Xbox One S-UHD Blu-Ray Player Aug 2016 - Page 46 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 3686Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1351 of 2587 Old 01-11-2017, 02:58 PM
Senior Member
 
JD4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by HarpuaFSB View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD4L View Post
Are hdr titles suppose to only be viewed in a completely dark room.... cause they sure seem like it especially daredevil and it's incredibly frustrating.... hdr titles look so much better in the small window after pressing the home button then they do in full screen... i think what's in the small screen is what we're suppose to see!
It all depends on the source material. Daredevil was shot dark.
Do you hve an Xbox one s?? If so try what I'm talking about. Start an hdr title and click the home button then click back on the movie to show full screen you'll notice a huge difference and a dim picture. Then do it with daredevil and it takes your brightness to 0 it seems like and even if you go to the Xbox dashboard it's still in effect and super super dim
JD4L is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1352 of 2587 Old 01-11-2017, 03:00 PM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,223
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9525 Post(s)
Liked: 6216
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi,

1) All current UHD/HDR disk are 24p (10bit) and XBOX One S plays them without problem @ 24p.

The Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk which will be released @ 14 Feb, the 4K HDR presentation of the film will be displayed at 60 frames per second.

Currently XBox One S is outputting @ 2160p HDR only RGB 16-235, so it will not possible to playback this movie, because 2160p60 RGB 16-235 10bit it's over 18Gbps....it's 22.88Gbps.

They have to add an option to output 2160p60 4:2:0 10bit via firmware update to be able to view 2160p60 movies.

2) Yes, all released UHD movies have HDR.

3) I will check this soon with HD Linker which displays the input signal info and reply.
As a BD player doesn't it need to meet certain specs, like UHD BD specs? And 2160P60 is part if the UHD BD spec. If it can't play that then how does it get certified to play UHD BDs?

Also, why couldn't it use 422 to output at 2160P60? SInce that is also within the 18Gb/s, 10bit spec.

EDIT: I guess 422 is only in the HDMI spec for 12 bit at 2160P60?

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 01-11-2017 at 03:09 PM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #1353 of 2587 Old 01-11-2017, 03:52 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,772
Mentioned: 219 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3467 Post(s)
Liked: 4297
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
As a BD player doesn't it need to meet certain specs, like UHD BD specs? And 2160P60 is part if the UHD BD spec. If it can't play that then how does it get certified to play UHD BDs?

Also, why couldn't it use 422 to output at 2160P60? SInce that is also within the 18Gb/s, 10bit spec.

EDIT: I guess 422 is only in the HDMI spec for 12 bit at 2160P60?
XBox One S can output only RGB 16-235 10-bit, as posted above, there no selection to output YCbCr, when you playback HDR movies from a UHD disk,

This means that it will have problem when there will be released titles @ 2160p, as the title I posted as example above.

Of-course it will be possible playback if they give option to output YCbCr 4:2:0 @ 2160p60, but currently is not available.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1354 of 2587 Old 01-11-2017, 04:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
javan robinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD4L View Post
Do you hve an Xbox one s?? If so try what I'm talking about. Start an hdr title and click the home button then click back on the movie to show full screen you'll notice a huge difference and a dim picture. Then do it with daredevil and it takes your brightness to 0 it seems like and even if you go to the Xbox dashboard it's still in effect and super super dim
I'm 99% sure the HDR on the Netflix app is bugged. I use the app on my ks8000 tv instead. When using Netflix on the X1S, everything is put in HDR mode..which should be ok for HDR material but..you never know.

Addittionally, what settings are you using when viewing your HDR content? I've been taught by these forums if viewing in a bright room you want to use the following when viewing UHD HDR

Backlight - 19-20
Brightness - 44-45
Contrast - 100
Smart LED = High
Dynamic Contrast - Off or Low
Color Space = Auto

If viewing in a dark or darker room, put the backlight at 14-16.

Let us know if this helps and cheers!

Last edited by javan robinson; 01-11-2017 at 08:09 PM.
javan robinson is offline  
post #1355 of 2587 Old 01-11-2017, 07:21 PM
Senior Member
 
JD4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Thanks for your response.... I have my tvs backlight at 100! And stil gets super dark to where it's hard to see even in a dark room! I'll have to see if I can upload a video to show you guys what I'm talking about
JD4L is offline  
post #1356 of 2587 Old 01-11-2017, 08:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
javan robinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD4L View Post
Thanks for your response.... I have my tvs backlight at 100! And stil gets super dark to where it's hard to see even in a dark room! I'll have to see if I can upload a video to show you guys what I'm talking about
The backlight does not go up to 100. The backlight goes to 20. The contrast goes to 100, is that what you meant?

Do you have the other settings setup as I had described as above?

Also, do you have apps on your TV and are you able to see what it looks like on Netflix on your TV's app? My suspicion is that your netflix app is bugged, similar to mine, and everyone elses.

Please post your settings or it will be very hard for people to help you
javan robinson is offline  
post #1357 of 2587 Old 01-11-2017, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
JD4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by javan robinson View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD4L View Post
Thanks for your response.... I have my tvs backlight at 100! And stil gets super dark to where it's hard to see even in a dark room! I'll have to see if I can upload a video to show you guys what I'm talking about
The backlight does not go up to 100. The backlight goes to 20. The contrast goes to 100, is that what you meant?


Do you have the other settings setup as I had described as above?



Also, do you have apps on your TV and are you able to see what it looks like on Netflix on your TV's app? My suspicion is that your netflix app is bugged, similar to mine, and everyone elses.

Please post your settings or it will be very hard for people to help you
Sorry I didn't specify... I have a hisense tv so i have different settings my friend has a vizio m and his does the same things I'm talking about though so I know it's not just my tv but yeah I have the Netflix app in my tv but doesn't support hdr through the app only hdmi 3 and 4
JD4L is offline  
post #1358 of 2587 Old 01-11-2017, 08:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
javan robinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD4L View Post
Sorry I didn't specify... I have a hisense tv so i have different settings my friend has a vizio m and his does the same things I'm talking about though so I know it's not just my tv but yeah I have the Netflix app in my tv but doesn't support hdr through the app only hdmi 3 and 4
Gotcha, and my apologies I was thinking you had a samsung LED for some reason.

I would search about your exact TV - but like I said - the netflix app is bugged for HDR.

Please read here:

http://gizmodo.com/bugs-are-ruining-...e-s-1786995968

https://www.reddit.com/r/xboxone/com...issue_roundup/

We are waiting for Netflix/Microsoft to fix...but they have not yet...
javan robinson is offline  
post #1359 of 2587 Old 01-11-2017, 09:06 PM
Senior Member
 
JD4L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 70
No prob..and yeah I've tried to search for specific settings for my tv for viewing hdr but I don't think it will help it gets so dark there nothing you can do about it really... btw are Samsung tvs pretty good?? I've always only bought vizio but recently tried this hisense brand which I might take back due to the bad picture when watching cable.. it doesn't upscale good at all.... is that just what happens when you own a 4k tv? Or do some upscale better then others??
JD4L is offline  
post #1360 of 2587 Old 01-11-2017, 09:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
javan robinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Akron, Ohio
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 580 Post(s)
Liked: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by JD4L View Post
No prob..and yeah I've tried to search for specific settings for my tv for viewing hdr but I don't think it will help it gets so dark there nothing you can do about it really... btw are Samsung tvs pretty good?? I've always only bought vizio but recently tried this hisense brand which I might take back due to the bad picture when watching cable.. it doesn't upscale good at all.... is that just what happens when you own a 4k tv? Or do some upscale better then others??
I have the Samsung KS8000 and love it besides the fact that it has a little bit of blooming/discolouration in the bottom right hand corner. I'm currently waiting on Samsung for a replacement, it is barely noticable but if you're paying good money for something..it should work right 100% of the time.

Anyhow, it does upscale with the best of them, the apps are good, etc.

I love it. I just wish this one issue was fixed.

But like I said, read those links I linked - the netflix on xbox one s is bugged (it does not work right) when it comes to HDR content.

Good luck
javan robinson is offline  
post #1361 of 2587 Old 01-12-2017, 07:33 AM
UHD Addict
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 36,223
Mentioned: 72 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9525 Post(s)
Liked: 6216
Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
XBox One S can output only RGB 16-235 10-bit, as posted above, there no selection to output YCbCr, when you playback HDR movies from a UHD disk,

This means that it will have problem when there will be released titles @ 2160p, as the title I posted as example above.

Of-course it will be possible playback if they give option to output YCbCr 4:2:0 @ 2160p60, but currently is not available.
Why would it need to be an option? It could be automatic like 420 output is on the PS4 Pro.(although it does have an option to force 420 for everything)

With 2160P60 10bit, there really doesn't need to be an option. Since at 2160P60 10bit, there is only one choice for output. 420. so it doesn't make sense to have an option for one choice. So I would think the XBOne S is already capable of playing 2160P60 at 10 bit. Since it has a UHD BD license and should meet it's specs. Which require 420 output at 2160P60 10bit.

57TB unRAID1a--49TB unRAID2--76TB unRAID3
TCL 6 Series--Sony UBP-X800--Philips BDP7502--Onkyo HT-S7800
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

Last edited by aaronwt; 01-12-2017 at 07:37 AM.
aaronwt is offline  
post #1362 of 2587 Old 01-12-2017, 10:23 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,772
Mentioned: 219 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3467 Post(s)
Liked: 4297
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwt View Post
Why would it need to be an option? It could be automatic like 420 output is on the PS4 Pro.(although it does have an option to force 420 for everything)

With 2160P60 10bit, there really doesn't need to be an option. Since at 2160P60 10bit, there is only one choice for output. 420. so it doesn't make sense to have an option for one choice. So I would think the XBOne S is already capable of playing 2160P60 at 10 bit. Since it has a UHD BD license and should meet it's specs. Which require 420 output at 2160P60 10bit.
Xbox sends only RGB-Video signal right now, when you playback UHD disks from it's drive; that's the issue.

It's hardware design to work like that.

We will see when the 2160p title I mentioned it will be released, if it will able to play it.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #1363 of 2587 Old 01-12-2017, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I thought it would be about a month to get direct bitstream. It seems like preview members usually get updates a month ahead
I have not heard anymore news though. Come on Microsoft
javan robinson likes this.
Oarneb is offline  
post #1364 of 2587 Old 01-12-2017, 05:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,866
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1561 Post(s)
Liked: 821
If we see public bitstream before the end of March I'll be surprised.

Last edited by teachsac; 01-12-2017 at 05:25 PM.
dwaleke is online now  
post #1365 of 2587 Old 01-12-2017, 06:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwaleke View Post
If we see public bitstream before the end of March I'll be surprised.
You're probably right but not sure why they would need to beta test for that long. Plus I haven't seen people complain about issues that are in preview program
javan robinson likes this.
Oarneb is offline  
post #1366 of 2587 Old 01-13-2017, 03:39 AM
etp
Senior Member
 
etp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: florida
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Sort of on topic. Any conventional remotes for this unit at a reasonable price?

Bought a $4.20 one for my UHD 8500 from China that works fine.

Guess I won't be as lucky with the One S.

ETP

Last edited by etp; 01-13-2017 at 03:48 AM.
etp is offline  
post #1367 of 2587 Old 01-13-2017, 04:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
Alanlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Northern California
Posts: 793
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 440 Post(s)
Liked: 276
Maybe?

Quote:
Originally Posted by etp View Post
Sort of on topic. Any conventional remotes for this unit at a reasonable price?

Bought a $4.20 one for my UHD 8500 from China that works fine.

Guess I won't be as lucky with the One S.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Insignia-Med...YAAOSwHoFXq94i

7.4.6 system with Denon 8500, Additional Amps: Emotiva (front and center) and NAD (wide), classic Klipsch speakers.
Alanlee is offline  
post #1368 of 2587 Old 01-13-2017, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by etp View Post
Sort of on topic. Any conventional remotes for this unit at a reasonable price?

Bought a $4.20 one for my UHD 8500 from China that works fine.

Guess I won't be as lucky with the One S.
There are quite a few. You can use a harmony remote with it as well if you want. PDP just released a new one for about 15 bucks I believe. I like my insignia one from best buy with a keyboard on the back. Although the PDP one has the traditional remote buttons as well as the x,y... all of that. That kind of covers the whole issue where when the Xbox says press x to do this you know what button to push on the remote.
Oarneb is offline  
post #1369 of 2587 Old 01-13-2017, 06:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
muad'dib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,372
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 421 Post(s)
Liked: 118
Anyone manage to get HDR working for movies with thr new Epson 4k projectors?

When I try, it days I can do 4k/60, buy no HDR even for 24fps.

Thanks..
muad'dib is offline  
post #1370 of 2587 Old 01-13-2017, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Azreil24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Hello guys. I just a new Xbox One to use mainly as a UHD Blu-ray player, and I have one problem. Randomly, I get a horizontal white line on the screen, mainly in the top part of the screen. It happens in any scenario, movies, games, and on any of the TV's HDMI ports. I suspect to be a cable issue, but was curious if anybody else had it and if it was fixed with replacing the HDMI cable. Don't have a spare HDMI 2.0 cable around to test it, so I'll have to buy one, but don't want to buy another cable if the problems turns out to be from somewhere else.

Another thing, I've seen you guys talking about direct bit-stream video playback. Is there any UHD Blu-ray that does that? Don't think the Xbox will ever get it.

Last edited by Azreil24; 01-13-2017 at 02:29 PM.
Azreil24 is offline  
post #1371 of 2587 Old 01-13-2017, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azreil24 View Post
Hello guys. I just a new Xbox One to use mainly as a UHD Blu-ray player, and I have one problem. Randomly, I get a horizontal white line on the screen, mainly in the top part of the screen. It happens in any scenario, movies, games, and on any of the TV's HDMI ports. I suspect to be a cable issue, but was curious if anybody else had it and if it was fixed with replacing the HDMI cable. Don't have a spare HDMI 2.0 cable around to test it, so I'll have to buy one, but don't want to buy another cable if the problems turns out to be from somewhere else.

Another thing, I've seen you guys talking about direct bit-stream playback. Is there any UHD Blu-ray that does that? Don't think the Xbox will ever get it.
I have not had that issue and I don't think I have seen anyone say they did on here at least. Hopefully it is a cable. Easy cheap fix for ya. I would order one on Amazon. Doesn't hurt to have a spare anyway.

Direct bitstream is pretty much done by every device except Xbox. It is coming though. It is actually currently available for the people in the preview program. They are beta testing it as we speak. I was hoping to see it this month but it may be a few months before it is released to the general public. It is only good for you of course if you have a surround sound system.
Oarneb is offline  
post #1372 of 2587 Old 01-13-2017, 02:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ConnecTEDDD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 8,772
Mentioned: 219 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3467 Post(s)
Liked: 4297
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azreil24 View Post
Hello guys. I just a new Xbox One to use mainly as a UHD Blu-ray player, and I have one problem. Randomly, I get a horizontal white line on the screen, mainly in the top part of the screen. It happens in any scenario, movies, games, and on any of the TV's HDMI ports. I suspect to be a cable issue, but was curious if anybody else had it and if it was fixed with replacing the HDMI cable. Don't have a spare HDMI 2.0 cable around to test it, so I'll have to buy one, but don't want to buy another cable if the problems turns out to be from somewhere else.

Another thing, I've seen you guys talking about direct bit-stream playback. Is there any UHD Blu-ray that does that? Don't think the Xbox will ever get it.
Hi, what display do you have? See if it's enabled the 1:1 pixel mapping of your display; called Screen Fit or Just Scan; which eliminates overscan.
Azreil24 likes this.

Ted's LightSpace CMS Calibration Disk Free Version for Free Calibration Software: LightSpace DPS / CalMAN ColorChecker / HCFR
S/W: LightSpace CMS, SpaceMan ICC, SpaceMatch DCM, CalMAN 5, CalMAN RGB, ChromaPure, ControlCAL
V/P: eeColor 3D LUT Box - P/G: DVDO AVLab TPG
Meters: JETI Specbos 1211, Klein K-10A, i1PRO2, i1PRO, SpectraCAL C6, i1D3, C5
ConnecTEDDD is offline  
post #1373 of 2587 Old 01-13-2017, 02:36 PM
Senior Member
 
Azreil24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Ya, I hope it's the cable. I'll order one, weirdly it's a bit hard to find in my country, don't know why.

That would be great. I want video direct bit-stream too, as I'm a Pure Direct Mode lover. As with music, I bypass any processing, straight to the DAC and the amp set to Source Direct. Don't know if it will actually improve image quality, as I've read that there isn't much difference in picture quality between the Xbox and other Blu-rays, in the same budget, but would be nice

Quote:
Originally Posted by ConnecTEDDD View Post
Hi, what display do you have? See if it's enabled the 1:1 pixel mapping of your display; called Screen Fit or Just Scan; which eliminates overscan.
Hi. I have an LG 55C6, set to Original in pixel mapping, but don't think that's the problem, as the line appears to be an "artefact" that usually appears when you move a cable, especially when it's not well inserted. I checked and the cable and it's well inserted, but still, randomly, although pretty rare, I get that horizontal like for half a second.

Silly me, didn't see the Just Scan option. I activated it now and see if the problem goes away, although I still suspect the cable. Thanks for the tip

Last edited by Azreil24; 01-13-2017 at 02:48 PM.
Azreil24 is offline  
post #1374 of 2587 Old 01-13-2017, 03:53 PM
Senior Member
 
Azreil24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Nope, even with Just Scan activated I get that annoying white line, it flickers for half a second and then it's gone.
Azreil24 is offline  
post #1375 of 2587 Old 01-13-2017, 05:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Azreil24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 157 Post(s)
Liked: 44
I replaced the HDMI 2.0 that came with the Xbox with a "regular" very cheep HDMI 1.4 cable, and it seems that the issue is gone. No random flickering white line in site. The difference is that this cable has ferrite cores on both ends, maybe it helps with some EMI interference that was causing the issue. Anyway, problem solved
Azreil24 is offline  
post #1376 of 2587 Old 01-14-2017, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Creators update is coming next week. I thought that also included bitstream but nothing I read mentioned it.....
shyko likes this.
Oarneb is offline  
post #1377 of 2587 Old 01-15-2017, 08:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 32
So...I can get Ghostbusters 2016 to work UHD, but not the 1984 original. I get an error. A quick Google said it is the disc's fault and I need to contact Sony. Anyone else get GB1 or 2 UHD to play on the One S? Thanks!
HarpNinja is offline  
post #1378 of 2587 Old 01-16-2017, 05:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Ryan0751's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan0751 View Post
Yeah it's very odd. Last week I watched The Revenant, and I think video dropped maybe once or twice, not so much I wasn't able to watch the movie.

I currently have Sully, and it's dropping every 30s or so.

I'm going to run a test with my PS4 to see if I see that same issue.
So my whole issue with video drop-outs seems to be not the XBox specifically, that's just where I happened to notice the problem most often.

Rather, it's interaction with my new Sony TV, which support HDCP 2.2. Having both connected to my receiver at the same time (even if the TV if OFF) is causing my video to drop out on the PJ.

Very annoying. I found if I switch my receiver outputs to either the TV or PJ (but not both), things are a lot better.

BUT, I still have trouble with the XBox One S. If it's connected to an HDCP 2.2 HDMI port on my receiver, I can't get video on my PJ at all (it comes up with an HDCP 2.2 error).

I think I need a new PJ
Ryan0751 is offline  
post #1379 of 2587 Old 01-16-2017, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone, I hope someone can help me. I am contemplating purchasing an XBOX 1 S, mainly for 4K blu ray, but also a few games.


I have a surround sound set up with a 4K TV. I have searched and searched the internet for a definitive answer but so far no luck.


Q1) I have a Panasonic CX700 4K (non HDR) TV. I have accepted I wont be able to watch HDR however, will the XBOX 1 S still play 4K blu rays at 4K, just non HDR?


Q2) If so, how would I set this up on the xbox options menu? (MS website not good for this, assumes everyone has a HDR TV)


Q3) My surround sound system is quite old now, HDMI 1.4. I plan on having the HDMI from xbox - TV (4K enabled HDMI slot), with audio via optical to the AVR. This would enable surround sound with DD or DTS 5.1. Is that right?


Q4) Can this digital signal be bitstreamed so I get the nice fuzzy feeling of Dolby Digital 5.1 scrolling along my AVR as opposed to LPCM -48?


If anyone could answer these questions, I would be very grateful! Many thanks
endol is offline  
post #1380 of 2587 Old 01-16-2017, 08:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 348
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 222 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by endol View Post
Hello everyone, I hope someone can help me. I am contemplating purchasing an XBOX 1 S, mainly for 4K blu ray, but also a few games.


I have a surround sound set up with a 4K TV. I have searched and searched the internet for a definitive answer but so far no luck.


Q1) I have a Panasonic CX700 4K (non HDR) TV. I have accepted I wont be able to watch HDR however, will the XBOX 1 S still play 4K blu rays at 4K, just non HDR?


Q2) If so, how would I set this up on the xbox options menu? (MS website not good for this, assumes everyone has a HDR TV)


Q3) My surround sound system is quite old now, HDMI 1.4. I plan on having the HDMI from xbox - TV (4K enabled HDMI slot), with audio via optical to the AVR. This would enable surround sound with DD or DTS 5.1. Is that right?


Q4) Can this digital signal be bitstreamed so I get the nice fuzzy feeling of Dolby Digital 5.1 scrolling along my AVR as opposed to LPCM -48?


If anyone could answer these questions, I would be very grateful! Many thanks
A1= No biggie it will automatically detect you don't have HDR and keep that setting off. That is how mine is actually

A2= You do have a couple options but like I said it will automatically detect. The one thing I do like is to have the Xbox upconvert everything to 4k which is an option you might want to play around with.

A3= Yes you can either choose DD or DTS 5.1 not both. That is a whole debate on what is better. I personally like DD almost just because Dolby is kind more of a standard.

A4= You will see your AV say it is either DD or DTS depending on what you go with but what the Xbox is doing is taking the source signal and then decodeing it and sending it as whatever option you choose. So if you picked Dolby it would decode let us say Dolby True HD then recode it to Dolby Digital and send it to your receiver. They are working on direct bitstream when that is released you will be able to just send on the signal to your AV. That is only going to work with HDMI though. At least from my understanding.
endol likes this.
Oarneb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
blu-ray , epson 6040ub , upscaling 4k , xbox one s

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off