Official OPPO UDP-203 Owner's Thread - Page 1088 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 279046Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #32611 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 11:27 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,300
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5376 Post(s)
Liked: 3789
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobknavs View Post
You're in somewhat unusual circumstances as regards the 203, but you are clearly the original purchaser. That suggests that anyone who sells or gives away an Oppo could have the original buyer submit it for warranty repair or replacement. Awkward, but better than nothing.

I see that you could buy a 205 on Amazon today, no waiting. Merely $3750US. Such a deal.
The nearly 4 year old 103D and 105D are also holding their value. You can almost get back what you paid for them. Heck, someone is selling replacement remotes for the 103D and 105D for $168, since you can no longer buy them from OPPO. He/she has sold 22 of them so far. I bought a replacement 103D for $12 from OPPO when they still had them. The 203/205 remotes are still available for $18, which I also bought. I would advise other to buy an extra one, as they will be a great investment once OPPO stops making replacement remotes and that price skyrockets.
galonzo likes this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32612 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 11:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Jonas2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: South Bay Area
Posts: 5,667
Mentioned: 44 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2825 Post(s)
Liked: 1787
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
The nearly 4 year old 103D and 105D are also holding their value. You can almost get back what you paid for them. Heck, someone is selling replacement remotes for the 103D and 105D for $168, since you can no longer buy them from OPPO. He/she has sold 22 of them so far. I bought a replacement 103D for $12 from OPPO when they still had them. The 203/205 remotes are still available for $18, which I also bought. I would advise other to buy an extra one, as they will be a great investment once OPPO stops making replacement remotes and that price skyrockets.

How often though do remotes really go bad? I mean, I just don't know. I've never ever had one fail ever. My oldest one is 32 years old and still working. Still, $18.00, not to much to spend on a bit of insurance!
galonzo likes this.

7.2.4 System: Display: Sony XBR-65X930D; Processing: Anthem AVM60
Mains:
Paradigm Prestige 85F and 55C; Side / Rear Surrounds: Totem Acoustic Tribe III / Tribe I; Amplification: D-Sonic M3a-2800-7 (7ch. x 400w)
ATMOS:
Definitive Technology DI8R; Amplification: Class D Audio SDS-470C (4ch. x 300w)
Subwoofers:
2 x SVS-SB13Ultras; Media: Oppo UDP-203, Pioneer CLD-59
Jonas2 is offline  
post #32613 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
wxman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 9,300
Mentioned: 30 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5376 Post(s)
Liked: 3789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas2 View Post
How often though do remotes really go bad? I mean, I just don't know. I've never ever had one fail ever. My oldest one is 32 years old and still working. Still, $18.00, not to much to spend on a bit of insurance!
I only had one go bad. That was on my 83, but that was because the batteries caused a mess. That $18 could turn into $150 to $200 if you ever decide to sell the spare remote 2 or 3 years from now.
galonzo likes this.

LG 65E6P OLED - LG 65EF9500 OLED - OPPO 203 - OPPO 103D
wxman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32614 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 01:01 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bobknavs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Danbury, CT, USA
Posts: 4,443
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2250 Post(s)
Liked: 1606
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxman View Post
The nearly 4 year old 103D and 105D are also holding their value. You can almost get back what you paid for them. Heck, someone is selling replacement remotes for the 103D and 105D for $168, since you can no longer buy them from OPPO. He/she has sold 22 of them so far. I bought a replacement 103D for $12 from OPPO when they still had them. The 203/205 remotes are still available for $18, which I also bought. I would advise other to buy an extra one, as they will be a great investment once OPPO stops making replacement remotes and that price skyrockets.
Thanks for the suggestion. I ran with it.

The shipping was $5, so it's really a $23 investment. I bought it as insurance, although I suppose that I could scalp it in a couple of years if eBay prices get sufficiently ridiculous.

(I have a Harmony 700 remote, but haven't checked to see whether it can function as a 100% replacement for the Oppo. I use a fairly minimal set of features, so far.)
bobknavs is online now  
post #32615 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 01:28 PM
Member
 
veggav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob brennan View Post
YES follow link for answer (Posted below) http://watershade.net/wmcclain/UDP-2...by-vision-disc


How do I force HDR10 from a Dolby Vision disc?
This happens automatically if your display chain supports HDR but not Dolby Vision. Similarly, if you do not have HDR at all, the Dolby Vision is converted to the older SDR standard.

But what if you have Dolby Vision and want to compare it with the HDR10 base?

Normally Dolby Vision discs do not have this option. If you have a Dolby Vision display chain then the disc will insist on producing Dolby Vision and not HDR10.

There is a workaround that involves restarting the player:

Stop any content that might be playing.
Set Setup -> Video Setup -> HDR Setting -> HDR to "Forced".
Set Setup -> Device Setup -> Standby Mode to "Energy Efficient".
Turn the player off and on again.
To return to normal Dolby Vision output:

Stop any content that might be playing.
Set Setup -> Video Setup -> HDR Setting -> HDR to "Auto" (or whatever you normally use).
Set Setup -> Device Setup -> Standby Mode to "Energy Efficient".
Turn the player off and on again.
Thank you, this will come in hand here in the future.
veggav is offline  
post #32616 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 04:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2219 Post(s)
Liked: 2263
Mystery Science Theater 203

This weekend my formerly trusty UDP-203 decided to stop outputting both video and audio via the HDMI (Main) port. I got an RMA today from Oppo and have shipped it back for repairs. (FOOTNOTE: True to reputation, Oppo support has been stellar. They are also paying for shipping both ways, which I find rather rare these days. Fortunately, I have a policy of keeping the original shipping materials for all of my electronic gear, so it is going back in exactly the same packaging in which it was delivered.

I had tried all the obvious troubleshooting techniques, first on my own and then via e-mail exchange with Oppo technical support, to no avail. (I'll just mention in passing that, yes, I'm using premium certified cables, tried a bunch of different ones, tested different ports on my AVR and two different TV's, set the resolution to DIRECT, and watched the time counter on the front panel display count up while playing CD's, DVD's and BRD's without any output.) There was no issue with powering up, and I did get audio from the Audio Only HDMI port. Sadly, with no video display to guide me, my troubleshooting options were somewhat limited.

I noted that we had received some rather violent thunderstorms on Saturday. However, there was no discernible power outage (judging by the digital clocks on my oven and microwave, which did not reset), all of my A/V gear is protected by two CyberPower UPS's, and none of the rest of the gear (see my sig) appears to have suffered any damage. Unless it's just a matter of freak timing, my theory is that there was a brief power surge or other electrical event and somehow it impacted the Oppo's HDMI board while sparing all the other equipment.

Pending a response from Oppo, and just for amusement, would anyone care to hazard a guess as to what could be at the root of this vexing visitation? Winner and prizes TBA.
galonzo likes this.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H (9.1.4/13.1); Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55HX929, DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is online now  
post #32617 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 05:08 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,100
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 1271
Where's your stb in your a/v chain? Other than 60Hz AC coming from outside your building, the other external source would be coax cable tv/internet (or satellite) wiring. Perhaps, it carried enough of a weather generated electrical surge to affect your Oppo.


galonzo, stikle and Matt2026 like this.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman

Last edited by kokishin; 08-20-2018 at 05:24 PM.
kokishin is online now  
post #32618 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 05:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
kokishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 2,100
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1255 Post(s)
Liked: 1271
BTW, I live very near Oppo Digital HQ (presuming they are still in Menlo Park). So as for my prize, I could pick up your repaired 203 up from Oppo and keep it.
galonzo likes this.

Denon AVR-X6200W, Outlaw Audio 7125 Amp, Oppo UDP-203, Oppo BDP-103, Amazon Fire TV Stick, Tivo Roamio Pro, Pioneer Elite Andrew Jones Dolby Atmos Enabled EFS-73 Fronts/EBS-73 Surrounds, Chane A2.4 Center, SVS SB-2000 Sub, Panasonic Plasma TH-58PX600
avsforum Members Atmos & Auro Configuration Spreadsheet
I'm just a caveman. Your modern world frightens and confuses me. RIP Phil Hartman
kokishin is online now  
post #32619 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 05:27 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
BTW, I live very near Oppo Digital HQ (presuming they are still in Menlo Park). So as for my prize, I could pick up your repaired 203 up from Oppo and keep it.
I'd like to have one more too.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #32620 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 05:49 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Earth
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Any updates about when the tone mapping firmware will be released?
stevenjw and muzz like this.
yobbo is online now  
post #32621 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 07:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2219 Post(s)
Liked: 2263
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
Where's your stb in your a/v chain? Other than 60Hz AC coming from outside your building, the other external source would be coax cable tv/internet (or satellite) wiring. Perhaps, it carried enough of a weather generated electrical surge to affect your Oppo.
I was not using the Oppo's HDMI In, so there was no direct connection to the TiVo or any other device with a coaxial input. I did have the Oppo wired via ethernet to my router via a gigabit switch, though; i.e., the only direct connections to the Oppo were via power cord to UPS, ethernet cable to gigabit switch, and (single) HDMI to AVR.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H (9.1.4/13.1); Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55HX929, DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is online now  
post #32622 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 07:31 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StevenC56's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2,475
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 576 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by yobbo View Post
Any updates about when the tone mapping firmware will be released?
See my email conversation with Oppo customer service from last week in the link below.

https://www.avsforum.com/forum/149-b...l#post56646962

JVC X750R Projector,Yamaha CX-A5200 Pre-Pro, Yamaha RX-Z11 Receiver, (Amps Only) Yamaha MX-D1 Power Amps x 2, Yamaha RX-Z1 (L&R Surround Channel Amp), Oppo BDP-103D BR, Panasonic DP-UB820 UHD, Pioneer Elite CLD-99 LD, Definitive Tech BP7000SC Mains, CLR3000 Center, BPVX Surround Sides&Backs, BPX F&R Presence, Martin Logan Abyss Front L&R Subs/Dynamo L&R Rear Surround Channel Subs, Infinity SSW-210 Center Channel Sub.
StevenC56 is offline  
post #32623 of 37041 Old 08-20-2018, 07:34 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
chi_guy50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 3,623
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2219 Post(s)
Liked: 2263
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokishin View Post
BTW, I live very near Oppo Digital HQ (presuming they are still in Menlo Park). So as for my prize, I could pick up your repaired 203 up from Oppo and keep it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
I'd like to have one more too.

pappaduke and RagtopFE like this.

Living Room: Sony XBR-65Z9D; Oppo UDP-203; Nvidia Shield TV; Roku Ultra; Denon AVR-X8500H (9.1.4/13.1); Polk Audio RTiA7 (Fl/r), CSiA6 (C), RTiA5 (Sl/r & FW), OWM5 (SB), 80F/X-RT (FH, RH); SVS SB-2000 (SW)
Bedroom: Sony XBR-55HX929, DarbeeVision DVP 5000S, Amazon Fire TV 4K, Yamaha R-N402 Network Receiver, Polk Audio LSiM703
chi_guy50 is online now  
post #32624 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 12:24 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lujan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 8,867
Mentioned: 37 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4509 Post(s)
Liked: 2556
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi_guy50 View Post
This weekend my formerly trusty UDP-203 decided to stop outputting both video and audio via the HDMI (Main) port. ...
I wonder if it's just a coincidence but my 203 stopped passing HDR to my Roku Ultra using the HDMI input as well? I had to connect the Ultra directly to the TV in order to get HDR back.

lujan
537 Ultra HD
728 HD
4 SD
lujan is online now  
post #32625 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 04:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
CHASLS2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Tampa FL area
Posts: 3,167
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1102 Post(s)
Liked: 496
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas2 View Post
How often though do remotes really go bad? I mean, I just don't know. I've never ever had one fail ever. My oldest one is 32 years old and still working. Still, $18.00, not to much to spend on a bit of insurance!
Well i have been known to throw them when i get mad. I have a extra OPPO83 remote laying around when i trashed one of my 83's that stopped working the 2 nd time around.

Sony 65" A1E Pioneer Elite DV-59 AVI
OPPO203,103&83 Sony BD player
Pioneer Elite SC61 AVR Acurus 200x 3
Paradigm 60V5'S 490 CC V5
B&W 685 S2's 2 SVS subs
CHASLS2 is offline  
post #32626 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 04:43 AM
Member
 
codyrocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by veggav View Post
Can someone confirm something?

I'm testing a .TS demo file without a HDR layer and Dolby Vision only.
The internal player of my TV doesn't recognize it and won't play.

But when playing with the OPPO 203 I get the HDR flag.

Does the OPPO 203 convert a Dolby Vision layer to HDR for displays that do not support DV?

that's because it's from a DV uhd bd (most probably should have .m2ts extension, but doesn't really matter for players).
first, you have two layers, one is a h265(hevc) HDR10 and the second one a h264/h265 DV enhancement layer, which is adding more information about dynamic contrast (for short).
this kind of material require a dual decoder; oppo has it, most tv's don't. lg, for example, has a single stream decoder, and could decode single stream DV (in this case, supplemental dynamic contrast data is embedded directly on main video stream, used if possible, discarded if not). this means tv's will not decode dual-stream DV material at all, mostly. oppo and other players will play main stream, though.
there isn't such a concept to "convert a DV layer to HDR10". actually, oppo will display 12bit output - more than 10bit in HDR10, and mostly will use DV enhancement layer to display DV on capable tv's, but only if you select "Dolby Vision" as HDR processing in oppo (i still don't believe this, considering it's only about a fake DV, but who really knows, out of Dolby Labs?)
in your case, that .ts file is displayed as HDR10, probably because you have selected "auto" in HDr processing; you could select "Dolby Vision" and seethe result.
veggav likes this.
codyrocco is offline  
post #32627 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 01:21 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
HDMI Switch help.

I'm looking to set up our UDP-203 to scale all of our inputs that are 1080p and below to 4K when we replace our Kuro display with 4K. The three devices I would like to connect are the BDP-93(ISO backup), Roku 3, and Xfinity XG1-P. The Roku and the Xfinity box are always on so I'm looking for a HDMI Switch that will allow me to control the selected input using our Harmony Elite. I have the OPPO HDMI switch packed away but as I recall it automatically selected the input based on detecting a live signal.

I know this topic has come up many times but I can't think of a good search term.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #32628 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 01:55 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,846
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Check www.Monoprice.com


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
giomania is online now  
post #32629 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 03:04 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
naustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Deep in the Heart of TX
Posts: 2,976
Mentioned: 55 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1712 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
HDMI Switch help.

I'm looking to set up our UDP-203 to scale all of our inputs that are 1080p and below to 4K when we replace our Kuro display with 4K. The three devices I would like to connect are the BDP-93(ISO backup), Roku 3, and Xfinity XG1-P. The Roku and the Xfinity box are always on so I'm looking for a HDMI Switch that will allow me to control the selected input using our Harmony Elite. I have the OPPO HDMI switch packed away but as I recall it automatically selected the input based on detecting a live signal.

I know this topic has come up many times but I can't think of a good search term.
Rather than going through a Switch it would be easier to connect directly to your display and let it upscale to 4K automatically.
galonzo likes this.
naustin is online now  
post #32630 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 04:12 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by naustin View Post
Rather than going through a Switch it would be easier to connect directly to your display and let it upscale to 4K automatically.
Thanks for your replay. I'm looking to take advantage of the 203's scale non-4K sources. I'm pretty sure that the OPPO does a better job scaling than two ot the three candidate displays that I'm probably going to select. The Sony A8F might be as good, but I don't know that for sure.

Also I'm going through a wall from our AVR to the display so one HDMI from the AVR that also provides audio is our first choice.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 08-21-2018 at 04:18 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #32631 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 04:14 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
Check www.Monoprice.com


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Thanks for the reply. I've looked at their HDMI switches. Do you have any experience doing what I'm planning?

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.

Last edited by htwaits; 08-21-2018 at 04:19 PM.
htwaits is offline  
post #32632 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 04:56 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 3,846
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by htwaits View Post
Thanks for the reply. I've looked at their HDMI switches. Do you have any experience doing what I'm planning?


I have had a monoprice 4 x 4 HDMI matrix switch for about five years and now I recently upgraded to an 8 x 8 matrix switch.

The switches can cause HDMI issues but it really all depends on the switch and the sources and the EDID management capabilities of both categories of those devices.

I I am still working everything out but I have posted some of my experience with the 8x8 matrix switch in this thread:

HDMI Matrix Switch Help
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?sha...2&share_type=t


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
giomania is online now  
post #32633 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 05:02 PM
Coyote Waits
 
htwaits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 27,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1332 Post(s)
Liked: 2364
Quote:
Originally Posted by giomania View Post
I have had a monoprice 4 x 4 HDMI matrix switch for about five years and now I recently upgraded to an 8 x 8 matrix switch.

The switches can cause HDMI issues but it really all depends on the switch and the sources and the EDID management capabilities of both categories of those devices.

I I am still working everything out but I have posted some of my experience with the 8x8 matrix switch in this thread:

HDMI Matrix Switch Help
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?sha...2&share_type=t


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Thanks. I'll take a look.

My Components:
Denon X3400H, OPPO UDP-203 & BDP-93, Xfinity XG1-P, Vizio PQ, Roku 3 & Ultra 2018
Calibration Resources:
Customer's Reports -- Professional Calibrations
Calibrator's locations and tour areas.
htwaits is offline  
post #32634 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 06:21 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Toronto
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 131 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Not sure if this is the right spot to ask this question but here goes.

I have a mix of 4kUHD disks and then some 4k HDR disks. When I play either one in my oppo 203 my JVC projector says HDR is on. Is this right?

When I had my Projector calibrated they guy said I use the HDR mode for movies that are HDR compatible. Then use my cinema mode for regular movies. Which I think he meant Blue ray and regular 4k.

Here are some pics of the movie martian which is a regular 4kUHD

No calibration setting



Cinema calibration



HDR calibration



Maybe I should of also compared 3 HDR movies.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ncabw is offline  
post #32635 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 08:32 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
cmdrdredd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 7,100
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4251 Post(s)
Liked: 4545
A lot of projector owners don’t use HDR because the black levels are thrown off when you have high brightness levels trying to be displayed. When you tone it down you get a dimmer picture. The solution is to strip out the HDR and keep the wide color gamut with a calibrated brightness level. Many aren’t really happy with the way the 203 handles this.
galonzo likes this.

LG 65" B7A OLED, Samsung 55" JS9000, Sony 43" x800e, Denon AVR-X2200w 5.1.2, PS4 Pro, Nintendo Switch, Gaming PC(GTX 1080ti + 4.7Ghz 8700k), Sony UBP-x800, Philips BDP-7501, Oppo BDP-203, Nvidia Shield TV
2x Elac F5/Elac C5/2x AR PS2052/2x Pioneer SP-T22A-LR/Power Sound Audio 15v w/ Anti-Mode 8033S-II
cmdrdredd is offline  
post #32636 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 11:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Ruislip, Greater London. UK.
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncabw View Post
I have a mix of 4kUHD disks and then some 4k HDR disks. When I play either one in my oppo 203 my JVC projector says HDR is on. Is this right?
No, I think you might be confused about discs. For starters, 'The Martian' is a HDR disc. In fact, the vast majority of UHD discs are HDR, I think I only own one non-HDR UHD disc (Stranger Things season 1).

I'm not a projector guy, but your 'HDR calibration' picture looks very wrong to me - it's playing the disc with one colourspace but decoding it with another.

I'd start by finding out what is actually on the media and what the Oppo is putting out. Hold down the Info button for a second to get the extended information menu. The top section shows you what's on the disc, then scroll down and it will show you what the Oppo is actually putting out.
galonzo and Madmax67 like this.

Panasonic TX-55EZ952B OLED / Oppo UDP-203 / Onkyo TX-NR555 / B&W 600 Series + Elac A4 Atmos
steverobertsbbc is offline  
post #32637 of 37041 Old 08-21-2018, 11:57 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sanjay View Post
I regularly use a 8tb USB hard disk with the UDP-203. Therefore I think it's safe to assume that 10 tb & 12 tb hard disks should work too

Is there a setting you need to change? mine works with a 1.5tb but not a 3tb drive.
AlanAbby is offline  
post #32638 of 37041 Old 08-22-2018, 03:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanAbby View Post
Is there a setting you need to change? mine works with a 1.5tb but not a 3tb drive.
Make sure you format your disk as NTFS with GPT instead of MBR - otherwise 2TB+ disks won't be visible.
Bytehoven likes this.
ginger88 is offline  
post #32639 of 37041 Old 08-22-2018, 03:21 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
lizrussspike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Parkview, IA
Posts: 2,960
Mentioned: 31 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1179 Post(s)
Liked: 1761
@ncabw , what JVC projector are you using? I use an RS420 with the Oppo 203 and get great 4K results.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Trinity.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	517.0 KB
ID:	2444650  
galonzo likes this.
lizrussspike is offline  
post #32640 of 37041 Old 08-22-2018, 03:28 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 52 Post(s)
Liked: 5
Need advice, my setup has my old Oppo bdp93 and the udp203. I’m having trouble setting remotes up to operate individually fully. I have changed the 93 set to code 1 and 203 set to code 2. But when I try to switch on the 203 e.g eject and power buttons turns on the 93.... any tips would be appreciated


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
johnnyboy632 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
203 , 203 uhd , blu-ray , denon x4300h , dsd streaming , failure , Oppo , oppo 203 , sacd dsd hdmi , troubleshooting , UDP-203 , uhd , usb

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off