Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1013 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279320Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #30361 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 06:06 PM
Member
 
nusilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluemoon737 View Post
Suspect you can leave it in auto and it will do the "right" thing.
Makes sense. However, I purposely put it in player-led to see if it alleviated an issue with a couple of shots on Black Panther (which it did.) I'll check out the movie again using TV-led and see if it's just the update in general that alleviated the issue.
galonzo likes this.
nusilver is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30362 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 06:07 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
guitarguy316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,797
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2112 Post(s)
Liked: 795
So just updated my firmware to the beta and didn’t touch any default settings. The oppo isn’t kicking into hdr with hdr sources anymore?

Dv is working as I tested my clips from usb but hdr from usb isn’t triggering hdr?

EDIT - So my hdr setting was always Auto and it worked. I changed it to forced and now hdr and Dv switches. It looks like “auto” for hdr setting on 2016 oled isn’t detecting that the tv supports hdr, only Dv?

Last edited by guitarguy316; 06-07-2018 at 06:17 PM.
guitarguy316 is offline  
post #30363 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 06:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Betas cannot installed via network, you need to download a file for USB or burn a disc. The OPPO support page has links and instructions.

It will not affect your viewing of discs.

This is a beta; if you install it you should be prepared to look for anomalies and report them to OPPO.

-Bill
I am trying to download the oppo firmware to a thumbdrive and then to the usb port but am doing something wrong because player will not accept the firmware. What format should the upgrade be on the thumbdrive? We tried the .bin file on the root directory, and the upcompressed upg directory on the root, neither of which were recognized by the player {No firmware files found}. Do we need the uncompressed files all on the root directory, or is there some other trick to get them recognized? Thanks for any help.
[email protected] is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30364 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 06:17 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,602
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4670 Post(s)
Liked: 4546
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I am trying to download the oppo firmware to a thumbdrive and then to the usb port but am doing something wrong because player will not accept the firmware. What format should the upgrade be on the thumbdrive? We tried the .bin file on the root directory, and the upcompressed upg directory on the root, neither of which were recognized by the player {No firmware files found}. Do we need the uncompressed files all on the root directory, or is there some other trick to get them recognized? Thanks for any help.
You should leave the .bin file as is.

Do you have a North American player or are you in another region?

Post the exact name and size of the .bin file.

-Bill
galonzo likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #30365 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 06:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
FilmMixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles Area, CA. USA
Posts: 8,775
Mentioned: 167 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2377 Post(s)
Liked: 3134
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
I am trying to download the oppo firmware to a thumbdrive and then to the usb port but am doing something wrong because player will not accept the firmware. What format should the upgrade be on the thumbdrive? We tried the .bin file on the root directory, and the upcompressed upg directory on the root, neither of which were recognized by the player {No firmware files found}. Do we need the uncompressed files all on the root directory, or is there some other trick to get them recognized? Thanks for any help.


I had the same issues.

In reading the instructions it had said I had to make sure I upgraded to a 0605 FW before the beta... and it kept telling me that file wasn’t valid.

It was only after I tried going straight from the beta FW that it worked.
FilmMixer is offline  
post #30366 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 06:45 PM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 552
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 136
I had to download it a second time ,I noticed the first one I downloaded after several failed attempts ,was named wrong ,not by me just something with the download

greatone99
Dave Scurrah is offline  
post #30367 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 06:49 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,602
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4670 Post(s)
Liked: 4546
Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarguy316 View Post
So just updated my firmware to the beta and didn’t touch any default settings. The oppo isn’t kicking into hdr with hdr sources anymore?

Dv is working as I tested my clips from usb but hdr from usb isn’t triggering hdr?

EDIT - So my hdr setting was always Auto and it worked. I changed it to forced and now hdr and Dv switches. It looks like “auto” for hdr setting on 2016 oled isn’t detecting that the tv supports hdr, only Dv?
It is working for me on my LG E6.

Did you try Reset Factory Defaults?

-Bill

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #30368 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 07:36 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 2549
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Scurrah View Post
I had to download it a second time ,I noticed the first one I downloaded after several failed attempts ,was named wrong ,not by me just something with the download
If you clicked the link provided on this thread in some browsers it sends you to the last firmware update download page instead of the current beta. Not sure why but I caught it while downloading the update I already had and then pushed the link again via Pushbullet to my laptop and it was the right page. Just a thought.
galonzo likes this.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #30369 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 08:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
You should leave the .bin file as is.

Do you have a North American player or are you in another region?

Post the exact name and size of the .bin file.

-Bill
North American player.

UDP20X.bin 138.7MB

Downloaded the file 5 times, same size each time, same effect from oppo (no update files found). Tried it with the UDP20X.bin as the only file on the thumbdrive, as well as others, to no avail. Clicking on update status says the latest update is already installed, but it's the last one, not the beta.
[email protected] is offline  
post #30370 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 08:40 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
North American player.

UDP20X.bin 138.7MB

Downloaded the file 5 times, same size each time, same effect from oppo (no update files found). Tried it with the UDP20X.bin as the only file on the thumbdrive, as well as others, to no avail. Clicking on update status says the latest update is already installed, but it's the last one, not the beta.
I had to right click the bin file and compress it to a UDP20X.RAR file then it uploaded as it should.
Anchorman80 is offline  
post #30371 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 08:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 1,872
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 817 Post(s)
Liked: 1471
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
North American player.

UDP20X.bin 138.7MB

Downloaded the file 5 times, same size each time, same effect from oppo (no update files found). Tried it with the UDP20X.bin as the only file on the thumbdrive, as well as others, to no avail. Clicking on update status says the latest update is already installed, but it's the last one, not the beta.
Try https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-...-60-0601B.aspx
galonzo likes this.
David Aiken is offline  
post #30372 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 08:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bob brennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Westchester County, NY
Posts: 1,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 354 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
North American player.

UDP20X.bin 138.7MB

Downloaded the file 5 times, same size each time, same effect from oppo (no update files found). Tried it with the UDP20X.bin as the only file on the thumbdrive, as well as others, to no avail. Clicking on update status says the latest update is already installed, but it's the last one, not the beta.
Had similar problem - go into your "downloads" and delete all prior files than download new file from website and make sure you "copy" and drop to thumbdrive rather than "send to"!

Good luck!
Madmax67 likes this.

LG OLED 77G7P - Panasonic TC-P65ZT60 – OPPO UDP-203/103D - Toshiba HD-DVD-3A – Harmony ONE
Marantz SR7011 - Definitive Technology - Studio Monitor 65 (2) - CS8040HD - Studio Monitor 55 (2) - Super Cube 6000
bob brennan is offline  
post #30373 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 09:50 PM
Member
 
Couch Viking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 139 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Installed the beta firmware this evening and popped in Saving Private Ryan to sample some scenes. Works flawlessly on my A1E and frankly looks amazing.

Set HDR mode to Auto and the Dolby Vision mode to Player Led (because of my Sony OLED). So far so good - thanks Oppo!
galonzo likes this.

Sony XBR-65A1E
Oppo UDP-203
Pioneer LX-81 (Euro)
Pio S-81K , Pio S-LX70, Pio S-81W-MK SW
Apple TV 4K 32Gb
Couch Viking is offline  
post #30374 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 10:31 PM
Newbie
 
pyrokitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Is there a thread dedicated to troubleshooting for the UDP-203, or does everyone just rely on emailing support?
pyrokitty is offline  
post #30375 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 10:33 PM
Newbie
 
summerjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
Did the update and from what I can tell with my Sony 940e using a gamma of +1 (even +2 didn't hurt) has more brightness and looks great vs that of a value 0f 0 which is what I used with HDR10 using Transformers Dark of the Moon , not sure if it matters but i'm sure once a test disc or someone with the right equipment measures, I'd like to know what the correct values are
I have the 940E and did the upgrade but am not seeing any visual indicator that Dolby Vision is kicking in. Is there a logo or anything that shows up?
summerjack is offline  
post #30376 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 10:53 PM
Newbie
 
pyrokitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrokitty View Post
Is there a thread dedicated to troubleshooting for the UDP-203, or does everyone just rely on emailing support?
My issue is that I'm struggling to get an image on my TV (ST30 - 1080p panasonic plasma). After attempting to run the video through my receiver (Marantz sr6005), I tried bypassing it/ going straight to the TV, and I'm able to get audio out both the receiver and the TV, but still no image.

Of course I tried cycling through the various resolution options via the remote, as well as toggling pure audio, but still no change. I've tried both DVD's and standard blu-rays with the resolution set to Direct.

My current assumption is that I don't have a fast enough HDMI cable. (Picked this open box unit up for $450 from a Magnolia Design Center, and they didn't give me the cable that originally came with it. (I didn't realize I'd need a new cable. =/)

I've emailed support, and spoke with them until their hours of business ended for the day, so that's why I'm here.
pyrokitty is offline  
post #30377 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 10:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 2549
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrokitty View Post
Is there a thread dedicated to troubleshooting for the UDP-203, or does everyone just rely on emailing support?
As far as I know it's this one.
galonzo likes this.

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #30378 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 10:58 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Madmax67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Mckinney,Texas
Posts: 5,001
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 2549
Quote:
Originally Posted by summerjack View Post
I have the 940E and did the upgrade but am not seeing any visual indicator that Dolby Vision is kicking in. Is there a logo or anything that shows up?
Yep, a bright one one in the top right hand corner. You sure you've loaded the UHD DV disc and not the regular blu ray by accident?

Chane A5 towers,Chane A2.4 center,RBH bipole side surrounds, Rythmik LV12R x2,Denon X4300H, Outlaw 5000,Front B speakers: Wharfedale Diamond 10.1 books. https://www.avsforum.com/forum/90-rec...d-part-ii.html
Madmax67 is offline  
post #30379 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 11:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuckdy View Post
Hi all.
I recently got an OPPO 203. Please does anyone know how I can play BDMV files via usb. Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdgrimes View Post
You need to use a little modifier program which is incidentally attached here. It makes the player see the folder structure as "AVCHD".

For UHD disc rips, this is not required.

Wondering...Does this new beta firmware look for the 'C' word that rhymes with 'fin-hey-vee-uh' when playing back in that manner, or over network shares? Anyone tested?


Thanks!
redsandvb is offline  
post #30380 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 11:21 PM
Member
 
barryc46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrokitty View Post
My issue is that I'm struggling to get an image on my TV (ST30 - 1080p panasonic plasma). After attempting to run the video through my receiver (Marantz sr6005), I tried bypassing it/ going straight to the TV, and I'm able to get audio out both the receiver and the TV, but still no image.

Of course I tried cycling through the various resolution options via the remote, as well as toggling pure audio, but still no change. I've tried both DVD's and standard blu-rays with the resolution set to Direct.

My current assumption is that I don't have a fast enough HDMI cable. (Picked this open box unit up for $450 from a Magnolia Design Center, and they didn't give me the cable that originally came with it. (I didn't realize I'd need a new cable. =/)

I've emailed support, and spoke with them until their hours of business ended for the day, so that's why I'm here.
Try this: Using the resolution button, set to Auto. Turn off player. Unplug player for 15 seconds. Plug in player. If you get a picture, go into Setup and set Resolution to Auto and Custom Resolution to 1080p Auto.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
barryc46 is offline  
post #30381 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 11:26 PM
Newbie
 
summerjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
Yep, a bright one one in the top right hand corner. You sure you've loaded the UHD DV disc and not the regular blu ray by accident?
Thank you!

Apparently my Pioneer SC-97 s the culprit. Planet Earth 2 (my first HDR disc) triggers an HDR10 logo in the top left. Other discs never triggered any logos but the TV always went into HDR settings mode. So I assumed at least HDR10 was always kicking in. Wrong!

Split the cables so video goes direct to TV. Now it works beautifully both HDR10 and Dolby Vision logos triggered by each disc type respectively.

Pioneer....
galonzo and audiofan1 like this.
summerjack is offline  
post #30382 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 11:50 PM
Newbie
 
pyrokitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by barryc46 View Post
Try this: Using the resolution button, set to Auto. Turn off player. Unplug player for 15 seconds. Plug in player. If you get a picture, go into Setup and set Resolution to Auto and Custom Resolution to 1080p Auto.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Alright. You totally nailed it. I'm forever indebted.

Now time to figure out how to get the secondary audio HDMI port going. *pulls up manual*
pyrokitty is offline  
post #30383 of 37500 Old 06-07-2018, 11:59 PM
Senior Member
 
sddawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 286 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by tswire View Post
Yes. Disappointing for sure. I was one of those with the Apple TV sync issue FW that seemed to work but then didn’t. There is something random OR so specific that has to happen for the issue to happen that I went a full week with that test firmware with no stutter issues. Then bam. It hit.

I have installed this newest beta fw and sad to say within 10 min I had the dreaded stutter in Netflix (which is where is usually happens).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Oh dear, no good at all! @Bob Pariseau , are you able to find out if Oppo are still working on Apple TV compatibility issues for us?
sddawson is offline  
post #30384 of 37500 Old 06-08-2018, 12:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1
hi, does anyone know if the beta firmware enforces cinavia over usb? and if so, if it's for both folder structured and mkv titles?

im currently on firmware UDP20X-51-0922 and cinavia doesn't seem to be checked over usb, at least for the titles i own. thanks!
speedy523 is offline  
post #30385 of 37500 Old 06-08-2018, 06:39 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,602
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4670 Post(s)
Liked: 4546
Quote:
Originally Posted by summerjack View Post
I have the 940E and did the upgrade but am not seeing any visual indicator that Dolby Vision is kicking in. Is there a logo or anything that shows up?
What do you have for Video Setup -> HDR Setting -> HDR and Video Setup -> HDR Setting -> Dolby Vision Processing?

Are you connected directly to the display or are you going through a receiver?

Are you playing a Dolby Vision disc?

-Bill
Madmax67 likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #30386 of 37500 Old 06-08-2018, 06:55 AM
Senior Member
 
StanGeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 334
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
And how exactly is the Sony player accessing and changing/improving a closed source end to end DV workflow to improve the picture? The answer is it can't. It has to decode the same metadata the same way just as the TV would have to. It's all layed out in the DV patent and is part of the DV licensing standard for players and TV's. The only major difference between the 2 profiles is the Sony implemented version doesn't contain the backwards compatible enhanced layer and uses the DV iptpqc2/ipt color space instead of the UHD blu ray standard.


https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/ICtCp
Thank you for the technical info.

After resetting the 203 to factory defaults, I took a few photos of the two scenes from the same disc played in the 203 and the Sony X700. After several comparisons, I really did not see any difference in the picture. So, looks like whatever I saw before has cleared up.

Still not sure why some UHD discs have the extended info with BT.2020 and others with Rec709, but maybe that will be sorted in the official release.
Bob Pariseau and galonzo like this.

Video - UHD TV: Sony 940E, UHD BD:Panasonic UB900, Samsung K8500, Oppo 203 Apple TV 4K
Audio - Yamaha CX-A5100 PrePro, Outlaw Audio Amps x 3, Polk Rti-A7s x 2, Rti-A5s x 4, 70RTs x 4, SVS PB16 Ultra x2
StanGeek is offline  
post #30387 of 37500 Old 06-08-2018, 07:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Sound & Vision's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,382
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 473 Post(s)
Liked: 286
Hi,

Just curious to know if the latest beta fixed the UHD Sharpness. It only goes + and not - . I informed Oppo a while back they were going to look into that and possibly enhance its function with diff types of NR like mosquito, edge correction.
Sound & Vision is offline  
post #30388 of 37500 Old 06-08-2018, 07:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
confinoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Shaker Heights, OH
Posts: 2,068
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1273 Post(s)
Liked: 1108
Quote:
Originally Posted by confinoj View Post
I know I'm delving into Windows networking rather than Oppo issues here but still relevant to getting networking to work on the oppo. I think my Netgear router (R6400) which has readyshare may be able to be used as a master browser. Right now my SMB shares on Windows 10 are via a Homegroup. Do I need to turn this off and use a standard workgroup and give the Netgear Readyshare the same workgroup name as Windows?
Just an FYI for those with SMB trouble on the Oppo with Microsofts removal of the master browser function on Win 10. I have a Netgear router with Readyshare (R6400). I turned it on and set workgroup name as "workgroup" which is default. Set up standard SMB sharing on Win 10 (not via Homegroup) leaving workgroup name also as default "workgroup". SMB folders now show up again on the Oppo so at least with a Netgear router with Readyshare a relatively easy fix using router as master browser.
giomania likes this.

LG OLED65C7P (Chad B Calibrated) | Denon X4300H | HDHomeRun Quatro | Nvidia Shield Pro 2019 | ATV 4K | Oppo UDP-203 | 40TB Plex server
5.2.4 | Front Klipsch RP-160M x2 | Center Klipsch RP-450C | Surrounds Klipsch RP-150M x2 | Atmos Klipsch RP-140SA x 4 | Subs SVS PC-4000 x 2
confinoj is online now  
post #30389 of 37500 Old 06-08-2018, 08:03 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,699
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2152 Post(s)
Liked: 1686
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
And how exactly is the Sony player accessing and changing/improving a closed source end to end DV workflow to improve the picture? The answer is it can't.
Of course it can. Possibly the same way Apple did it, perhaps some other way.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #30390 of 37500 Old 06-08-2018, 08:04 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
RagtopFE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: West Haven, CT
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 4866
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmcclain View Post
Update to current firmware, either production or beta as you prefer. Beta is for testing, meaning you should be prepared to report problems to OPPO.

Check that both CD/DVD and Blu-ray/UHD discs play. There are two lasers, this checks both.

There are 3 USB ports. Insert a USB stick into each and verify you can browse into it from the home screen.

Verify the ethernet port works by connecting it to your network with a cable. The player has a Connection Test option that goes all the way to OPPO's servers.

Switch to Wireless networking and perform the same test.

If you have another HDMI source, check that the HDMI Input is working.

Doing all of the above you'll probably be able to tell whether the remote is working.

-Bill
Thanks for posting this list. I had picked up a store display player to have as a backup. Everything checked out, except the ethernet port. When I got deeper into the menu, I realized it was set to wireless. Reset, and all is right with the world now.....

Spoiler!
RagtopFE is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off