Philips BDP7501 UHD Blu-Ray Player - Page 65 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 527Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1921 of 1945 Old 03-29-2018, 07:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Anyone have trouble with the 4k version of The Last Jedi,it wouldn't play on my 7501.I tried other 4k movies and they played fine,is it a bad disk?
dholmes54 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1922 of 1945 Old 03-29-2018, 08:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1567 Post(s)
Liked: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by dholmes54 View Post
Anyone have trouble with the 4k version of The Last Jedi,it wouldn't play on my 7501.I tried other 4k movies and they played fine,is it a bad disk?
Played mine last night. No problems at all.

Thoroughly clean the disc and try again; I've seen others report this fixing things even with a brand-new disc, directly out of the packaging.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #1923 of 1945 Old 03-29-2018, 08:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dholmes54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Edmonton, Kentucky
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 531 Post(s)
Liked: 145
Thanks I did that,might just have a bad disk.
dholmes54 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1924 of 1945 Old 03-30-2018, 08:13 AM
Member
 
tom886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 41
My BDP7501 seems getting problems. Each UHD I play gets pixelated after exactly 1 hour (maybe Layer problem) and the disc either stops or audio and video get out of sync.
Anyone else experienced that?

Cheers
Tom
tom886 is online now  
post #1925 of 1945 Old 03-30-2018, 08:20 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom886 View Post
My BDP7501 seems getting problems. Each UHD I play gets pixelated after exactly 1 hour (maybe Layer problem) and the disc either stops or audio and video get out of sync.
Anyone else experienced that?

Cheers
Tom
Yes! This happened to me last night, and it was the first time it has ever happened and it just happened to be when I had a bunch of friends over. Pissed me off. It was about exactly what you were saying. After an hour, the picture broke up and became pixelated. This somehow threw off the timing of the audio/video so it looked like I was watching a bad foreign film with English voiceovers. I had to completely turn off the player and turn it back on to get it to go back to normal. This happened twice during the movie. It all started when I tried to play that craptacular new Star Wars movie. The movie wouldn't even load - it kept going back to the main Philips screen. Again, I had to turn off the player and turn it back on to get the movie to play. That's about when things started to go sideways. Oh well, I've been wanting to get the Oppo for a long time anyway.
blastermaster is online now  
post #1926 of 1945 Old 03-30-2018, 08:24 AM
Member
 
tom886's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Taiwan
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 41
For me happened now with Thor, new UHD today received.
Unit is out of warranty, so probably time to look for a new one.

Cheers
Tom
tom886 is online now  
post #1927 of 1945 Old 03-30-2018, 09:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Get the Oppo 203.

Gear: The Brains: Anthem MRX 720. The Brawn: Outlaw 7700. The Fun: Custom PC w/ Logitech 27 & reverse mount pedals, Nintendo Switch, Playstation PS4 Pro. The Visuals: Oppo 203, Darbee Darblet, Optoma HD3300, Panamorph UH480, DIY 138" Curved screen using Semour Centerstage XD AT material. The Audio: 7.1.4: LCR: Tannoy DC12i. Sides: Tannoy IW63DC. Rears: Tannoy DC8i. Ceilings: Tannoy CMS 603/601 DCBM. Subs: 3X Micro Marty and 1X Full Marty.
blastermaster is online now  
post #1928 of 1945 Old 03-30-2018, 12:21 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,934
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1684 Post(s)
Liked: 1055
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastermaster View Post
Get the Oppo 203.
Will it play 50hz (European/PAL) conversions like the 7501 does? The newer 7502 Philips DolbyVision player doesn't.
naustin is offline  
post #1929 of 1945 Old 03-30-2018, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 765
It looks like it does. Check out the info page:

https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-udp-203/

And ask in the forums here.

Gear: The Brains: Anthem MRX 720. The Brawn: Outlaw 7700. The Fun: Custom PC w/ Logitech 27 & reverse mount pedals, Nintendo Switch, Playstation PS4 Pro. The Visuals: Oppo 203, Darbee Darblet, Optoma HD3300, Panamorph UH480, DIY 138" Curved screen using Semour Centerstage XD AT material. The Audio: 7.1.4: LCR: Tannoy DC12i. Sides: Tannoy IW63DC. Rears: Tannoy DC8i. Ceilings: Tannoy CMS 603/601 DCBM. Subs: 3X Micro Marty and 1X Full Marty.
blastermaster is online now  
post #1930 of 1945 Old 04-26-2018, 10:54 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,934
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1684 Post(s)
Liked: 1055
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Will it play 50hz (European/PAL) conversions like the 7501 does? The newer 7502 Philips DolbyVision player doesn't.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blastermaster View Post
It looks like it does. Check out the info page:

https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-udp-203/

And ask in the forums here.
Thanks, I emailed Oppo and the 203 supports 50hz and conversions back to 60hz if needed. I ordered one today while available. 7501 moves to a bedroom.
naustin is offline  
post #1931 of 1945 Old 04-26-2018, 02:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
blastermaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunny Okanagan
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 11 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 601 Post(s)
Liked: 765
Cool. I bought one as well. My 7501 is in the TV room now.
naustin likes this.

Gear: The Brains: Anthem MRX 720. The Brawn: Outlaw 7700. The Fun: Custom PC w/ Logitech 27 & reverse mount pedals, Nintendo Switch, Playstation PS4 Pro. The Visuals: Oppo 203, Darbee Darblet, Optoma HD3300, Panamorph UH480, DIY 138" Curved screen using Semour Centerstage XD AT material. The Audio: 7.1.4: LCR: Tannoy DC12i. Sides: Tannoy IW63DC. Rears: Tannoy DC8i. Ceilings: Tannoy CMS 603/601 DCBM. Subs: 3X Micro Marty and 1X Full Marty.
blastermaster is online now  
post #1932 of 1945 Old 04-28-2018, 02:56 PM
Toe
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 16,662
Mentioned: 80 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2664 Post(s)
Liked: 3418
Have there been any recent updates for this player? Some Lionsgate titles still pause when playing the core Atmos track. Watched The Commuter last night and first tried streaming the core 7.1 which kept freezing for about 5 seconds off and on, then tried letting the player decode to LPCM 7.1 with the same results. Finally just had to listen with the 2.0 DD track in order for it to play.
Toe is online now  
post #1933 of 1945 Old 07-01-2018, 01:26 PM
Newbie
 
FredMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
BDP7501 Lock in 1080 60hz no display

Hi could someone please tell me how to hard reset the BDP7501? I have changed the output resolution to 1080P and my TVs, monitors and projectors can't display anything now. Tried to do it blindly with the remote but the sequence below is not 100% correct.

1- Home button
2- 5 steps right to "Setup"
3- OK
4- OK - ( Player setting)
5- 7 steps down to SYSTEM
6- OK
7- 5 steps down to "reset default setting"
8- OK
9- OK - (yes) or 1 step right(yes)???
10- OK - confirmation
11- Home button

Thanks !

Last edited by FredMusic; 07-01-2018 at 05:17 PM.
FredMusic is offline  
post #1934 of 1945 Old 07-01-2018, 05:44 PM
Member
 
dsettlemoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Try this:

1- Home button
2- 5 steps right to "Setup"
3- OK
4- OK - ( Player setting)
5- 7 steps down to SYSTEM
6- OK
7- 5 steps down to "reset default setting"
8- OK
9- 1 Up Arrow (Do you REALLY want to reset??? - navigates to 'yes')
10 - OK

NOTE: Mine is on latest firmware revision.

I stopped after that because I didn't want to reset mine... Good luck!

David

Last edited by dsettlemoir; 07-01-2018 at 05:47 PM.
dsettlemoir is offline  
post #1935 of 1945 Old 07-01-2018, 05:57 PM
Newbie
 
FredMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
are sure you sure for step 9? manual says left right arrows

  1. Use [ L / 1R ] to select “Yes”, then press [OK].
FredMusic is offline  
post #1936 of 1945 Old 07-01-2018, 08:19 PM
Member
 
dsettlemoir's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 16
That's what it took on my player.
dsettlemoir is offline  
post #1937 of 1945 Old 07-02-2018, 05:25 AM
Newbie
 
FredMusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks solved my problem!
dsettlemoir likes this.
FredMusic is offline  
post #1938 of 1945 Old 12-06-2018, 06:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1567 Post(s)
Liked: 696
I've been using the BDP-7501 since it came out, with my JVC RS400 Projector, and it works beautifully. No complaints.

However, I do have one issue that I'd like to resolve. One shortcoming of the JVC Projectors is that the HDMI sync, or handshake, time is rather long, in the 15-20 second range. This is triggered whenever there is a change in resolution, Hz, etc. So when turning on the player, putting in a disc, etc., there are several points where the handshake is renegotiated, resulting in a delay in getting things going. (Once they're going, the image is spectacular, fortunately!)

The base homescreen of the Player is 4k/60 Hz, while the HD and UHD BD discs themselves are 24 Hz. I would like to configure the Player so that it outputs only 4k @ 24 Hz. That way, only one HDMI handshake would need to take place, at the very beginning, and it would be smooth sailing after that.

I've reviewed the manual which addresses 4k/60 Hz output options, but it doesn't seem that any of the available choices would do what I want.

Does anybody know if there is a way to get only 4k 24 Hz output from the player?

Thanks.

(I'm going through a Marantz SR7010, but there doesn't seem to be an option there to output only 4k @ 24 Hz. One setting addresses this, but it still outputs 60 Hz when the incoming signal is at that frequency.)

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #1939 of 1945 Old 12-26-2018, 06:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Notsobright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 37
I've had this bluray player ever since it came out and never had any issues with it until yesterday when i popped Captain Phillips movie and the pic keep going black in certain specific spots. The blackouts only last few seconds but they are annoying.

I thought maybe the disc was dirty but it is not. I tried different HDMI cables and the problem is still there. i tried different movies in the player and they all work fine. So i decided to play Captain Phillips with my PS4 and it played fine. I messed with the TV, Receiver and Bluray player settings but nothing solved the problem.

Anyone knows why this player hates this specific bluray movie? TV is Sony 2015 XBR-55X850C. AVR is Onkyo 2015 TX-NR646.
Notsobright is offline  
post #1940 of 1945 Old 01-03-2019, 08:54 AM
Senior Member
 
timmyotule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post
Does anybody know if there is a way to get only 4k 24 Hz output from the player?
Any luck with this? I have the BDP7501 and a JVC X570R and it would be great to get rid of the multiple HDMI handshakes from changing output resolutions / refresh rates.
timmyotule is online now  
post #1941 of 1945 Old 01-03-2019, 09:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 2,363
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1567 Post(s)
Liked: 696
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmyotule View Post
Any luck with this? I have the BDP7501 and a JVC X570R and it would be great to get rid of the multiple HDMI handshakes from changing output resolutions / refresh rates.
Unfortunately, no. I had posted elsewhere about this, but found no solution.

I will likely be moving to one of the new JVC projectors, which reportedly have much improved sync times, but will still have to deal with the multiple handshakes.

JVC RS400, Marantz SR7010, Screen Innovations 160" 2.35:1 Screen
Front L/R: Duntech Sovereigns, powered by 2 bridged Adcom GFA-555
Center: Revel C208 powered by Cambridge Audio Azur 851W
Dolby Bed (4): Sony Core SS-CS5, Atmos (4): Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 SE
Subwoofer: DIY 8' sub with 4 18" SI Drivers, powered by iNuke 6000
DLCPhoto is offline  
post #1942 of 1945 Old 03-01-2019, 07:44 AM
Senior Member
 
brettwf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Huntsville, AL (Monorovia area)
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Anyone know if the software getting updated like the newer models?


brettwf
brettwf is offline  
post #1943 of 1945 Old 08-02-2019, 12:43 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I recently picked up this device on clearance and I have a question I wonder if anyone could answer.


I threw some video files on a DVD for viewing on this device but when I put it in, though I could see the directories, none of the files were visible. I thought maybe I just had an invalid file format but I checked and they should be good (h.264 .mp4). I threw one of these files and some other .mp4s on a USB drive and they show up and play just fine. Does anyone know what the deal is here? It clearly has an option to play files from disc. I'll dig around and see what I can find out. I'd be OK with converting but I don't see why it wouldn't be able to play them direct.
RichyT is offline  
post #1944 of 1945 Old 08-03-2019, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
As a further point, I just burned a data blueray with files and get the same issue. Kind-of annoying as the intention was to burn data blurays of kids stuff so we can just put it in when he wants to watch. I'm guessing authored blu-ray stuff will play OK but I was hoping to just drag/drop & burn. I'll probably just use the USB option.
RichyT is offline  
post #1945 of 1945 Old 08-13-2019, 03:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by dholmes54 View Post
Anyone have trouble with the 4k version of The Last Jedi,it wouldn't play on my 7501.I tried other 4k movies and they played fine,is it a bad disk?
Just watched it last night, no major problems other a quick couple of seconds of pixeling. I've had my Philips for two years. It's worked great.
Chris Campos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off