Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1017 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 278828Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #30481 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 07:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Paul Arnette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
The LG uses an entirely different set of picture settings (on each input) when you play Dolby Vision content into that input.

Since you were cabled thought the Marantz before, and it does not pass Dolby Vision, you were not using those settings in the LG.

In addition, depending on which model LG you have, and when you had it calibrated, your calibrator may not have been able to do any adjustments to the Dolby Vision settings -- other than selecting the best Picture Mode for Dolby Vision and living with the factory default settings for that Picture Mode.

And if you were not set up to display Dolby Vision before, he may very well not have done even that.
--Bob
Thanks, Bob. I have so much to (re-)learn! That would explain why it looked more videoy and less filmic last night!

I need to have Gregg Loewen come out for a calibration touch up anyway, but I would ideally like to have that Marantz firmware upgrade applied first.
Paul Arnette is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30482 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 07:29 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Arnette View Post
Thanks, Bob. I have so much to (re-)learn! That would explain why it looked more videoy and less filmic last night!

I need to have Gregg Loewen come out for a calibration touch up anyway, but I would ideally like to have that Marantz firmware upgrade applied first.
LG's factory default settings for Dolby Vision include having TruMotion cranked all the way up to Clear. (Yikes!)
--Bob
galonzo likes this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #30483 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 07:51 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,238
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1876 Post(s)
Liked: 1419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Madmax67 View Post
Here's link's to 2 of John Archers articles below stating it was a Dolby Vision EF up streaming through HDMI and a Dolby Vision fix to 2017 OLEDS not an Apple one. Plus no mention of it in the 11.3's release notes.
John Archer/Forbes: "LG OLED Dolby Vision Bug Gets Fixed - By Sony. And maybe Oppo too." This is in the context of previous statements by "bloggers" that the DV fixes would have to be done on the display side.

The 11.3 release notes don't mention fixing the LG or Sony issues (or any DV changes) and yet both were -- albeit imperfectly. This has been documented by multiple owners. I think the existence of a fix trumps your belief that it can't be done.

I'm trying to focus on you're statement comment/assertion:
"And how exactly is the Sony player accessing and changing/improving a closed source end to end DV workflow to improve the picture? The answer is it can't."

And yet it does for 2016 LG. It must be more of that "magic".

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #30484 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 07:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,238
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1876 Post(s)
Liked: 1419
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrdredd View Post
I saw similar things when I tried it on my B7. I guess it’s only for TVs that support it because it sends a signal our TVs don’t know what to do with.
I think it's a defect but it could be an unavoidable side-effect of running the "composer" (stream combiner) in the player. My underlying question is if it's worth reporting to OPPO.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #30485 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 08:08 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Clark Burk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Baltimore,MD.USA
Posts: 1,943
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 639
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
I think it's a defect but it could be an unavoidable side-effect of running the "composer" (stream combiner) in the player. My underlying question is if it's worth reporting to OPPO.
A few have reported that UHD blurays and regular blurays look better with the so called “magic”. These discs don’t have a secondary stream of DV encoding. Is it just some kind of luminance dynamic range expansion sort of like a reverse tone mapping?
Perhaps a slightly more sophisticated version of what Samsung calls HDR+?

Clark

Last edited by Clark Burk; 06-09-2018 at 08:13 AM.
Clark Burk is offline  
post #30486 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,672
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2286 Post(s)
Liked: 2796
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
Did the update and from what I can tell with my Sony 940e using a gamma of +1 (even +2 didn't hurt) has more brightness and looks great vs that of a value 0f 0 which is what I used with HDR10 using Transformers Dark of the Moon , not sure if it matters but i'm sure once a test disc or someone with the right equipment measures, I'd like to know what the correct values are
I may need to retract my comments ! I powered down the Oppo as well as the entire setup chain (Oppo>Marantz 8805> Sony 940e using Source direct with Oppos HDr Auto settings ,Player Led) and low and behold watching Tranformers Revenge of the fallen with gamma 0, contrast 95 bright max etc.. and all values the same as HDR10 and wow just wow! DV certainly has the edge and offers better blacks while clearly showing off the use of metadata on only objects that need specular highlights, the amount of detailed preserved was just a pleasure to watch and what I expected from 4k HDR when I first heard about it. Thanks Oppo for your relentless pursuit of perfection to us and this was a good note to got out for me

Last edited by audiofan1; 06-09-2018 at 09:19 PM.
audiofan1 is offline  
post #30487 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by StanGeek View Post
Anyone else experienced this issue?



Am watching The Matrix and at the 1:14:00 point the Dolby Vision logo appeared on the top right of TV again. Never had this happen with any other DV movie while using the Sony X700 or the one I watched on the 203. Think this is a glitch during a layer change?


It definitely appears too much during logos, but I haven't had it appear in the middle of a movie
StanGeek likes this.

A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD
Oppo 203
Xbox One S
Denon AVR X6300W
Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Origin Acoustics Theater 68
Nick Martelli is offline  
post #30488 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by rottnpup View Post


That's clearly an Oddo player.

A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD
Oppo 203
Xbox One S
Denon AVR X6300W
Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Origin Acoustics Theater 68
Nick Martelli is offline  
post #30489 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 10:17 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Thumbs up HLG HDR & Hdmi IN WORKS


This (i hope) will let many happy
The subject: HLG HDR & Hdmi IN

In my country the football (real foot+ball) worl cup cames along with the first broadcast with HLG HDR. That allowed me to do some experiment.
At first I tough it would be impossible to get thru my tv box the hdr ‘cos they never did any fw update to that box. But surprised I discovered the tv engaged the hdr mode automatically each time I chose that channel. The same thru RF .
So I decided to do another experiment, and I linked the tv box to the hdmi in.

The first time I had the hdmi in specf at UHD HDR & Output resolution at custom 1080 p 12 bit 444
IMMEDIATELY tv engaged the HDR mode with no hdr 10 info on tv scren
I changed to a non hdr channel and back to the hdr one. Result: same thing, IMMEDIATELY tv engaged the HDR mode with no hdr 10 info on tv scren.
Then I went I bit far and changed hdmi in spec to 1080p.
Guess what: IMMEDIATELY tv engaged the HDR mode but this time with the hdr 10 info from oppo on the tv screnn for a couple of seconds
Then I did as before and changed to a non hdr channel and back again to the hdr one
Guess what: Now tv din’t engaged the hdr mode & colors were washout although it was in the
Bt 2020 color space as if it was a Bt 709 a little washout.
I changed to the previous non hdr channel and changed the hdmi in spec to uhd and then back again to the hdr channel .
Guess what: IMMEDIATELY tv engaged the HDR mode and this time again with the hdr 10 info from oppo on the tv screnn for a couple of seconds
So I decided to do as before
Guess what: Again tv din’t engaged the hdr mode & colors were washout although it was in the
Bt 2020 color space as if it was a Bt 709 a little washout.
I experiment all combinations left (uhd 24!) with same results.
So I decided to go one step further and experimented all previous combinations with
1-All automatic (+ costum resolutions all automatic)
2-Automatic + source direct
3- All custom resolutions, color spaces etç.
Guess what: Always same results
So : As it there are no color deference between the uhd hdr mode in the hdmi in spec and the other choices (although the hdr logo from oppo in the tv screen is not displayed) and all other choices in the hdmi in only work before a channel switch we can use them but it’s best to keep the hdmi in spec at uhd hdr. That way we have no issues
This experiment used always in the hdr menu of the oppo Automatic
Now I will try all again with
1-forced
2-off
3-strip meta data
If I get something different from expected I will inform
Ps:
1 This oppo farewell is a real pain in the ass for all av enthusiasts out there
2 my fw is 50 0013 from europe and please don’t even bother asking why I’m still using it or I’ll tell word by word why!
All good to you all and Bob
galonzo and Madmax67 like this.
Nando64 is offline  
post #30490 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 10:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nott'm, UK
Posts: 3,316
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nando64 View Post
This (i hope) will let many happy
The subject: HLG HDR & Hdmi IN

In my country the football (real foot+ball) worl cup cames along with the first broadcast with HLG HDR. That allowed me to do some experiment.

At first I tough it would be impossible to get thru my tv box the hdr ‘cos they never did any fw update to that box. But surprised I discovered the tv engaged the hdr mode automatically each time I chose that channel.
Out of interest Nando64/F64... What's the make and model number of your 'TV box'?
galonzo likes this.

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY
TV: LG 65UH770V | DISC SPINNER: OPPO UDP-203 | STB: VU+ UNO 4K SE
AMPS: 2No Audiolab 8000A, 2No Audiolab M-PWR | SPEAKERS: 4No KEF 103.2, 3No Wharfedale Diamond 10
ISP: Virgin Media @ 100Mbps | NETWORK: 1000Mbps | NAS: DS212+

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 06-09-2018 at 10:30 AM.
SeeMoreDigital is offline  
post #30491 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
 
Crazytrekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 58
A strange "issue" while feeding Dolby Vision titles from my Oppo 203 to LG OLED C7.

Periodically the TV will lose the signal while navigating menus and starting the movie. Two recent examples:

Disney's STAR WARS: THE LAST JEDI loses picture between the movie and the menu. The TV reverts to its screensaver with a message saying there is no signal.

Paramount's GREASE navigates the menu fine but the signal was lost after pressing play and the picture didnt return until mid-way through the opening Paramount logo.

Trying both titles again, STAR WARS was the same but GREASE was okay.

It only happens on Dolby Vision titles - not HDR10.

Not sure if this "issue" is at the TV end or the player end. I'm guessing the TV end but I'm copying this to both forums just in case...

Are other people experiencing this?


Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
C.C. 95 likes this.
Crazytrekker is offline  
post #30492 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 11:10 AM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Depending on your video output settings, Dolby Vision May be putting more bandwidth on the HDMI cable than HDR-10. Which could mean you are having this due to marginal HDMI cabling.
—Bob

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #30493 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 11:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,280
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5360 Post(s)
Liked: 3770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
A strange "issue" while feeding Dolby Vision titles from my Oppo 203 to LG OLED C7.

Periodically the TV will lose the signal while navigating menus and starting the movie. Two recent examples:

Disney's STAR WARS: THE LAST JEDI loses picture between the movie and the menu. The TV reverts to its screensaver with a message saying there is no signal.

Paramount's GREASE navigates the menu fine but the signal was lost after pressing play and the picture didnt return until mid-way through the opening Paramount logo.

Trying both titles again, STAR WARS was the same but GREASE was okay.

It only happens on Dolby Vision titles - not HDR10.

Not sure if this "issue" is at the TV end or the player end. I'm guessing the TV end but I'm copying this to both forums just in case...

Are other people experiencing this?


Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk
No issues with Star Wars in DV on my E6. Using the cable that came with the 203, hooked directly into the tv. Colorspace on 203 set to 4:2:2.
Crazytrekker and galonzo like this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is offline  
post #30494 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 12:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Dave-T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Arlington, Va.
Posts: 1,548
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1129 Post(s)
Liked: 529
So I was bored this afternoon and decided to update to the beta on my 203. i have a LG E6, Marantz 8802a and a oppo 203 am i supposed change any settings on how it had it setup before, i was using Bob's recommended settings for video processing - Custom, UHD Auto, 422 color space, Auto for color depth and Tv aspect 16:9 wide. In Audio Bitstream and turn off secondary audio. I did the update because go #6 on the list.

Thanks

Dave
Crazytrekker and galonzo like this.
Dave-T is online now  
post #30495 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Crazytrekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Depending on your video output settings, Dolby Vision May be putting more bandwidth on the HDMI cable than HDR-10. Which could mean you are having this due to marginal HDMI cabling.
—Bob
Thanks! Is there an optimal video output setting that might prevent this from happening? My settings are pretty much out of the box.

HDR = Auto
Output resolution: Auto
Custom resolution: 1080p auto
Color space: Auto
Color depth: Auto
TV aspect: 16:9 wide / auto

I'm using a premium certified HDMI directly from the Oppo to the TV if that helps.

Last edited by Crazytrekker; 06-09-2018 at 12:28 PM.
Crazytrekker is offline  
post #30496 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 12:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,280
Mentioned: 29 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5360 Post(s)
Liked: 3770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
Thanks! Is there an optimal video output setting that might prevent this from happening? My settings are pretty much out of the box.

HDR = Auto
Output resolution: Auto
Custom resolution: 1080p auto
Color space: Auto
Color depth: Auto
TV aspect: 16:9 wide / auto

I'm using a premium certified HDMI directly from the Oppo to the TV if that helps.
Set Custom resolution to UHD Auto. I believe setting to 1080p auto forces 1080p. I could be wrong on that though.
galonzo and Madmax67 like this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is offline  
post #30497 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 12:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by seemoredigital View Post
out of interest nando64/f64... What's the make and model number of your 'tv box'?

arris vip5602/5662
Nando64 is offline  
post #30498 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 12:36 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Experiment done results for hdr settings other than automatic:
Forced and stip meta data gives the same results reported before
Off camed along with a little surprise
All hdmi in spec other than uhd hdr introduces an issue in color after switching from the hdr channel to others:
A red and unnatural push\ burn, as if you were watching a regular Bt 709 Hd Bray with the hdr mode in tv on
That does not happen if the hdmi in spec is uhd hdr
So definitely this is the right hdmi mode
Fair well
Nando64 is offline  
post #30499 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 12:46 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,238
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1876 Post(s)
Liked: 1419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
A strange "issue" while feeding Dolby Vision titles from my Oppo 203 to LG OLED C7.

Periodically the TV will lose the signal while navigating menus and starting the movie.

This happens to me all the time. The HDMI handshake takes too long for the C7.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #30500 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 12:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,238
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1876 Post(s)
Liked: 1419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
HDR = Auto
Output resolution: Auto
...
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
Set Custom resolution to UHD Auto. I believe setting to 1080p auto forces 1080p. I could be wrong on that though.
On my 203 Custom Resolution is ignored if Output Resolution is Auto.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500/LG C8
bodosom is offline  
post #30501 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 01:27 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
rdgrimes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nuevo Mexico
Posts: 21,572
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3773 Post(s)
Liked: 2973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post

I'm using a premium certified HDMI directly from the Oppo to the TV if that helps.
That doesn't mean you shouldn't replace it. A fresh one might stop the handshake fails.
rdgrimes is online now  
post #30502 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 02:13 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
David Aiken's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 815 Post(s)
Liked: 1466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Arnette View Post
I wanted to follow up on this. I misspoke earlier. I have a Marantz SR7010. It does not pass Dolby Vision, which was the source of much of my problems this week. However, when I ran a dual-HDMI setup and rewatched Star Wars: The Last Jedi I was able to pass DV without issue. I notice that it resolved the starfield "floating blacks" issue I saw, but I still saw what appeared to be compression artifacts in the night sky during the broom boy scene.

I need to go back and re-check on LG picture settings to make sure nothing changed, though I don't think they would as all I did was change cables, but my set has been calibrate, so I'm not sure why were seeing two different things on relatively similar equipment? Can the SR6010 pass DV? I would assume not. Are you using DV via a dual-HDMI setup?

I appreciate your help, David!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
The LG uses an entirely different set of picture settings (on each input) when you play Dolby Vision content into that input.

Since you were cabled thought the Marantz before, and it does not pass Dolby Vision, you were not using those settings in the LG.

In addition, depending on which model LG you have, and when you had it calibrated, your calibrator may not have been able to do any adjustments to the Dolby Vision settings -- other than selecting the best Picture Mode for Dolby Vision and living with the factory default settings for that Picture Mode.

And if you were not set up to display Dolby Vision before, he may very well not have done even that.
--Bob
Bob's right about the E6 using different settings for DV input . I had my E6 calibrated back in late 2016, a couple of months after getting it, and the calibrator could not calibrate the DV settings. I just use the DV bright option. I had the calibrator calibrate the SD/Hd (BT.709) settings, the UHD (BT.2020) settings including for HDR10, and the 3D settings. I have wondered whether the LG 2016 series DV "tuning" that we can't calibrate is a discrete group of settings or whether it is a set of adjustments that get applied to the UHD settings for HDR10 in which case the E6's DV modes would be modifying my UHD calibration rather than ignoring that calibration and reverting to a totally separate group of settings. I haven't seen any comment on just what LG is doing with its DV settings for the 2016 series.

Now to your specific questions about my 6010: I am using dual HDMI cabling, video to E6 and audio to the 6010. The 6010 definitely does not pass DV at present but a firmware update to allow it to do so is due sometime this northern hemisphere summer, ie some time in the next 3 months or so, and I assume that update will be available for the 7010 also.
galonzo likes this.
David Aiken is offline  
post #30503 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 02:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
normandia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lewes, DE
Posts: 550
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 136
If a beta is available, why is the first post not updated to reflect that release?
galonzo likes this.

Theater: Lyngdorf MP-50 7.3.4, Sony VW675ES, Revel Ultima Salon2/Voice2/Gem2(4)/Paradigm Be Atmos (4), Mark Levinson amps (53 L/R, 532 Center biamped, 531H side/surrounds), Atmos amp: Sherbourn, Oppo 203, Roku Ultra Premier+, DTV 4k, Velodyne 1812 Signature (LFE), Velodyne DD-15.
FR: Marantz 8802A (and/or 7703), Sony XBR 4k TV, Meridian A350 LCR onwall, Dali in-wall surrounds, Atmos Martin Logan in-ceiling, REL sub, Oppo 105 (and/or 103), DTV, AppleTV, Sony 4k Media Server.
normandia is offline  
post #30504 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 03:03 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by normandia View Post
If a beta is available, why is the first post not updated to reflect that release?
Thread Starter prefers an air of mystery?
--Bob
giomania, JFR0317 and galonzo like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #30505 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 03:15 PM
Senior Member
 
Crazytrekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
This happens to me all the time. The HDMI handshake takes too long for the C7.
I do wonder if UHD (esp Dolby Vision) is worth all these hassles. With picture dropouts at the start, indicators popping up repeatedly at the top of the screen, etc. Etc. This is not properly replicating the theatre experience IMHO.

Just watched The Matrix and it very briefly flashed on an audio options box over the WB logo. I mean... what?

I wonder if Oppo can improve the handshake through a firmware update...?!
Crazytrekker is offline  
post #30506 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 03:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
I do wonder if UHD (esp Dolby Vision) is worth all these hassles. With picture dropouts at the start, indicators popping up repeatedly at the top of the screen, etc. Etc. This is not properly replicating the theatre experience IMHO.

Just watched The Matrix and it very briefly flashed on an audio options box over the WB logo. I mean... what?

I wonder if Oppo can improve the handshake through a firmware update...?!


Oh it's worth it. But I agree about the display repetition.

A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD
Oppo 203
Xbox One S
Denon AVR X6300W
Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Origin Acoustics Theater 68
Nick Martelli is offline  
post #30507 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 03:21 PM
Read the FAQ!
 
Bob Pariseau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 35,204
Mentioned: 68 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5783 Post(s)
Liked: 8256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
I do wonder if UHD (esp Dolby Vision) is worth all these hassles. With picture dropouts at the start, indicators popping up repeatedly at the top of the screen, etc. Etc. This is not properly replicating the theatre experience IMHO.

Just watched The Matrix and it very briefly flashed on an audio options box over the WB logo. I mean... what?

I wonder if Oppo can improve the handshake through a firmware update...?!
Start by checking your cables. I'm not experiencing any of these issues.

Dolby Vision forces 12-bit Color Depth. If you are not normally using 12-bit, that's added bandwidth on the cables. (HDR-10 can be sent with only 10-bit.)

It's up to the TV to decide when it wants to put up its Dolby Vision icon.
--Bob
galonzo and Madmax67 like this.

Need personal consultation/training? Or just curious about my Blog? Check out my web site!
Bob Pariseau is offline  
post #30508 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 03:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Crazytrekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Pariseau View Post
Start by checking your cables. I'm not experiencing any of these issues.

Dolby Vision forces 12-bit Color Depth. If you are not normally using 12-bit, that's added bandwidth on the cables. (HDR-10 can be sent with only 10-bit.)

It's up to the TV to decide when it wants to put up its Dolby Vision icon.
--Bob
Is that a settings thing or a cable thing?
Crazytrekker is offline  
post #30509 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 03:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Crazytrekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Martelli View Post
Oh it's worth it. But I agree about the display repetition.
Is it though? Because I love the BD picture that the Oppo produces and I'm struggling to see the difference between BD and UHD on my 55 inch OLED. Except BD is much less trouble!

Last edited by Crazytrekker; 06-09-2018 at 03:35 PM.
Crazytrekker is offline  
post #30510 of 36750 Old 06-09-2018, 03:30 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 259
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 189 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crazytrekker View Post
Is it though? Because I love the BD picture that the Oppo produces and I'm struggling to see the difference between BD and UHD on my 55 inch OLED. Expect BD is much less trouble!


Yes. For the hdr alone. 4k not as much unless you've got a 65+
galonzo likes this.

A1E OLED 4K Ultra HD
Oppo 203
Xbox One S
Denon AVR X6300W
Dolby Atmos 5.2.4
Origin Acoustics Theater 68
Nick Martelli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off