Official Samsung UBD-K8500 4K HDR Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 425 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40405Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12721 of 14253 Old 06-07-2017, 04:40 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,217
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4019 Post(s)
Liked: 3188
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
I've never used glass cleaner. Since 1985, with CDs, I've always used soap and warm water to clean any optical discs. It's always worked great. You just need to dry with a lint free cloth. Never had any issues drying in any direction. Whether circles or anything else. It has never caused me any issues on the times I've cleaned CDs, DVDs, BDs, and the one UHD BD I cleaned.
True glass cleaner is a lot less messy! (I use the industrial stuff)

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12722 of 14253 Old 06-07-2017, 05:43 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
DaGamePimp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,353
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 656 Post(s)
Liked: 674
Updated to 1011 and now my router has HDR.

- Jason

HT = Epson HC4010 @133" / Marantz SR6013 7.3.4 Atmos / B&K 5000 II amp / Boston VR2/VR12/CR67 speakers / Rythmik 12" x2 / CV 15" / Panasonic UB820
Media Room = Sony 65x930e / Denon x3300 /Klipsch speakers /Velodyne subs /Sony x700 /PS4 Pro + PSVR/WiiU/PS3/360/Wii/ 2080 TI - 9900K PC / Multi-Arcade / Virtual Pinball TRE45ON
DaGamePimp is online now  
post #12723 of 14253 Old 06-07-2017, 11:32 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
After upgrade from 1010 to 1011 have problem with DTS s DD audio in UBD mediaplayer (mainly MKVs) via SPDIF out.

Audio is set to unprocessed bitstream and still no DTS a DD on my av receiver Yamaha HTR-6130B. AVR and K8500 are connected via TOSLINK optical cable.

In Netlix and when playing discs (BD, DVD, UBD) audio is working correctly with DD and DTS.

Jan Pšenička is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12724 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 03:34 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Official Samsung UBD-K8500 4K HDR Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player Owner's Thread

Anyone has lip sync problems when watching MKV movies from a NAS? Also, HD audio like Atmos and DTS-HD aren't passed through when streaming from the NAS, only the standard core of it (Dolby Digital and DTS). This issue isn't there when viewing a UHD or BD Disc. What am I doing wrong?

I tried to connect the player with the two HDMI cables (TV and AVR) and I tried the one cable to the AVR. Does anyone experience the same issues here?

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #12725 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 05:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,750
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3270
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Anyone has lip sync problems when watching MKV movies from a NAS? Also, HD audio like Atmos and DTS-HD aren't passed through when streaming from the NAS, only the standard core of it (Dolby Digital and DTS). This issue isn't there when viewing a UHD or BD Disc. What am I doing wrong?

I tried to connect the player with the two HDMI cables (TV and AVR) and I tried the one cable to the AVR. Does anyone experience the same issues here?
This was discussed with engineering when the players first came out a year ago. While the lip sync is correctable within the player's settings, the K8500 does not support HD Audio via USB or from network attached storage devices. It is limited (probably because of licensing) to Dolby Digital, DTS, and PCM.
galonzo and Musician like this.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #12726 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 06:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Gembrook, Victoria
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Send a message via Skype™ to bernievink
Quote:
Originally Posted by bernievink View Post
The movies I have problems with are, The mummy, the mummy tomb of dragon emperor, Storks, and Sully.
I do not seem to be able to play theses 4 movies without problems.
Any suggestions ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bernievink View Post
Thanks for the Tips guys, I will try them both.
Having a look at the surface of the affected discs they seem pristine, even under a magnifying glass. no sign of oil or scratches.
the problem seems to be the player cant cope with the high rate of data, but that might just be a guess.
I just received the firmware 1011.4 update. I will test my 4 problem movies again over the next few days and report back here.
Hoping for a good result.
Regards Bernie
bernievink is online now  
post #12727 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 06:37 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
This was discussed with engineering when the players first came out a year ago. While the lip sync is correctable within the player's settings, the K8500 does not support HD Audio via USB or from network attached storage devices. It is limited (probably because of licensing) to Dolby Digital, DTS, and PCM.


Thanks for your post. Seriously, that's not cool of Samsung. There are other players out there which can do the above without lip sync issues. Maybe I am better off selling the player.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #12728 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 08:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
Thanks for your post. Seriously, that's not cool of Samsung. There are other players out there which can do the above without lip sync issues. Maybe I am better off selling the player.
There's also been speculation that content owners are putting on pressure to have HW manufacturers disable HD audio outside of discs to discourage piracy. Since less and less players support HD audio over usb/network. Some people pointed out that new players won't do it while the models the prior year did.
mrtickleuk likes this.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #12729 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 08:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 329
So frustrating. A lot of UHD discs available in the US are not available here in Holland and yet the content owners want to prevent piracy as much as possible.

I thought that the Oppo and the Sony UHD players do support bitstreaming HD audio from a NAS.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #12730 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,750
Mentioned: 190 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1966 Post(s)
Liked: 3270
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
There's also been speculation that content owners are putting on pressure to have HW manufacturers disable HD audio outside of discs to discourage piracy. Since less and less players support HD audio over usb/network. Some people pointed out that new players won't do it while the models the prior year did.
This is correct. One manufacturer admitted to me that the hardware is fully capable, but the content owners will not allow it. Some are even taking steps to require that manufacturers issue firmware updates to disable the capability on any current players that still have it. My old Oppo used to handle ISO's perfectly until the content owners put a stop to it.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #12731 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
So frustrating. A lot of UHD discs available in the US are not available here in Holland and yet the content owners want to prevent piracy as much as possible.

I thought that the Oppo and the Sony UHD players do support bitstreaming HD audio from a NAS.
I don't follow that logic.. The discs are not available in Holland so presumably the easiest way to play that content is through piracy.. so of course they try to prevent that.

UHDs are region free.. just import them. I just imported Split and Terminator Genesis UHDs from Spain since they aren't available in the US..
Musician likes this.

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #12732 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
IMWhizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,339
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1003 Post(s)
Liked: 329
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
I don't follow that logic.. The discs are not available in Holland so presumably the easiest way to play that content is through piracy.. so of course they try to prevent that.



UHDs are region free.. just import them. I just imported Split and Terminator Genesis UHDs from Spain since they aren't available in the US..


If those are region free just simply release them worldwide at once. Importing Planet Earth (which i did cost me 50 euros).

In the us it's a lot cheaper. I don't follow THAT logic.

Klipsch Reference Premiere: 4 x RP-280's, 1 x RP 450C and dual R-115W's
Marantz 7011 AVR
LG OLED B6
Apple TV 4K
PlayStation Pro
IMWhizzle is offline  
post #12733 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 01:18 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,217
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4019 Post(s)
Liked: 3188
UHD 4K BDs Region free? Some are, some aren't. Amazon UK was selling Planet Earth II for only certain regions
Other issues, is the Region Free is for the BD, not the UHD 4K. Mixed bag, from the original idea that all UHD 4K BDs would be Region Free - I guess that got tossed out the window - can't have competition between countries.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
post #12734 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 01:25 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
badboi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: East of the Sun, West of the Moon (Home Farm, Emme
Posts: 1,801
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by IMWhizzle View Post
So frustrating. A lot of UHD discs available in the US are not available here in Holland and yet the content owners want to prevent piracy as much as possible.

I thought that the Oppo and the Sony UHD players do support bitstreaming HD audio from a NAS.
Don't know about the Oppo, but the Sony supports bistreaming HD audio from a NAS.
badboi is online now  
post #12735 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 01:33 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Patsfan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Randolph, MA
Posts: 2,509
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 513 Post(s)
Liked: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
UHD 4K BDs Region free? Some are, some aren't. Amazon UK was selling Planet Earth II for only certain regions
Other issues, is the Region Free is for the BD, not the UHD 4K. Mixed bag, from the original idea that all UHD 4K BDs would be Region Free - I guess that got tossed out the window - can't have competition between countries.
All UHD discs are region free. The accompanied BD may not be region free. Amazons policy on shipping to certain countries is unrelated.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G890A using Tapatalk

LG 65C6P FW: 05.30.70 | Onkyo TX-RZ730 5.1.4 | Oppo UDP-203 | Sony UBP-X700 | Xbox One X | Chromecast Ultra | Apple TV 4K
LG 55EG9100 | LG 60PK550 | Samsung LN-S4095D | Samsung UBD‑K8500 | Philips BDP7501 | Panasonic DMP-BDT110
Patsfan123 is offline  
post #12736 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 02:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 7,468
Mentioned: 184 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5174 Post(s)
Liked: 7494
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patsfan123 View Post
All UHD discs are region free. The accompanied BD may not be region free. Amazons policy on shipping to certain countries is unrelated.
Yes, you beat me to it.

It's the accompanying Blu-Ray being region locked that is the problem. Many of these titles have a BARE BONES 4K disc with NOTHING on it except the movie, and all extras on the Blu-Ray. Thus completely and utterly defeating the purpose of allowing the 4K discs to be region free in the first place (to encourage sales)! Idiots. If they are going to do that, they might as well have made the 4K disc region locked as well.
almost too old likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #12737 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 08:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by galonzo View Post
Be sure to let us know if you lose HDR for Netflix or not
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daryl L View Post
Just upgraded from 1009 to 1011 through online setting update with no problems. And now I have a Netflix with HDR.
Same here, I was still on 1009 and didn't have HDR from Netflix. Turned on the box tonight and it auto-updated to 1011, now HDR is working from Netflix.

Just in time too since I only have a week till my free 1 month trial runs out and I shut it down. Not enough content for me to keep it active all the time. I'll maybe activate it for a month every 6 or so to catch up, then shut it down again.
Daryl L, joe221, galonzo and 1 others like this.

Sony XBR75-X940D, Sony UBP-X800M2 UHD-BD, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is offline  
post #12738 of 14253 Old 06-08-2017, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 18
So sorry if this has been asked but I have a few discs, Logan being the latest, where the picture would go out and it just looked like static/snow. If I stopped and restarted it seemed to work again. Only happens with uhd's. Just annoying of course. Didn't notice this happening when it was hooked to my Samsung but when I switched it out for a Sony tv it happens from time to time
themaxfischer is offline  
post #12739 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 01:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 543 Post(s)
Liked: 705
Quote:
Originally Posted by themaxfischer View Post
So sorry if this has been asked but I have a few discs, Logan being the latest, where the picture would go out and it just looked like static/snow. If I stopped and restarted it seemed to work again. Only happens with uhd's. Just annoying of course. Didn't notice this happening when it was hooked to my Samsung but when I switched it out for a Sony tv it happens from time to time
What are you using for a HDMI cable, sounds like it could be a handshake issue. If you don't have a Certified High Speed cable like the very inexpensive monoPrice, get one.
https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_...seq=1&format=2
poppagene and galonzo like this.

Sony XBR75-X940D, Sony UBP-X800M2 UHD-BD, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
HSU Research 5.2 speaker system (4) HB-1 MK2, (1) HC-1 MK2, (2) STF-2,
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is offline  
post #12740 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 07:10 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sal1950 View Post
What are you using for a HDMI cable, sounds like it could be a handshake issue. If you don't have a Certified High Speed cable like the very inexpensive monoPrice, get one.
https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_...seq=1&format=2
Well I mean it says hi speed on it. TBH I'm not sure where I got it, I already had it. Would it work most of the time if it was the wrong cable?
themaxfischer is offline  
post #12741 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 01:00 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 861 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by themaxfischer View Post
Well I mean it says hi speed on it. TBH I'm not sure where I got it, I already had it. Would it work most of the time if it was the wrong cable?
It may work some of the time with your "hi-speed" cables, but you will need the premium certified cables to have it work all or nearly all of the time. Lucky for you monoprices premium certified cables are very reasonably priced.
MALICIOUS ONE and galonzo like this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #12742 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 02:16 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
It may work some of the time with your "hi-speed" cables, but you will need the premium certified cables to have it work all or nearly all of the time. Lucky for you monoprices premium certified cables are very reasonably priced.
I'll give that a try, thanks. And they do actually say "high speed" not "hi speed" that was my mistake lol

They might have misspelled hdmi on there though...
themaxfischer is offline  
post #12743 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Blue Jeans cables has come good certified HDMI cables as well - they are very nice.

Sent from my Hi10 pro using Tapatalk
badboi likes this.
jtrosky is online now  
post #12744 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 03:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,277
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 902 Post(s)
Liked: 500
I have a question does netflix or amazon stream atmos from theyre respective apps on the 8500 into the k950. Both stream 4k hdr also the roku 4
william06 is offline  
post #12745 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 04:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 861 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky View Post
Blue Jeans cables has come good certified HDMI cables as well - they are very nice.

Sent from my Hi10 pro using Tapatalk
If you can afford blue jean cables over monoprice, you probably would be buying Oppo rather than Samsung

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #12746 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 04:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
To me, after spending $2500+ on my TV (65" LG B6), $500 or so on a new TV stand to hold the TV, $200 for my Samsung UHD bluray player, $600+ on a new 4k-compatible AV Receiver and $20+ for each of the UHD Bluray movies, I think that $20 for a high-quality HDMI cable that you *know* is going to work (and last) is a small price to pay to know that you'll have no issues related to HDMI cables. :-)

And yes, I bought a Samsung UHD blue-ray player and Blue Jeans cables. :-)

To each their own - just mentioning another option.

Sent from my Hi10 pro using Tapatalk
rlb, badboi and Terminader like this.
jtrosky is online now  
post #12747 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Any good picture settings I can?t seem to find anything everything looks so dark i have the hu9000 with the sek3500 connected to the k8500
Maserdotcom is offline  
post #12748 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 04:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,546
Mentioned: 35 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 861 Post(s)
Liked: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtrosky View Post
To me, after spending $2500+ on my TV (65" LG B6), $500 or so on a new TV stand to hold the TV, $200 for my Samsung UHD bluray player, $600+ on a new 4k-compatible AV Receiver and $20+ for each of the UHD Bluray movies, I think that $20 for a high-quality HDMI cable that you *know* is going to work (and last) is a small price to pay to know that you'll have no issues related to HDMI cables. :-)

And yes, I bought a Samsung UHD blue-ray player and Blue Jeans cables. :-)

To each their own - just mentioning another option.

Sent from my Hi10 pro using Tapatalk
$20 (actually $19.50 plus shipping) gets you a 5ft certified premium Blue Jeans HDMI cable
A 6 foot monoprice certified premium cable is $4.49 plus shipping. And Monoprice has a lifetime warranty on their cables. Forgive me if I think that blue jeans cables are an unnecessary extravagance compared to Monoprice.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #12749 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 06:19 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dreamliner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,179
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1461 Post(s)
Liked: 773
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
$20 (actually $19.50 plus shipping) gets you a 5ft certified premium Blue Jeans HDMI cable
A 6 foot monoprice certified premium cable is $4.49 plus shipping. And Monoprice has a lifetime warranty on their cables. Forgive me if I think that blue jeans cables are an unnecessary extravagance compared to Monoprice.
Agreed.

The previous HDMI cable I bought from Monoprice almost 6 years ago was rated '4K compatible' but did not work when I upgraded gear and actually sent 4K signal. They replaced it with one of their Premium Certified HDMI cables and gave me store credit for the cost difference that I used to get more of them.

For how much crap Monoprice gets, they have good customer service and those Premium Certified HDMI cables work perfectly.
Daryl L, galonzo and Terminader like this.
Dreamliner is offline  
post #12750 of 14253 Old 06-09-2017, 10:13 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,217
Mentioned: 243 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4019 Post(s)
Liked: 3188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sal1950 View Post
Same here, I was still on 1009 and didn't have HDR from Netflix. Turned on the box tonight and it auto-updated to 1011, now HDR is working from Netflix.

Just in time too since I only have a week till my free 1 month trial runs out and I shut it down. Not enough content for me to keep it active all the time. I'll maybe activate it for a month every 6 or so to catch up, then shut it down again.
Hmm. $9.99 a month, or $11.99 for UHD, I went with the $9.99.
Best money a man can spend, to keep the little woman happy, and off your case!
Me, dresser too full of unwatched BDs - 1080P, and 4K. (And I save a BIG $2 a month!)

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
color calibration , hdr player , member , settings

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off