Official Samsung UBD-K8500 4K HDR Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 210 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40388Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6271 of 14238 Old 05-16-2016, 08:20 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 14,542
Mentioned: 82 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1282 Post(s)
Liked: 2113
Already being talked about. Look back at the last few pages of posts.

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself.

Panasonic DP-UB820 -> Yamaha CX-A5100 -> Sony XBR-75X940C; Mediabridge 6' and 15' HDMI cables.
teachsac is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6272 of 14238 Old 05-16-2016, 09:03 PM
Member
 
baseball21357's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxic teletubby View Post
Can you give us some more information- budget, Atmos, DTS:X, etc. You can set the K8500 to auto and it will send whatever signal is playing to your projector. Your projector I assume is 1080p, so the projector will downscale the 2160 to 1080.
I'm looking at receivers that can decode the latest - Atmos, DTS:X, etc, with HDCP 2.2 / full 4k/60hz passthrough through 2 outputs so I can future proof for when 4k projectors are more affordable.

I don't want to clog the thread up asking for recommendations though, as the mod above said I'll ask about that in the appropriate receiver forums - just wanted to hear what experience any of you guys had with a similar setup.

Namely, I'm just a bit confused about how HDCP 2.2 plays a role in all this. My projector is 1080p obviously so it won't have HDCP 2.2 capability. So, with the "auto" setting on UHD player, I'm assuming based on what you're saying it will detect, through the chain on the receiver, that my projector can only handle 1080p and the resolution of the UHD player will be set to output 1080p? So, in terms of this setup, does this mean I can't play 4k Blu Rays? Or will the player itself downscale to 1080p? If so, at that point is the lack of HDCP 2.2 on the projector still a factor? Or is it enough that my receiver will be able to process the HDCP 2.2 encryption?

Also, this might be where it is more appropriate to ask in a receiver forum - but do any of you know if it is possible based on your own experiences to "lock in" a 4k resolution from the player, send that to the receiver, and in turn have the receiver downscale to a 1080p / HDCP signal compatible with my 1080p projector from one HDMI output, while having the other HDMI output simply pass through the full 4k signal to my 4k tv (not necessarily at the same time, just being able to switch between the two is more than enough).


Again, I appreciate any help you guys can give. I'm still in relatively early planning stages for this setup, so I just know generally what I want to achieve - I know it is difficult to answer definitively with so few specifics on equipment, but I also want to keep any help you guys can give based on your experiences with this player so I don't steer the thread off topic.
baseball21357 is offline  
post #6273 of 14238 Old 05-16-2016, 09:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 5,321
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1048 Post(s)
Liked: 858
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Rosenberg View Post
Has anyone else noticed that Samsung remotes don't work to control playback while playing an HDR version in the Amazon app? I have the K8500 direct into my UN65HU9000/SEK 3500 and when I play an HDR title, neither the TV remote or the player remote will stop, pause, FF or RW. "Return" works so I can back out of the video, but that's it as far as controlling the playback.

Everything else works normally in the other apps and also on non-HDR stuff in Amazon. A bug?
Yeah I was going to watch Bosch season 2 and what a mess. /sigh
Larry Rosenberg likes this.
metalsaber is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6274 of 14238 Old 05-16-2016, 09:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,750
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3270
Just texted my contact at Samsung and he's forwarded it to the engineers.
galonzo and Musician like this.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #6275 of 14238 Old 05-16-2016, 09:56 PM
Member
 
bryantjopplin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have this connected to the ks9500 TV?

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
bryantjopplin is offline  
post #6276 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 01:29 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys,

I´m new to this excellent forum and maybe you can help me.

I hooked up the K8500 via HDMI directly on my F9090 + SEK-3500 and second HDMI to my Yamaha RX-V475, because my AVR does not support HDMI 2.0/HDCP2.2. When playing an UHD-Disc (e.g. Life of Pi / The Martian), I get no error message that I should use a HDR capable TV in oder to have full benefit of UHD (when using my "old" SEK-2500 I got this message). In addition, my TV sets contrast to 100 and Backlight to 20. However, I m not sure if my TV now shows somewhat like HDR. I know that my TV doesn´t have full HDR support because it´s not a FALD TV. So how can I find that out? Hitting the info button shows "3840 x 2160, HDMI UHD Color". Should there be a flag "HDR video" or something like that indicating that HDR is eneabled? The F9090 does not support WCG, right?

Next question: does anyone have the same combination F9090 + SEK-3500 and can tell me some tweaks in the K8500 settings in order to get best picture quality (i.e. has anybody additionally incresed contrast and/or brightness in the picture mode settings to get somewhat like "HDR"? ). Until now, I use "User mode" with everything set to 0, HDMI color format: "4:4:4 Ycbcr", Deep Color "On", Resolution "2160p"

Many thanks in advance!
-vortex- is offline  
post #6277 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 05:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
DaMacFunkin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Manchester, Not the one by the sea
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 27 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 630 Post(s)
Liked: 418
If your set maxes backlight and contrast out you are getting HDR, you do not need a fald set for HDR, many HDR branded sets do not have fald.
What you may find is you may need to increase gamma, brighteness and enable dynamic contrast to low as well as changing color to native and maybe smart led to high, I have HU9000 with sek-3500 (JS mod) and mad dogs on Amazon HDR is awesome.
DaMacFunkin is offline  
post #6278 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 07:08 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for your reply.
So you mean that I should adjust the settings in the TV menu (Movie mode) rather than in the K8500 menu?
My post above is about changing parameters in the K8500 picture menu.
By the way, does the JS Mod also work on the F9090 series?

Greetings
-vortex- is offline  
post #6279 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 08:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,330
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2730 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Any new rumors about getting UHD from the Vudu app?
nathan_h is offline  
post #6280 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 10:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,870
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1776 Post(s)
Liked: 899
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Any new rumors about getting UHD from the Vudu app?
I'm wondering the same thing; they have a few UHD movies, but not for streaming. I assume they will deploy this across multiple platforms simultaneously (e.g. player/TV). I'm looking for that that option to show up: SD/HD/HDX/UHD!
CCsoftball7 likes this.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.00]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #6281 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 10:22 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3,597
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2109 Post(s)
Liked: 2143
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
Any new rumors about getting UHD from the Vudu app?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stanton View Post
I'm wondering the same thing; they have a few UHD movies, but not for streaming. I assume they will deploy this across multiple platforms simultaneously (e.g. player/TV). I'm looking for that that option to show up: SD/HD/HDX/UHD!
I think the only thing that works with Vudu UHD HDR (DV right now is all they support) is the P series and new LG OLEDs
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #6282 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dkwong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 1,548
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 728 Post(s)
Liked: 404
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I think the only thing that works with Vudu UHD HDR (DV right now is all they support) is the P series and new LG OLEDs


Just the Vizio, actually. Even though the LG OLEDs can do DV, the app hasn't been updated to stream HDR.
mpgxsvcd likes this.
dkwong is offline  
post #6283 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 02:00 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,097
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9426 Post(s)
Liked: 6109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Rosenberg View Post
Has anyone else noticed that Samsung remotes don't work to control playback while playing an HDR version in the Amazon app? I have the K8500 direct into my UN65HU9000/SEK 3500 and when I play an HDR title, neither the TV remote or the player remote will stop, pause, FF or RW. "Return" works so I can back out of the video, but that's it as far as controlling the playback.

Everything else works normally in the other apps and also on non-HDR stuff in Amazon. A bug?
I noticed the issue last week but I had no issues the last few days with playback from any Amazon content with the K8500 app.
Larry Rosenberg likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #6284 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 02:02 PM
Senior Member
 
gparris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Caledonia, WI
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 33
This whole "HDR Format War" is just ridiculous, the reason our players won't get VUDU UHD is probably because our "UltraHD Premium" players have HDR10, not Dolby Vision, so the app will only do HDX, not UHD - or VUDU just doesn't care right now enough to have us pay for UHD, which is more expensive than HDX.
I am assuming that VUDU is probably only aligned with Dolby Vision and Visio for whatever reason or contract, too.
gparris is offline  
post #6285 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 02:12 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,717
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4690 Post(s)
Liked: 2731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry Rosenberg View Post
Has anyone else noticed that Samsung remotes don't work to control playback while playing an HDR version in the Amazon app? I have the K8500 direct into my UN65HU9000/SEK 3500 and when I play an HDR title, neither the TV remote or the player remote will stop, pause, FF or RW. "Return" works so I can back out of the video, but that's it as far as controlling the playback.

Everything else works normally in the other apps and also on non-HDR stuff in Amazon. A bug?
This is the exact same issue I have on my SUHD Samsung display's Amazon app. It won't respond except for the return command. Resume will not work either If I back out of a stream. It starts the episode from the very beginning.

I also get the insufficient bandwidth warning randomly even with my 120 Gbps internet speed and it will lock up where I have to restart the TV.
ahro and Larry Rosenberg like this.
Dan Hitchman is offline  
post #6286 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,330
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2730 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by gparris View Post
This whole "HDR Format War" is just ridiculous, the reason our players won't get VUDU UHD is probably because our "UltraHD Premium" players have HDR10, not Dolby Vision, so the app will only do HDX, not UHD - or VUDU just doesn't care right now enough to have us pay for UHD, which is more expensive than HDX.
I am assuming that VUDU is probably only aligned with Dolby Vision and Visio for whatever reason or contract, too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dkwong View Post
Just the Vizio, actually. Even though the LG OLEDs can do DV, the app hasn't been updated to stream HDR.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
I think the only thing that works with Vudu UHD HDR (DV right now is all they support) is the P series and new LG OLEDs
I was able to stream UHD VUDU on the Roku4. Obviously it didn't output HDR, but it was rec2020 color, 2160p content, the labeled Dolby Vision movies. And on one 4k flat panel, it can stream UHD Vudu -- in this case without HDR and without WCG, but it is the same Dolby Vision movies.
nathan_h is offline  
post #6287 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 03:00 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,097
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9426 Post(s)
Liked: 6109
Quote:
Originally Posted by gparris View Post
This whole "HDR Format War" is just ridiculous, the reason our players won't get VUDU UHD is probably because our "UltraHD Premium" players have HDR10, not Dolby Vision, so the app will only do HDX, not UHD - or VUDU just doesn't care right now enough to have us pay for UHD, which is more expensive than HDX.
I am assuming that VUDU is probably only aligned with Dolby Vision and Visio for whatever reason or contract, too.
The Roku 4 has access to the Vudu UHD titles. As soon as the exclusive period for Vizio and the Roku 4 runs out, other devices should also have access to the UHD Vudu content.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #6288 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 03:27 PM
Member
 
Hairsonfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Newport, Rhode Island
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 99
I just ordered one too!

Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Thanks to whomever posted this model number earlier in the thread.
I just received my new Samsung AK59-00104R remote from Ebay(it only took 3 days to get here). It's working great with my K8500. Now I have dedicated FF/Rew buttons. And the buttons are much larger and easier to use(plus a number pad).

For only $8 it was a great deal. Now I can put my K8500 remote in a drawer.
Was it easy to program? How does that work? I very much hate the remote that came with the K8500!

Thanks!
Hairsonfire is offline  
post #6289 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 03:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ahro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New york, NY
Posts: 3,830
Mentioned: 67 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2033 Post(s)
Liked: 4130
@Larry Rosenberg

+1, just doesn't work. Occasionally it will work with a TV show, maybe 5% of the time.
korsjs likes this.

HENRY

78HU9000, 10 BIT, TS-01; NEW 3500 OCB, WD PASSPORT HDD
ONKYO TX-NR646 ATMOS RECEIVER
ISCAN MINI, UHD 30 PACK. SAMSUNG BJ7500 BLU RAY PLAYER
USB 3.0 4 PORT HOT SWITCHABLE HUB, ROKU 4,SAMSUNG K-8500 BRP

Last edited by ahro; 05-17-2016 at 03:54 PM.
ahro is offline  
post #6290 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 04:00 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
gadgtfreek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bama
Posts: 12,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 634 Post(s)
Liked: 6062
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hairsonfire View Post
Was it easy to program? How does that work? I very much hate the remote that came with the K8500!

Thanks!
No programming, it just works!

XBR65A9G / XBR65A8F / 55R615
ATV4K / Uverse / Sony X800M2
AVRX6500H / RP-8000F / RP-504C / RP-502S / FV15HP
gadgtfreek is offline  
post #6291 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,330
Mentioned: 43 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2730 Post(s)
Liked: 1961
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
The Roku 4 has access to the Vudu UHD titles. As soon as the exclusive period for Vizio and the Roku 4 runs out, other devices should also have access to the UHD Vudu content.
The waiting is the hardest part.
nathan_h is offline  
post #6292 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,699
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2153 Post(s)
Liked: 2285
My player stopped working. Started to watch Sicario and the picture just froze. I turned everything off and back on but the red light keeps flashing on the player. There is no picture or sound. My LG is saying no signal. I tried unplugging it and the same thing. What could be wrong?

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream Junior | Furman IT-Reference 15i
Sony PS4 Pro | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | iFi AC iPurifier | roon
drewTT is offline  
post #6293 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
gparris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Caledonia, WI
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post
The waiting is the hardest part.
But even Roku 4 does not have HDR support for any apps, so you get VUDU with UHD but no HDR support (yet).
-Doesn't really move me to buy one, I think I'll wait for VUDU UHD (W/HDR) support from my player's app,whenever that is happening...
gparris is offline  
post #6294 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 04:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by drewTT View Post
My player stopped working. Started to watch Sicario and the picture just froze. I turned everything off and back on but the red light keeps flashing on the player. There is no picture or sound. My LG is saying no signal. I tried unplugging it and the same thing. What could be wrong?
Turn the player on with no disc inserted and the tray closed. give it a few seconds and then hold the stop button on the front of the player for 10 seconds. It should do a factory reset. If not then I'd say the player is broken, how or why I can't say.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #6295 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,699
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2153 Post(s)
Liked: 2285
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
Turn the player on with no disc inserted and the tray closed. give it a few seconds and then hold the stop button on the front of the player for 10 seconds. It should do a factory reset. If not then I'd say the player is broken, how or why I can't say.
Thanks, that did the trick.

It is still not putting my TV into HDR mode though?

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream Junior | Furman IT-Reference 15i
Sony PS4 Pro | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | iFi AC iPurifier | roon
drewTT is offline  
post #6296 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
vollans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I'm assuming the answer will be no, but here goes...

My Sony 4K TV doesn't do HDR. I realise and accept that, but I should be able to take advantage of the better colour, seeing as my TV does BT2020 4k at 4:2:0 chroma 8, 10 and 12 bit signals, which is what UHDs are encoded at.

But the Samsung insists on upscaling that to 4:4:4 chroma at 8 bits, so no improved colour

Is there any way to get it to present an unmolested 4:2:0 signal?

New Home Cinema: Sony VPL-VW760, Anthem MRX 1120, Q Acoustics 30x0 series speakers fronts, SVS Prime Elevation surround speakers, Proficient C791 Atmos, SVS PB2000 sub, Panasonic DMP-UB820, Apple TV, Pioneer CLD-D5V laserdisc, FetchTV, eeColor 3D LUT & Radiance XD-3D and ScreenTechnics CinemaSnap Hi Contrast 130" screen
vollans is offline  
post #6297 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Stanton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Plano, TX USA
Posts: 3,870
Mentioned: 20 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1776 Post(s)
Liked: 899
Quote:
Originally Posted by vollans View Post
I'm assuming the answer will be no, but here goes...
You assume correctly...
mpgxsvcd, galonzo and vollans like this.

Yamaha RX-A2050 AVR [v1.81], LG 65EF9500 4K OLED [v4.26.00]
5.0.2 set-up: (4) Polk Monitor 10B's, (2) Polk Monitor 4's, Polk CS300 center
B&O TX2 Turntable, Nakamichi Cassette Deck 1
Pioneer CLD-99 LD, Panasonic DMP-UB900 UHD [v1.80]
Stanton is offline  
post #6298 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 05:47 PM
Senior Member
 
vollans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Australia
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 214 Post(s)
Liked: 155
I feared that much. Looks like I'll have to see what a 1080p 10/12 bit picture looks like. From what I've read I suspect at the distances we watch it from it won't be a noticeable resolution change.

New Home Cinema: Sony VPL-VW760, Anthem MRX 1120, Q Acoustics 30x0 series speakers fronts, SVS Prime Elevation surround speakers, Proficient C791 Atmos, SVS PB2000 sub, Panasonic DMP-UB820, Apple TV, Pioneer CLD-D5V laserdisc, FetchTV, eeColor 3D LUT & Radiance XD-3D and ScreenTechnics CinemaSnap Hi Contrast 130" screen
vollans is offline  
post #6299 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 06:29 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,097
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9426 Post(s)
Liked: 6109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hairsonfire View Post
Was it easy to program? How does that work? I very much hate the remote that came with the K8500!

Thanks!
There was nothing to program. It works with all of the commands the included remote has. And more.
Hairsonfire likes this.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #6300 of 14238 Old 05-17-2016, 06:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
drewTT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Newport Beach, CA
Posts: 4,699
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2153 Post(s)
Liked: 2285
Is there an issue with Sicario? My TV will not engage HDR mode with this title. The Martian on the other hand puts the TV into HDR mode.

LG OLED65E8 | Plinius Hiato | Dynaudio Contour 20 | Dynaudio Stand 6 | REL S/510 | PS Audio DirectStream Junior | Furman IT-Reference 15i
Sony PS4 Pro | Synology DS916+ | Apple TV 4K | BDI Mirage | NEEO | Focal Shape 40 | iFi Pro iDSD | iFi Pro iRack | iFi AC iPurifier | roon
drewTT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
color calibration , hdr player , member , settings

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off