Official Samsung UBD-K8500 4K HDR Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player Owner's Thread - Page 479 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 40593Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #14341 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 08:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
Quicksilv3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Orangeville Canada
Posts: 965
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 538 Post(s)
Liked: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarpad View Post
I just bought a receiver that supports Dolby Atmos. I notice my Apple TV passes the Atmos track into the receiver as it displays atmos , this player does not. I thought this supported atmos but I’m not seeing it in the specs. Did this natively support it or they an update?

Right now I’m running 5.1 but will be adding the front and rear prescience speakers eventually is it worth an upgrade?

You won’t see Atmos until you have an Atmos speaker setup. I failed to see that earlier that you only have a 5.1 setup. My system wouldn’t show Atmos or DTS:X until I setup my Atmos speakers. ATV just forces lossy Atmos and it sometimes does get pushes through to the AVR. The Samsung player won’t push Atmos through until you have the speaker configuration hooked up.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
musicman0725 and Musician like this.

tv: Samsung UN75MU800, Receiver: Denon AVR 730H, speakers: 4x M&K S-1B and M&K S85c for center, sub: MKsound V12 HTPC, Samsung UBP-K8500, Rogers Digital PVR, Chromecast Ultra
Quicksilv3r is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14342 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 08:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Scarpad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,466
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Ok that makes sense
Scarpad is offline  
post #14343 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 09:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,604
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 905 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scarpad View Post
Not sure I follow I do select the atmos track on the disk
From @mrtickleuk

on the original Samsung remote, you can either press the ". Info -123" button, and then press ok to show the Tools menu, or the "Tools" button directly.

This gives you the Tools menu on right side of the screen:
Play from the beginning
Select Scene
Repeat Mode
Picture Mode
Audio
etc

Then select Audio to see the soundtracks which are available in the Title of the disc currently being played.
Musician likes this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14344 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 10:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Matt L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Flushing, MI
Posts: 6,165
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 839 Post(s)
Liked: 691
Also depends where you are trying to get Atmos from. Disk no issue as long a you have it set to bitstream, but Netflix and others are a no go. The 8500 will do Atmos from my NAS too.
Matt L is offline  
post #14345 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,989
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6261 Post(s)
Liked: 9116
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
From @mrtickleuk

on the original Samsung remote, you can either press the ". Info -123" button, and then press ok to show the Tools menu, or the "Tools" button directly.

This gives you the Tools menu on right side of the screen:
Play from the beginning
Select Scene
Repeat Mode
Picture Mode
Audio
etc

Then select Audio to see the soundtracks which are available in the Title of the disc currently being played.
All good, but as @Quicksilv3r posted above, without a setup which includes either height or top speakers, the Atmos audio tracks are logically hidden by the player since it knows you can't play them, and so won't be available for selection and they won't be in the list! From @Scarpad 's reaction, I am guessing that was his issue

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #14346 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 02:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 70
I see I am no longer getting HDR from the Amazon video app on the 8500. And certainly not atmos. We used to use Mad Dogs as a HDR test but that doesnt work anymore. Now I have recently plugged a 4k Firestick into the back of my AVR which does have excellent HDR and Atmos. The 8500 is connected as it should be with seperate hdmi cables for audio and video. But not even getting fake HDR from the Amazon app anymore. The BD disc still plays great hdr and atmos. Dumbo looks and sounds great. Lighting up "Atmos" on my AVR. Its just the amazon app that's flaked out on me since I got the firestick. So what"s going on guys?

Last edited by DweibOne; 06-09-2020 at 02:38 PM.
DweibOne is offline  
post #14347 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 02:53 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,604
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 905 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by DweibOne View Post
I see I am no longer getting HDR from the Amazon video app on the 8500. And certainly not atmos. We used to use Mad Dogs as a HDR test but that doesnt work anymore. Now I have recently plugged a 4k Firestick into the back of my AVR which does have excellent HDR and Atmos. The 8500 is connected as it should be with seperate hdmi cables for audio and video. But not even getting fake HDR from the Amazon app anymore. The BD disc still plays great hdr and atmos. Dumbo looks and sounds great. Lighting up "Atmos" on my AVR. Its just the amazon app that's flaked out on me since I got the firestick. So what"s going on guys?
Are you selecting the 4K UHD version of the video? With Amazon you can sometimes not get the HDR if you select the wrong version.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #14348 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 03:06 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Are you selecting the 4K UHD version of the video? With Amazon you can sometimes not get the HDR if you select the wrong version.
Yep.wont auto adjust my backlight and contrast like it should either. Like I said its just the app. BD disc does hdr and atmos just fine. As does the Netflix app.

Any one else notice this? Try it yourself. Play Carnival Row episode 1 or Aeronauts on the Amazon app and see if your getting HDR w/backlight and contrast auto adjust to 20/100 as it should.

Last edited by DweibOne; 06-09-2020 at 03:23 PM.
DweibOne is offline  
post #14349 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 03:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,604
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 905 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by DweibOne View Post
Yep
I just checked and I'm not getting HDR and not getting UHD from the amazon app on my K8500 and also not from my Samsung 4K HDR capable TV. However, Netflix 4K HDR is working on both of them. Also Amazon 4K HDR works on my Fire TV.

Updated: No HDR or UHD on my TiVo Bolt as well.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000

Last edited by poppagene; 06-09-2020 at 03:41 PM.
poppagene is offline  
post #14350 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
I just checked and I'm not getting HDR and not getting UHD from the amazon app on my K8500 and also not from my Samsung 4K HDR capable TV. However, Netflix 4K HDR is working on both of them. Also Amazon 4K HDR works on my Fire TV.



Updated: No HDR or UHD on my TiVo Bolt as well.
Yep same here.
So, what's going on? It's like once you've got the FS4K they limit the higher quality signal to that. Other Amazon apps are then restricted.

Last edited by DweibOne; 06-09-2020 at 03:55 PM.
DweibOne is offline  
post #14351 of 14390 Old 06-09-2020, 05:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Troy LaMont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Studio City, CA
Posts: 2,135
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 316 Post(s)
Liked: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy LaMont View Post
Hey guys, forgot I had purchased the UHD Video pack way back and I just rediscovered it. Can anyone verify for me if the UHD Video Pack still works with this unit for non Samsung TVs? I'm watching a K8500 on Ebay just in case.

Thanks.
In case anyone is interested, I finally got around to getting one of these specifically for the UHD video pack and the videos still work.

Theater: Onkyo TX-NR807, Polk LSi15, Polk LSiC, Polk LSiF/X, Velodyne HGS12, Optoma HD80 on 100" Elite Aeon screen
Bedroom: Yamaha WXA50, Samsung Q6FN (2018), Martin Logan Motion LX16, Pro SW100P 10" sub
Gaming: Xbox One X, Samsung UH750 Quantum Dot 28" UHD monitor
Troy LaMont is offline  
post #14352 of 14390 Old 06-10-2020, 11:12 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,516
Mentioned: 251 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4220 Post(s)
Liked: 3341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Troy LaMont View Post
In case anyone is interested, I finally got around to getting one of these specifically for the UHD video pack and the videos still work.

4K but no HDR

UN65KS9800 - Mine
QN49Q70R / UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #14353 of 14390 Old 06-10-2020, 12:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,989
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6261 Post(s)
Liked: 9116
Quote:
Originally Posted by DweibOne View Post
Yep.wont auto adjust my backlight and contrast like it should either. Like I said its just the app. BD disc does hdr and atmos just fine. As does the Netflix app.

Any one else notice this? Try it yourself. Play Carnival Row episode 1 or Aeronauts on the Amazon app and see if your getting HDR w/backlight and contrast auto adjust to 20/100 as it should.
I know you said a quick "yep" but I need to ask again.
If you watch the title called "Carnival Row", it will NEVER be HDR.
You specifically have to seek out, and only select, the title called "Carnival Row (4K UHD)". This is a completely different title. If you can't find such a title it means that it's not available in HDR for you to select.

(NB: Some platforms are slowly being updated to a native app which finally, after five years of this Amazon BS, auto-detects the best HDR/SDR version of your TV. The LG TV native app seems to be like this!)

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #14354 of 14390 Old 06-10-2020, 12:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
I know you said a quick "yep" but I need to ask again.

If you watch the title called "Carnival Row", it will NEVER be HDR.

You specifically have to seek out, and only select, the title called "Carnival Row (4K UHD)". This is a completely different title. If you can't find such a title it means that it's not available in HDR for you to select.



(NB: Some platforms are slowly being updated to a native app which finally, after five years of this Amazon BS, auto-detects the best HDR/SDR version of your TV. The LG TV native app seems to be like this!)
What do I have to do, take a picture? It says Carnival Row (4K UHD) right at the top. With HDR a few lines below that. Been playing this little 4K hdr game with amazon since Mad Dogs first came out several years ago. Which by the way no longer actually plays hdr through the app either. But it does through the FS4K.

Check it out yourself. See if it kicks your backlight and contrast over automatically and actually give you an HDR picture.

Last edited by DweibOne; 06-10-2020 at 01:15 PM.
DweibOne is offline  
post #14355 of 14390 Old 06-10-2020, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,604
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 905 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
I know you said a quick "yep" but I need to ask again.
If you watch the title called "Carnival Row", it will NEVER be HDR.
You specifically have to seek out, and only select, the title called "Carnival Row (4K UHD)". This is a completely different title. If you can't find such a title it means that it's not available in HDR for you to select.

(NB: Some platforms are slowly being updated to a native app which finally, after five years of this Amazon BS, auto-detects the best HDR/SDR version of your TV. The LG TV native app seems to be like this!)
No Amazon Prime Video HDR in the US. How about the UK?

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #14356 of 14390 Old 06-10-2020, 04:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,989
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6261 Post(s)
Liked: 9116
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
No Amazon Prime Video HDR in the US. How about the UK?
I haven't had a Prime sub for months so I'm limited here. I can only test "The Man in the High Castle" S1E1 since I know that's free for all.
The problem is finding the 4K Version. It does look like they've changed the UI because it finds a title called " "The Man in the High Castle: Season 1", with a "UHD" stripe in the top-left corner of the title, but without the words "(4K UHD)" actually in the title.

If I play that, it's SDR.

But, all the streaming services have put bandwidth restrictions on the UK (using Covid as an excuse - the UK ISPs are all very firm that there is no need). It never goes above 1080p SDR, whereas in the past it immediately went to 4K HDR.

If I play the same stream on my LG TV's internal app, again the UI is different. It says "HDR" on the info screen, and definitely kicks the TV into HDR mode. But they've changed the progress bar, and it no longer shows the resolution when you pause

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #14357 of 14390 Old 06-10-2020, 06:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
poppagene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Alameda, CA
Posts: 1,604
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 905 Post(s)
Liked: 840
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
I haven't had a Prime sub for months so I'm limited here. I can only test "The Man in the High Castle" S1E1 since I know that's free for all.
The problem is finding the 4K Version. It does look like they've changed the UI because it finds a title called " "The Man in the High Castle: Season 1", with a "UHD" stripe in the top-left corner of the title, but without the words "(4K UHD)" actually in the title.

If I play that, it's SDR.

But, all the streaming services have put bandwidth restrictions on the UK (using Covid as an excuse - the UK ISPs are all very firm that there is no need). It never goes above 1080p SDR, whereas in the past it immediately went to 4K HDR.

If I play the same stream on my LG TV's internal app, again the UI is different. It says "HDR" on the info screen, and definitely kicks the TV into HDR mode. But they've changed the progress bar, and it no longer shows the resolution when you pause
Thank you. The Samsung TV app shows UHD and HDR before watching, but 1080p and no HDR while watching.
musicman0725 and mrtickleuk like this.

UN48JS8500 UN55HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UN40HU6950 w/SEK-3500U UBD-K8500 UN37C5000
poppagene is offline  
post #14358 of 14390 Old 06-14-2020, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Musician's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 191 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2734 Post(s)
Liked: 5692
Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
Thank you. The Samsung TV app shows UHD and HDR before watching, but 1080p and no HDR while watching.
Just in case you missed it, it appears you are not alone. Seems Peter is having similar issues with the Disney + app on his Samsung KS9800...

Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Started watching Disney + on my Samsung TV - Artemis Fowl - no HDR
Switched over to my Amazon 4K Firestick - now I have HDR!
What's with Samsung's App ?

Samsung UN78HU9000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1550.0
Samsung UN40HU7000 & SEK-3500U/ZA - Firmware 1550.0
Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-ray Player; Apple TV 4K; Acer 4K HTPC
TELUS Arris VIP5662W UHD Whole Home DVR; Chromecast Ultra
Marantz SR7005 Receiver; Magnepan Speakers; Martin Logan Subwoofer
Musician is offline  
post #14359 of 14390 Old 06-14-2020, 05:46 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,516
Mentioned: 251 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4220 Post(s)
Liked: 3341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Musician View Post
Just in case you missed it, it appears you are not alone. Seems Peter is having similar issues with the Disney + app on his Samsung KS9800...

Maybe it's time to go have a `Chat' with Samsung someone working in their basement ?

PS. Going to check the Disney + App on the wife's QN49Q70R and see what shows there. - Checked - kicks over to HDR.

Next issue - Amazon Fire Stick 4k on my KS9800 shows blank box on Jack Ryan for Mid Eastern translations - had to go back to the Samsung App to read the text.

(I think any one having a before 2017 set, is now a nobody ! Or, as Samsung likes to say, time for a new set.))
musicman0725 and Musician like this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
QN49Q70R / UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 06-14-2020 at 05:55 PM.
p5browne is offline  
post #14360 of 14390 Old 06-15-2020, 11:26 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
(I think any one having a before 2017 set, is now a nobody ! Or, as Samsung likes to say, time for a new set.))
Hmm . . my 2014 HU9000 w/SEK3500 is still working just fine. But getting HDR w/atmos via FS4K plugged into Denon AVR and not from samsung on board apps.
musicman0725 and CopyRon like this.

Last edited by DweibOne; 06-15-2020 at 06:29 PM.
DweibOne is offline  
post #14361 of 14390 Old 06-16-2020, 04:23 PM
Senior Member
 
musicman0725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 477
Mentioned: 16 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 257 Post(s)
Liked: 369
Official Samsung UBD-K8500 4K HDR Ultra HD Blu-Ray Player Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by poppagene View Post
No Amazon Prime Video HDR in the US. How about the UK?
I don’t use the Amazon app a lot but saw you were asking about this so I gave it a try on my Q60R. A number of movies in my movies anywhere collection that are 4K are playing in HDR10+ now with the Amazon app. Others that should be 4K HDR are not playing in HDR like you describe (but also do not say UHD in their title). Here is a screenshot of Brave with HDR10+. Maybe content is being upgraded and good things are coming?

EDIT: From the same titles on the Amazon app of my UBD-K8500 I’m not seeing 4K HDR (only HD) despite playing the same title that still says UHD.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
galonzo, Musician and mrtickleuk like this.

Samsung UN55KS8000 | Denon AVR-X4500H | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV HR54 + 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-M8500
Samsung UN55HU8550 + SEK-4500 | Samsung Soundbar HW-H550 | AppleTV 4K | DirecTV 4K RVU | Samsung UBD-K8500
Samsung QN43Q60RA | AppleTV 4th Gen | DirecTV C41W

Last edited by musicman0725; 06-16-2020 at 05:33 PM.
musicman0725 is online now  
post #14362 of 14390 Old 06-17-2020, 02:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman0725 View Post
From the same titles on the Amazon app of my UBD-K8500 I’m not seeing 4K HDR (only HD) despite playing the same title that still says UHD.
Same problem we're having here.
DweibOne is offline  
post #14363 of 14390 Old 06-17-2020, 01:26 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,516
Mentioned: 251 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4220 Post(s)
Liked: 3341
Samsung's answer is to contact the App supplier. It's their issue, not Samsung's !

UN65KS9800 - Mine
QN49Q70R / UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #14364 of 14390 Old 06-17-2020, 04:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Samsung's answer is to contact the App supplier. It's their issue, not Samsung's !
I wonder if this only applies to FS4K owners? Whereas Amazon knows we have one so they cut off hdr, etc. to the app?

Last edited by DweibOne; 06-17-2020 at 04:47 PM.
DweibOne is offline  
post #14365 of 14390 Old 06-22-2020, 03:16 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,516
Mentioned: 251 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4220 Post(s)
Liked: 3341
How soon until the K series hits this issue ?

BD Players shutting down due to expired security certificate - didn't know there was such a thing ?

https://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.ph...ut+of+the+blue

UN65KS9800 - Mine
QN49Q70R / UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)

Last edited by p5browne; 06-23-2020 at 08:20 AM.
p5browne is offline  
post #14366 of 14390 Old 06-22-2020, 04:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,989
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6261 Post(s)
Liked: 9116
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
BD Players shutting down due to expired license - didn't know there was such a thing ?

https://www.flatpanelshd.com/news.ph...ut+of+the+blue
Eh? Did we read the same article - that's talking about an expired security certificate. Like the things that power "https" pages. Not an expired licence.

I would imagine, if it's something like that, they are now furiously checking the firmwares for other players, and issuing firmware updates where appropriate, to stop them dying too.

But if a player is in a boot-loop already: that's going to be very hard to fix out in the field...
Terminader likes this.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #14367 of 14390 Old 06-23-2020, 08:22 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
p5browne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Sudbury, Ontario, CANADA
Posts: 10,516
Mentioned: 251 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4220 Post(s)
Liked: 3341
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrtickleuk View Post
Eh? Did we read the same article - that's talking about an expired security certificate. Like the things that power "https" pages. Not an expired licence.

I would imagine, if it's something like that, they are now furiously checking the firmwares for other players, and issuing firmware updates where appropriate, to stop them dying too.

But if a player is in a boot-loop already: that's going to be very hard to fix out in the field...

Senior's moment - short term memory ! Fixed posting.

Unfortunately, FW updates can't be put back. Power off overnight ?

Like mentioned, hope they clear up the issue before it hits the K series.
mrtickleuk likes this.

UN65KS9800 - Mine
QN49Q70R / UN65HU9000 + SEK-3500U / UN75JU7100 (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN55HU7250 with SEK-3500U (JS9000 Mod Mode) / UN40J5200AF / HiSense 40H5507 - Wife's
UN55NU8000 X 2 - my 2 kids families (or should I say adults?)
p5browne is offline  
post #14368 of 14390 Old 06-23-2020, 10:19 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sal1950's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Central FL
Posts: 1,024
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 948
Quote:
Originally Posted by p5browne View Post
Senior's moment - short term memory ! Fixed posting.

Unfortunately, FW updates can't be put back. Power off overnight ?

Like mentioned, hope they clear up the issue before it hits the K series.
If your not streaming via the apps, just disconnect the network connection.
galonzo likes this.

Sony XBR75-X940D, Samsung UBD-K8500, Xfinity X1 Voice DVR, Marantz AV-7703 Pre/Pro w/Auro, (3) Adcom GFA-545II amps, (2) Adcom GFA-535II amps for ATMOS speakers.
4 JBL HDI-3600 speakers, 1 HDI-4500 center channel & (2) HSU STF-2 subwoofers.
Klipsch HT500 satellites (4) for ceiling mounted ATMOS playback
DIY Linux desktop w/Strawberry bit perfect media center. Emotiva Stealth DC-1 DAC
Sal1950 is online now  
post #14369 of 14390 Old 06-23-2020, 10:46 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mrtickleuk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Birmingham, UK - you know, the original one!
Posts: 8,989
Mentioned: 222 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6261 Post(s)
Liked: 9116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sal1950 View Post
If your not streaming via the apps, just disconnect the network connection.
How will that stop the passage of time and prevent it? It will not. An expired security certificate expires when time passes and the date clocks over. It's nothing to do with whether or not the device is connected to a network. You could have it never connected to the net in its life; if the expiry of the certificate causes the boot-loop (which is one thing that the article speculates) - bang. It still applies to you, and you'd still get the boot-loop.

_______________
Denon AVR-X4200W, Arcam Alpha 8P; 5.1.4 setup: Mission 702e, M7C1i, 77DS, 731. Rel T5 Sub. Monitor Audio CT165 4 Tops | LG OLED55C8PLA TV | Samsung UBD-K8500 UHD Blu-Ray

HDMI 2.0 4K modes | Dolby & DTS core+outer audio tracks on (UHD) Blu-Rays | Hello to Jason Isaacs
mrtickleuk is online now  
post #14370 of 14390 Old 06-23-2020, 01:52 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 70
The whole thing sounds like b.s. to me. Certainly hasn't affected my 8500 or my 2012 HM59 for that matter. Social media panic nonsense. The internet is full of it. . . chicken little

What the heck is a "security certificate" anyway. Never heard of it before and norhing about it in any of my manuals.

Last edited by DweibOne; 06-23-2020 at 03:16 PM.
DweibOne is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
color calibration , hdr player , member , settings

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off