hiring an electrician to run cables which I really do not want to do as I have no confidence it would fix anything.

The software update released in February seemed to really help with these problems for a few weeks, but now it is back to where it was prior. I am at a loss and am ready to toss the thing. Sony support has been no help and I have done power resets so often that I worry that the power jack will wear out. If anyone has resolved this I would be most appreciative for any suggestions.
I agree the internal wireless isn't very good. I feed my S6500 to a wireless bridge and have no streaming problems. But if you feel spending more money to make up for poor wireless is not a good route, then further discussion is a waste of both our times.

I bought the S6500 for a good Blu-ray player. For streaming I use a Roku 3 or for even better quality, a TiVo.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #2174 of 2244 Old 08-01-2017, 03:31 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,404
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8959 Post(s)
Liked: 5735
No issues here. My 6500 units both typically start streaming at the top HD tier over 5ghz wifi. And is rock soliid during streaming.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk
yanks1 likes this.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2175 of 2244 Old 08-01-2017, 03:40 PM
Member
 
Greg B.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
No issues here. My 6500 units both typically start streaming at the top HD tier over 5ghz wifi. And is rock soliid during streaming.

Sent from my Galaxy S8 using Tapatalk

That's interesting - is 5ghz an IPV6 connection? Sony support advises that IPV6 is not supported on the 6500 and not to set it up.
@JoeKustra - tell me more about your wireless bridge setup. I have a router here gathering dust that might be a candidate for such a use for this issue.
Greg B. is offline  
post #2176 of 2244 Old 08-01-2017, 04:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,707
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg B. View Post
That's interesting - is 5ghz an IPV6 connection? Sony support advises that IPV6 is not supported on the 6500 and not to set it up.
@JoeKustra - tell me more about your wireless bridge setup. I have a router here gathering dust that might be a candidate for such a use for this issue.
I thought the S6700 was the unit that went back to 5Ghz.

I have a very good router one floor below my S6500. I found the built-in wireless not so good, even though I seldom use it. A wireless bridge is a device that converts wired to wireless as you know. Not all are created equal. I have several used with devices all over my house, but the router (Netgear R8000) is the most important part. My S6500 is one of five devices that use a Netgear EX7000. Some routers can be configured as bridges, or range extenders. I never use a range extender in that mode, but most can be used as a bridge. I have had success using Linksys WUMC710, RE6500, ASUS EA-N66R, but have never tried to re-purpose a router. I have three or four older routers also. It has been my experience that a device that supports wired and wireless internet tend to have poor wireless performance. My TiVo really sucks at wireless. At this time I use built-in wireless with my televisions (Sony), Roku 3, and a printer. I have used streaming a lot on my TiVo, which shares that EX7000. I like the Roku, but it doesn't support 24fps. Prices vary a lot, and I have not heard good things about TP-Link or power-line wireless. But with wires (CAT-5/5e/6) you have control. With wireless you don't control the environment. There's the rub.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #2177 of 2244 Old 08-02-2017, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 14,826
Mentioned: 45 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4808 Post(s)
Liked: 2845
An alternative is to use powerline networking. http://thewirecutter.com/reviews/bes...etworking-kit/

Selden

Marantz SR7009 avr + MM9000 amp --> Atmos 7.1.4
Fronts=NHT 2.9+AC2, FH+TM=DefTech PM1000, LCR+TM amped
Selden Ball is offline  
post #2178 of 2244 Old 08-02-2017, 11:37 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,404
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8959 Post(s)
Liked: 5735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg B. View Post
That's interesting - is 5ghz an IPV6 connection? Sony support advises that IPV6 is not supported on the 6500 and not to set it up.
............
I'm using IPV4 on my home network. Plus my WAN connection on FiOS is still IPV4.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2179 of 2244 Old 08-02-2017, 12:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,707
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I'm using IPV4 on my home network. Plus my WAN connection on FiOS is still IPV4.
I agree that the S6500 will use IPv4 if available, My unit has complete parameters for an IPv6 connection. I have no idea if it's using it or not. My router is using 6to4 Tunnel.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #2180 of 2244 Old 08-12-2017, 12:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
I own the Sony BDP S5500, and I'm quite satisfied with it's ability to play Various Formats on the go. I use this Player to play Movies from my NAS (Media Server). This NAS setup includes the Buffalo USB 3.0 connected to the Asus RT-AC88U.

But there are some Videos which Sony Refuses to Play, Mostly Protected or Original media Content, and the Samsung Smart TV has no problem playing it. I like the Sound Quality of this player, it's very Much Detailed for Music, Great for Movies too.
Sachb is offline  
post #2181 of 2244 Old 10-01-2017, 01:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Does anyone know if this player gets 24fps on Netflix? I know vudu does.
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #2182 of 2244 Old 10-02-2017, 01:24 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,707
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post
Does anyone know if this player gets 24fps on Netflix? I know vudu does.
Not a very active thread. I can say that Amazon works at 24fps, but I don't have a Netflix account. It can take up to 90 seconds for full HD to kick in. Posting about the S6500.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #2183 of 2244 Old 10-02-2017, 02:17 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,404
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8959 Post(s)
Liked: 5735
I'm pretty sure it's 24fps with Netflix too.
aaronwt is offline  
post #2184 of 2244 Old 10-02-2017, 02:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I'm pretty sure it's 24fps with Netflix too.
Just tried it. Mine does not do 24fps. Same for others?

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #2185 of 2244 Old 10-02-2017, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ashland, PA 17921
Posts: 8,707
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1100 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post
Just tried it. Mine does not do 24fps. Same for others?
Why don't you try Amazon Prime. It's free and you don't have to do a trial subscription. Just register your device. I suggest the movie Fury. It has good sound and video. Netflix doesn't let you try it without a credit card. Amazon doesn't need one to watch trailers.

I'm sure you have tried a Blu-ray and it shows 24fps?

Last edited by JoeKustra; 10-02-2017 at 03:05 PM.
JoeKustra is online now  
post #2186 of 2244 Old 10-02-2017, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeKustra View Post
Why don't you try Amazon Prime. It's free and you don't have to do a trial subscription. Just register your device. I suggest the movie Fury. It has good sound and video. Netflix doesn't let you try it without a credit card. Amazon doesn't need one to watch trailers.

I'm sure you have tried a Blu-ray and it shows 24fps?
I have Amazon. It's 24...as is Vudu. Netflix is not.

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #2187 of 2244 Old 10-02-2017, 06:00 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,404
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8959 Post(s)
Liked: 5735
It has been awhile since I used my S6500. It's certainly hard to keep all the models and features straight. But I see that native frame rate is coming to Roku models soon. So that could be another option.
aaronwt is offline  
post #2188 of 2244 Old 10-04-2017, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It has been awhile since I used my S6500. It's certainly hard to keep all the models and features straight. But I see that native frame rate is coming to Roku models soon. So that could be another option.
Oh really? That's great news! Where did you read that? Is it all models?

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
post #2189 of 2244 Old 10-04-2017, 01:46 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,404
Mentioned: 62 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8959 Post(s)
Liked: 5735
Quote:
Originally Posted by DigitalfreakNYC View Post
Oh really? That's great news! Where did you read that? Is it all models?
It's with the new Roku OS, version 8. And they made it sound like it was most of their models getting it.

49TB unRAID1a--53TB unRAID2--72TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #2190 of 2244 Old 10-04-2017, 02:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DigitalfreakNYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,021
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 127 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
It's with the new Roku OS, version 8. And they made it sound like it was most of their models getting it.
Ooooh...I wonder when that's being pushed out. Thank you!

"I have never seen it, but by all accounts it is terrible. However, I have seen the house that it built, and it is terrific." - Michael Caine, on Jaws the Revenge
DigitalfreakNYC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
7.1 , bdp-s3500/5500 , bdp-s6500 , hdmi to s-video , pcm , S1500 , S4500 , sony bdp-s1500 , sony_bdp-s3500/5500 , sony_bd_player , Terminator 2 Judgment Day Skynet Edition Blu Ray

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off