Panasonic DMP-UB900 thread. - Page 107 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 5301Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3181 of 4745 Old 03-03-2017, 02:45 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpippel View Post
If you're bitstreaming audio to an AVR then the audio quality of the two HDMI outputs will be exactly the same.
Thanks...and video quality is better through the AVR as well? It can process HDR...
mn2422 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3182 of 4745 Old 03-03-2017, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,833
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1757 Post(s)
Liked: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by mintakaX View Post
I'm getting a bit confused as to what these settings are doing. You say you leave yours on "auto", which I assume you mean on the Resolution setting. Do you leave the 4K60p Output set to off ? If I do this, I am unable to stream UHD from Netflix or Amazon. UHD HDR discs play fine, so this is only an issue with streaming for me. I had to disconnect my Roku Ultra as it was causing my JVC RS620 PJ to lock up, but now the same thing is happening if I choose the 4K/60p(4:4:4) setting on the Panny. I'm trying to figure out if my PJ is defective or not.
I don't use the apps/stream on my UHD player (I do it from the TV), but to me "Auto" does not equal "Off".
I don't know enough about your PJ to say whether it's the problem, but I still don't see why you would want to force a high-bandwidth signal down the HDMI cable (if you don't have to).

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #3183 of 4745 Old 03-03-2017, 02:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,833
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1757 Post(s)
Liked: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by mn2422 View Post
Hi all...Panansonic recommends using HDMI 2 for better quality audio, but others suggest a single HDMI cable directly to the AVR...so which is the best connection method?
A wise man once said: use a single HDMI connection...unless you can't.
mn2422 likes this.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3184 of 4745 Old 03-03-2017, 02:48 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
A wise man once said: use a single HDMI connection...unless you can't.

Recently discovered I have the Den and Mar UHD banding bug on certain content, and a direct connection for video to my OLED fixes it, so I am part of the dual HDMI crowd now. I love my preamp too much to swap, so oh well...
mn2422 likes this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #3185 of 4745 Old 03-03-2017, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by mn2422 View Post
Thanks...and video quality is better through the AVR as well? It can process HDR...
Best practice is to use the AVR only as a HDMI switcher for video. You generally want to make sure all of its video processing is turned OFF and just use it to pass the data, unmolested, from your source device to your display.
mn2422 likes this.

______________
LG OLED65E6P | Yamaha RX-A2080 | Oppo UDP-203 | Panasonic DP-UB820
My Media Collection
dpippel is offline  
post #3186 of 4745 Old 03-03-2017, 02:50 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,833
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1757 Post(s)
Liked: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Recently discovered I have the Den and Mar UHD banding bug on certain content, and a direct connection for video to my OLED fixes it, so I am part of the dual HDMI crowd now. I love my preamp too much to swap, so oh well...
Ouch! Time to switch to Yamaha?

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #3187 of 4745 Old 03-03-2017, 03:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
Ouch! Time to switch to Yamaha?
I would, but I like XT32 with dual sub EQ better than YPAO
Rolls-Royce and DaMacFunkin like this.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #3188 of 4745 Old 03-03-2017, 05:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
mintakaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
I don't use the apps/stream on my UHD player (I do it from the TV), but to me "Auto" does not equal "Off".
I don't know enough about your PJ to say whether it's the problem, but I still don't see why you would want to force a high-bandwidth signal down the HDMI cable (if you don't have to).
There are two settings: Resolution which I assume you have set to Auto and below that is a 4K/60p setting that can be set to Off, 4:4:4 or 4:2:0 8bit. It was the 4K/60p setting that I was referring to. If you wanted to stream UHD through the player I believe you would have to set this, at least I do.
I completely agree with you on not using the player to upscale un-necessarily and force redundant bandwidth. I guess I'm not sure exactly what the source material is at on the streaming sites. I've recently been told there is nothing out there that requires a bandwidth greater than 4:2:0 8 bit.
mintakaX is offline  
post #3189 of 4745 Old 03-03-2017, 09:35 PM
Member
 
Basa14's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadgtfreek View Post
Watching Luke Cage in HDR right now on the 900 and Netflix
Sorry to beat a dead horse, but do you have to do anything special to get Netflix HDR on the UB900? I have one connected to a JVC RS500 and can get HDR off of UHD discs but cannot seem to get it from the Netflix app. I have the latest firmware but the Netflix App just lists 4K titles, it doesn't indicate they are in HDR and they look SDR when I play them, albeit in 4K. I have a Roku Ultra and that thing is really unreliable with my JVC.

Thank you for your help,

Basa14
Basa14 is offline  
post #3190 of 4745 Old 03-04-2017, 04:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpippel View Post
Best practice is to use the AVR only as a HDMI switcher for video. You generally want to make sure all of its video processing is turned OFF and just use it to pass the data, unmolested, from your source device to your display.
does this mean changing resolution to" through" instead of 4K on the AVR..sorry for what seems like an obvious question...
mn2422 is offline  
post #3191 of 4745 Old 03-04-2017, 05:59 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 5814
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basa14 View Post
Sorry to beat a dead horse, but do you have to do anything special to get Netflix HDR on the UB900? I have one connected to a JVC RS500 and can get HDR off of UHD discs but cannot seem to get it from the Netflix app. I have the latest firmware but the Netflix App just lists 4K titles, it doesn't indicate they are in HDR and they look SDR when I play them, albeit in 4K. I have a Roku Ultra and that thing is really unreliable with my JVC.

Thank you for your help,

Basa14

Ive not had this problem but I think @teachsac has and may can help.

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F
Oppo UDP-203 / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is online now  
post #3192 of 4745 Old 03-04-2017, 06:06 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 13,871
Mentioned: 76 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1236 Post(s)
Liked: 2028
My problem was I couldn't even see the UHD titles. Unplugging the HDMI cable and plugging it back in solved it. Otherwise I use my ROKU.

S~
gadgtfreek likes this.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
post #3193 of 4745 Old 03-04-2017, 07:43 AM
Advanced Member
 
mintakaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basa14 View Post
Sorry to beat a dead horse, but do you have to do anything special to get Netflix HDR on the UB900? I have one connected to a JVC RS500 and can get HDR off of UHD discs but cannot seem to get it from the Netflix app. I have the latest firmware but the Netflix App just lists 4K titles, it doesn't indicate they are in HDR and they look SDR when I play them, albeit in 4K. I have a Roku Ultra and that thing is really unreliable with my JVC.

Thank you for your help,

Basa14
To get UHD on Netflix and Amazon from the UB900, I had to change the 4K/60p setting from OFF to one of the other two choices. If you choose the lower bandwidth of the two (4:2:0 8bit) you will be able to stream UHD. In my case however, I was not getting the HDR version of content with the 4:2:0 setting. For HDR I needed to choose the 4:4:4 setting. I also have trouble with the Roku Ultra and my JVC, but don't be surprised if you also have some issues with the UB900 streaming, especially if you set it to the 4:4:4 setting. Hope this helps.
mintakaX is offline  
post #3194 of 4745 Old 03-04-2017, 07:47 AM
Member
 
morellihugo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basa14 View Post
Sorry to beat a dead horse, but do you have to do anything special to get Netflix HDR on the UB900? I have one connected to a JVC RS500 and can get HDR off of UHD discs but cannot seem to get it from the Netflix app. I have the latest firmware but the Netflix App just lists 4K titles, it doesn't indicate they are in HDR and they look SDR when I play them, albeit in 4K. I have a Roku Ultra and that thing is really unreliable with my JVC.

Thank you for your help,

Basa14
To stream Netflix HDR from the UB900:

Settings > 4K/60p output > 4k/60p 4.4.4 > Start (if your hdmi cable support the bandwidth the ub900 will set to 4k/60p 4.4.4)

Once 4K/60p is set to 4.4.4 go to HOME > Network services > Netflix > Netflix settings > Reload app (once reloaded, you should be able to see 4K ultra hd content, but just a few shows are HDR) To test select Luke Cage, Dardevil...

I hope this help...
mintakaX likes this.

HT: RS620 - Panasonic UB900 - HD Fury integral 2 - Panasonic ZT60 - Panasonic BDT500 - Apple TV 4K
Stereo System: Technics SE-R1 Power Amp - Technics SL-1200-G TT - Technics SB-R1 speakers - Technics SU-G700 - Hana MH cartridge
morellihugo is offline  
post #3195 of 4745 Old 03-04-2017, 08:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dpippel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Yoyodyne Propulsion Systems
Posts: 1,659
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 325 Post(s)
Liked: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by mn2422 View Post
does this mean changing resolution to" through" instead of 4K on the AVR..sorry for what seems like an obvious question...
Probably, but it all depends on your particular brand/model of receiver. Referencing the manual would most likely be a good place to start, and if you still have questions ask here in a forum specific to your AVR.
mn2422 likes this.

______________
LG OLED65E6P | Yamaha RX-A2080 | Oppo UDP-203 | Panasonic DP-UB820
My Media Collection
dpippel is offline  
post #3196 of 4745 Old 03-04-2017, 02:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
woofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SwiftsCreek, Victoria, Australia
Posts: 1,402
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1364 Post(s)
Liked: 2055
Quote:
Originally Posted by mintakaX View Post
I had to disconnect my Roku Ultra as it was causing my JVC RS620 PJ to lock up, but now the same thing is happening if I choose the 4K/60p(4:4:4) setting on the Panny. I'm trying to figure out if my PJ is defective or not.
\


I am getting the same "Hardlock" of my X9500 when using the "Linker" with the latest 19a firmware with either the Oppo 203 or the UB900..
This makes the PJ unresponsive and requires a forced shutdown via holding down the power button on the PJ .. This has ONLY happened since using the Linker..
Disconnected the Linker and NO issues with either 203 or UB900 .
mintakaX likes this.
woofer is offline  
post #3197 of 4745 Old 03-04-2017, 05:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
mintakaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by woofer View Post
\


I am getting the same "Hardlock" of my X9500 when using the "Linker" with the latest 19a firmware with either the Oppo 203 or the UB900..
This makes the PJ unresponsive and requires a forced shutdown via holding down the power button on the PJ .. This has ONLY happened since using the Linker..
Disconnected the Linker and NO issues with either 203 or UB900 .
Woofer-- what are your 4k/60p settings on your UB900 ?
mintakaX is offline  
post #3198 of 4745 Old 03-04-2017, 06:29 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
alebonau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Land of Contentment :)
Posts: 4,622
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1800 Post(s)
Liked: 1227
Quote:
Originally Posted by morellihugo View Post
To stream Netflix HDR from the UB900:

Settings > 4K/60p output > 4k/60p 4.4.4 > Start (if your hdmi cable support the bandwidth the ub900 will set to 4k/60p 4.4.4)

Once 4K/60p is set to 4.4.4 go to HOME > Network services > Netflix > Netflix settings > Reload app (once reloaded, you should be able to see 4K ultra hd content, but just a few shows are HDR) To test select Luke Cage, Dardevil...

I hope this help...
this is very good to hear much appreciated as wondered re netflix setup on the ub900 and to get 4k 60, not thats much use to me as yet as dont have an imp with internet bandwidth enough to support, but when do will utilise

"Technology is a drug. We can't get enough of it."


Welcome to my lounge room :)
alebonau is offline  
post #3199 of 4745 Old 03-04-2017, 09:07 PM
Member
 
Basa14's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by morellihugo View Post
To stream Netflix HDR from the UB900:

Settings > 4K/60p output > 4k/60p 4.4.4 > Start (if your hdmi cable support the bandwidth the ub900 will set to 4k/60p 4.4.4)

Once 4K/60p is set to 4.4.4 go to HOME > Network services > Netflix > Netflix settings > Reload app (once reloaded, you should be able to see 4K ultra hd content, but just a few shows are HDR) To test select Luke Cage, Dardevil...

I hope this help...
morellihugo and mintakaX,

Thank you for those tips. I did that and still can only get 4K Netflix but no HDR. I have a UB900 and ROKU Ultra -> AV7702 MKII ->Integral->Linker->40 ft celerity. HDR for UHD discs works fine but no luck with the HDR streaming. I took the Integral out of the chain and that didn't seem to make a difference, it might have made things a bit more unstable. For a bit I had 1080p HDR working on the ROKU but then of course lost the 4K on UHD discs. There are so many possible combos particularly with the HDFury stuff in the chain.

Although I'm supposed to have 60 mbs download speed, the Netflix app only tests at around 18 mbs, could that prevent me from getting HDR?

Thank you to everyone for their suggestions. I was really hoping to watch Iron Fist and the Defenders in HDR.

Basa14
Basa14 is offline  
post #3200 of 4745 Old 03-05-2017, 05:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,833
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1757 Post(s)
Liked: 892
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basa14 View Post
Although I'm supposed to have 60 mbs download speed, the Netflix app only tests at around 18 mbs, could that prevent me from getting HDR?
FWIW, I don't think your internet connection is the problem.
I know you PJ guys have to use the HDFury to "make things work", but I think it creates a lot of config problems.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.25.70]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #3201 of 4745 Old 03-05-2017, 07:19 AM
Member
 
Basa14's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
FWIW, I don't think your internet connection is the problem.
I know you PJ guys have to use the HDFury to "make things work", but I think it creates a lot of config problems.
I think you're right. The JVC's have a lot of nice features, but there are definitely some issues with longer cable runs, sync times, etc. he HDFury guys offer great support but the more things in a HDMI signal path the more likely something is going to go wrong.

I've tried so many different combos it is hard to keep track. The only time I could get HDR on Netflix to work I accidentally set Linker to downscale to 1080p so it looked like I was getting 1080p HDR from Netflix using a Roku Ultra. I tried the same config with the UB900 and couldn't get an image.

The frustrating thing with the UB900 is I've tried all the things suggested by kind fellow AVSer's and the thing will still only output 4k UHD Netflix, not the HDR stuff.
Basa14 is offline  
post #3202 of 4745 Old 03-05-2017, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
mintakaX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basa14 View Post
I think you're right. The JVC's have a lot of nice features, but there are definitely some issues with longer cable runs, sync times, etc. he HDFury guys offer great support but the more things in a HDMI signal path the more likely something is going to go wrong.

I've tried so many different combos it is hard to keep track. The only time I could get HDR on Netflix to work I accidentally set Linker to downscale to 1080p so it looked like I was getting 1080p HDR from Netflix using a Roku Ultra. I tried the same config with the UB900 and couldn't get an image.

The frustrating thing with the UB900 is I've tried all the things suggested by kind fellow AVSer's and the thing will still only output 4k UHD Netflix, not the HDR stuff.
I thinks its pretty hard right now to set up a new 4K HDR system, maybe even harder for projectors , at least that is my experience ? The amount of research that one has to do to put together all the info is ridiculous ! The experts do seem to understand things pretty well, but its still difficult getting step by step instructions to set things up.

I have some other issues going on with my PJ, so I have taken out Linker and Integral. I honestly don't know why you still aren't getting HDR. I know I'm getting HDR from Netflix and Amazon because my RS620 automatically goes into HDR mode. This doesn't happen when I have the 4:2:0 option selected in the 4K 60p. The two shows I've been using for testing are Sneaky Pete on Amazon and Santa Clarita Diet on Netflix. Good luck and let us know when you figure it all out
mintakaX is offline  
post #3203 of 4745 Old 03-05-2017, 06:03 PM
Member
 
Basa14's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mintakaX View Post
I thinks its pretty hard right now to set up a new 4K HDR system, maybe even harder for projectors , at least that is my experience ? The amount of research that one has to do to put together all the info is ridiculous ! The experts do seem to understand things pretty well, but its still difficult getting step by step instructions to set things up.

I have some other issues going on with my PJ, so I have taken out Linker and Integral. I honestly don't know why you still aren't getting HDR. I know I'm getting HDR from Netflix and Amazon because my RS620 automatically goes into HDR mode. This doesn't happen when I have the 4:2:0 option selected in the 4K 60p. The two shows I've been using for testing are Sneaky Pete on Amazon and Santa Clarita Diet on Netflix. Good luck and let us know when you figure it all out
1080p works very well, but 4K HDR is quite challenging, at least in my experience. I think if one has a setup with a flat panel display or PJ where the cable runs are short makes things much easier in this brave new 4K world.

I didn't know that the UB900 Amazon app supported HDR. I have the 1.69 FW and I used to be able to get 4K HDR Netflix on a Roku Ultra with just the Integral on the EDID 8 setting to make things easier bandwidth wise but now I cannot get anything out of the Roku other than at 1080 in the safe mode in the Linker. I got the Linker to enable the DI and be able to watch HDR Netflix with a custom curve, but that hasn't worked out yet. It sounds like the Gamma D mode in the RSx20 series works a lot better. How long is your cable run? I'm using a 40 ft Celerity cable and although supposedly the best for these longer runs, are still kinda unreliable, at least in my case.

Thank you for your suggestions. Good luck on getting your PJ issues resolved!
Basa14 is offline  
post #3204 of 4745 Old 03-05-2017, 06:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
lovingdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 12,913
Mentioned: 78 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3639 Post(s)
Liked: 810
Quote:
Originally Posted by Basa14 View Post
...I'm using a 40 ft Celerity cable and although supposedly the best for these longer runs, are still kinda unreliable, at least in my case...
I'm not sure you have enough information yet to know if the celerity cable is playing a role in the inability to get 4K in your case. It is possible your cable went/is bad. But assuming the cable is not defective, then it is capable of running the highest bandwidth HDMI signal up to 1,000 feet and even longer for custom runs.

I think the best test you can do is to plug the celerity directly into the UB900 with nothing else in the chain - no linker, no integral. Please post your results in the Linker thread where we've been discussing it so I do not need to monitor two different topics for your reply. In my case I am running 50' celerity with the UB900 and full bandwidth including Netflix 4K no problem.
lovingdvd is offline  
post #3205 of 4745 Old 03-07-2017, 07:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Buddylee123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 1,456
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 872 Post(s)
Liked: 616
I'm thinking about getting a DMP-UB9000 to go with my JVC RS420. Is it possible to get the Panny to send a 4k non HDR signal to the projector without the HD Fury?
Buddylee123 is online now  
post #3206 of 4745 Old 03-07-2017, 07:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
healthnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,499
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 914 Post(s)
Liked: 893
[QUOTE=mintakaX;51267385]I thinks its pretty hard right now to set up a new 4K HDR system, maybe even harder for projectors , at least that is my experience ? The amount of research that one has to do to put together all the info is ridiculous ! The experts do seem to understand things pretty well, but its still difficult getting step by step instructions to set things.
I completely agree with all of this. Also, I question whether it's worth the effort: all the steps, measuring, importing, calculating curves: to what end? So a few 4k movies can look better? Eventually, all of these will be optimized for plug and play, and all this effort will be unnecessary. One man's humble opinion.






Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
mintakaX, HTPCat and Buddylee123 like this.
healthnut is online now  
post #3207 of 4745 Old 03-07-2017, 11:40 AM
Member
 
namirkhan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddylee123 View Post
I'm thinking about getting a DMP-UB9000 to go with my JVC RS420. Is it possible to get the Panny to send a 4k non HDR signal to the projector without the HD Fury?
There is a setting to turn off HDR, but you also lose BT.2020.
Buddylee123 likes this.

Marantz 7702mkII
JVC RS500
Panasonic DMP-UB900
namirkhan is online now  
post #3208 of 4745 Old 03-08-2017, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rolls-Royce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Victorville, CA
Posts: 3,944
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1022 Post(s)
Liked: 1157
Quote:
Originally Posted by mn2422 View Post
does this mean changing resolution to" through" instead of 4K on the AVR..sorry for what seems like an obvious question...
It depends on the AVR. In most cases, setting to "through" doesn't turn off video processing but essentially means the same resolution comes out as goes in. You have to find the menu item that actually turns off the video processor. Time to get out the owner's manual...
mn2422 likes this.

...Royce...

"I never drink...wine."
Bela Lugosi, DRACULA, 1931
Rolls-Royce is online now  
post #3209 of 4745 Old 03-10-2017, 05:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Wall, NJ
Posts: 808
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 191
Help please I just got my UB900 and I can not get to do ATMOS or DTS:X. I have done everything I can.

UB900 settings in digital audio output first two things are set to bitstream and secondary audio is off. My PC playing from PowerDVD puts through atmos or DTS:X so I know it's not my receiver.

Any help would be appreciated.
David Varner is offline  
post #3210 of 4745 Old 03-10-2017, 06:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
HTPCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Citrus Heights, CA
Posts: 2,501
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Varner View Post
Help please I just got my UB900 and I can not get to do ATMOS or DTS:X. I have done everything I can.

UB900 settings in digital audio output first two things are set to bitstream and secondary audio is off. My PC playing from PowerDVD puts through atmos or DTS:X so I know it's not my receiver.

Any help would be appreciated.
Are you sure the disc has Atmos/dtsx soundtrack?

HTPCat
"I have a need to feed the hole with more Audio & Video toys"
HTPCat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
4k player hdmi input , 900 , DMP-UB900 , trying to get atmos engaged.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off