2015 Samsung Players: BD-J7500, J5900, J5700, J5100 - Page 3 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 76Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 119 Old 12-20-2015, 08:50 AM
Member
 
Freerojo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nevermind

Found it (finally!).
Freerojo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 119 Old 12-20-2015, 09:15 AM
Member
 
mmbuckwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 49 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by alextr75 View Post
Did you try playing around with the TV Aspect Ratio Picture Settings ?
It's working now. I previously had tried the aspect settings with no difference in screen size. Today, when turning on and using internet apps, everything is sized appropriately.
mmbuckwa is offline  
post #63 of 119 Old 12-28-2015, 01:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Just got the J7500 player for Christmas an d love it. GREAT PQ!

Under Samsung Apps on the player:
I can't figure out how to take the Netflix and Hulu apps which are in the "Recommended Apps" section and bring them into the "My Apps" section. Both are already downloaded and signed into my respective accounts.

in fact. holding "Select" on ANYTHING in the Recommended section (top bar) does not show a "Move" option in the drop down.

So, on the Home page of the player, the only thing showing in the "My Apps" section is the Internet Browser, which hilariously I can't delete from the My Apps section.

Not the most intuitive interface.

Can anyone help?
Thanks!!!
eliamike is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 119 Old 12-30-2015, 07:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Another member who got this player as a Christmas gift. I have an old Pio Elite which doesn't support audio pass through for 3D and needed the 2 hdmi outputs. Does it matter which input to use on the receiver? BD or regular hdmi..Going straight to PJ from other hdmi out..Letting AVR to decode so I'll set it on Bitstream Unprocessed to use Dolby True HD and DTS-HD ..I'll play some movies next week when everyone in the house goes back to work.. Enjoy the player to all the new owners.. thanks in advance..

taxman48 is offline  
post #65 of 119 Old 01-05-2016, 11:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 35
First time poster (long-time lurker) here...

Regarding the Samsung BD-J5700, I noticed when watching the Star Wars blu rays the video will randomly lag behind everything else for around half a second. The image on screen will freeze for a moment, then "catch up" to the audio. There is no disturbance in the audio while this happens. Oddly, it's not repeatable when the disc is restarted or the scene played again, but it then happens again elsewhere. It seems to occur anywhere from 1 to 6 times per viewing, always at different points in the movies.

Doesn't matter which of the 6 Star Wars movies it is (I only noticed it with my Star Wars movies, but someone on another forum mentioned this problem with the 25th Anniversary Home Alone blu ray disc). It also doesn't matter what TV I play it on (tried on 3 separate TVs - 2 Samsung plasmas, one LG LCD), it doesn't matter which HDMI cables I use, and it doesn't matter what player I use (my house has two of these BD-J5700 players).

I contacted Samsung, and they just gave the predictable "make sure your firmware is up do date, blah blah blah" response. Yes, my players and TVs are up to date.

Anyway, it's a strange glitch with these players (or Star Wars discs) that I discovered and haven't encountered before and have not seen mentioned here.
mroilers is offline  
post #66 of 119 Old 01-05-2016, 01:51 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by mroilers View Post
First time poster (long-time lurker) here...

Regarding the Samsung BD-J5700, I noticed when watching the Star Wars blu rays the video will randomly lag behind everything else for around half a second. The image on screen will freeze for a moment, then "catch up" to the audio. There is no disturbance in the audio while this happens. Oddly, it's not repeatable when the disc is restarted or the scene played again, but it then happens again elsewhere. It seems to occur anywhere from 1 to 6 times per viewing, always at different points in the movies.

Doesn't matter which of the 6 Star Wars movies it is (I only noticed it with my Star Wars movies, but someone on another forum mentioned this problem with the 25th Anniversary Home Alone blu ray disc). It also doesn't matter what TV I play it on (tried on 3 separate TVs - 2 Samsung plasmas, one LG LCD), it doesn't matter which HDMI cables I use, and it doesn't matter what player I use (my house has two of these BD-J5700 players).

I contacted Samsung, and they just gave the predictable "make sure your firmware is up do date, blah blah blah" response. Yes, my players and TVs are up to date.

Anyway, it's a strange glitch with these players (or Star Wars discs) that I discovered and haven't encountered before and have not seen mentioned here.
This does seem odd. How do you have the player hooked up to the TV? Is it through an A/V receiver or directly?
Also, have you played with the output settings on the player? I have my J7500 hooked up to my A/V receiver and had to change the audio output to get the audio to play correctly.
eliamike is offline  
post #67 of 119 Old 01-06-2016, 09:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 35
I have tried hooking up the HDMI through my AV receiver and directly to my TV. No difference.

I have tried every video and audio setting on the player I can think of as well.
mroilers is offline  
post #68 of 119 Old 01-06-2016, 01:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 388
easy setup

Just got around to setting this player up. I am using it as a BD player only, I have a Marantz CD player.. Not interested in apps, just regular BD and 3D movies. My AVR doesn't support 3D pass thru so the dual HDMI inputs were a perfect solution. Within minutes I was connected to my network via wire. Downloaded latest update #1005 and set it on auto update. I set the screen to 100" and the audio to Bitstream unprocessed. Connect HDMi to my JVC projector and the other one to the BD input on the receiver. Popped in Jupiter Ascending and was happy to see the Dolby TrueHD and all 7 lights on my receiver. Any way to dim the front display? Reprogrammed my Harmony 1000 and it works great now.. I will watch a full movie next week..

taxman48 is offline  
post #69 of 119 Old 01-07-2016, 10:38 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post
Just got around to setting this player up. I am using it as a BD player only, I have a Marantz CD player.. Not interested in apps, just regular BD and 3D movies. My AVR doesn't support 3D pass thru so the dual HDMI inputs were a perfect solution. Within minutes I was connected to my network via wire. Downloaded latest update #1005 and set it on auto update. I set the screen to 100" and the audio to Bitstream unprocessed. Connect HDMi to my JVC projector and the other one to the BD input on the receiver. Popped in Jupiter Ascending and was happy to see the Dolby TrueHD and all 7 lights on my receiver. Any way to dim the front display? Reprogrammed my Harmony 1000 and it works great now.. I will watch a full movie next week..
Glad to hear it's working out of the box for you!
Yes, there is a setting to dim the display after a choice of timeouts. Somewhere in the settings...
eliamike is offline  
post #70 of 119 Old 01-18-2016, 06:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
swarm87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: rhode island
Posts: 1,153
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 124
as just a transport for 3D wiht an avr that does not do 3D is the bd-j7500 a good unit?

pcm=potato
bitstream=patato
swarm87 is offline  
post #71 of 119 Old 01-19-2016, 10:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Yes, got it for 3D movies and to use the dual HMI outputs since my AVR doesn't pass 3D sound ..Excellent player, very quiet and quick.. Watched Terminator Genisys last night, nice and sharp, 7.1 sound..Hope this helps

taxman48 is offline  
post #72 of 119 Old 02-08-2016, 04:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bladerunner1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA...Preferably the Virgin Islands....
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I just bought the Bd-J7500 only because my Samsung BD-E6500 (which i LOVE and bought May 2012) is starting to have loading issues. I'll open it sometime in the next week. I had no hesitation going with a Samsung Bluray player again since pic quality for dollars spent is an amazing value.

My panel is the Samsung UN60ES8000 led/lcd. I've loved the slot load as opposed to tray in my 6500 and i do love the sleek design that compliments my my gear. Other than OPPO (and Pioneer or Marantz) , none of the quality bluray players at this price point have impressive designs but I think after touching this, the Sony 7200 and the Panasonic BDT460 at Magnolia ; the Samsung is the most pleasing aestetically.

Functionality with my HarmonyOne; I'm hoping that its a "plug and play" situation and that I wont have to update my Harmony. I only use the Harmony for the basic commands while watching Blurays or streaming from Smart HUB.

I only stream from the SmartHub as I never let my monitor communicate with the world. Streaming VUDU, Netflix, Pandora and YouTube is about it there.

I'll report back on performance one i plug in, run the settings and spin a few reference discs.

I'll assume that i turn off the 4k/uhd upscale since my panel is 1080p, right?

Love for all things Hi-def...Losing count; 200 plus bluray, 500 plus dvd, 30 plus HDdvd and a rapidly growing 50 plus in the cloud.

Bladerunner1959 is offline  
post #73 of 119 Old 02-12-2016, 07:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How share samsung blue-ray on home lan

I have a Samsung BD-J5900 blue-ray player and two tv's. One TV ic connected by HDMI directly to the player. The other TV is a Samsung LN32A550 connected to my LAN by wire.

Is there a way I can share this player on my LAN so that I can access the disc or USB on my two tv's?

Thanks
tonyvr4 is offline  
post #74 of 119 Old 03-16-2016, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bladerunner1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA...Preferably the Virgin Islands....
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 72
I recently bought the Bd-J7500 only because my Samsung BD-E6500 (which i LOVE and bought May 2012) is starting to have loading issues.

Wow, what a nice surprise. The j7500 is fast, sharp on bluray, has great menu's and... to my unexpected surprise the player produces a more vivid and sharper image with dvd than my e6500.

My panel is the Samsung 3D UN60ES8000 led/lcd.

I've loved the slot load as opposed to tray in my 6500 and i do love the sleek design that compliments my my gear...BUT, I'll trade the cool looks for improved dvd playback performance all the time.

Very happy with dollar value and great price on my BD-J7500...

Love for all things Hi-def...Losing count; 200 plus bluray, 500 plus dvd, 30 plus HDdvd and a rapidly growing 50 plus in the cloud.


Last edited by Bladerunner1959; 03-16-2016 at 08:13 AM. Reason: added comments
Bladerunner1959 is offline  
post #75 of 119 Old 03-16-2016, 07:59 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,279
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 415 Post(s)
Liked: 388
I bought it for the dual hdmi outputs. Now I can enjoy 3D movies and get the latest sound formats. My AVR doesn't support 3D pass through, so one goes to PJ and the other goes into receiver..
Bladerunner1959 likes this.

taxman48 is offline  
post #76 of 119 Old 03-19-2016, 04:57 PM
Member
 
fab68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Netflix 4K on BDJ 7500

Netflix 4K on BDJ 7500
Hello all! I am not sure if this is the correct thread but I will give it a shot. I am streaming from my samsung BR player to a Vizio M80 c3. When I use my BR ( currently wired) player to stream from Netflix ( House of Cards) it only gives me the HD option . If I stream from the TV who is set wirelessly it will give the UHD 4K option. What I am doing wrong. How can I make sure I am streaming in UHD 4K.

Thanks
fab68 is offline  
post #77 of 119 Old 03-19-2016, 06:35 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,182
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1254 Post(s)
Liked: 2061
Quote:
Originally Posted by fab68 View Post
Netflix 4K on BDJ 7500
Hello all! I am not sure if this is the correct thread but I will give it a shot. I am streaming from my samsung BR player to a Vizio M80 c3. When I use my BR ( currently wired) player to stream from Netflix ( House of Cards) it only gives me the HD option . If I stream from the TV who is set wirelessly it will give the UHD 4K option. What I am doing wrong. How can I make sure I am streaming in UHD 4K.

Thanks
You cannot stream UHD on the 7500. It does not support UHD. You will need an UHD player like the Samsung 8500 or an UHD device like the ROKU.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #78 of 119 Old 03-19-2016, 07:08 PM
Member
 
fab68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post
You cannot stream UHD on the 7500. It does not support UHD. You will need an UHD player like the Samsung 8500 or an UHD device like the ROKU.
Got it !! Thank you !!
fab68 is offline  
post #79 of 119 Old 05-02-2016, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Oz Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lavergne, TN.
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I just got the J7500 and was blown away by the picture. I did have the Sony 6200. What is surprising is the lack of talk about the Sammy. When I was looking for another BD player, I never considered the J7500. After reading some reviews and someone pointing out it was as good as there Oppo, I pulled the trigger. The 7500 must be a hidden gem. The blu ray quality is superb and the 3D was much better than the Sony, picture wise and color. This is by far the best player I have had. Looks much better on my new LG TV than my Sony.

75X900F,
Yamaha 683
Oppo 203
One X
Oz Man is offline  
post #80 of 119 Old 05-09-2016, 02:31 PM
Member
 
SolRage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 53
My dad has this player and I'm trying to get a couple of files to play on it via USB and getting a "file not supported" message. I've attached two images of the MediaInfo information. According to the J7500 manual, it seems these files should be compatible. The only thing I notice might be off is the fact that it's at 60fps and 1280x720. In the manual (under supported formats) it lists a max framerate of 60 next to 1920x1080; does that mean it can't do 60fps at 1280x720?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture2.JPG
Views:	132
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	1431082   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	138
Size:	52.5 KB
ID:	1431090  
SolRage is offline  
post #81 of 119 Old 05-28-2016, 01:19 PM
Member
 
miamicanes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Miami
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsung player, Netflix, and Dolby Digital (non-plus) over SPDIF

I know they're ancient and lower-end players, but I have a specific question about the Samsung BD-JM51 and BD-J5100 players as they relate to Netflix and Dolby Digital (non-plus) 5.1 over SPDIF.

Is there any way to configure the player so it will BOTH:

1. Tell Netflix it wants DD+ 7.1 (because Netflix will substitute 2 channel PCM if the player tells it that DD 5.1 is the best it can do), then

2. Re-encode the raw DD+ 7.1 bitstream from Netflix into 5.1 channel Dolby Digital (non-plus) or DTS & output it via SPDIF?

My interest in these two models is mostly because I've found them online at prices low enough to buy one JUST to use as a Netflix-box-with-SPDIF-outputs. But since that's my only reason for buying one, it'll be a complete waste of money if I buy one and it ends up just outputting 2-channel PCM (or outputs nothing at all over SPDIF if it's configured to stream DD+).
miamicanes is offline  
post #82 of 119 Old 05-28-2016, 01:54 PM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,182
Mentioned: 77 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1254 Post(s)
Liked: 2061
Audio capabilities are on page 12 of the owner's manual. Re-encoding only works over HDMI.

http://www.samsung.com/us/video/home-audio/BD-J5100/ZA

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #83 of 119 Old 05-31-2016, 01:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mikeynavy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quick question. I'm replacing a 3 - 4-year old Samsung HTIB that I also used for USB file playback. It was rather straightforward navigating through files. I noticed that the new Sony players allow you to play files but you can't scroll through folders with many files. You are limited to 1 file at a time with the up or down arrows. There's no "page up" or "page down" functionality. Does this Samsung player allow you to scroll up or down by page to reduce time getting through folders with many files? Thanks.
mikeynavy1 is offline  
post #84 of 119 Old 06-06-2016, 09:56 PM
Member
 
imstillatwork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the BD-J7500 today and it won't play any Blu Ray Discs. I've tried Master and Commander, SW: The Force Awakens, Gattaca, The Fifth Element, and a few others.
All DVDs I've tried played fine.

Am I missing something, or should I just return it???
imstillatwork is offline  
post #85 of 119 Old 06-07-2016, 11:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 35
If your blu ray player doesn't play blu rays, there is something wrong with it. Absolutely return it.
ToonMasterTim likes this.
mroilers is offline  
post #86 of 119 Old 06-10-2016, 06:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by eliamike View Post
Just got the J7500 player for Christmas an d love it. GREAT PQ!

Under Samsung Apps on the player:
I can't figure out how to take the Netflix and Hulu apps which are in the "Recommended Apps" section and bring them into the "My Apps" section. Both are already downloaded and signed into my respective accounts.

in fact. holding "Select" on ANYTHING in the Recommended section (top bar) does not show a "Move" option in the drop down.

So, on the Home page of the player, the only thing showing in the "My Apps" section is the Internet Browser, which hilariously I can't delete from the My Apps section.

Not the most intuitive interface.

Can anyone help?
Thanks!!!
Does the browser work well or does it crash? I just bought the J5700 cause it has "Opera TV Store" only the Opera Browser isn't there? Apparently I should have gotten the J6300 !! Samsung support is a joke! I had too figure this out on own!
Rex Steinkuller is offline  
post #87 of 119 Old 06-11-2016, 10:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
BuGsArEtAsTy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: AVS Forum
Posts: 8,292
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 714 Post(s)
Liked: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rex Steinkuller View Post
Does the browser work well or does it crash? I just bought the J5700 cause it has "Opera TV Store" only the Opera Browser isn't there? Apparently I should have gotten the J6300 !! Samsung support is a joke! I had too figure this out on own!
I find Samsung's web page very difficult to use when comparing different models. In fact, the "compare" function is pretty useless, since it seems the data isn't entered consistently for the various models, so no meaningful comparison can actually be made in a lot of instances. Also, I didn't realize the BD-J5900 has no front panel display until I visited the Crutchfield website. I guess I'm lucky I got the BD-J6300, as I had no idea this was even a thing to worry about.

Also, the naming scheme can be confusing. For example, they currently have the BD-J6300, BD-H6500, and BD-HM59C all available at the same time.

Anyhoo, I just picked up the BD-J6300 because it was on sale for $90 CAD, or about $70 US. Is the BD-J6300 really just like a BD-J7500 but without the analogue outputs and the second HDMI output?

I don't need the second HDMI output since I have no 4K display anyway, but even if I did, it's OK because my 2015 receiver supports 4K pass through.
Rex Steinkuller likes this.
BuGsArEtAsTy is offline  
post #88 of 119 Old 06-12-2016, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Thats cause Samsung is so huge! They got their fingers in everything. All my stuff is Samsung: avr, vcr, BD, dvd & it all gets along nicely with the standard remote because of Anynet+. I love the browser on my sammy UN75H6350(2014) except it crashes a lot with low memory errors! So I thought I'd try a 2015, therefore the J5700. XIAOMI(MI) has a 70" flat where they use 2g of ddr3 for about $3K instead of the 1g that the sammy has.other than that, this 2yr old TV works perfectly! Try the browser & give feedback,,,Thanks

Last edited by Rex Steinkuller; 06-12-2016 at 06:49 AM.
Rex Steinkuller is offline  
post #89 of 119 Old 06-24-2016, 07:25 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bladerunner1959's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA...Preferably the Virgin Islands....
Posts: 1,089
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by imstillatwork View Post
Just got the BD-J7500 today and it won't play any Blu Ray Discs. I've tried Master and Commander, SW: The Force Awakens, Gattaca, The Fifth Element, and a few others.
All DVDs I've tried played fine.

Am I missing something, or should I just return it???
I'm hoping you returned the defective unit or corrected the installation. My BD-j7500 works perfectly after a few months.

I truly love all Samsung electronics.

Love for all things Hi-def...Losing count; 200 plus bluray, 500 plus dvd, 30 plus HDdvd and a rapidly growing 50 plus in the cloud.

Bladerunner1959 is offline  
post #90 of 119 Old 06-29-2016, 09:45 PM
Member
 
weirdg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just received my J7500 today. It was on clearance for 50%, so I figured I'd get rid of the Sony BDP-S6500 I bought a few months earlier, since the J7500 is supposed to blow it out of the water.

In any case, I live in Canada and the Smart Hub app selection blows. I use a SmartDNS service to get Hulu and HBO Go on other devices, but Smart Hub on the J7500 only seems to pull down the Canada apps. I tried all of the remote control tricks for changing the Smart Hub region, but none appear to work on the J7500. Has anyone been able to change the Smart Hub region using the remote control?

The only way I was able to pull down the US apps was by resetting Smart Hub, turning on my US VPN, and then going through the Smart Hub setup again. Once the US apps were installed, I was able to turn off my VPN again, and just use the SmartDNS service to watch Hulu. All of the US apps were retained by only using a SmartDNS.

Last edited by weirdg; 06-29-2016 at 09:50 PM.
weirdg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
BD-J5900

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off