Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1081 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279320Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #32401 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 04:28 AM
wl1
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wl1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,327
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 402
Quote:
Originally Posted by C.C. 95 View Post
Quick question:
If the Video Output Custom Resolution is set to UHD AUTO - are there instances where the Oppo is upconverting 24Hz to 60Hz?
On occasion when I have put in 24Hz 4K films I can swear it looks like SOE interpolation.
The films which do not look correct - could they be Dolby Vision titles?

If your complete chain is not Dolby Vision compatible (X2400?) then you may find the Oppo/DV implementation converts from 24Hz to 60Hz. This could explain what you are seeing. Check your extended Info on the Oppo (long press of the Info button), and scroll down.....

When I play DV titles back on my 1080P Projector, I get conversions from 2020 to 709 colour space, HDR to SDR, AND 24Hz to 60Hz. Very bad. Oppo have indicated this is something to do with bandwidth on Dolby licence or something similar - but motion is very poor. I am also restricted in how the HDR conversion occurs in the Oppo - thanks Dolby.

I am hoping for a fix - as everyone agrees it is a nonsense. Does anyone know if the 24hz to 60Hz restriction occurs on other UHD Players?
C.C. 95 likes this.

Ken Kreisel Twin DXD808, Q125 LCR, x4 Q125 TriFX, x4 QFH - for Atmos 7.2.4/Auro 9.2/DTS:X 11.2
Oppo 93 & 203 & Sony VPLHW55ES PJ with Lumagen 2020, 2.35:1 Seymour AT XD screen. Logitech Ultimate One & Hub, SqBox Touch & Philips Hue. Nakamichi AVP1 with Denon X7200WA. With MiniDSP 2x4.

Last edited by wl1; 08-09-2018 at 07:58 AM.
wl1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32402 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 02:19 PM
Advanced Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 51
I'm having a strange problem with a newly installed Sony 65Z9D and the 203. My receiver (Marantz 7010) doesn't have Dolby Vision passthrough yet so I wired the 203's main output to the TV (one of the 4K/60 compatible ports) and the audio only to the receiver. All cables are Blue Jeans premium ones, the one going directly to the TV is 15ft. When I turn on the 203, the logo shows then...nothing. It's my understanding the 203's menu is 4K/60, so I thought my cable was bad. Tried a shorter one, 8ft, better but not good...menu flickers on and off. Tried a 6ft one, works fine. This is all going directly from the 203 to my TV.

Now, that same 15ft cable that failed above actually works if it's connected from the same port on the TV to my receiver's Monitor out (all video processing is turned off) and the 203's main out is going through the receiver. The 203 is set to Custom, UHD Auto, Auto, and Auto for video output. I even played Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk, the 203's output info confirmed 4K/60.

So what's going on here?

Thanks!
redsandvb is offline  
post #32403 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
BuddTX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 159 Post(s)
Liked: 144
I have a question regarding the HDMI 2.0 Input on the 203, and I apologize in advance, that I have not read thru all 32,402 posts.

I see that the 203 has:

An HDMI 2.0 input port that supports UHD resolution is available for users to connect an external streaming device. This approach affords users the flexibility to choose from a wide range of streaming devices and easily upgrade as streaming technologies evolve, while still taking advantage of the UDP-203's audio and video processing capabilities.

And the Wiki Page says this:

Do the UDP-203 and UDP-205 have any built-in streaming services such as Netflix or VUDU?
In order to provide a premium user experience with quick start-up times and fast response, the players are designed with a purist approach in mind for disc and file playback, and so it does not carry internet video and music streaming apps. Instead, an HDMI 2.0 input port that supports UHD resolution is available for users to connect an external streaming device. This approach affords users the flexibility to choose from a wide range of streaming devices and easily upgrade as streaming technologies evolve, while still taking advantage of the players' audio and video processing capabilities.

Now, of course I can always experiment, but my question is:

I have both a Dish Hopper 3, and a nVidia Shield, (and of course an Oppo 203), and all devices are going thru my Yamaha CX-A5100 Pre-Amplifer, going to my Panasonic ZT60 TV.

Would it benefit me, to have the HDMI ports on my nVidia Shield, or the Dish Hopper 3, going this way:
Dish Hopper 3 (or nVidia Shield) --> Oppo 203 --> Yamaha CX-A5100 --> Panasonic ZT60?

I could understand using the Oppo as a "pre-amp" if your receiver/Pre-amp was inferior to the audio/video processing of the Oppo, but I think I have "one of the best" AV Pre-amps, but maybe I am not understanding something. Maybe the Oppo is light years ahead of even the Yamaha CX-A5100.

I will read all 32,000 posts eventually, but I just wanted a brief understanding of this feature, and see if it would or would not benefit me.

Thanks!

BuddTX is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32404 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 05:08 PM
Member
 
barryc46's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Sounds like a cable problem. Move the 203 close to the TV and hook it up with the cable that came with the 203. If the problems go away, buy a 15 ft. Monoprice premium certified cable. Problem solved.
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post
I'm having a strange problem with a newly installed Sony 65Z9D and the 203. My receiver (Marantz 7010) doesn't have Dolby Vision passthrough yet so I wired the 203's main output to the TV (one of the 4K/60 compatible ports) and the audio only to the receiver. All cables are Blue Jeans premium ones, the one going directly to the TV is 15ft. When I turn on the 203, the logo shows then...nothing. It's my understanding the 203's menu is 4K/60, so I thought my cable was bad. Tried a shorter one, 8ft, better but not good...menu flickers on and off. Tried a 6ft one, works fine. This is all going directly from the 203 to my TV.

Now, that same 15ft cable that failed above actually works if it's connected from the same port on the TV to my receiver's Monitor out (all video processing is turned off) and the 203's main out is going through the receiver. The 203 is set to Custom, UHD Auto, Auto, and Auto for video output. I even played Billy Lynn's Long Halftime Walk, the 203's output info confirmed 4K/60.

So what's going on here?

Thanks!
Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
htwaits likes this.
barryc46 is offline  
post #32405 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 06:10 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 128
^^ Already said that it is OK with a six ft cable. I would talk with Blue Jeans, I have had good luck with them.

--Carl
calentz is online now  
post #32406 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 06:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by barryc46 View Post
Sounds like a cable problem. Move the 203 close to the TV and hook it up with the cable that came with the 203. If the problems go away, buy a 15 ft. Monoprice premium certified cable. Problem solved.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
Maybe I should've been clearer with the second half of my post.


With the very same BlueJeans certified premium 15ft cable:


This DOES work:
203-->6ft cable-->receiver-->15ft cable-->TV. The menu and 4K/60 material play without any problem this way.


This does NOT work:
203-->15ft cable-->TV. No menu and flashing/or no picture with 4K/60 material.

Isn't that odd?

I should add that the reason I'm posting in this thread is that my first thought was that maybe something's wrong with my 203


Edited: for clarity, hopefully

Last edited by redsandvb; 08-09-2018 at 10:28 PM.
redsandvb is offline  
post #32407 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 07:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
Does anyone have the hex code command for the long press of the info button that brings up the extended information screen? I can't program this with my URC MX-850, as I can only set up a macro to use sequential button presses, and this does not work. I looked at all the OPPO remotes in the URC database, and the newest one was the 105, and I didn't find that command.

Does changing the number of Repeats for the code work?
redsandvb is offline  
post #32408 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 08:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Mitch57's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: The Evergreen State, USA
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 128 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
Does anyone have the hex code command for the long press of the info button that brings up the extended information screen? I can't program this with my URC MX-850, as I can only set up a macro to use sequential button presses, and this does not work. I looked at all the OPPO remotes in the URC database, and the newest one was the 105, and I didn't find that command.

Also, I watched my first Dolby Vision material via a UHD-BD on my LG 55B7A, and WOW...just WOW!

Thanks for any assistance.

Mark

I see the codes in the URC "Complete Control Program" database. However, it doesn't look like the MX-850 is in the Complete Control Database as it's long been discontinued. I'm sure OPPO could give you the HEX code for the "Info" button.


Also, have you tried "Learning" the remote code to your MX-850?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	OPPO UDP-203 IR Code.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	111.9 KB
ID:	2439852  
Mitch57 is offline  
post #32409 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 08:16 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,904
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 662 Post(s)
Liked: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
I don't have the option to adjust those parameters on the MX Editor software for the MX-850. I did find the list of hex codes on OPPO's web site: https://www.oppodigital.com/blu-ray-...3-Support.aspx

They only had the "info" button hex code, so I just tried it, and learned the hex code keeps sending while the button is pressed, so it works beautifully. I didn't know this was the case with hex codes.

Thanks.

Mark
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post
Does changing the number of Repeats for the code work?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mitch57 View Post
I see the codes in the URC "Complete Control Program" database. However, it doesn't look like the MX-850 is in the Complete Control Database as it's long been discontinued. I'm sure OPPO could give you the HEX code for the "Info" button.


Also, have you tried "Learning" the remote code to your MX-850?
You guys missed my follow-on post above wherein I located the hex codes on the OPPO web site, and discovered the info hex code keeps sending the signal when pressed, so this was solved. Thanks for the input.

Mark
redsandvb likes this.

Lumagen Radiance Pro HDR Tone Mapping Guide: Click Here

Lumagen Radiance Pro Setup & Calibration Tips: Click Here

UHD-BD Backup & Playback Guidance Link
giomania is offline  
post #32410 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 10:45 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post
Maybe I should've been clearer with the second half of my post.


With the very same BlueJeans certified premium 15ft cable:


This DOES work:
203-->6ft cable-->receiver-->15ft cable-->TV. The menu and 4K/60 material play without any problem this way.


This does NOT work:
203-->15ft cable-->TV. No menu and flashing/or no picture with 4K/60 material.

Isn't that odd?

I should add that the reason I'm posting in this thread is that my first thought was that maybe something's wrong with my 203


Edited: for clarity, hopefully

So...What is the Oppo putting out to the receiver? 1080?

--Carl
calentz is online now  
post #32411 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 10:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by calentz View Post
So...What is the Oppo putting out to the receiver? 1080?
4K/60, confirmed by the player's output info...(holding info button)


Also, all video processing in the receiver is turned off.
redsandvb is offline  
post #32412 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 11:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
calentz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Corona, CA 92879-1055
Posts: 1,032
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 199 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post
4K/60, confirmed by the player's output info...(holding info button)


Also, all video processing in the receiver is turned off.

So...What does the TV claim that it is receiving?

--Carl
calentz is online now  
post #32413 of 37491 Old 08-09-2018, 11:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by calentz View Post
So...What does the TV claim that it is receiving?

Also 4K, no frame rate info unfortunately.


A little more info:


Oppo output info says:
3840x2160
59.94p
HDR
BT2020 YCbCr 4:2:2
12bit


Marantz SR7010 HDMI in info:
4K:60Hz-->4K60Hz
BT2020 YCbCr-->BT2020 YCbCr


Sony Z9D:
3840x2160p 4K
Also, the TV's HDR notification shows at the beginning of playback



The receiver is set as such:
Output Settings: Video Conversion - Off
HDMI Setup: Monitor 1
redsandvb is offline  
post #32414 of 37491 Old 08-10-2018, 12:19 AM
Senior Member
 
SkyCyberguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post
Also 4K, no frame rate info unfortunately.


A little more info:


Oppo output info says:
3840x2160
59.94p
HDR
BT2020 YCbCr 4:2:2
12bit


Marantz SR7010 HDMI in info:
4K:60Hz-->4K60Hz
BT2020 YCbCr-->BT2020 YCbCr


Sony Z9D:
3840x2160p 4K
Also, the TV's HDR notification shows at the beginning of playback



The receiver is set as such:
Output Settings: Video Conversion - Off
HDMI Setup: Monitor 1
Does your Marantz offer frame rate conversion? My new Denon AVC-X8500H does, so when playing back Dolby Vision content on my 1080p plasma display I set the Denon to 24Hz output so it performs inverse telecine - works like a charm.

http://www.av-insider.de - Bild und Ton mit Sachverstand (Sound And Vision Expertized)
SkyCyberguy is offline  
post #32415 of 37491 Old 08-10-2018, 01:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkyCyberguy View Post
Does your Marantz offer frame rate conversion? My new Denon AVC-X8500H does, so when playing back Dolby Vision content on my 1080p plasma display I set the Denon to 24Hz output so it performs inverse telecine - works like a charm.

All I can find is if I set Video Conversion to On, Resolution can be set to

480p/576p / 1080i /
720p / 1080p /
1080p:24Hz /
4K / 4K(60/50)

But, I leave Video Conversion Off.
redsandvb is offline  
post #32416 of 37491 Old 08-10-2018, 02:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 281
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 299
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post
Maybe I should've been clearer with the second half of my post.


With the very same BlueJeans certified premium 15ft cable:


This DOES work:
203-->6ft cable-->receiver-->15ft cable-->TV. The menu and 4K/60 material play without any problem this way.


This does NOT work:
203-->15ft cable-->TV. No menu and flashing/or no picture with 4K/60 material.

Isn't that odd?

I should add that the reason I'm posting in this thread is that my first thought was that maybe something's wrong with my 203


Edited: for clarity, hopefully
Two possibilities that spring to mind:

1) What's going into your amplifier isn't the same as what's coming out - something is going on to reduce the bandwidth - maybe conversion from 4:2:2 12-bit to 4:2:2 10-bit through the amplifier?

2) The Oppo's HDMI electronics are simply not as good at driving 1s and 0s down a 15ft cable as the HDMI electronics in the amplifier.

If you connect the Oppo to the TV with the 6ft HDMI cable that came with the Oppo, what does the Oppo report it's sending on the home screen?
galonzo and Madmax67 like this.

Panasonic TX-55EZ952B OLED / Oppo UDP-203 / Onkyo TX-NR555 / B&W 600 Series + Elac A4 Atmos

Last edited by steverobertsbbc; 08-10-2018 at 02:32 AM.
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #32417 of 37491 Old 08-10-2018, 08:31 AM
Member
 
Robin howarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Does HDMI-in on Oppo 203 support Dolby vision? I have Apple 4K and LG C7, I currently have Apple TV going directly to LG C7.
Robin howarth is offline  
post #32418 of 37491 Old 08-10-2018, 08:33 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,602
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4670 Post(s)
Liked: 4546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin howarth View Post
Does HDMI-in on Oppo 203 support Dolby vision? I have Apple 4K and LG C7, I currently have Apple TV going directly to LG C7.
No.

-Bill
galonzo likes this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #32419 of 37491 Old 08-10-2018, 09:23 AM
Member
 
Robin howarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Will it ever support Dolby vision?
Robin howarth is offline  
post #32420 of 37491 Old 08-10-2018, 09:46 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 24,602
Mentioned: 22 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4670 Post(s)
Liked: 4546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin howarth View Post
Will it ever support Dolby vision?
We have heard "maybe" but there are no promises.

-Bill
galonzo and naustin like this.

Review older films here: 1979 and earlier | 1980s | 1990s | Combined reviews: Strange Picture Scroll
Unofficial OPPO FAQS: UDP-203 | BDP-103 | BDP-93 | BDP-83 | BDP-80    
wmcclain is online now  
post #32421 of 37491 Old 08-10-2018, 11:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
claw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: L'Etoile du Nord
Posts: 3,019
Mentioned: 83 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2371 Post(s)
Liked: 2232
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin howarth View Post
Will it ever support Dolby vision?
In my opinion, probably not.

According to HDfury, there is a unique metadata string that each display manufacturer was assigned by Dolby. This string is mandatory when sending Dolby Vision from a player to a DV capable display. The player determines the the proper string value to include by determining what display it is connected to using the display's EDID and/or during handshaking. This seems to be one more example of security lock down from Dolby.

HDfury was able to determine the unique metadata strings by sniffing the handshaking between the HDfury Device and the Displays and then including the proper string when passing Dolby Vision content to a display. HDfury currently supports Dolby Vision pass through to some JVC, LG, Vizio, and Sony TV/Projector models.

I just don't think that Oppo would apply the same level of effort as HDfury did to support DV pass through.

CJ
JVC RS500|LG B7A OLED|Denon X6400H/X4200W|Panasonic UB820|Two Oppo 203|Samsung K8500|Apple TV 4K|HDfury Diva/Vertex/Linker/Integral

Last edited by claw; 08-10-2018 at 12:07 PM.
claw is online now  
post #32422 of 37491 Old 08-10-2018, 08:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
redsandvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: HI
Posts: 592
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 70 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by steverobertsbbc View Post
Two possibilities that spring to mind:

1) What's going into your amplifier isn't the same as what's coming out - something is going on to reduce the bandwidth - maybe conversion from 4:2:2 12-bit to 4:2:2 10-bit through the amplifier?

2) The Oppo's HDMI electronics are simply not as good at driving 1s and 0s down a 15ft cable as the HDMI electronics in the amplifier.

If you connect the Oppo to the TV with the 6ft HDMI cable that came with the Oppo, what does the Oppo report it's sending on the home screen?

Makes sense, Thanks


I'll have to ask in the receiver thread if any unwanted conversion is happening when Video Conversion is set to Off.


Regarding 2) Anyone else have trouble/or success with cables 8ft or longer going straight from the 203 to the TV?



Tried pressing/holding info on the home screen but nothing happens. My TV says 3840x2160p 4K but no frame rate info.
redsandvb is offline  
post #32423 of 37491 Old 08-10-2018, 11:54 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,239
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post


Regarding 2) Anyone else have trouble/or success with cables 8ft or longer going straight from the 203 to the TV?
You should specify Premium Certified Cables with this label. Cables with that label have a very high percentage of success.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	HDMI_tag_explanation-600x341.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	57.4 KB
ID:	2440348  
gwsat, galonzo and captainbrent like this.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #32424 of 37491 Old 08-11-2018, 12:00 AM
Senior Member
 
SkyCyberguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 205
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by redsandvb View Post
All I can find is if I set Video Conversion to On, Resolution can be set to

480p/576p / 1080i /
720p / 1080p /
1080p:24Hz /
4K / 4K(60/50)

But, I leave Video Conversion Off.
There you go:
Switch it on and set the output resolution to 1080p:24Hz - and your DV titles will stutter no more.
You can switch it off for all other content.

http://www.av-insider.de - Bild und Ton mit Sachverstand (Sound And Vision Expertized)
SkyCyberguy is offline  
post #32425 of 37491 Old 08-11-2018, 12:54 AM
Member
 
codyrocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 35
maybe it's a rediscovering of the hot water, but...
i found that oppo will not play a mkv file, unless the video track is the first; remuxing an mkv, for example adding a subtitle track as the first track will make the mkv unplayable.
i tested with usb and smb sources.
other players may play these files, probably being more relaxed in specifications.
codyrocco is offline  
post #32426 of 37491 Old 08-11-2018, 01:01 AM
Member
 
C.C. 95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: The Land, OHIO
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wl1 View Post
The films which do not look correct - could they be Dolby Vision titles?

If your complete chain is not Dolby Vision compatible (X2400?) then you may find the Oppo/DV implementation converts from 24Hz to 60Hz. This could explain what you are seeing. Check your extended Info on the Oppo (long press of the Info button), and scroll down.....

When I play DV titles back on my 1080P Projector, I get conversions from 2020 to 709 colour space, HDR to SDR, AND 24Hz to 60Hz. Very bad. Oppo have indicated this is something to do with bandwidth on Dolby licence or something similar - but motion is very poor. I am also restricted in how the HDR conversion occurs in the Oppo - thanks Dolby.

I am hoping for a fix - as everyone agrees it is a nonsense. Does anyone know if the 24hz to 60Hz restriction occurs on other UHD Players?
Yup - you nailed it! This happened with The Matrix and Source Code (Both DV).
Although, when I set the UHD custom setting to 24hz - then it looked fine.
(Going from Oppo 203 to Sony Z9D TV through Denon AVR (video set to bypass)
(Btw- the info panel on 203 was always reading 23.976 regardless of the UHD Hz setting)
I guess for some reason, in DV mode the Oppo just wants to go 60hz when set to UHD AUTO or OUTPUT RESOLUTION to Source Direct (which is what I usually set it to).
I guess I'll just have to set it to Custom Output Resolution 24hz for DV movies instead of Source Direct and UHD Auto.

Sony Z9D 75"
Oppo 203
Denon Avr X2400H

Last edited by C.C. 95; 08-11-2018 at 01:17 AM.
C.C. 95 is offline  
post #32427 of 37491 Old 08-11-2018, 01:38 AM
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 628
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Atmos via hdmi in

Sorry to ask again, has anyone figured out a workaround to pass through Atmos while using the hdmi in with the ATV?
daimler2015 is offline  
post #32428 of 37491 Old 08-11-2018, 05:43 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
galonzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: most usually, somewhere in the midwest...
Posts: 2,223
Mentioned: 158 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1396 Post(s)
Liked: 1833
Quote:
Originally Posted by daimler2015 View Post
Sorry to ask again, has anyone figured out a workaround to pass through Atmos while using the hdmi in with the ATV?
No workaround needed, as long as you have Audio Out set to bitstream, and the device in question is using Atmos via DD+ or Dolby TrueHD; it currently doesn't work with Atmos via Dolby MAT, so no Atmos from the ATV4K or XBONE (not sure about PS4, anyone?)

Main: UN78HU9000/SEK-3500 | X4500H (Klipsch/HSU 5.1.4) | UDP-203 (fw 65-0131) | TiVo Bolt | Shield
2nd: UN65JS9500 | LG LAS855M | UBD-K8500 | Chromecast Ultra | TiVo Mini | Roku P+
3rd: 65P-F1 | Klipsch HDT-SB3 | UBP-X700 | Tivo Roamio | AppleTV4K
FS - Hobbs & Shaw and other UHD Digital codes (and some HD codes)
galonzo is online now  
post #32429 of 37491 Old 08-11-2018, 08:48 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bodosom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Niagara Frontier
Posts: 9,697
Mentioned: 65 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2151 Post(s)
Liked: 1686
Quote:
Originally Posted by claw View Post
In my opinion, probably not.
...
I just don't think that Oppo would apply the same level of effort as HDfury did to support DV pass through.
How is this different from my 2016 Denon AVR that got an update for DV pass-through? I understand that Denon is larger than OPPO but it seems as if the OPPO engineering group has solved harder problems.

I might type 2K for 1080p.
UDP-203/ATV4K(6,2)/X3500H/LG C8
bodosom is online now  
post #32430 of 37491 Old 08-11-2018, 09:30 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,104
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4255 Post(s)
Liked: 4552
Quote:
Originally Posted by bodosom View Post
How is this different from my 2016 Denon AVR that got an update for DV pass-through? I understand that Denon is larger than OPPO but it seems as if the OPPO engineering group has solved harder problems.


If all it was doing is passing the signal through then maybe but I’m sure oppo would want to do more than that. May not be something in the cards at this point.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off