Official Samsung UBD-K8500 4K HDR Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 429 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40335Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12841 of 14194 Old 06-27-2017, 06:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,740
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1957 Post(s)
Liked: 3254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macroblocker View Post
isn't the Oppo player Cinavia enabled ? i read it was
If I recall correctly (I got rid of mine a long time ago), the Oppo 203 detects Cinavia on optical disc, USB HDDs, and via DLNA, SMB and NFS networking. However, at the time it didn't detect it over the HDMI input, but things may have changed.

Now back to our regular programming: the Samsung UBD-K8500

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12842 of 14194 Old 06-27-2017, 09:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rudy1 View Post
If I recall correctly (I got rid of mine a long time ago), the Oppo 203 detects Cinavia on optical disc, USB HDDs, and via DLNA, SMB and NFS networking. However, at the time it didn't detect it over the HDMI input, but things may have changed.

Now back to our regular programming: the Samsung UBD-K8500
thanks ! I do have the K8500 and so far it seems to be working well, my only complaints are that the remote is HORRIBLE and there is no remote app, which i feel is another major miss. if its on the network you should able to control it. I have my equipment tucked away.
Macroblocker is offline  
post #12843 of 14194 Old 06-27-2017, 02:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
hsinnott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 781
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macroblocker View Post
thanks ! I do have the K8500 and so far it seems to be working well, my only complaints are that the remote is HORRIBLE and there is no remote app, which i feel is another major miss. if its on the network you should able to control it. I have my equipment tucked away.
It certainly is but that's an easy fix- just pick up a "proper" Samsung remote on eBay and elsewhere for less than 10 bucks as discussed on here previously.
hsinnott is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12844 of 14194 Old 06-27-2017, 07:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
kcgr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsinnott View Post
It certainly is but that's an easy fix- just pick up a "proper" Samsung remote on eBay and elsewhere for less than 10 bucks as discussed on here previously.

It sure does seem to have a minimalist remote. I just use a Logitech Harmony. Been using my trusty 670 model for about 9 years now.
Macroblocker likes this.
kcgr is offline  
post #12845 of 14194 Old 06-28-2017, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
jtrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 996
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcgr View Post
It sure does seem to have a minimalist remote. I just use a Logitech Harmony. Been using my trusty 670 model for about 9 years now.
Yeah - instead of buying an alternate dedicated remote for the UHD player, I'd put that money towards a Harmony 650 or 700.... The 700 is only like $50, has backlit keys and even comes with rechargeable batteries that you can recharge while they are in the remote (via the USB port on the remote). Not to mention all of the other cool things a Harmony remote can do!

I used to buy the more expensive Harmony remotes (Harmony One, 880, etc), but I have been extremely happy with the 700.

Sent from my Hi10 pro using Tapatalk
jeep05 likes this.
jtrosky is offline  
post #12846 of 14194 Old 06-28-2017, 07:14 AM
Senior Member
 
Javelin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Another option for the remote is to use the cable or sat remote if you have one. I have Cox cable and programmed their remote to control the k8500, works very well!
Macroblocker likes this.
Javelin is offline  
post #12847 of 14194 Old 06-28-2017, 09:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Macroblocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Nashville
Posts: 1,042
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Javelin View Post
Another option for the remote is to use the cable or sat remote if you have one. I have Cox cable and programmed their remote to control the k8500, works very well!
thanks for all the tips!
Macroblocker is offline  
post #12848 of 14194 Old 06-29-2017, 02:01 AM
Member
 
Rod_Hull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Netflix have announced Atmos support (over DD+) for a select number of content/devices.

Since this UHD player as I understand it can output DD+ from the on-board Netflix app, is there any reason to believe that this won't be supported (or isn't already)?

Last edited by Rod_Hull; 06-29-2017 at 02:05 AM.
Rod_Hull is offline  
post #12849 of 14194 Old 06-29-2017, 03:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Lagos, Nigeria
Posts: 711
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod_Hull View Post
Netflix have announced Atmos support (over DD+) for a select number of content/devices.

Since this UHD player as I understand it can output DD+ from the on-board Netflix app, is there any reason to believe that this won't be supported (or isn't already)?
Devices currently supported by Netflix for atmos are the Xbox One, Xbox One S and 2017 LG OLED TVs.

https://help.netflix.com/en/node/64066

It'll be nice if this device is supported but i doubt it.
MALICIOUS ONE likes this.

Theater:JVC RS440, Elite 120". 7.1.4:RTi8, CSi5, FXiA4, RTiA3, 620-RT(4) & SVS PB12-NSD. Denon X4300H, UPA-700, Crown XLS1502 & XLS1000(2). Sony UBP-X800, Panasonic DP-UB424, Shield & ATV 4K. Lounge:Vizio M70-D3, Benq HT1075, & Elite 106". 7.1.4:RTi12, CSi5, RTiA1, TSx110, MC60(4), & RBH I-12. Marantz AV7702, Crown XLS1500, XLS1000(2) & Amp 100v2(2). Samsung UBD-K8500, LG BP440, Shield & ATV
shyyour is online now  
post #12850 of 14194 Old 06-29-2017, 04:26 AM
Member
 
Rod_Hull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 21
...but the UBD-K8500 can already output DD+ from Netflix, can't it?

There's no reason why this shouldn't work here since the Atmos data is encoded within metadata of the core lossy DD+ stream, I understand?

Unless Netflix are artificially hobbling certain devices due to a licensing/exclusivity agreement with Microsoft and LG, or there's some "special" way they're delivering it that requires hardware only these named devices have (which is non-standard and v. doubtful), then there's no reason why Atmos/Netflix shouldn't work right now with any device that can already output DD+ from Netflix...it's then down to your AVR to process and "place" the object data into whatever speakers based on the placement configuration you happen to have...
Rod_Hull is offline  
post #12851 of 14194 Old 06-29-2017, 06:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 442
Also netflix charges a preuium fee for 4k excetra. So those with certain devices are getting more than those with devices possably capable of the codec but currently blocked. Hope that makes sense.
william06 is offline  
post #12852 of 14194 Old 06-29-2017, 06:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,740
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1957 Post(s)
Liked: 3254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod_Hull View Post
...but the UBD-K8500 can already output DD+ from Netflix, can't it?

There's no reason why this shouldn't work here since the Atmos data is encoded within metadata of the core lossy DD+ stream, I understand?

Unless Netflix are artificially hobbling certain devices due to a licensing/exclusivity agreement with Microsoft and LG, or there's some "special" way they're delivering it that requires hardware only these named devices have (which is non-standard and v. doubtful), then there's no reason why Atmos/Netflix shouldn't work right now with any device that can already output DD+ from Netflix...it's then down to your AVR to process and "place" the object data into whatever speakers based on the placement configuration you happen to have...
This is probably a Netflix licensing and/or exclusivity agreement issue. Even the Samsung Q Series TVs can do Atmos via HDMI/ARC, which I verified on Ultraviolet titles I own on Vudu and FandangoNow.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #12853 of 14194 Old 06-29-2017, 06:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
william06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: South central Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,129
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 816 Post(s)
Liked: 442
I have the samsung i guess low end mu9000 series no joy here.
william06 is offline  
post #12854 of 14194 Old 06-29-2017, 06:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Rudy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 5,740
Mentioned: 188 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1957 Post(s)
Liked: 3254
Quote:
Originally Posted by william06 View Post
I have the samsung i guess low end mu9000 series no joy here.
In the SOUND menu options on your TV, do you see options for Dolby Digital +? If you do, then your TV should be able to do Atmos via HDMI/ARC.

Definition of "Stupid": Knowing the truth, seeing the truth, but still believing the lies.

Last edited by Rudy1; 06-29-2017 at 06:59 AM.
Rudy1 is offline  
post #12855 of 14194 Old 06-29-2017, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blenky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hove, UK
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 924 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by shyyour View Post
Devices currently supported by Netflix for atmos are the Xbox One, Xbox One S and 2017 LG OLED TVs.

https://help.netflix.com/en/node/64066

It'll be nice if this device is supported but i doubt it.
I think it will roll out to all devices that support DD+ eventually. At the moment it looks like they have a exclusivity deal with a few devices/manufacturers. Watch this pace.

Samsung UE55KS8000 | Pioneer SC-LX701 | Dune HD Pro 4K | Zidoo Z9S | Apple TV 4K | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Player
blenky is offline  
post #12856 of 14194 Old 06-29-2017, 11:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
joe221's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: West Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 3,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 171 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
I think it will roll out to all devices that support DD+ eventually. At the moment it looks like they have a exclusivity deal with a few devices/manufacturers. Watch this pace.
Some might say; the pace of support is too slow...

Joe in West Los Angeles, CA
joe221 is offline  
post #12857 of 14194 Old 07-01-2017, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
iLLest1aLive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone ever ran into a problem with the power? I just received the player 2 days ago and tested it with a few movies and everything seemed fine. Now today i wanted to watch a movie but now the player wont even power up. The light just stays red and doesnt blink. It was connected to my denon receiver so i unplugged all the cables and still with only power cord connected it still wont even boot up. Any ideas?
iLLest1aLive is offline  
post #12858 of 14194 Old 07-02-2017, 09:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,168
Mentioned: 238 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3991 Post(s)
Liked: 3166
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLLest1aLive View Post
Has anyone ever ran into a problem with the power? I just received the player 2 days ago and tested it with a few movies and everything seemed fine. Now today i wanted to watch a movie but now the player wont even power up. The light just stays red and doesnt blink. It was connected to my denon receiver so i unplugged all the cables and still with only power cord connected it still wont even boot up. Any ideas?
Remove power cord for 15 minutes. If that doesn't work, try unplugged overnight.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U in UJS9000 Mod Mode / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #12859 of 14194 Old 07-03-2017, 09:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by blenky View Post
Not via K8500 - it has disabled playback of HD audio.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Brad View Post
It will not. Dolby Digital or DTS is all you'll get via USB playback.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
HD Audio is disabled for USB and network playback.
Turns out you can actually get Atmos sound from an mkv with USB !!!
The only thing is, that the blue light ( for Atmos )
and the display ( doesn't say Atmos ) don't work
on my HW-K950 soundbar.
But the sound is indeed Atmos, when played from USB.
Read here on how to do it : https://www.avforums.com/threads/no-...atmos.1983186/

In short, add another sound file to your mkv ( DD5.1 or DTS, doesn't matter which )
and once that mkv is saved, you play it back and then you have to switch to
the other sound file with your remote, and the Atmos sound will play !!!
MALICIOUS ONE likes this.

Last edited by Soxbrother; 07-03-2017 at 03:02 PM.
Soxbrother is offline  
post #12860 of 14194 Old 07-04-2017, 01:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brent Madden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 253
I'm sure this has been asked before, but don't really have the time to go through 429 pages so hopefully someone can give me a quick answer. Is there any way to play back .mkv files with DTS-HD MA or TrueHD audio on a hard drive through the USB port?
Brent Madden is offline  
post #12861 of 14194 Old 07-04-2017, 02:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,187
Mentioned: 182 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2636 Post(s)
Liked: 5213
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Madden View Post
I'm sure this has been asked before, but don't really have the time to go through 429 pages so hopefully someone can give me a quick answer. Is there any way to play back .mkv files with DTS-HD MA or TrueHD audio on a hard drive through the USB port?
Last answered a few pages back on page 426...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreamliner View Post
So....the K8500 won't play lossless audio MKV?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Brad View Post
It will not. Dolby Digital or DTS is all you'll get via USB playback.
MALICIOUS ONE and galonzo like this.

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1540.3
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K
Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer
Musician is offline  
post #12862 of 14194 Old 07-04-2017, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brent Madden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 409 Post(s)
Liked: 253
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
Last answered a few pages back on page 426...
That's kinda what I figured, but just wanted to confirm it. Not the answer I had hoped for, though. Are there any standalone 4K media boxes people around here use that will pass through lossless audio?
Brent Madden is offline  
post #12863 of 14194 Old 07-04-2017, 03:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Madden View Post
I'm sure this has been asked before, but don't really have the time to go through 429 pages so hopefully someone can give me a quick answer. Is there any way to play back .mkv files with DTS-HD MA or TrueHD audio on a hard drive through the USB port?
You might be able to use the trick mentioned a few posts above yours to get DTS-HD MA or TrueHD audio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soxbrother View Post
Turns out you can actually get Atmos sound from an mkv with USB !!!
The only thing is, that the blue light ( for Atmos )
and the display ( doesn't say Atmos ) don't work
on my HW-K950 soundbar.
But the sound is indeed Atmos, when played from USB.
Read here on how to do it : https://www.avforums.com/threads/no-...atmos.1983186/

In short, add another sound file to your mkv ( DD5.1 or DTS, doesn't matter which )
and once that mkv is saved, you play it back and then you have to switch to
the other sound file with your remote, and the Atmos sound will play !!!

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #12864 of 14194 Old 07-05-2017, 09:45 AM
Member
 
blaket81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Hello, I'm not sure if this has come up already in this thread but there are so many pages of posts I don't know where to begin to look. I have owned this player since around the time it was released but just recently bought one of the new 2017 LG OLEDs capable of Dolby Vision. So my question is of course will this player ever be able to support Dolby Vision? From what I've read there will be UHD Blu rays coming out that will be both HDR10 and Dolby Vision. Not just HDR10 like they have been to this point.
blaket81 is offline  
post #12865 of 14194 Old 07-05-2017, 09:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Daryl L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,473
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 654 Post(s)
Liked: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaket81 View Post
Hello, I'm not sure if this has come up already in this thread but there are so many pages of posts I don't know where to begin to look. I have owned this player since around the time it was released but just recently bought one of the new 2017 LG OLEDs capable of Dolby Vision. So my question is of course will this player ever be able to support Dolby Vision? From what I've read there will be UHD Blu rays coming out that will be both HDR10 and Dolby Vision. Not just HDR10 like they have been to this point.
Samsung developed the up and coming HDR10+ (w/ dynamic metadata similar to DV's dynamic metadata) which will be in competition with DV so I seriously doubt they will update this player to support Dolby Vision.

And by the way, HDR10 is included in DV. If you have a UHD Blu-ray w/ DV and your devices support DV that's what it will play, but if your devices will not support DV then it will use the HDR10.
Rudy1 likes this.

Sony XBR-55A9F OLED
Samsung SMT-H3272 HDC DVR Cable Box / Panasonic DP-UB820 4K BD Player
Roku Premium+ 4k / AppleTV 4K 4th Gen
Denon AVR-X4500H AV Receiver / Klipsch 5.1.2 Speakers

Last edited by Daryl L; 07-05-2017 at 10:07 AM.
Daryl L is offline  
post #12866 of 14194 Old 07-05-2017, 11:01 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Madden View Post
I'm sure this has been asked before, but don't really have the time to go through 429 pages so hopefully someone can give me a quick answer. Is there any way to play back .mkv files with DTS-HD MA or TrueHD audio on a hard drive through the USB port?
See here :
https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-bl...l#post54027761

So yes it's possible for TrueHD Atmos,
and I think if you play one with DTS-HDMA, it gives you normal DTS 5.1.

I still hope that in the future they will add DTS:X to the firmware as well,
probably when there are more 4K releases with DTS:X.

But there are many releases with DTS-HDMA, so why hasn't that been added to the firmware ?
Or maybe it has ?
For all we know it does play DTS-HDMA, but the display just doesn't show any information of the sound except when you play Atmos, then it says Atmos on the display.
Should be easy to fix with firmware ?
Soxbrother is offline  
post #12867 of 14194 Old 07-05-2017, 04:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,651
Mentioned: 131 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2225 Post(s)
Liked: 2840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rod_Hull View Post
...but the UBD-K8500 can already output DD+ from Netflix, can't it?



There's no reason why this shouldn't work here since the Atmos data is encoded within metadata of the core lossy DD+ stream, I understand?



Unless Netflix are artificially hobbling certain devices due to a licensing/exclusivity agreement with Microsoft and LG, or there's some "special" way they're delivering it that requires hardware only these named devices have (which is non-standard and v. doubtful), then there's no reason why Atmos/Netflix shouldn't work right now with any device that can already output DD+ from Netflix...it's then down to your AVR to process and "place" the object data into whatever speakers based on the placement configuration you happen to have...


The app needs to be updated..... it will take a little bit of time to do so on all platforms....

You shouldn't assume that a Netflix show with DD+ 5.1 exists as one single unique stream, meaning that a titles regular 5.1 DD+ broadcast stream will automatically include Atmos extensions.... it works differently than physical media...

It has zero to do with exclusivity, etc....

That being said it is really nice to see the 5.1 bug replaced with a Dolby Atmos bug on the one title it exists on today.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Daryl L, galonzo and mrtickleuk like this.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #12868 of 14194 Old 07-07-2017, 07:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1060 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Hello! I haven't accessed this forum in 2017. Have there been any firmware updates which now make the 8500 able to accurately output streaming apps (Netflix, Amazon Video, YouTube, etc.) in 4K UHD HDR? Thanks!
docrog is offline  
post #12869 of 14194 Old 07-07-2017, 07:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bethesda. MD
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 850 Post(s)
Liked: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by docrog View Post
Hello! I haven't accessed this forum in 2017. Have there been any firmware updates which now make the 8500 able to accurately output streaming apps (Netflix, Amazon Video, YouTube, etc.) in 4K UHD HDR? Thanks!
Netflix and Amazon yes, YouTube no
MALICIOUS ONE likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #12870 of 14194 Old 07-07-2017, 08:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
docrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Okatie, SC
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1060 Post(s)
Liked: 361
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Netflix and Amazon yes, YouTube no
Thanks for your reply. Would it be possible for you to verify the current firmware version?
docrog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
color calibration , hdr player , member , settings

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off