Official Samsung UBD-K8500 4K HDR Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 350 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40407Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #10471 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Turboo2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 95 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by leedesert View Post
Sounds like the HDMI cable.
I've tried a number of them. The philips UHD player worked fine.
Turboo2u is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10472 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 12:26 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
NorthJersey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 3,506
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 574 Post(s)
Liked: 246
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turboo2u View Post
Can't figure this out. Just picked up this player and hooked it up to my Samsung Hu9000 TV running a SEK 2500. Plugged it into HDMI port 4 that has HDCP 2.2. The player goes to the home menu and starts a UHD disc but then the picture goes black with the HDMI flashing on the TV that no input was found. Am I missing something here? PS...This player upscales regular Blu-ray discs and DVDs incredibly well.
I had this issue, I had to replace my cable with one rated for 18gbps, this is the one I bought:
http://www.monoprice.com/product?c_i...seq=1&format=2


issue I had with my previous cable was when I turned on the player, on the main menu, the video would constantly go black, to a point I could barely make anything out on the screen. The reason is that samsung decided to have the main menu screen output at full 4k resolution. If I could somehow play a disc, the movie video would play fine

once I replaced the cable with this one, not one screen flicker/blackout
NorthJersey is offline  
post #10473 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 01:17 PM
Senior Member
 
jbjbjbjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Wesley Hills, NY
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turboo2u View Post
Can't figure this out. Just picked up this player and hooked it up to my Samsung Hu9000 TV running a SEK 2500. Plugged it into HDMI port 4 that has HDCP 2.2. The player goes to the home menu and starts a UHD disc but then the picture goes black with the HDMI flashing on the TV that no input was found. Am I missing something here? PS...This player upscales regular Blu-ray discs and DVDs incredibly well.
I had this problem last night on my LG 65B6. I went in the TV menu to Deep Color & turned it off. The TV then reboots and no more problem. I then go back in & turn on deep color, TV reboots again. Problem solved. I also thought it was a cable/handshake issue but looks like some software issue with the TV & Deep color recognizing the UHD player.
jbjbjbjb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #10474 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 01:46 PM
Member
 
MALICIOUS ONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by CCsoftball7 View Post
I assume you are referring to the app on the K8500. If not, YouTube does support HDR. The Chromecast Ultra is the only device that can play it at the moment.
Sorry, I was referring to the Samsung UBD-K8500 YouTube app now does 60fps & not the HDR yet. (I know it's coming & not here yet) Yeah, my Samsung JS8500 TV YouTube app still only does 30fps & not 60fps. I used the 'World in HDR" YouTube video from Jacob + Katie Schwarz to test it.

I am pretty sure it didn't do 60fps before.

Samsung UN65JS8500/Samsung UBD-K8500/Onkyo TX-RX830 using 5.2.4/Xbox One X w/Kinect
XBL Gamertag: MALICIOUS ONE
My Twitter
My Rock Band/Guitar Hero DLC
MALICIOUS ONE is offline  
post #10475 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 02:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 159 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1406 Post(s)
Liked: 1853
YT app has been updated in 1009

Quote:
Originally Posted by MALICIOUS ONE View Post
Sorry, I was referring to the Samsung UBD-K8500 YouTube app now does 60fps & not the HDR yet. (I know it's coming & not here yet) Yeah, my Samsung JS8500 TV YouTube app still only does 30fps & not 60fps. I used the 'World in HDR" YouTube video from Jacob + Katie Schwarz to test it.

I am pretty sure it didn't do 60fps before.
Confirmed (previously, the player would double the 4k30p vids to 60p at output, but now it's outputting native 4k60p, per the "video info" toggle that is accessed under "more options" in the in-app transport controls).

In addition, the new app doesn't require you to go into the app settings to enable the "video info" toggle, however, this may have been part of the last update.

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | Shield | PS4 Pro
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Hustlers and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #10476 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 03:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,528
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5213 Post(s)
Liked: 7545
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
Confirmed (previously, the player would double the 4k30p vids to 60p at output, but now it's outputting native 4k60p, per the "video info" toggle that is accessed under "more options" in the in-app transport controls).

In addition, the new app doesn't require you to go into the app settings to enable the "video info" toggle, however, this may have been part of the last update.
You keep saying "new app" - what version number and date does your YouTube app report please?
Mine says v1.10120, updated 2016-02-19 , ie 19th February! I have firmware v1009.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs

Last edited by mrtickleuk; 11-21-2016 at 03:23 PM.
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #10477 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 03:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
checker9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1656 Post(s)
Liked: 378
My My K8500 that I have had for a week will no longer connect to the internet. It is a wired connection. My AVR and TV, that go through the same switch, both work. The Samsung worked every day up until now. It finds a connection my router but states it cannot connect the internet. I turned it off, unplugged, adn unplugged and replugged the Ethernet cable. It still does not work.

I tried a wireless connection and the same thing happened.

Been on hold for Sasmung for over 30 minutes. Anyone know what could be wrong?


Edit: I could not get hold of Samsung. I waited 30 minutes then gave up. Previously, I could get Samsung support fairly quickly. The abnormally long wait might be explained by what I learned next. I called Costco Concierge Service about the problem. After explaining the problem, the lady immediately asked if I had Comcast internet. I answered yes. She said Samsung devices are having problem with Comcast internet - she has been getting related calls all day. She did not know if the problem is on Samsung's or Comcast's side. I am now waiting while she tries to get Samsung support on the phone.

I assume many here have Comcast. Anyone with Comcast have same problem or on flip side, can anyone with Comcast get the Samsung UHD player to connect to the internet?
Illinimick likes this.

Last edited by checker9; 11-21-2016 at 09:41 PM.
checker9 is offline  
post #10478 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 159 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1406 Post(s)
Liked: 1853
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
You keep saying "new app" - what version number and date does your YouTube app report please?
Mine says v1.10120, updated 2016-02-19 , ie 19th February! I have firmware v1009.
Mine says the same (v1.10120), however, the app has definitely changed since originally purchasing mine in February; that said, how can we believe the OS is even reporting the current version of the app properly? To me, this would indicate changes in the "OS" are unlocking features in the app that may have always been there? Samsung refuses to share a changelog, so who knows?

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (5.1.4) | UDP-203 | TiVo Bolt | Shield | PS4 Pro
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Hustlers and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is offline  
post #10479 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 04:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I pulled the trigger and bought a Sony 75XD850D that is 4K and HDR capable and will be delivered this weekend. I am a bit confused however, as how should I connect this BD player to myAVR Pioneer SC 95 and the TV.

I understand that the TV, and the Samsung BD player as well as my AVR Pioneer SC 95, each has the capability to upscale non 4K contents.

Which one of those devices above has better upscaling perfromnce? Do you recommend passing through my AVR? If my TV receives the upscaled signals from the BD, will the TV re-upscale the signals as well? Do i need to change any system settings on the TV, AVR and the BD player?

Thanks for your advice

My system is a Pioneer Elite SC-LX901, Pioneer Elite SP‑EFS73 fronts, Definitive Technology CS-8040 Center Channel Speaker, Jamo J 112 as Subwoofer, two Polk Audio R50 as surround back.
Pasargad is offline  
post #10480 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 04:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,882
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1569 Post(s)
Liked: 825
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pasargad View Post
Which one of those devices above has better upscaling performance? Do you recommend passing through my AVR? If my TV receives the upscaled signals from the BD, will the TV re-upscale the signals as well? Do i need to change any system settings on the TV, AVR and the BD player?
They will all do about the same job. But the K8500 will want to output 4k24 4:4:4 for pretty much everything if you let it. So I'd just use that. But you can test. I believe you have to enable bd-wise in the player in order for 1080p bluray to output to the TV @ 1080p. I only watch 4k blu-ray with my k8500 so I could be wrong on that.

Once your TV gets the 4k 4:4:4 video it will not do any additional scaling (it's already native resolution for your 4k TV).

The SC-95 is supposed to be hdmi 2.0a with hdcp 2.2. You should have no issues passing through it to your TV.
bikerapn and TimWelborn like this.

Last edited by dwaleke; 11-21-2016 at 04:45 PM.
dwaleke is offline  
post #10481 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 04:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post
They will all do about the same job. But the K8500 will want to output 4k24 4:4:4 for pretty much everything if you let it. So I'd just use that. But you can test. I believe you have to enable bd-wise in the player in order for 1080p bluray to output to the TV @ 1080p. I only watch 4k blu-ray with my k8500 so I could be wrong on that.

Once your TV gets the 4k 4:4:4 video it will not do any additional scaling (it's already native resolution for your 4k TV).

The SC-95 is supposed to be hdmi 2.0a with hdcp 2.2. You should have no issues passing through it to your TV.
You can manually select 1080p if you want to and let the TV scale the movie.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #10482 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 04:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for your reply. So I suppose, I will let the K8500 to do the up scaling and passthrough my AVR to the TV. I wasn't just sure which one has a better up scaling performance.

My system is a Pioneer Elite SC-LX901, Pioneer Elite SP‑EFS73 fronts, Definitive Technology CS-8040 Center Channel Speaker, Jamo J 112 as Subwoofer, two Polk Audio R50 as surround back.
Pasargad is offline  
post #10483 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 861 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turboo2u View Post
Can't figure this out. Just picked up this player and hooked it up to my Samsung Hu9000 TV running a SEK 2500. Plugged it into HDMI port 4 that has HDCP 2.2. The player goes to the home menu and starts a UHD disc but then the picture goes black with the HDMI flashing on the TV that no input was found. Am I missing something here? PS...This player upscales regular Blu-ray discs and DVDs incredibly well.
You need the SEK-3500
rlb likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #10484 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 05:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,528
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5213 Post(s)
Liked: 7545
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
Mine says the same (v1.10120), however, the app has definitely changed since originally purchasing mine in February; that said, how can we believe the OS is even reporting the current version of the app properly?
It's on the "smart" apps "store" list page, I'd have to trust that.

Quote:
To me, this would indicate changes in the "OS" are unlocking features in the app that may have always been there?
Yes, I think this is likely. It could be just a change in the underlying OS and nothing more.
Over on the KS8000 TV owner's thread, a few people have got a new firmware which adds VP9 Profile 2 support. The result is that the YouTube app on the TV now does show HDR correctly (so it's the second device in the world other than the Chromecast Ultra!), and also the YouTube website running in the browser app on the TV also does it - very conspicuously by all accounts.
galonzo likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #10485 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
JustinHEMI05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by checker9 View Post
My My K8500 that I have had for a week will no longer connect to the internet. It is a wired connection. My AVR and TV, that go through the same switch, both work. The Samsung worked every day up until now. It finds a connection my router but states it cannot connect the internet. I turned it off, unplugged, adn unplugged and replugged the Ethernet cable. It still does not work.

I tried a wireless connection and the same thing happened.

Been on hold for Sasmung for over 30 minutes. Anyone know what could be wrong?


Edit: I could not get hold of Samsung. I waited 30 minutes then gave up. Previously, I could get Samsung support fairly quickly which could be explained but what I learned next. I called Costco Concierge Service about the problem. After explaining the problem, the lady immediately asked if I had Comcast internet. I answered yes. She said Samsung devices are having problem with Comcast internet - she has been getting related calls all day. She did not know if the problem is on Samsung's or Comcast's side. I am no waiting while she tries to get Samsung support on the phone.

I assume many here have Comcast. Anyone with Comcast have same problem or on flip side, can anyone with Comcast get the Samsung UHD player to connect to the internet?
Weird coincidence or a real problem?

My week old player also will no longer connect to the Internet and I also have Comcast.

I use wireless and my symptoms and solution tries were the same as yours.

Let's hope this gets cleared up soon.
JustinHEMI05 is offline  
post #10486 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 07:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,752
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3272
My TVs and my UHD BDP connect with no problems via Comcast.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #10487 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 07:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,752
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3272
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinHEMI05 View Post
Weird coincidence or a real problem?

My week old player also will no longer connect to the Internet and I also have Comcast.

I use wireless and my symptoms and solution tries were the same as yours.

Let's hope this gets cleared up soon.
Try changing the DNS Server to 8.8.8.8
Illinimick likes this.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #10488 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 07:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
JustinHEMI05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinHEMI05 View Post
Weird coincidence or a real problem?

My week old player also will no longer connect to the Internet and I also have Comcast.

I use wireless and my symptoms and solution tries were the same as yours.

Let's hope this gets cleared up soon.
Try changing the DNS Server to 8.8.8.8

That did it, thank you!
JustinHEMI05 is offline  
post #10489 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 08:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
Try changing the DNS Server to 8.8.8.8
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinHEMI05 View Post
That did it, thank you!
I want to say thank you as well. I have Comcast internet and got a second player today and had this same problem with both players. This fixed it. The really weird thing with my original player is Netflix worked but nothing else.
Again, many thanks!
Illinimick is offline  
post #10490 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 09:38 PM
Senior Member
 
acermen1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 309
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 187 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Samsumg K8500 APPS

Would like some help on the K8500 which APPS can playback ULTRA HD (UHD HDR or NON-HDR). I know that Netflix and Amazon does the Ultra HD but what are the other APPS that can do that.

I was under the impression that we could get VUDU UHD movies on the K8500 but I check recently and could not see here to get the UHD movies. Is there a setting to adjust? I thought for sure I saw UHD movies available before like Batman vs Superman?



Appreciate the assistance.
acermen1212 is offline  
post #10491 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 09:39 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Bigmoviefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,551
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 627 Post(s)
Liked: 455
I noticed a new firmware update! Anybody know what improvements it makes?
Bigmoviefan is offline  
post #10492 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 09:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
checker9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2,352
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1656 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinHEMI05 View Post
Weird coincidence or a real problem?

My week old player also will no longer connect to the Internet and I also have Comcast.

I use wireless and my symptoms and solution tries were the same as yours.

Let's hope this gets cleared up soon.
Thanks for confirming. In what area do you live? I am in Houston area. Someone on the Samsung KS8000 TV thread said his TV is connecting to the internet and he has Comcast. I do not know in what area he lives though. I asked but he has no responded yet. Let me know so we can determine if just certain areas.
checker9 is offline  
post #10493 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 09:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
JustinHEMI05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: PA
Posts: 688
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by checker9 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinHEMI05 View Post
Weird coincidence or a real problem?

My week old player also will no longer connect to the Internet and I also have Comcast.

I use wireless and my symptoms and solution tries were the same as yours.

Let's hope this gets cleared up soon.
Thanks for confirming. In what area do you live? I am in Houston area. Someone on the Samsung KS8000 TV thread said his TV is connecting to the internet and he has Comcast. I do not know in what area he lives though. I asked but he has no responded yet. Let me know so we can determine if just certain areas.
Pittsburgh here.

Changing the DNS to 8.8.8.8, as suggested a few posts up, fixed it for me.
JustinHEMI05 is offline  
post #10494 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 09:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Hey guys im thinking of buying this 4k player but i just want to know if this player is noisy. Does it make noise when the disc is playing or does it hum too much when the fan spins? I ask because an old blu ray player i used to have was noisy and i dont turn the volume too high due to my really sensitive ears, so a noisy player will bug me.
Geo JAB is offline  
post #10495 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 10:11 PM
Member
 
wil1688's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 54 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi, I am debating on this Samsung ( $200 ) or the upcoming Oppo 203 ( available sometimes in December ). My main usage of this two player will be UHD disk, Amazon video and NAS streaming, in the order of priority. Question I have, How is the quality of amazon HDR streaming on the samsung vs the Oppo? Any feedback will be appreciate. Thanks.
wil1688 is offline  
post #10496 of 14261 Old 11-21-2016, 10:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,857
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2445 Post(s)
Liked: 1743
Quote:
Originally Posted by wil1688 View Post
Hi, I am debating on this Samsung ( $200 ) or the upcoming Oppo 203 ( available sometimes in December ). My main usage of this two player will be UHD disk, Amazon video and NAS streaming, in the order of priority. Question I have, How is the quality of amazon HDR streaming on the samsung vs the Oppo? Any feedback will be appreciate. Thanks.
Sorry, but my time machine is in the shop.
bobknavs is offline  
post #10497 of 14261 Old 11-22-2016, 03:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,752
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3272
Quote:
Originally Posted by wil1688 View Post
Hi, I am debating on this Samsung ( $200 ) or the upcoming Oppo 203 ( available sometimes in December ). My main usage of this two player will be UHD disk, Amazon video and NAS streaming, in the order of priority. Question I have, How is the quality of amazon HDR streaming on the samsung vs the Oppo? Any feedback will be appreciate. Thanks.
I couldn't find any official reports to the contrary, but back in September Oppo indicated that, at least at launch, their UHD BDP would not feature any apps:

http://hometheaterreview.com/oppo-gi...lu-ray-player/

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #10498 of 14261 Old 11-22-2016, 03:32 AM
Senior Member
 
Toxic teletubby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 484
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by wil1688 View Post
Hi, I am debating on this Samsung ( $200 ) or the upcoming Oppo 203 ( available sometimes in December ). My main usage of this two player will be UHD disk, Amazon video and NAS streaming, in the order of priority. Question I have, How is the quality of amazon HDR streaming on the samsung vs the Oppo? Any feedback will be appreciate. Thanks.
I'm sure I'll get called out on this but, streaming is streaming with so many variables between streamer to the streamee. Nobody can truthfully comment on the Oppo box atm, but the k8500 does an okay job for streaming.
stevesreed likes this.

Marantz SR6010 Onkyo 636 Onkyo NR801
Epson 3700 Sammy 55JS7000 Sammy K8500 Toshiba HD DVD Sony UBP-X800
Fusion F15's (LCR) Fusion 8's (SS) -JBL Studio Monitor 4406 - SVS SB1000 >BIC F12 Sub
TruAudio Revolve 8" - atmos
Toxic teletubby is offline  
post #10499 of 14261 Old 11-22-2016, 03:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RoadLizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 2,365
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1460 Post(s)
Liked: 1458
Quote:
Originally Posted by checker9 View Post
My My K8500 that I have had for a week will no longer connect to the internet. It is a wired connection. My AVR and TV, that go through the same switch, both work. The Samsung worked every day up until now. It finds a connection my router but states it cannot connect the internet. I turned it off, unplugged, adn unplugged and replugged the Ethernet cable. It still does not work.

I tried a wireless connection and the same thing happened.

Been on hold for Sasmung for over 30 minutes. Anyone know what could be wrong?


Edit: I could not get hold of Samsung. I waited 30 minutes then gave up. Previously, I could get Samsung support fairly quickly. The abnormally long wait might be explained by what I learned next. I called Costco Concierge Service about the problem. After explaining the problem, the lady immediately asked if I had Comcast internet. I answered yes. She said Samsung devices are having problem with Comcast internet - she has been getting related calls all day. She did not know if the problem is on Samsung's or Comcast's side. I am now waiting while she tries to get Samsung support on the phone.

I assume many here have Comcast. Anyone with Comcast have same problem or on flip side, can anyone with Comcast get the Samsung UHD player to connect to the internet?
May not be the exact same thing but Comcast bought time warner recently and they are now running my internet connection. My player is also hardwired. No such issues since I've had it which is about 4 days now.

LG OLED65E6P, Samsung PN64H5000
Panny UBD-420, LG UBK-90
Polk RTi Towers, STi surrounds
Polk Subwoofer
Sony DH550 AVR
RoadLizard is offline  
post #10500 of 14261 Old 11-22-2016, 03:54 AM
Member
 
JoCo13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoadLizard View Post
May not be the exact same thing but Comcast bought time warner recently and they are now running my internet connection. My player is also hardwired. No such issues since I've had it which is about 4 days now.
FYI. Comcast didn't buy time Warner, charter did.
rlb likes this.
JoCo13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
color calibration , hdr player , member , settings

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off