Official Samsung UBD-K8500 4K HDR Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 387 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40370Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11581 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 10:24 AM
Member
 
stanleykjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
And just to help you out on the math, it's not 4 million pixels, it's over 8 million pixels!

2160 x 1080 = 2,233,800

3840 x 2160 = 8,294,400

My 20-25% black was not meant to be taken literally either.
But you're right. What caught me up was 4K.
stanleykjr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11582 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 11:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,227
Mentioned: 185 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 5323
Quote:
Originally Posted by stanleykjr View Post
My 20-25% black was not meant to be taken literally either.
But you're right. What caught me up was 4K.
Oh, on the 20% - 25% black bars you could very well be right on some movies which I am OK with as I prefer that over out of proportion bodies or circles becoming oblongs.

Reason I corrected your math was just in case any friends of mine are reading this thread who keep insisting that 4K is only 2 times the resolution of HD.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer
Musician is offline  
post #11583 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 11:28 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
jedurocher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Spring, TX (North of Houston)
Posts: 1,246
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 108 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post



Reason I corrected your math was just in case any friends of mine are reading this thread who keep insisting that 4K is only 2 times the resolution of HD.

That's funny bc every advertisement says 4X HD.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

JD

"Listen to advice and accept instruction, and in the end you will be wise." Proverbs 19:20
jedurocher is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #11584 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 11:34 AM
Member
 
stanleykjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
Oh, on the 20% - 25% black bars you could very well be right on some movies which I am OK with as I prefer that over out of proportion bodies or circles becoming oblongs.

Reason I corrected your math was just in case any friends of mine are reading this thread who keep insisting that 4K is only 2 times the resolution of HD.
I'm ok with letterboxing at times.
The Todd A-O version of "Oklahoma" on Blu Ray is phenomenally better than the Cinemascope disc, because of the restoration.
Something like Hateful 8, I made the point of seeing in 70mm.
I don't need to try and replicate that in my living room.

I've never understood the "double the resolution argument", not to bring it to this thread.

Last edited by stanleykjr; 01-14-2017 at 11:43 AM.
stanleykjr is offline  
post #11585 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 12:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,120
Mentioned: 181 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4900 Post(s)
Liked: 7197
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
And just to help you out on the math, it's not 4 million pixels, it's over 8 million pixels!

2160 x 1080 = 2,233,800

3840 x 2160 = 8,294,400
Did you mean actually to compare

1920 x 1080 = 2,073,600
with
3840 x 2160 = 8,294,400
?

2,073,600 / 8,294,400 = 1/4

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is offline  
post #11586 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 02:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,227
Mentioned: 185 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 5323
^^^^^

Oops, you are correct! You can blame my wife as she was rushing me in a hurry to go out grocery shopping! Thanks for catching my error!

4 x 2,073,600 = 8,294,400 thus four times the resolution of HD. I have corrected my earlier post.

Have a great weekend.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer

Last edited by Musician; 01-14-2017 at 03:07 PM. Reason: Typo this time instead of a math error!
Musician is offline  
post #11587 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 03:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,227
Mentioned: 185 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2656 Post(s)
Liked: 5323
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedurocher View Post
That's funny bc every advertisement says 4X HD.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Oh it is as you know but that is because they just get caught up being mislead by their friends who have convinced them it is only 2 times the resolution not to mention the industry's choice of calling 1080p 2K resolution.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2K_resolution

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/4K_resolution

Have a great day!

Sent from my PC using FingerPower

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer
Musician is offline  
post #11588 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 04:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
brickyardz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Palm Harbor,FL
Posts: 1,568
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 591 Post(s)
Liked: 596
K8500 picture dark after hdmi cable swap?

I am trying to find out some info for a friend. He swapped a hdmi cable out that he was using on his K8500.He got everything set back up, and now the picture is very dark.
He also has the Oppo 203, he uses the Samsung for streaming content.Everything was fine before this, any ideas on why this would happen and how would you fix this? Thanks for the help.

SonyXBR75X940D #1 RIP due to power surge!
#2 940D is a dead! Bad panel! 940D #3 almost dead, banding again!
BDI Corridor 8179
Sony PS4 Pro
Nvidia Shield (2015)
brickyardz is offline  
post #11589 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 05:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 968 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Tonight I was not getting any sound output. My set up is one HDMI goes to the TV for picture and the other to my AVR to get HD sound. On checking the sound HDMI I found that the cable was damaged at the AVR end in as much as the pins had come completely away from the main cable! I replaced the cable (twice) but cannot get any sound. I can get sound from HDMI 1 that goes to my TV via an ARC connection but of course that is only lossy DD 5.1

Am I correct to assume that my HDMI 2 audio output port is now faulty?

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #11590 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 05:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,633
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4640 Post(s)
Liked: 2709
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Tonight I was not getting any sound output. My set up is one HDMI goes to the TV for picture and the other to my AVR to get HD sound. On checking the sound HDMI I found that the cable was damaged at the AVR end in as much as the pins had come completely away from the main cable! I replaced the cable (twice) but cannot get any sound. I can get sound from HDMI 1 that goes to my TV via an ARC connection but of course that is only lossy DD 5.1

Am I correct to assume that my HDMI 2 audio output port is now faulty?
Have you gone into the player's menu and changed the audio output to HDMI 2? Do you have it set to Bitstream (Unprocessed)? Do you have Dynamic Range Control off?

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #11591 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 05:37 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 968 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
Have you gone into the player's menu and changed the audio output to HDMI 2? Do you have it set to Bitstream (Unprocessed)? Do you have Dynamic Range Control off?
HDMI was set to Auto - but it did work fine at that setting. Changed it to HDMI 2 but still no sound. Yes to the other two questions. On the AVRs display I notice that the HDMI notification light flickers when on the blu-ray output. I have also checked the HDMI input on the AVR (HDMI 5) with another source which works fine - this rules out the amp.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #11592 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 05:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Tonight I was not getting any sound output. My set up is one HDMI goes to the TV for picture and the other to my AVR to get HD sound. On checking the sound HDMI I found that the cable was damaged at the AVR end in as much as the pins had come completely away from the main cable! I replaced the cable (twice) but cannot get any sound. I can get sound from HDMI 1 that goes to my TV via an ARC connection but of course that is only lossy DD 5.1

Am I correct to assume that my HDMI 2 audio output port is now faulty?
Sounds like there may be a problem at the hdmi port on your AVR

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
post #11593 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,633
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4640 Post(s)
Liked: 2709
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
HDMI was set to Auto - but it did work fine at that setting. Changed it to HDMI 2 but still no sound. Yes to the other two questions. On the AVRs display I notice that the HDMI notification light flickers when on the blu-ray output. I have also checked the HDMI input on the AVR (HDMI 5) with another source which works fine - this rules out the amp.
It could be that the frayed HDMI cable shorted out part of the board on your player.

Can you take your player to a family member or friend's house and plug it into their HDMI capable receiver?

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #11594 of 14223 Old 01-14-2017, 06:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 968 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
It could be that the frayed HDMI cable shorted out part of the board on your player.

Can you take your player to a family member or friend's house and plug it into their HDMI capable receiver?
Not easily. Seems to me that the damaged cable has shorted out HDMI 2 on the UHD player as the HDMI ports on the amp are all OK.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #11595 of 14223 Old 01-15-2017, 12:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,416
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 968 Post(s)
Liked: 878
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Not easily. Seems to me that the damaged cable has shorted out HDMI 2 on the UHD player as the HDMI ports on the amp are all OK.
I've reported it as faulty to purchaser and it appears that I will get a full refund. Are there any UHD players that will pass through HD audio from a connected hard disk? Annoying that this one only passes through lossy DD 5.1 or DTS.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #11596 of 14223 Old 01-15-2017, 12:17 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 10,231
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 664
The Oppo can do it.
David Susilo is offline  
post #11597 of 14223 Old 01-15-2017, 12:22 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,633
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4640 Post(s)
Liked: 2709
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Susilo View Post
The Oppo can do it.
Are you sure about that?

I've read that it has the same restrictions governing at least Dolby TrueHD lossless off video files.
dwaleke likes this.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #11598 of 14223 Old 01-15-2017, 12:25 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
David Susilo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Markham, Canada
Posts: 10,231
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 779 Post(s)
Liked: 664
Strange because I played DTS HD MA no problem last week and I assume that if it can play DTS HD MA then it should also play Dolby True HD
David Susilo is offline  
post #11599 of 14223 Old 01-15-2017, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
jerryyyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stanford, California
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Can somebody please help me drag the Amazon App from Recommended to My Apps... tried both their remote and my 650. Can't seem to customize.
jerryyyyy is offline  
post #11600 of 14223 Old 01-15-2017, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Dan Hitchman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 14,633
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4640 Post(s)
Liked: 2709
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryyyyy View Post
Can somebody please help me drag the Amazon App from Recommended to My Apps... tried both their remote and my 650. Can't seem to customize.
There are certain apps you cannot move. It's a contractual bit of advertising between the streaming service and Samsung.

Listen up, studios! Dolby Atmos Lite™ print-outs must stop!!
Dan Hitchman is online now  
post #11601 of 14223 Old 01-15-2017, 06:12 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 35,976
Mentioned: 71 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9327 Post(s)
Liked: 6008
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
In the netflix app go up to settings and select check your network
Quote:
Originally Posted by akmandal View Post
That's nonsense. Of course you still can on the Netflix app.

Yes. That has been there. But the person posted about checking the speed while streaming content. Which you can't do. WHich is what I was commenting on. It's never showed the bitrate of the encode being played. Only the resolution of the encode that is being played. And each resolution has multiple encodes.

53TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme
aaronwt is offline  
post #11602 of 14223 Old 01-15-2017, 09:20 PM
Senior Member
 
jerryyyyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Stanford, California
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post
There are certain apps you cannot move. It's a contractual bit of advertising between the streaming service and Samsung.
Thanks. Same with my Oppo... jump thru hoops to get to Amazon... trying to explain to my wife how to do this...
jerryyyyy is offline  
post #11603 of 14223 Old 01-15-2017, 11:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: US
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Yes. That has been there. But the person posted about checking the speed while streaming content. Which you can't do. WHich is what I was commenting on. It's never showed the bitrate of the encode being played. Only the resolution of the encode that is being played. And each resolution has multiple encodes.
Yea, I really wish the other apps would follow suit with YouTube in terms of viewable statistics during playback. They could call it 'stats for geeks' to avoid copyright.
mrtickleuk likes this.

Samsung UN60KS8000
Samsung UBD-K8500
Ted Brogan is offline  
post #11604 of 14223 Old 01-16-2017, 07:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just purchased this player. Few quick questions (sorry if this has been beat to death in previous posts):

I have a Visio P-65-c1 UHD HDR/DV Tv.

1)I have turned HDR Color Sampling option to ON in the Visio settings, allowing my tv to output HDR. Do i have to turn the color sampling option on the bluray player to on, as well? or leave it off?

2) Within the player, do i set the resolution to auto? or 4K? I will be watching mostly bluray and 4k bluray.

Thanks!
jeffs316 is offline  
post #11605 of 14223 Old 01-16-2017, 07:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 24
I read some posts recently which stated that adding external memory would help when playing certain disks which had trouble loading. I went ahead and added 32 GB flash drives to my two UDB-K8500 players. Does the player give any indication that it sees this added memory like "32GB external memory detected" or anything else to let me know that the player is using it? I checked the settings but did not see anything like this...

Living Rm: Samsung 78JS9500, Samsung UBD-K8500, Yamaha RX-A3050, Emitiva XPA-5, Direct TV Genie DVR, Monoprice Certified HDMI Cables
Bedroom: Samsung 55HU8550 w/SEK-3500, Samsung UBD- K8500, Yamaha TRS-7810, Direct TV DVR, Monoprice Certified HDMI Cables
Game Rm and patio: Samsung 46, Visio 39” and LG 32” 1080P tvs, Yamaha RX-A3000, Samsung BD-7500, Direct TV DVR
rickcleveland is offline  
post #11606 of 14223 Old 01-16-2017, 07:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Hmm - I have never heard of adding memory to a bluray player via flash drives connected to USB ports! I would HIGHLY doubt that actually works.... But, I could be wrong - has anyone else every heard of such a thing??

Sent from my A1160 using Tapatalk
jtrosky is offline  
post #11607 of 14223 Old 01-16-2017, 08:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,750
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3270
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky View Post
Hmm - I have never heard of adding memory to a bluray player via flash drives connected to USB ports! I would HIGHLY doubt that actually works.... But, I could be wrong - has anyone else every heard of such a thing??

Sent from my A1160 using Tapatalk
BDPs use the added memory to store BD-Live data.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #11608 of 14223 Old 01-16-2017, 09:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,541
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 860 Post(s)
Liked: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky View Post
Hmm - I have never heard of adding memory to a bluray player via flash drives connected to USB ports! I would HIGHLY doubt that actually works.... But, I could be wrong - has anyone else every heard of such a thing??

Sent from my A1160 using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
BDPs use the added memory to store BD-Live data.
For example:

http://support-us.samsung.com/cyber/...&homeid=642701

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is online now  
post #11609 of 14223 Old 01-16-2017, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
BDPs use the added memory to store BD-Live data.
So does it use it as temporary "storage" or as memory (aka RAM)? I could understand it using it as storage, but not as additional RAM (which is what I thought he meant). When someone says memory, I translate that to RAM (I'm in the computer field). :-)

EDIT: Never mind - I see the link you posted above. So yeah, it just uses it as storage. Just a terminology "issue". :-) I thought he meant that it allows the blueray player to use the USB storage as RAM. I completely understand that it could use it as storage space. I remember when Windows 2000 (I think) came it, it allowed you to use USB thumb drives as additional RAM. Not sure if Windows machines still allow that or not (I'm a Unix guy!). :-)

Sent from my A1160 using Tapatalk

Last edited by jtrosky; 01-16-2017 at 09:34 AM.
jtrosky is offline  
post #11610 of 14223 Old 01-16-2017, 09:53 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Thanks for the link Poppagene and info Rudy1! After jtosky's reply I tried to find the post where I had read about this. Finally remembered being in an older K8500 thread that I must have gotten into by following a link. Anyways I followed the Samsung support link listed above and figured out how to discover the flash drive by selecting it in the BD Live settings. It listed the drive and told me it had just under 30 GB available which confirmed that it was available.

Apparently some of the older disks like Starship Troopers had trouble loading do to lack of sufficient storage space and some disks would only display part of the menu screens. I have not actually had this problem yet but I do have over 850 blu ray disks and just wanted to avoid having issues when I play them.

Thanks again for the help you guys are great!!

Living Rm: Samsung 78JS9500, Samsung UBD-K8500, Yamaha RX-A3050, Emitiva XPA-5, Direct TV Genie DVR, Monoprice Certified HDMI Cables
Bedroom: Samsung 55HU8550 w/SEK-3500, Samsung UBD- K8500, Yamaha TRS-7810, Direct TV DVR, Monoprice Certified HDMI Cables
Game Rm and patio: Samsung 46, Visio 39” and LG 32” 1080P tvs, Yamaha RX-A3000, Samsung BD-7500, Direct TV DVR
rickcleveland is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
color calibration , hdr player , member , settings

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off